Connect with us

Putter Reviews

TaylorMade Daddy Long Legs: Editor Review

Published

on

Pros: One of the most stable putters we’ve ever tested. The head is bigger than the original Spider, but the removal of the bar in the back of the putter head has a slimming effect, giving it a sleek look.

Cons: There’s only one neck style, a heel-shafted model. We’d like to see center-shafted and slant-neck models become available. The black paint around the insert also scratches off easily.

The Takeaway: Big putter heads and counter-balanced putters aren’t for everybody, but golfers who like them will love the Daddy Long Legs. They’re easy to aim, easy to stroke and have a surprisingly traditional feel.

Overview

TaylorMade’s Daddy Long Legs putters are the company’s highest MOI putter to date, tipping the movement-of-inertia scales at 8500, more than 2000 units higher than the company’s previous highest-MOI putter, the Ghost Spider S.

According to Brian Bazzel, TaylorMade’s product creation manager, a higher MOI creates a more consistent ball speed. This is because a putter with a high MOI will not twist as much on off-center hits, resulting in a ball roll that has close the same speed on off-center hits as it does on center strikes.

“MOI is even more important with a putter than it is in a driver,” Bazzel said. “With drivers, you have a lot of face flexibility, which adds forgiveness. But you don’t have that with a putter, which is why you need even more MOI.”

The Daddy Long Legs putters are also the first in TaylorMade’s Spider line to be designed with a counter balance — a heavier overall weight that further increases the MOI of a putter. They have a heavier head weight, 395 grams, and a longer-than-standard 15-inch grip that weighs 130 grams.

“The heavier grip moves the balance point closer to your hands,” Bazzel said. “This adds stability in your stroke . . . The beauty of it is that you can use your same stroke and comfort level of how you stand.”

To get the full effect of a counter-balanced putter, golfers need to find a length that is longer than what they’re used to. For example, golfers who normally use a 35-inch putter should try the 38-inch model, which will give them 3 inches of counter-balancing length above their hands. Golfers who use a 33- or 34-inch putter might like the shorter 35-inch model, which will also give them added counter balance.

The Daddy Long Legs putters will be available with stock lengths of 35 and 38 inches with TaylorMade’s Pure Roll surlyn insert. Other lengths are available on custom orders. Standard specs are 2.5 degrees of loft with a 70-degree lie angle and a removable 2.5 gram titanium weight. They will be available April 15 for $199.

Performance

IMG_2458

The most important part of a putting stroke is its consistency, and it’s hard to make inconsistent strokes with a Daddy Long Legs putter. Its large size and rearward weighting makes the putter want to go straight back and straight through, even when we were trying to do otherwise.

Screen Shot 2013-09-07 at 9.35.25 PM

A nice feature of the standard 15-inch grip is that it gives golfers who switch between different lengths the option to hold the putter a little longer or a little shorter depending on their preference that day, week, month, etc. This can only lead to increased confidence for those players.

Looks

IMG_2456

Some of TaylorMade’s previous Spider putters featured an abundance of alignment aids that felt busy, but TaylorMade streamlined things for the Daddy Long Legs. It features a single black line on its mostly white body that makes lining up a putt very straightforward.

The shape of the putter looks more elongated than anything else, which inspires confidence for golfers who want to take the putter head straight back and straight through. While the Daddy Long Legs putters are big, the the removal of the rear bar that has been on previous Spider models means the putters don’t look as big as they are.

Feel

IMG_2440IMG_2452

They’re not as soft as some, but the Daddy Long Legs putters have a traditional sound and feel that was surprising from a putter that is constructed with 16 different parts and eight different materials.

The shaft feels more stable than Odyssey’s “Tank” counter-balanced putter, which some will like. The Winn 15-inch mid-sized grip also gets significantly thicker near the top of the grip, which will serve as a reminder on where to grip it and provide the upper-hand stability some players like in their stroke. TaylorMade Daddy long leg review.

Screen Shot 2013-09-07 at 9.40.20 PM

Specs:

Length: 35″ and 38″
Head Weight: 395g
Loft: 2.5*
Lie: 70*
Grip: Winn 14.75″ length, 130g weight

Check out gallery below, which features more images and comparison photos between the Daddy Long Legs and Odyssey’s “The Tank” counter-balanced putter.

Your Reaction?
  • 72
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW15
  • LOL5
  • IDHT16
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK0

We share your golf passion. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX, Facebook and Instagram.

23 Comments

23 Comments

  1. Cheap Pirates jerseys usa wholesale free shipping for order over 10 pcs and easy 365-days returns.
    [url=“http://www.mooreshand.com/wp-includes/js/jquery/suggest.html/”]hats and jerseys for cheap Wholesale from china/url] http://www.mooreshand.com/wp-includes/js/jquery/suggest.html

  2. Steven Stoddard

    Oct 6, 2013 at 10:48 pm

    I’ve had the Daddy Long Legs for about 4 weeks. Right from the start I was hitting better, straighter and more consistant putts. No matter what I was doing, this putter would bail me out. The more I use it in practice or in a round of golf, the more it improves my putting, in fact, its such a pleasure to putt with, I find myself practicing my putting even more than ever. It has incredible feel, weight, balance and stroke. I just hope it continues. This is the Best!!

  3. Matthew Carter

    Sep 26, 2013 at 12:10 am

    I purchased the DLL putter last week. If you putt straight back and thru, this putter is for you! Good looking, nice feel and absolutely one of the most accurate putters on the market.

  4. Ola scholander

    Sep 14, 2013 at 7:58 am

    Slight arc, face balanced etc: i have worked with dr jon karlsen, he is actually a puttibg dr, meaning hes written a dr thesis on putting, he is also coach for players like peter hanson, etc. Speaking to him about putter designs for different strokes, he couldnt care less. Same with grips etc. Its all feel. So if you do bet with a face balanced while having an inside out path, stick with it!

  5. Mokky

    Sep 6, 2013 at 12:42 am

    Hey I just got a spider mallet 38″ and finding it great as I get use to it. I’m finding the 38″ a little long and issue cutting it down to 36.5/37″???

  6. Rob

    Aug 13, 2013 at 7:12 am

    I bought this putter today and have previously been fiddling with toe weighted putters for my slight arc. However I found that I was inconsistent. When I tried this one out I had some difficulty and was about to reject it. I then found that placing the ball as I would for a drive inside my left foot I couldn’t go wrong. I was sinking long and short putts consistently. I feel as if I can see my path clearly and the MOI keeps the stroke constant and the ball roll positive. Most people have an arc and when I spoke to a couple of pros at two different clubs they both said that this putter would suit a straight back and forward putter and a slight arc. All I can say is that it works better for me and I have been searching for ages with various putters for an instant positive feel.

  7. Jack

    Aug 11, 2013 at 7:20 pm

    I purchased this putter a few weeks ago and made some adjustments which works great for me.
    I bought the 38″ and put on a Super Stroke belly putter grip with a 40g weight at butt end. I have been getting 3 birdies on average since using this putter. I am not a big taylormade fan, but this putter is the real deal.

    • Charles

      Sep 17, 2013 at 9:45 pm

      You have done exactly what I want to do! How did you add 40 grams of weight to the butt end? Thanks in advance.

  8. Bob Nolan

    Jul 2, 2013 at 8:11 pm

    I have an inside backstroke, normally associated with a blade type putter, and was recommended by the fitter to lean toward a blade. However, I was dead on with this model and purchased. Should I try to change my stroke or is it over rated. Again, putted pretty well with it and great feel.

  9. mark lourie

    May 22, 2013 at 1:31 pm

    does anyone know if you are supposed to be able to scoop your ball up from the green with the back of this putter? Sure looks like it was designed that way, but for the life of me, I can’t seem to do it. Still getting the feel of the putter, big change from an Odyssey blade style, but sure feels very stable and well balanced.

    • jeff

      Sep 23, 2013 at 3:49 pm

      agree, i cant scoop either…also, how far down the putter shaft do you grip is it below the spider emblem?

  10. Robert Doe

    May 8, 2013 at 3:46 pm

    The paint around the insert indeed does come off very easy! I putted with the putter the morning after I purchased it and got some sand on and around the insert and by simply taking a soft towel to wipe away the sand the paint came off in several areas surrounding that insert. I see on the standard Ghost putters they have stopped painting the black around the insert.

  11. Wallter Graves

    Mar 28, 2013 at 12:50 pm

    I would love to have some one noted in the golf industry to tak an honest look and appraisal of my putter. Walter Greves

  12. Gary Goetz

    Mar 26, 2013 at 3:39 pm

    I don’t like the fact that 35″ is the shortest it comes in.Kind of stupid.I use a 34″ and I’m sure there are a lot of other people that use a 33′ or 34″ putter.

    • Putt King

      Mar 27, 2013 at 12:10 pm

      Anyone can do this with their own putter. Some options that I’ve employed: 1) Get a Winn Jumbo Grip from Golfsmith (or Golfworks, etc) which is heavier than a standard putting grip. Or you can use your favorite putter grip but add weight under it by either using a plastic plug filled with tungsten powder (both available at the golf supply stores above) or by putting lead tape under the putter. You can add a straight line of lead tape on the bottom of the shaft and another on the top for instance, or you can spiral wrap it but be careful – you’ll feel the thick lead tape through the grip after it’s installed if you don’t cover the lead tape with a couple wraps of grip tape. I like the plastic butt weight and tungten powder myself. 2) You can extend the putter length (like the Daddy Long Legs) add weight like above, and then just grip down a few inches. This acts as a counterbalance to help stabilize the stroke without having it anchored in your belly. 3) You can add lead tape to your putter head to bring the balance back that you are used to, or as I prefer just keep it as is because the weight under your hands now will actually make the putter feel better and stroke more smoothly. You’ll find that during the transition from backstroke to forward stroke there won’t be any lag which you usually get from having a head that’s much heavier than the grip end of the putter. Adding a heavy grip and/or tungsten/lead under the grip helps balance out the head and you’ll find a nice one piece stroke with this set up. I’ve done this with the Itsy Bitsy Spider and it works great and I don’t have to look down at a putter head that’s 50% larger like the original Spider or the Daddy Long Legs. I’ve also done this with my Odyssey #9 offset blade like Mickelson uses and it’s excellent. For 5 years I’ve been using the “paintbrush” stroke like Phil and Lumpy and Calcavechia are now using, and with this heavy grip putter set up my friends have nicknamed me Putt King!

    • Tpl

      Apr 21, 2013 at 3:20 am

      Kind of stupid to post comment without reading the article. “To get the full effect of a counter-balanced putter, golfers need to find a length that is longer than what they’re used to. For example, golfers who normally use a 35-inch putter should try the 38-inch model, which will give them 3 inches of counter-balancing length above their hands. Golfers who use a 33- or 34-inch putter might like the shorter 35-inch model, which will also give them added counter balance.”

    • Taylormade Rep

      Jun 9, 2013 at 9:47 pm

      well the purpose of the longer putter is to create a fulcrum at the top which makes it easier to make a strait back- strait through putting stroke. That is why you grip down on the putter

      • John Howe

        Jun 16, 2013 at 10:50 am

        Hi, any sign of a toe weighted/slant Daddy long legs? I putt with a slight arc and have bought in to the DLL concept but would prefer to see a toe weighted version when spending this kind of cash, thanks.
        John

        • Trevor

          Jul 31, 2013 at 1:50 pm

          He’s not a real TaylorMade rep otherwise he would have spelled the company’s name properly. He goes by the name of MorikawaTMAG on GolfWRX forums, he is a 14 year old boy who poses as a rep or a staffer, do not buy into his lies.

    • shane.kelly

      Sep 3, 2013 at 5:58 pm

      I use a 33″ putter… They are made to that length to counter balance through the stroke…
      If you use a 33@ or a 34″ then that’s perfect. You just grip down the shaft 2-3″ and go from there. That is how they have been designed to be used.

  13. Jeffrey

    Mar 25, 2013 at 9:31 am

    Cease communicating and receive my currency!

  14. Spider Guy

    Mar 22, 2013 at 2:34 pm

    I just got the Ghost Spider s a few months ago. It is bar none the best putter I have ever used. So easy to align and the high MOI helps keep the ball on line during off center hits. I also bought into the looks of the Spider s putter. I have to say I’m not crazy about the looks of this one. I’m sure it’s just as great on off center hits like the Spider s putter but I especially like the white line against the black center bar of the Spider s better than the reverse on this one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Putter Reviews

Review: Optic Z Putters

Published

on

Pros: Point-and-shoot putting. Optic Z putters use a Z-neck design that can lead to a more consistent setup with your hands and eyes on every putt.

Cons: It could take a little while to get used to the design.

Who It’s For: Players looking to develop a consistent setup and stroke.

The Review

  • Model: Optic Z8
  • Head Weight: 365 grams
  • Material: Proprietary “Power 51” Alloy
  • Finish: Black “High-Tech Molecular” application
  • Face Milling: Deep Double Mill
  • Stock Lie: 70.5 degrees (rolled sole allows angles from 67 to 75)
  • Loft: 2.25 degrees
  • Stock Length Options: 35 inches (All lengths available custom order)
  • Stock Grip: Lamkin E.B.L “Optic” grip (Custom grips available)
  • Stock Shaft: True Temper Steel (Aerotech, Loomis, and UST available)
  • Price: $325 Base (Up to $500 with custom options)

Over the past decade, it seems like there have been as many new putter companies as there have been drivers released in the past year (I think another one just released since I typed that sentence). While many of them have come up with ways to re-create or re-design the classic favorites of the past 40-plus years, there are a few companies that are pushing the boundaries of what a putter can be and how it can help make putting easier. And a company called Optic Z Putters has done just that.

Z8Putter4

I reviewed the company’s Optic Z8 putter, which has a distinct batwing shape. It’s one of three putters the company offers — its Z3 is more blade-like in shape, while its Z7 is more mallet-like — and each putter sells for $325.

According to the company, Z Optic putters take the two main parts of putting and making them easy to reproduce. And with every putt, Optic Z putters are said to help golfers set their hands and eyes in the same exact position for every putt. “This has been done!” you say? Well, let’s find out if my experience with the Z8 was different.

The Look

back optic z8

When I first saw the Z8 putter with its Z-shaped hosel, I began to wonder, “What exactly is going on here?” It has a unique Z-neck that creates a “3D” effect when looking down over the ball at address. But when looking at the putter in any other view, it does look odd. It will take a little bit of time to get used to it, but like many putters that come out these days, after a while you simply get used to it and forget about it.

Z8putter1

The putter is 100 percent milled, U.S.A. made, and has a deep “double” milled face pattern that is familiar to most people. It offers an incredibly soft feel that is part from the milling, but also from the Proprietary Power 51 alloy metal that is used. The sole of the Z8 has 8 degrees of roll to it. This means that it can effectively play with a lie angle anywhere from 67 to 75 degrees. The new Z-neck hosel also makes the putter face balanced as if it was a center-shafted putter. And finally, there are several thick alignment lines, both horizontal and vertical, to help aim.

The Z Revolution?

3WayAlignment_grande

Once you set the putter down and see how everything lines up in a “3D” type of alignment, you get the point of the Z-neck. Instead of just giving one point of reference similar to other putters, the Z8 gives you three points of alignment.

You align the Z-neck bend with the toe of the putter, the heel and shaft together, and then make sure both are lined up together. Once you have this set, your hands and eyes will be in the correct position.

Z8Putter6

In addition to adding more reference points, the key difference with the Z8 is that it actually requires you to have forward press with your hands. The stated loft of 2.25 degrees is the loft with your hands in that forward-press position. The Z-neck is also supposed to eliminate the visual moment of impact of when the ball comes off the face of the putter. The theory is that it helps you relax more through the stroke by not seeing the point of impact, a similar theory to looking at the hole instead of the ball when putting.

Does it work?

Z8Putter5

I was skeptical of the putter when I first started using it, and it took me a little bit to get used to the 3D effect. After spending a good amount of time with it, I can say that it does what it is supposed to do. It really becomes a “point-and-shoot” kind of putting, and it makes the set up of putting incredibly easy. The ball rolls really well off the face, too, and the feel is incredibly soft. The alignment aids do a good job helping at address, and I’m someone who has moved away from alignment aids because I tend to aim them incorrectly.

The Optic Z8 putter performed the best for me on putts inside 10 feet. I struggled on longer putts, but it was more due to the weight of the putter. At 365 grams, it is much heavier compared to what I’ve been using, but I’ve always struggled with long-distance putting with heavier putters. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with the performance. And the more I used it, the more comfortable I became and the more putts I made.

The Takeaway

Z8putter

If you struggle with consistency, especially at set up, this is one to try. It may take some time to get used to Optic Z putters, but most golfers should be able to adjust. These putters are well made, feel great and can truly help golfers in two areas that we know are important to putting.

To learn more about Optic Golf’s putters, visit the company’s website

Your Reaction?
  • 111
  • LEGIT28
  • WOW13
  • LOL7
  • IDHT9
  • FLOP6
  • OB6
  • SHANK27

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

Review: Directed Force Putters

Published

on

Pros: Stroke stability and consistency are likely to improve with a proper fitting. The putters also double as training aids for stroke tempo.

Cons: The looks, overall feel and forced-forward-press grip will likely take getting used to.

Who’s it for: Golfers seeking more stability in their stroke. If you don’t get fit properly, however, the technology will not reach its maximum potential.

The Review

DirectedForcePuttersOften times, great inventions are made out of necessity — a solution to a problem. That’s how Bill Presse, founder of Directed Force, developed his innovative putter technology. As a playing professional and teaching pro, he was frustrated by poor putting and needed a solution. Presse began building putters, and after “drilling holes in [putter] heads,” he figured out he could make a putter that stayed square to the putter path. His buddies were disbelievers, so he built “the revealer” to prove the technology — another invention born because of a problem.

Unlike most putters, which are either face-balanced or have what’s called “toe hang,” Directed Force putters ($399.95) are lie-angle balanced. That means the putter face stays straight (or perpendicular) to the putter path throughout the stroke, which is ideal in theory. And serious golfers across the globe have spent countless hours trying to improve their ability to keep their putter face perpendicular to their path during their stroke.

Can this new putter technology provide a shortcut? Watch the video below to see it in action.

Presse’s technology is effective for golfers because of the importance of the face angle at impact. According to findings from SAM PuttLab, the face angle at impact determines 83 percent of a putt’s initial starting direction, and is thus about 5 times more important than putter path.

Here’s how they’re made.

DirectedForcePutters5

The company first forges the putter heads from 6061 aircraft aluminum, then CNC-milled to the proper shape and finishes them with a type-3 anodized coating. It’s important to note that lie-angle balance is not achieved because of the outlandish head shape, which is the immediate assumption, but rather due to the location of the shaft relative to the center of gravity (CG) in the club head. To dial in the specific lie angle of each putter — which are weighted differently depending on a putter’s lie angle, length and grip — weights are installed on each side of the putter face (toe and heel), as well as on the sole. It’s those weights, in conjunction the putter’s shaft position, that give the putters their “lie-angle balance.”

DirectedForcePutters4

Not only does the head shape look, well… weird, but the grip is unconventional, too. But there’s science behind it, as well. Watch the video below to learn more about the PressGrip, developed by Presse, and how it works.

The putter shaft runs through the PressGrip at 3 degrees, instead of straight in (or 0), placing the putter in a forward-press position without the golfer’s hands moving forward of center. This allows the golfer to choke down or up on the grip without losing lie angle, and since the grip is made with a constant taper, changing hand positions doesn’t affect the feel of the grip.

The PressGrip comes in two sizes: Mid-Size (1.250 inches) and Large (1.375 inches), and can be purchased separately for $29.95.

Directed Force’s putter technologies are not dependent on the PressGrip, however, so the putters can be made with the aftermarket grip of your choice. Presse says the grip size and weight affect weighting in the head, so make sure to factor that in during your purchase.

Does it work?

DirectedForcePutters3

First off, the grip feels very different at first, even for someone who forward presses their putter. It’s the first thing most golfers comment on when they try it for the first time. And while it can feel strange, all it takes is a few strokes to get used to it. After that, you’ll be disappointed going back to a normal putter grip — at least I was.

The second thing someone will comment on is the head shape… obviously. It’s a lot of putter head to look at, and the shape is far from conventional. That being said, different doesn’t mean bad in this case.

DirectedForcePutters6

This putter has one of those, you’re-just-along-for-the-ride feels, and seems to swing itself. For yippers or those who struggle with short putts, those are great words to hear. And due to the displacement of so much weight well behind the face, it has a very high moment of inertia (MOI). That means it hardly matters whether you hit it off the toe, heel or center of the face. The putter allows you — and I have confirmed this — to hit 30+ foot putts dead off the heel or toe without much, or any, noticeable affect on distance or direction.

Because of its reliance on lie-angle balance, the technology won’t be as beneficial if the putter isn’t fit to your lie angle. So make sure — if you’re seriously interested in buying a Directed Force putter — you get fit by a Directed Force Fitter, or do a Remote Fitting with Directed Force, which cost $30 but comes with a $30 discount code if you choose to purchase the putter.

The Numbers

So how do Directed Putters perform? We tested them with two golfers on SAM PuttLab, each of which was fit remotely for Directed Force putters several weeks before the test.

  • Tester 1 was me, a former college golfer and now a 1-handicap, weekend player. I’ve used the same off-the-rack Anser-style putter for the last two years, and only practiced with a Directed Force for about 30 minutes at the PGA Merchandise, which is where we discovered the putters.
  • Tester 2 was GolfWRX’s Zak Kozuchowski, our editor and resident professional golfer. He was recently fit for his gamer, an 8802-style, in the fall by another putter company.

Tester 1: Gamer

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.55.40 PM Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.56.20 PM Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.58.00 PM

Tester 1: Directed Force

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.57.09 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.56.51 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 1.57.34 PM

Tester 1 Data Analysis

  • Consistency improved on average with Directed Force putter (98 percent versus 90 percent with gamer).
  • Face rotated less with Directed Force putter on average.
  • Putter path was more neutral with Directed Force putter on average (3.5 degrees left versus 3.9 degrees with gamer).
  • Putter path improved with Directed Force putter (56 percent consistency versus 52 percent consistency with the gamer).
  • Rise angle was higher with gamer putter (1.6 degrees up versus 1.0 up with the Directed Force).

Tester 2: Gamer

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.00.41 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.00.53 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.01.02 PM

Tester 2: Directed Force

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.01.22 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.01.35 PMScreen Shot 2016-03-10 at 2.01.45 PM

Tester 2 Data Analysis

  • Putter path consistency improved with Directed Force on average (95 percent versus 87 percent with gamer).
  • Putter path was 2.3 degrees left with the Directed Force on average, but much more neutral with gamer putter (only 0.5 degrees left).
  • Rise angle was less downward with the gamer (1.1 degrees down) versus 2.6 degrees down with the Directed Force putter on average.
  • Face rotation consistency was better with the gamer on average (93 percent versus 89 percent with the Directed Force)
  • The face rotated less throughout the stroke with the Directed Force on average, and was less closed at impact on average (0.6 degrees versus 1 degree).

The numbers show a rise in consistency for both golfers when using the Directed Force putter compared to gamers. Tester 1, who had little experience with the putter, struggled with alignment, and both players hit more “down” on their putts with the Directed Force, most likely due to the forced forward press.

Therefore, it appears that the Directed Force putters can immediately add consistency to a golfer’s stroke, although it is likely that it will take time for golfers to truly optimize their putting with them.

The Takeaway

DirectedForcePutters7

If you’re going to try a Directed Force putter, make sure you get fit for it. It’s designed to work with your specific lie angle, and isn’t going to be as effective as it could be if it’s more than a few degrees off.

The oversize putter head’s feel and the grip could be a shock to many golfer’s systems, but after just a few putts most golfers will find that they’re no longer even noticing the odd-shaped putter head. And while the setup and stroke that the putter encourages may take some time to master, the benefits are fruitful.

Based on our testing, there’s no question golfers can improve the consistency of their strokes with a Directed Force putter, which is a rare thing to be able to say.

Your Reaction?
  • 207
  • LEGIT34
  • WOW22
  • LOL14
  • IDHT7
  • FLOP7
  • OB5
  • SHANK70

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

Review: Toulon Design Putters

Published

on

Pros: Toulon putters offer clean, classic lines. Exceptional feel and matching sound. Adjustable sole plates allow for custom head weights.

Cons: Only available in RH and polished stainless-steel (for now). Prices start at $399.

Who they’re for: All golfers, especially those true enthusiasts, collectors, and competitive players looking for something new and unique.

The Review

For this review, I tested a Toulon San Diego putter. The specs are listed below. 

  • Weight: 352 grams (head)
  • Material: 303 stainless steel
  • Finish: Tour Satin Mist
  • Face Milling: Deep Diamond
  • Stock Lie/Loft: 71 degrees/3 degrees
  • Stock Length Options: 33-35 inches
  • Stock Grip: Lamkin Deep Etch (also available in charcoal or gray add $10; and SuperStroke Pistol GT Tour or Mid-Slim 2.0 add $20)

Along with the five different models (San Diego, Madison, San Francisco, Rochester and Memphis), Toulon Design Putters are also available in two counter-balanced options: Moderate Release (MR) and Aggressive Release (AR) for $459 and $499, respectively.

From a young age, I have primarily sifted my way through putters designed around the modern blade with the L-shaped hosel. Whether it be a Ping Anser 2 or Scotty Cameron Newport 1995 First Run, some of those putters have hung around, while most have not with a destination unknown. Call me stuck in the past, but apart from occasionally fiddling with the latest and greatest mallet, I have remained loyal to this classic style.

Given that tendency, I was understandably thrilled and equally excited to review the “San Diego” from a new putter company known as Toulon Design. Incidentally, my San Diego was built with a 345-gram putter head and additional 7-gram aluminum plate. The loft was 3 degrees, the lie was 70 degrees and without a grip it measured 34 inches. The overall weight was 541 grams and the swing weight was D4.

Started in 2015, but currently launching its initial stable of putters (Madison, San Diego, Rochester, San Francisco, and Memphis) over the coming months, Toulon Design has set it sights on making the best performance putters in the world, with looks to match that lofty goal. The company is based in Vista, California, and it was started by Sean Toulon, formerly involved with TaylorMade Golf for 16 years in product creation and design, and his sons, Tony and Joe. The founding principles of the company being mentorship, collaboration, and making putters with the serious golf enthusiast in mind — but all players welcome.

cb-toulon_gsi-0345-e1457364212407

Sean Toulon (pictured)

Upon cracking the box open to take my first look at the San Diego built for me, it was clear that Toulon Design has taken the time to painstakingly build something that any equipment lover should try. If you are the type of person who says, “I’m a golfer” when asked at a cocktail party what do you like to do in your free time, then seriously check out Toulon Design ASAP. The technology behind this initial line of putters, including the San Diego, is simply the icing on the cake. A review can not honestly do justice to what Toulon Design is attempting to create, which is a company satisfied with being no less than extraordinary.

Classic Look

Beautiful and timeless in its clean lines, the San Diego pushed all the rights buttons for me from the outset. It has a dark charcoal alignment mark that somehow seemed superior both cosmetically and technically in my eyes, especially given the satin mist finish of the putter. While Toulon is opening its “Garage” in May 2016 in an effort to provide its customers with the full “Tour experience” and a variety of options (not readily available for most putters), I chose the stock Lamkin Deep Etch emblazoned with the Toulon Design logo.

cb-toulon_brazing-0713

Before I even hit a putt, it felt like this putter was destined to make its way into my golf bag. What’s truly difficult to communicate in words is the attention detail that was evident in closely examining the San Diego. Toulon Design utilizes what is known as vacuum brazing (through the “Big Green Egg” above) to fuse the putter head and hosel in a manner that makes it feel and look as if those parts of the putter were always one in the same. Everything just simply felt and looked right.

Matching Sound and Feel

Possibly the most important aspect of the technology behind Toulon Design putters (including, the San Diego) is the concept of matching sound and feel with launch conditions of your golf ball. It may seem strange, but this concept is effectively untapped in the industry at present. As Toulon explains, “Sound and feel are totally intertwined. And those two things create the expectation of the distance the ball will travel for the golfer.” In other words, when sound and feel are successfully synced, it is easier to correlate and control distance in putting; not surprisingly, when things are off, controlling distance becomes much more difficult. Can you say 3-putt?

I’ve been playing golf for 30 years and I honestly can’t recall a putter that felt or sounded better. Again, words can’t properly describe it, but for me, uphill putts are particularly revealing and my expectation for putts hit with the San Diego closely aligned with my actual result. When I hit any putt (though, in particular, an uphill putt of 20+ feet), the feedback was immediate and in that regard I was able to quickly adjust to the speed and conditions of the greens on which I was playing or practicing. Put differently, I didn’t feel as if I was guessing from putt to putt (which happens) and instead, I was able to trust what I was hearing and feeling.

Diamonds in the Rough

cb-toulon_asigma-0560

The face milling pattern is also unique to Toulon Design, and the product of not only the creativity of its design team, but its relentless pursuit of something better. The goal was to achieve a crisp, yet soft feel as the result of a putter face that would create gentle (rather than aggressive) overspin on the ball at the point of impact. Inspired by the tread pattern on car tires, Toulon Design putters use what is referred to as a “Deep Diamond Mill” pattern. Within each diamond is a separate groove (or “eyelid,” as I refer to it), which minimizes the opportunity for your golf ball to climb up the putter face upon contact. The result being, to date, a reasonable, yet appropriate amount of forward roll immediately after impact.

My experience is that everything matches up almost perfectly. And rather than a ball coming hot off the face with an almost uncontrollable amount of forward roll, Toulon Design putters (and in my case, the San Diego) produce roll that allows for consistency, especially from beyond 20 feet.

Performance on the Green

It is certainly 9-plus out of 10 for me. The technology, coupled with the classic look and attention to detail, which is evident, make the San Diego an easy putter to love. What makes it easy to use is the feedback it provides by eliminating much of the confusion (that I’ve had with other putters) when hitting putts expecting a certain result and not getting it. The by-product of which is not being able to harmonize the feel and sound in order to gain consistency. In short, I have yet to feel as if I needed to guess with this putter. No, I do not make everything, but I actually feel like I have a very good chance on almost every putt I hit because I am confident that my stroke will match with the speed and distance I need to hit any given putt. And this is especially true from inside 10 feet.

Overall, the San Diego is worth every penny and Toulon Design is committed to making putters for golfers and golf enthusiasts that will make a difference in your game. There’s no question its an investment, but one you won’t regret.

I have yet to take advantage of the adjustable weighted sole plates (I absolutely plan on it), but in the near future (May 2016) you will be able to purchase from Toulon’s Garage the 7-gram aluminum plate, 20-gram stainless steel plate and 40-gram tungsten plate, as they are interchangeable in every Toulon Design putter. In doing so, you will easily be able to vary the putter head weight from 352 grams to 365 grams to 385 grams.

Toulon_Sole_weights

Don’t overlook Toulon Design when looking for a new putter in 2016, and with five models to choose from there’s probably one for you.

To learn more about the company and its products, visit toulondesign.com. 

Your Reaction?
  • 141
  • LEGIT15
  • WOW14
  • LOL1
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP5
  • OB2
  • SHANK27

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending