Connect with us

Putter Reviews

TaylorMade Daddy Long Legs: Editor Review

Published

on

Pros: One of the most stable putters we’ve ever tested. The head is bigger than the original Spider, but the removal of the bar in the back of the putter head has a slimming effect, giving it a sleek look.

Cons: There’s only one neck style, a heel-shafted model. We’d like to see center-shafted and slant-neck models become available. The black paint around the insert also scratches off easily.

The Takeaway: Big putter heads and counter-balanced putters aren’t for everybody, but golfers who like them will love the Daddy Long Legs. They’re easy to aim, easy to stroke and have a surprisingly traditional feel.

Overview

TaylorMade’s Daddy Long Legs putters are the company’s highest MOI putter to date, tipping the movement-of-inertia scales at 8500, more than 2000 units higher than the company’s previous highest-MOI putter, the Ghost Spider S.

According to Brian Bazzel, TaylorMade’s product creation manager, a higher MOI creates a more consistent ball speed. This is because a putter with a high MOI will not twist as much on off-center hits, resulting in a ball roll that has close the same speed on off-center hits as it does on center strikes.

“MOI is even more important with a putter than it is in a driver,” Bazzel said. “With drivers, you have a lot of face flexibility, which adds forgiveness. But you don’t have that with a putter, which is why you need even more MOI.”

The Daddy Long Legs putters are also the first in TaylorMade’s Spider line to be designed with a counter balance — a heavier overall weight that further increases the MOI of a putter. They have a heavier head weight, 395 grams, and a longer-than-standard 15-inch grip that weighs 130 grams.

“The heavier grip moves the balance point closer to your hands,” Bazzel said. “This adds stability in your stroke . . . The beauty of it is that you can use your same stroke and comfort level of how you stand.”

To get the full effect of a counter-balanced putter, golfers need to find a length that is longer than what they’re used to. For example, golfers who normally use a 35-inch putter should try the 38-inch model, which will give them 3 inches of counter-balancing length above their hands. Golfers who use a 33- or 34-inch putter might like the shorter 35-inch model, which will also give them added counter balance.

The Daddy Long Legs putters will be available with stock lengths of 35 and 38 inches with TaylorMade’s Pure Roll surlyn insert. Other lengths are available on custom orders. Standard specs are 2.5 degrees of loft with a 70-degree lie angle and a removable 2.5 gram titanium weight. They will be available April 15 for $199.

Performance

IMG_2458

The most important part of a putting stroke is its consistency, and it’s hard to make inconsistent strokes with a Daddy Long Legs putter. Its large size and rearward weighting makes the putter want to go straight back and straight through, even when we were trying to do otherwise.

Screen Shot 2013-09-07 at 9.35.25 PM

A nice feature of the standard 15-inch grip is that it gives golfers who switch between different lengths the option to hold the putter a little longer or a little shorter depending on their preference that day, week, month, etc. This can only lead to increased confidence for those players.

Looks

IMG_2456

Some of TaylorMade’s previous Spider putters featured an abundance of alignment aids that felt busy, but TaylorMade streamlined things for the Daddy Long Legs. It features a single black line on its mostly white body that makes lining up a putt very straightforward.

The shape of the putter looks more elongated than anything else, which inspires confidence for golfers who want to take the putter head straight back and straight through. While the Daddy Long Legs putters are big, the the removal of the rear bar that has been on previous Spider models means the putters don’t look as big as they are.

Feel

IMG_2440IMG_2452

They’re not as soft as some, but the Daddy Long Legs putters have a traditional sound and feel that was surprising from a putter that is constructed with 16 different parts and eight different materials.

The shaft feels more stable than Odyssey’s “Tank” counter-balanced putter, which some will like. The Winn 15-inch mid-sized grip also gets significantly thicker near the top of the grip, which will serve as a reminder on where to grip it and provide the upper-hand stability some players like in their stroke. TaylorMade Daddy long leg review.

Screen Shot 2013-09-07 at 9.40.20 PM

Specs:

Length: 35″ and 38″
Head Weight: 395g
Loft: 2.5*
Lie: 70*
Grip: Winn 14.75″ length, 130g weight

Check out gallery below, which features more images and comparison photos between the Daddy Long Legs and Odyssey’s “The Tank” counter-balanced putter.

Your Reaction?
  • 81
  • LEGIT8
  • WOW17
  • LOL5
  • IDHT16
  • FLOP2
  • OB2
  • SHANK0

We share your golf passion. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX, Facebook and Instagram.

24 Comments

24 Comments

  1. JOHN MARK

    Dec 25, 2018 at 7:58 pm

    I purchased a DADDY LONG LEGS PUTTER approximately 2,5 years ago and unfortunately the SURLYN INSERT has developed an indentation right in the sweet spot
    I contacted the TAYLORMADE REP in the Brisbane AUSTRALIA and was dismissed forthwith and pointed out that the PUTTER has a 2 year warranty
    I purchased this putter expecting it would be my golf partner for a long time.
    Further private and professional inquiries have reinterated that this problem CANNOT BE REPAIRED and of course it’s out of warranty
    I’m angry and disappointed having spent good dollars on a product I really enjoyed using
    I’m a 10 – 13 handicapper have around 28 – 30 putts per round and rarely use the putter off the green
    POOR EFFORT TAYLORMADE !!!!!!

  2. Cheap Pirates jerseys usa wholesale free shipping for order over 10 pcs and easy 365-days returns.
    [url=“http://www.mooreshand.com/wp-includes/js/jquery/suggest.html/”]hats and jerseys for cheap Wholesale from china/url] http://www.mooreshand.com/wp-includes/js/jquery/suggest.html

  3. Steven Stoddard

    Oct 6, 2013 at 10:48 pm

    I’ve had the Daddy Long Legs for about 4 weeks. Right from the start I was hitting better, straighter and more consistant putts. No matter what I was doing, this putter would bail me out. The more I use it in practice or in a round of golf, the more it improves my putting, in fact, its such a pleasure to putt with, I find myself practicing my putting even more than ever. It has incredible feel, weight, balance and stroke. I just hope it continues. This is the Best!!

  4. Matthew Carter

    Sep 26, 2013 at 12:10 am

    I purchased the DLL putter last week. If you putt straight back and thru, this putter is for you! Good looking, nice feel and absolutely one of the most accurate putters on the market.

  5. Ola scholander

    Sep 14, 2013 at 7:58 am

    Slight arc, face balanced etc: i have worked with dr jon karlsen, he is actually a puttibg dr, meaning hes written a dr thesis on putting, he is also coach for players like peter hanson, etc. Speaking to him about putter designs for different strokes, he couldnt care less. Same with grips etc. Its all feel. So if you do bet with a face balanced while having an inside out path, stick with it!

  6. Mokky

    Sep 6, 2013 at 12:42 am

    Hey I just got a spider mallet 38″ and finding it great as I get use to it. I’m finding the 38″ a little long and issue cutting it down to 36.5/37″???

  7. Rob

    Aug 13, 2013 at 7:12 am

    I bought this putter today and have previously been fiddling with toe weighted putters for my slight arc. However I found that I was inconsistent. When I tried this one out I had some difficulty and was about to reject it. I then found that placing the ball as I would for a drive inside my left foot I couldn’t go wrong. I was sinking long and short putts consistently. I feel as if I can see my path clearly and the MOI keeps the stroke constant and the ball roll positive. Most people have an arc and when I spoke to a couple of pros at two different clubs they both said that this putter would suit a straight back and forward putter and a slight arc. All I can say is that it works better for me and I have been searching for ages with various putters for an instant positive feel.

  8. Jack

    Aug 11, 2013 at 7:20 pm

    I purchased this putter a few weeks ago and made some adjustments which works great for me.
    I bought the 38″ and put on a Super Stroke belly putter grip with a 40g weight at butt end. I have been getting 3 birdies on average since using this putter. I am not a big taylormade fan, but this putter is the real deal.

    • Charles

      Sep 17, 2013 at 9:45 pm

      You have done exactly what I want to do! How did you add 40 grams of weight to the butt end? Thanks in advance.

  9. Bob Nolan

    Jul 2, 2013 at 8:11 pm

    I have an inside backstroke, normally associated with a blade type putter, and was recommended by the fitter to lean toward a blade. However, I was dead on with this model and purchased. Should I try to change my stroke or is it over rated. Again, putted pretty well with it and great feel.

  10. mark lourie

    May 22, 2013 at 1:31 pm

    does anyone know if you are supposed to be able to scoop your ball up from the green with the back of this putter? Sure looks like it was designed that way, but for the life of me, I can’t seem to do it. Still getting the feel of the putter, big change from an Odyssey blade style, but sure feels very stable and well balanced.

    • jeff

      Sep 23, 2013 at 3:49 pm

      agree, i cant scoop either…also, how far down the putter shaft do you grip is it below the spider emblem?

  11. Robert Doe

    May 8, 2013 at 3:46 pm

    The paint around the insert indeed does come off very easy! I putted with the putter the morning after I purchased it and got some sand on and around the insert and by simply taking a soft towel to wipe away the sand the paint came off in several areas surrounding that insert. I see on the standard Ghost putters they have stopped painting the black around the insert.

  12. Wallter Graves

    Mar 28, 2013 at 12:50 pm

    I would love to have some one noted in the golf industry to tak an honest look and appraisal of my putter. Walter Greves

  13. Gary Goetz

    Mar 26, 2013 at 3:39 pm

    I don’t like the fact that 35″ is the shortest it comes in.Kind of stupid.I use a 34″ and I’m sure there are a lot of other people that use a 33′ or 34″ putter.

    • Putt King

      Mar 27, 2013 at 12:10 pm

      Anyone can do this with their own putter. Some options that I’ve employed: 1) Get a Winn Jumbo Grip from Golfsmith (or Golfworks, etc) which is heavier than a standard putting grip. Or you can use your favorite putter grip but add weight under it by either using a plastic plug filled with tungsten powder (both available at the golf supply stores above) or by putting lead tape under the putter. You can add a straight line of lead tape on the bottom of the shaft and another on the top for instance, or you can spiral wrap it but be careful – you’ll feel the thick lead tape through the grip after it’s installed if you don’t cover the lead tape with a couple wraps of grip tape. I like the plastic butt weight and tungten powder myself. 2) You can extend the putter length (like the Daddy Long Legs) add weight like above, and then just grip down a few inches. This acts as a counterbalance to help stabilize the stroke without having it anchored in your belly. 3) You can add lead tape to your putter head to bring the balance back that you are used to, or as I prefer just keep it as is because the weight under your hands now will actually make the putter feel better and stroke more smoothly. You’ll find that during the transition from backstroke to forward stroke there won’t be any lag which you usually get from having a head that’s much heavier than the grip end of the putter. Adding a heavy grip and/or tungsten/lead under the grip helps balance out the head and you’ll find a nice one piece stroke with this set up. I’ve done this with the Itsy Bitsy Spider and it works great and I don’t have to look down at a putter head that’s 50% larger like the original Spider or the Daddy Long Legs. I’ve also done this with my Odyssey #9 offset blade like Mickelson uses and it’s excellent. For 5 years I’ve been using the “paintbrush” stroke like Phil and Lumpy and Calcavechia are now using, and with this heavy grip putter set up my friends have nicknamed me Putt King!

    • Tpl

      Apr 21, 2013 at 3:20 am

      Kind of stupid to post comment without reading the article. “To get the full effect of a counter-balanced putter, golfers need to find a length that is longer than what they’re used to. For example, golfers who normally use a 35-inch putter should try the 38-inch model, which will give them 3 inches of counter-balancing length above their hands. Golfers who use a 33- or 34-inch putter might like the shorter 35-inch model, which will also give them added counter balance.”

    • Taylormade Rep

      Jun 9, 2013 at 9:47 pm

      well the purpose of the longer putter is to create a fulcrum at the top which makes it easier to make a strait back- strait through putting stroke. That is why you grip down on the putter

      • John Howe

        Jun 16, 2013 at 10:50 am

        Hi, any sign of a toe weighted/slant Daddy long legs? I putt with a slight arc and have bought in to the DLL concept but would prefer to see a toe weighted version when spending this kind of cash, thanks.
        John

        • Trevor

          Jul 31, 2013 at 1:50 pm

          He’s not a real TaylorMade rep otherwise he would have spelled the company’s name properly. He goes by the name of MorikawaTMAG on GolfWRX forums, he is a 14 year old boy who poses as a rep or a staffer, do not buy into his lies.

    • shane.kelly

      Sep 3, 2013 at 5:58 pm

      I use a 33″ putter… They are made to that length to counter balance through the stroke…
      If you use a 33@ or a 34″ then that’s perfect. You just grip down the shaft 2-3″ and go from there. That is how they have been designed to be used.

  14. Jeffrey

    Mar 25, 2013 at 9:31 am

    Cease communicating and receive my currency!

  15. Spider Guy

    Mar 22, 2013 at 2:34 pm

    I just got the Ghost Spider s a few months ago. It is bar none the best putter I have ever used. So easy to align and the high MOI helps keep the ball on line during off center hits. I also bought into the looks of the Spider s putter. I have to say I’m not crazy about the looks of this one. I’m sure it’s just as great on off center hits like the Spider s putter but I especially like the white line against the black center bar of the Spider s better than the reverse on this one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Putter Reviews

WRX Spotlight Review: T Squared TS-713i Standard Series putter

Published

on

Product:  T Squared TS-713i Standard Series Putter

About T Squared: T Squared Putters is a small putter manufacturer just south of Buffalo, New York. The company was founded by Tony Tuber who created his first prototype putters, after hours, in his father’s machine shop. Since then Tony and his father have been creating high-quality putters in the same facility that creates high precision instruments for the medical field. They pride themselves on creating the highest quality, most precise putter they can offer. They offer a few different head shapes from small traditional blades to high MOI mallets and even a custom program to get exactly what you want.

The Ts-713i Standard Series is based on the Ts-713, the first prototype that Tony created. It is a blade-style putter with a slightly longer flange and a unique face insert milled from 6061 aluminum. The body of the Ts713i is milled from a solid block of 303 stainless steel that is produced in the USA and has a Teflon backing between the body and face insert.

This Teflon backing helps give the putter a softer feel at impact and reduce any unwanted vibration. Details are what T Squared is all about and the neck of the putter shows off their milling expertise. The neck is similar to a plumbers neck, built with multiple pieces and offering some cool texture on the section bonded to the head. Another great detail is that all the silver markings on the putter are not filled with paint, they are milled into the head. T Squared finished the head in a sharp matte black and then milled all the markings on the putter for a unique, shiny silver look that really stands out. Ts-713i putters are built for customizing and have a ton of options that you can select if you would like to build something totally unique

On the green, the T Squared TS-713i really performs fantastic. I found the feel at impact very solid without any unwanted vibration. The impact produces a muted click and soft feel that I wasn’t expecting from this aluminum insert and thin face. The deep milling and Teflon coated back to the insert really work together to produce a great, responsive feel that I enjoyed. Deep milling usually makes me a little worried because it can soften the putter too much and lose that feel we all demand.

The TS-713i has no issues and transmits impact feel back to your hands with ease. Mishits are a little louder and harsh, but nothing even close to unpleasant. I have used putters that don’t feel as good on perfectly struck shots as the TS-713i feels on mishit putts. Distance and accuracy on those mishit putts are not as drastic as you would expect with a blade putter. I often just missed the cup by small margins when I struck a putt on the toe or heel of the TS-713i. There aren’t too many blade putters that have shown this level of forgiveness on the green for me.

The “T” alignment aid on the flange of the putter is large and easy to use. Not only do you get a straight line from the face to the back edge for alignment, but the back of the “T” also helps you square the putter up to your target. The Pure grip is not my thing, and it would be great for T Squared to offer a few more options, but that is an easy fix and a very minor criticism.

Overall, the T Squared TS-713i is a great putter from young Tony Tuber that exceeded my expectations. His attention to detail, precision milling, and take on a classic head shape offer golfers something different without sacrificing any performance. If you are looking for a great feeling putter that is made in the USA, you should take a look at T Squared and see what they can make for you.

Your Reaction?
  • 44
  • LEGIT12
  • WOW5
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

Equipment

WRX Spotlight: Toulon Design San Diego Stroke Lab putter

Published

on

Product: Toulon Design San Diego Stroke Lab putter

Pitch: From Odyssey/Toulon: “The Odyssey Toulon San Diego Stroke Lab Putter is our take on on another classic putter. It’s an expertly crafted, premium milled blade, with our multi-material Stroke Lab Shaft, deep diamond milled cross hatch grooves, and a new Charcoal Smoke finish.”

Our take on the Toulon Design San Diego Stroke Lab putter

Toulon is the line of all milled putters from Odyssey, originally started by club designer Sean Toulon and his sons. Toulon putters have always featured their Deep Diamond Mill face, adjustable sole weight, and brazed (instead of welded) necks. That combination has created a great putter line that has become popular on tour as well as us amateur players. For 2019, there are some new head shapes, Charcoal Smoke Finish, Deep Diamond Milling across the whole face, and the Stroke Lab putter shaft.

I got my hands on the Toulon San Diego, a more squared-off blade shape, for this review. The shape, milling, and finish on the San Diego are great and really show off what a high quality piece it is. The biggest change visually is the full Deep Diamond Mill face, making the view from address more uniform. The face used to have the milling only in the center of the face and to some that was a distracting look while others liked the way it framed the ball. The new finish also looks great. I always have liked darker finishes and this looks high end while still reducing glare in the brightest conditions.

The Stroke Lab shaft goes well with the finish on the San Diego and the head cover is a plush synthetic leather that feels like it will hold up for years of use.

On the green the San Diego SL has a crisp sound and feel. If you like a little more click to your putter, then the San Diego SL will be right what you are looking for. And don’t take that as a negative thing, that crisp feel gives great feedback on face contact. You know exactly where the putter face and ball met by the sound and feel. The Deep Diamond Mill gets the ball rolling quickly on line with very minimal hop and skid, providing very consistent and repeatable distance control.

This is blade, so shots off the toe to tend to stray from your intended line a bit, the face does seem like it wants to rotate open a bit. Heel strikes defiantly stay online better, but tend to lose more steam and net get the roll out you might expect. The simple alignment line on the flange of the putter is easy to align, even for a guy who has been using mallets for years.

Like I have said before, I think there is something to the Stroke Lab tech, the lighter shaft and weight in the butt of the shaft do affect tempo for me; I noticed a slight calming of my backstroke and stroke through the ball.

Overall, the San Diego is a great putter for those who like a little firmer feel and more audible click on their putter. It is very responsive and putts a great roll on the ball. This isn’t a cheap putter ($450) and the fit and finish let you know that you are getting what you paid for.

Your Reaction?
  • 56
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW4
  • LOL7
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP5
  • OB1
  • SHANK36

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

WRX Spotlight Review: Miura MGP-NM1 Putter

Published

on

Product: Miura MGP-NM1 putter

Pitch: Limited to 300 pieces, the Miura MGP-NM1 is Miura’s first 303 stainless steel putter. Its appearance is in keeping with the bolder designs of the Miura Giken family.

Our take on the Miura MGP-NM1 putter

Miura Giken has become the brand where Miura can push some limits and try out designs and technology not really fit for the standard Miura line. And if doing something new and different is what Miura Giken is about, then the MGP-NM1 fits like a glove. When most people think of Miura, they think forged carbon steel and traditional, old school shapes. The MGP-NM1 is a long ways from that, being milled from 303 stainless steel, having adjustable weights and milled stepped pockets in the sole.

If you love mill marks, then the MBG-NM1 will fulfill all our needs because the head is covered with them. I really liked the top line where the mill marks go front to back but then get much finer around the alignment line. If you look close the milling is still there, but just much finer. It works great along with the alignment lines on the “fangs.” The MGP-NM1 is a great size: large enough to give you confidence that a mishit will stay online, but not too big to be distracting. Like most putters with this (Odyssey No. 7)  shape, it frames the ball really well and looks great to my eye. The way the shaft goes into the head is for sure unique, it is straight from address but does drop down into the head.

I will get my one con on this putter out of the way early: the way the shaft goes into the head from address. I love the shape of the head, but the way the shaft enters the head makes it harder for me to line up. At address you can see the the top line of the putter on both sides of the shaft and for some that might be helpful, but it took me a long time to get comfortable with my alignment. Also, the head cover isn’t up to standard for a putter in this price range.

But the good of this putter really outweighs that bad. The putter  feels and sounds great, much like the Miura KM-009 reviewed previously. Feel is very solid with, to me, the perfect amount of click on impact. There might be just a slight bit of vibration on contact, but very minimal and will probably vary with the ball you play. Contact on the toe and heel really stay on target well; you can tell this mallet has a fairly high MOI. Like any responsive putter should do, this really provides good feedback on mishits. Toe and heel shots are not punished as much as you would think, the ball still rolls out well with minimal distance loss. That solid, soft Miura feel really does come through with this putter.

Overall, I think the Miura Giken MGP-NM1 is a really great way for a mallet user to put a Miura putter into the bag.

Your Reaction?
  • 23
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB3
  • SHANK16

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending