Connect with us
Advertisement

Reviews

Aldila Phenom Review

Published

on

Review by: Willpeoples of GolfWRX

OK guys I finally got a chance to review one of these. The phenom was created simulatenously as the RIP Beta. In fact the first Green Eye 50Xs on tour were actually Phenom prototypes. The Phenom has the same launch as the beta. A little less spin with the phenom, the feel is much better with the phenom. I was told by a friend that they have “Stiff tip and butt, softer middle section”. He also said these things are extremely popular on tour already, and will be even more popular next year, here is a list of who is playing them already.

Ian Poulter
Fredrik Jacobsen
Heath Slocum
Ben Curtis
TA III
Kirk Tripplett
John Merrick
Brett Quigley
JJ Killeen
R S Johnson

I would definitely recommend trying this shaft, even if its next year, these shafts are worth it.

————

per Aldila…

RIP Phenom™

Thenew Aldila RIP Phenom incorporates Aldila’s Tour proven RIP Technologywith aunique composite construction to create a new and innovative shaft flex profilefor maximum distance and control – the Hyperbolic Flex Zon. RIP Technology repositions the materials andpatterns to optimize the performance characteristics of the shaft. The Phenom’s Hyperbolic Flex Zone provides astiff tip section for optimal launch and spin control, with a very firm buttsection for an incredibly stable feel, while the center section of the shaft issofter to provide outstanding kick through impact to maximize ball speed. Through the use of computer modelingtechnology and exclusive carbon fiber materials, Aldila completely turned golfshaft design and performance inside out. RIP Technology provides a shaft design with optimum flex and torquecharacteristics with increased cross-sectional stability throughout the tiparea for greater shot control. Throughthe use of a Hyperbolic Flex Zone, the new RIP Phenom incorporates the sameflex, torque and feel properties that have made the original RIP the leadingshaft on the PGA Tour, with a flex profile to achieve unparalleled performanceand launch characteristics for better players. The RIP Phenom is available in 50 and 70gram weight designs in R, S andX flexes. Suggested retail is $349

Click here to see more Pics and discussion… http://www.golfwrx.com/forums/topic/554235-phenom-review/

Your Reaction?
  • 2
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.

10 Comments

10 Comments

  1. J.J.

    Jan 7, 2013 at 11:45 pm

    I expected to read a review not “my friend says”. These are just photos; how can you recommend anything based on photos and company hype? I thought GolfWRX prided itself on being knowledgeable and objective, not on “Ooh look! Shiny!”. This isn’t a review and without data to back up why someone might want to spend money on a product is just irresponsible.

  2. Robert

    Feb 19, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    Yes all the factory quotes on what the shaft does is nice, but how do we know what gram and stiffness is going to be right for us?

  3. Blacktip Shark

    Feb 4, 2012 at 4:53 am

    Shane were you playing the Alpha or Beta on the RIP? Thanks

    BTS

  4. SHANE

    Feb 3, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    This is by far on of the best shafts that I have hit in my R11s, even stuck it in my R11 and ball flight was very close. My ball speed went up 3 and my spin rate went down from 3100 to 2900. I really like this shaft and i been hitting the rip technology for last couple years.

  5. MartinÅLE

    Jan 18, 2012 at 8:49 am

    Do you anything about the torque ?

  6. 10000golf

    Dec 26, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    i only see the shaft,and the head?

  7. Blopar

    Dec 18, 2011 at 8:34 am

    A little better….still sounds like direct quotes from aldila factory spec/pr sheet.. How about a follow up where you hit this thing in several clubs, several golfers, and bring a launch monitor along so we can hear something about it’s performance that doesn’t sound like a grade school book report

  8. Tupac

    Dec 15, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    that’s better

  9. GolfWRX

    Dec 13, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Little harsh there. Dont you like to see pics before anyone else in world. We dont have any data yet on this baby. Pics were cought out on tour. Here is some more info for you…

    RIP Technology repositions the materials and patterns to optimize the performance characteristics of the shaft. The Phenom’s Hyperbolic Flex Zone provides a stiff tip section for optimal launch and spin control, with a very firm butt section for an incredibly stable feel. The center section of the shaft is softer to provide outstanding kick through impact to maximize ball speed.

    Through the use of a Hyperbolic Flex Zone, the new RIP Phenom incorporates the same flex, torque and feel properties that have made the original RIP the leading shaft on the PGA Tour, with a flex profile to achieve unparalleled performance and launch characteristics for better players,” said Bahl. The RIP Phenom is available in 50 and 70-gram weight designs in R, S and X flexes. Suggested retail is $299.

  10. blopar

    Dec 13, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    this is not a review, just a list of professionals.
    what about launch monitor stats?, what head was it tried in?, what is it compared to besides the RIP beta? (which isn’t really discussed). what about ball flight? how much were you paid by aldila to promo this thing without saying anything about it…..really!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Apparel Reviews

Golf polos with bold patterns: A quick chat with Bad Birdie golf

Published

on

Founded in 2017, Los Angeles-based Bad Birdie golf produces some of the most eye-popping polos ever seen on a fairway.

The company’s brazen ambition to “make the most savage golf polos in the world” and its boisterous presence on social media belies an attention to detail and careful pattern curation. It’s easy to make loud, obnoxious clothing. It’s more challenging to produce something that’s at once bold, stylish, appropriately fitted and of high quality. But that is what Jason Richardson’s company has tried to do since entering the market.

I spoke with Richardson about his eye-catching wares.

Before we get into your Bad Birdie offerings, tell me your take on the state of golf wear when you decided to enter the market?

JR: I went shopping for a polo for an upcoming tournament and was hoping to find something a little flashier/fun. I got bummed out when I realized most of the golf polos were generally the same colors/patterns. Solid pastels or stripes weren’t necessarily what I was going for, so I did some research online.

After looking at anything I could find, I realized that most golf polos are almost identical to each other. The only thing that’s really different is the branding or tech fabric. There’s a couple brands making a few edgier patterns but they still have a middle-aged, Tommy Bahama feel that’s not necessarily relevant to the younger golfer.

So building on that, what was the opportunity you saw?

JR: I saw an opportunity to make polos for the younger/trendier/bolder golfer whose style doesn’t fit into the traditional golf trends of pastels and stripes. We have a saying we use on some of our ads: “Your dad called and wants his polo back.” Most young/millennial guys who love golf are having to get their apparel from the same place their dad does. Bad Birdie sees an opportunity to fix that.

Cool. What’s your background in golf?

JR: I’ve worked in golf for a lot of my life. I started caddying when I was 12 at Forest Highlands in Flagstaff, AZ, during the summers, so learned the game while working. During high school, I worked for an eBay store that sold golf shafts that were left over from all the club fitters in Scottsdale. After college and before starting Bad Birdie I worked in advertising.

What’s Bad Birdie’s competitive advantage?

JR: There’s no other brands making performance golf polos with styles like we do. Our team is in their 20s and early 30s so we’re right in our target demographic and have a great network of friends/golfers we can bounce ideas off of. Being based in Los Angeles doesn’t hurt either, as we see a lot of the new fashion trends first.

Who’s your target consumer, and what has the response been like?

JR: 18-35-year-old males (and their significant others who buy Bad Birdie as gifts). The number one customer email we get is guys telling us how surprised they were by the number of compliments they got while wearing their Bad Birdie. Love getting those.

Any upcoming releases, plans we should know about?

JR: We have some new polos dropping in July you’ll want to keep an eye out for.

Who’s the best-dressed golfer on the PGA Tour?

JR: Until someone is wearing a Bad Birdie it’s tough to say.

Touche.

Check out Bad Birdie’s wares here, or check them out @badbirdiegolf on Twitter.

Your Reaction?
  • 20
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP1
  • OB3
  • SHANK14

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

I tried the great Golfboarding experiment… here’s how it went

Published

on

Corica Park Golf Course is not exactly the first place you’d expect to find one of the most experimental sports movements sweeping the nation. Sitting on a pristine swath of land along the southern rim of Alameda Island, deep in the heart of the San Francisco Bay, the course’s municipal roots and no-frills clubhouse give it an unpretentious air that seems to fit better with Sam Snead’s style of play than, say, Rickie Fowler’s.

Yet here I am, one perfectly sunny morning on a recent Saturday in December planning to try something that is about as unconventional as it gets for a 90-year-old golf course.

It’s called Golfboarding, and it’s pretty much exactly what it sounds like: an amalgam of golf and skateboarding, or maybe surfing. The brainchild of surfing legend Laird Hamilton — who can be assumed to have mastered, and has clearly grown bored of, all normal sports — Golfboarding is catching on at courses throughout the country, from local municipal courses like Corica Park to luxury country clubs like Cog Hill and TPC Las Colinas. Since winning Innovation Of the Year at the PGA Merchandising Show in 2014, Golfboards can now be found at 250 courses and have powered nearly a million rounds of golf already. Corica Park currently owns eight of them.

The man in pro shop gets a twinkle in his eyes when our foursome tells him we’d like to take them out. “Have you ridden them before?” he asks. When we admit that we are uninitiated, he grins and tells us we’re in for a treat.

But first, we need to sign a waiver and watch a seven-minute instructional video. A slow, lawyerly voice reads off pedantic warnings like “Stepping on the golfboard should be done slowly and carefully” and “Always hold onto the handlebars when the board is in motion.” When it cautions us to “operate the board a safe distance from all…other golfboarders,” we exchange glances, knowing that one of us will more than likely break this rule later on.

Then we venture outside, where one of the clubhouse attendants shows us the ropes. The controls are pretty simple. One switch sends it forward or in reverse, another toggles between low and high gear. To make it go, there’s a throttle on the thumb of the handle. The attendant explains that the only thing we have to worry about is our clubs banging against our knuckles.

“Don’t be afraid to really lean into the turns,” he offers. “You pretty much can’t roll it over.”

“That sounds like a challenge,” I joke. No one laughs.

On a test spin through the parking lot, the Golfboard feels strong and sturdy, even when I shift around on it. It starts and stops smoothly with only the slightest of jerks. In low gear its top speed is about 5 mph, so even at full throttle it never feels out of control.

The only challenge, as far as I can tell, is getting it to turn. For some reason, I’d expected the handlebar to offer at least some degree of steering, but it is purely for balance. The thing has the Ackerman angle of a Mack Truck, and you really do have to lean into the turns to get it to respond. For someone who is not particularly adept at either surfing or skateboarding, this comes a little unnaturally. I have to do a number of three-point turns in order to get back to where I started and make my way over to the first tee box.

We tee off and climb on. The fairway is flat and wide, and we shift into high gear as we speed off toward our balls. The engine had produced just the faintest of whirrs as it accelerated, but it is practically soundless as the board rolls along at full speed. The motor nevertheless feels surprisingly powerful under my feet (the drivetrain is literally located directly underneath the deck) as the board maintains a smooth, steady pace of 10 mph — about the same as a golf cart. I try making a couple of S curves like I’d seen in the video and realize that high-speed turning will take a little practice for me to get right, but that it doesn’t seem overly difficult.

Indeed, within a few holes I might as well be Laird himself, “surfing the earth” from shot to shot. I am able to hold the handlebar and lean way out, getting the board to turn, if not quite sharply, then at least closer to that of a large moving van than a full-sized semi. I take the hills aggressively (although the automatic speed control on the drivetrain enables it to keep a steady pace both up and down any hills, so this isn’t exactly dangerous), and I speed throughout the course like Mario Andretti on the freeway (the company claims increased pace-of-play as one of the Golfboard’s primary benefits, but on a Saturday in the Bay Area, it is impossible avoid a five-hour round anyway.)

Gliding along, my feet a few inches above the grass, the wind in my face as the fairways unfurl below my feet, it is easy to see Golfboards as the next evolution in mankind’s mastery of wheels; the same instincts to overcome inertia that brought us bicycles, rollerblades, scooters, skateboards, and more recent inventions such as Segways, Hoverboards and Onewheels are clearly manifest in Golfboards as well. They might not offer quite the same thrill as storming down a snowy mountainside or catching a giant wave, but they are definitely more fun than your standard golf cart.

Yet, there are obvious downsides as well. The attendant’s warning notwithstanding, my knuckles are in fact battered and sore by the time we make the turn, and even though I rearrange all my clubs into the front slots of my bag, they still rap my knuckles every time I hit a bump. Speaking of which, the board’s shock absorber system leaves something to be desired, as the ride is so bumpy that near the end I start to feel as if I’ve had my insides rattled. Then there is the unforgivable fact of its missing a cup holder for my beer.

But these are mere design flaws that might easily be fixed in the next generation of Golfboards. (A knuckle shield is a must!) My larger problem with Golfboards is what they do to the game itself. When walking or riding a traditional cart, the moments in between shots are a time to plan your next shot, or to chat about your last shot, or to simply find your zen out there among the trees and the birds and the spaciousness of the course. Instead, my focus is on staying upright.

Down the stretch, I start to fade. The muscles in my core have endured a pretty serious workout, and it’s becoming increasingly difficult to muster the strength for my golf swing. It is no coincidence that my game starts to unravel, and I am on the way to one of my worst rounds in recent memory.

Walking off the 18th green, our foursome agrees that the Golfboards were fun — definitely worth trying — but that we probably wouldn’t ride them again. Call me a purist, but as someone lacking Laird Hamilton’s physical gifts, I’m happy to stick to just one sport at a time.

Your Reaction?
  • 99
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW0
  • LOL9
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP5
  • OB3
  • SHANK20

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

Review: The QOD Electric Caddy

Published

on

If you want an electric golf caddy that doesn’t require that you wear a sensor or carry a remote — one that will be reliable and allow you to focus on your game, and not your cart — then the Australian-manufactured QOD is worth checking out.

The QOD (an acronym for Quality of Design and a nod to its four wheels) is powered by a 14.4-volt lithium battery, good for 36 holes or more on a single charge. It has nine different speeds (with the fastest settings moving closer to jogging velocity) so the QOD can handle your ideal pace, whether that be a casual stroll or a more rapid clip around the course.

The QOD is also built to last. Its injection-molded, aircraft-grade aluminum frame has no welded joints. Steel bolts and locking teeth take care of the hinging points. The battery and frame are both guaranteed for three full years. If you need a new battery after the three-year window, the folks at QOD will replace it at cost.

Its front-wheel suspension gives the QOD a smooth ride down the fairway, and the trolley is easy to navigate with a gentle nudge here and there. The QOD is always in free-wheel mode, so it is smooth and easy to maneuver manually in tight spaces and around the green.

The caddy also features three timed interval modes for situations where you might wish to send it up ahead on its own: when helping a friend find a lost ball or when you will be exiting on the far side of the green after putting, for example. The clip below includes a look at the caddy in timed mode.

When folded, the QOD measures a mere 17-inches wide, 15-inches deep and 12-inches tall.

Another area where the QOD excels is in its small size and portability. When folded, it measures a mere 17-inches wide, 15-inches deep and 12-inches tall, making it the smallest electric caddy on the market.

Folks Down Under have been enjoying the QOD for some time, but it wasn’t until a few years ago when Malachi McGlone was looking for a way to continue walking the course without putting undue strain on an injured wrist that the QOD found U.S. fairways. After first becoming a satisfied customer, McGlone convinced CEO Collin Hiss, who developed the product and oversees its production in Australia, to allow him to distribute and service the QOD here in the states.

The QOD has no self-balancing gyroscope, bluetooth sensor or remote control. Bells and whistles just aren’t its thing — though it does have a USB port for cell phone charging that can come in handy. However, if you are looking for a no-fuss workhorse to move your bag down the fairway, the QOD should be on your radar.

The 2018 model has begun shipping and will be on sale at $1,299 for a limited time. It normally retails at $1,499.

Your Reaction?
  • 86
  • LEGIT15
  • WOW8
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending