Connect with us

Reviews

Aldila Phenom Review

Published

on

Review by: Willpeoples of GolfWRX

OK guys I finally got a chance to review one of these. The phenom was created simulatenously as the RIP Beta. In fact the first Green Eye 50Xs on tour were actually Phenom prototypes. The Phenom has the same launch as the beta. A little less spin with the phenom, the feel is much better with the phenom. I was told by a friend that they have “Stiff tip and butt, softer middle section”. He also said these things are extremely popular on tour already, and will be even more popular next year, here is a list of who is playing them already.

Ian Poulter
Fredrik Jacobsen
Heath Slocum
Ben Curtis
TA III
Kirk Tripplett
John Merrick
Brett Quigley
JJ Killeen
R S Johnson

I would definitely recommend trying this shaft, even if its next year, these shafts are worth it.

————

per Aldila…

RIP Phenom™

Thenew Aldila RIP Phenom incorporates Aldila’s Tour proven RIP Technologywith aunique composite construction to create a new and innovative shaft flex profilefor maximum distance and control – the Hyperbolic Flex Zon. RIP Technology repositions the materials andpatterns to optimize the performance characteristics of the shaft. The Phenom’s Hyperbolic Flex Zone provides astiff tip section for optimal launch and spin control, with a very firm buttsection for an incredibly stable feel, while the center section of the shaft issofter to provide outstanding kick through impact to maximize ball speed. Through the use of computer modelingtechnology and exclusive carbon fiber materials, Aldila completely turned golfshaft design and performance inside out. RIP Technology provides a shaft design with optimum flex and torquecharacteristics with increased cross-sectional stability throughout the tiparea for greater shot control. Throughthe use of a Hyperbolic Flex Zone, the new RIP Phenom incorporates the sameflex, torque and feel properties that have made the original RIP the leadingshaft on the PGA Tour, with a flex profile to achieve unparalleled performanceand launch characteristics for better players. The RIP Phenom is available in 50 and 70gram weight designs in R, S andX flexes. Suggested retail is $349

Click here to see more Pics and discussion… http://www.golfwrx.com/forums/topic/554235-phenom-review/

Your Reaction?
  • 2
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.

Continue Reading
10 Comments

10 Comments

  1. J.J.

    Jan 7, 2013 at 11:45 pm

    I expected to read a review not “my friend says”. These are just photos; how can you recommend anything based on photos and company hype? I thought GolfWRX prided itself on being knowledgeable and objective, not on “Ooh look! Shiny!”. This isn’t a review and without data to back up why someone might want to spend money on a product is just irresponsible.

  2. Robert

    Feb 19, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    Yes all the factory quotes on what the shaft does is nice, but how do we know what gram and stiffness is going to be right for us?

  3. Blacktip Shark

    Feb 4, 2012 at 4:53 am

    Shane were you playing the Alpha or Beta on the RIP? Thanks

    BTS

  4. SHANE

    Feb 3, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    This is by far on of the best shafts that I have hit in my R11s, even stuck it in my R11 and ball flight was very close. My ball speed went up 3 and my spin rate went down from 3100 to 2900. I really like this shaft and i been hitting the rip technology for last couple years.

  5. MartinÅLE

    Jan 18, 2012 at 8:49 am

    Do you anything about the torque ?

  6. 10000golf

    Dec 26, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    i only see the shaft,and the head?

  7. Blopar

    Dec 18, 2011 at 8:34 am

    A little better….still sounds like direct quotes from aldila factory spec/pr sheet.. How about a follow up where you hit this thing in several clubs, several golfers, and bring a launch monitor along so we can hear something about it’s performance that doesn’t sound like a grade school book report

  8. Tupac

    Dec 15, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    that’s better

  9. GolfWRX

    Dec 13, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Little harsh there. Dont you like to see pics before anyone else in world. We dont have any data yet on this baby. Pics were cought out on tour. Here is some more info for you…

    RIP Technology repositions the materials and patterns to optimize the performance characteristics of the shaft. The Phenom’s Hyperbolic Flex Zone provides a stiff tip section for optimal launch and spin control, with a very firm butt section for an incredibly stable feel. The center section of the shaft is softer to provide outstanding kick through impact to maximize ball speed.

    Through the use of a Hyperbolic Flex Zone, the new RIP Phenom incorporates the same flex, torque and feel properties that have made the original RIP the leading shaft on the PGA Tour, with a flex profile to achieve unparalleled performance and launch characteristics for better players,” said Bahl. The RIP Phenom is available in 50 and 70-gram weight designs in R, S and X flexes. Suggested retail is $299.

  10. blopar

    Dec 13, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    this is not a review, just a list of professionals.
    what about launch monitor stats?, what head was it tried in?, what is it compared to besides the RIP beta? (which isn’t really discussed). what about ball flight? how much were you paid by aldila to promo this thing without saying anything about it…..really!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Accessory Reviews

Choose Your Tartan: Enter now to win a Sunfish Tartan headcover

Published

on

Sunfish, well known for its stylish headcover designs, is offering up free Tartan-style headcovers to five GolfWRX Members. All you have to do to apply is become a GolfWRX member, if you’re not already, and then reply in the forum thread with your favorite the Tartan pattern.

TartanPatternsSunfish

The five winners will receive a free headcover in the pattern that they select. Winners will be selected on Friday, so don’t wait.

Click here to enter into the giveaway and pick your favorite style.

Reminder: Commenting on this post WILL NOT enter you into the giveaway.

Your Reaction?
  • 6
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

Equipment

Member Reviews: Callaway Steelhead XR Fairway Woods

Published

on

One of the many benefits of being a GolfWRX Forum Member is exclusive access to Giveaways and Testing Threads. In this Testing Thread, we selected six members to test a Callaway Steelhead XR fairway wood built to their specs.

CallawaySteelheadXRwoods-1021x580

The Steelhead XR has a club face made of steel for that familiar Steelhead feel. The crowns are made from J-36 carbon fiber to lower center of gravity and move it more forward; that will help it produce lower spin like the original designs that sold 2.3 million units. According to Callaway, the crowns weigh just 6 grams — that’s 20 grams lighter than Callaway’s XR ’16 fairway wood crowns.

Full Tech Story: Callaway upgrades a classic, introduces Steelhead XR fairway woods

The Steelhead XR fairways also have a Hyper Speed Face Cup that produces more ball speed across the face, and Speed Step technology, or the raised portions on the crown, that were first introduced in Callaway XR ’16 metalwoods. They improve aerodynamics to help golfers produce higher swing speeds.

Each member completed a detailed analysis and rating of the club. You can see the full reviews here. Below, we pull quotes from the reviews to give you a feel for what this choice group of WRXers had to say. The responses have been minimally edited for brevity and style. Thanks to all of those involved in the testing!

lutomrSC

  • Club Tested: Callaway Steelhead XR (13.5 degrees)
  • Shaft Tested: Mitsubishi Tensei CK Blue 65X

“I like almost everything about how this club looks. The color combination of the dark blue against the steel face gives a nice contract. I really like how the carbon fiber looks under the blue paint.”

“At times the ball appeared to have a little too much spin and would tend to climb to a height that would be above my current gamer off the tee. It would tend to go further because of the stronger loft, however, usually about 5-7 yards. Perhaps a different shaft could help the spin, but it would need testing. The Mitsubishi Tensei CK Blue 65 Graphite X-flex is a great stock option. It has a good feel and a weight that I prefer, and I think it can keep up with higher swing speeds without issue.”

SDickenson642

  • Club Tested: Callaway Steelhead XR 4+ (16 degrees)
  • Shaft Tested: Mitsubishi Tensei CK Blue 65X

“The appearance of the Steelhead is amazing. The shape is perfect for my eye, as I prefer a smaller profile down by the ball in fairway woods. The face is pretty deep compared to my [Cobra] Fly-Z+ I’ve been playing for three years now. The sound is amazing off the head. I never had the privilege of playing the original Steelhead fairways, but it does remind me of the original woods I played as a kid, which I think where Tommy Armour 845’s.”

“With the deeper face of the Steelhead XR, I thought I would have issues launching the ball from the deck on par 5s, but I did not see any issue. Turf interaction with the Steelhead was great. I was able to try multiple lies from the fairway, rough, and even a bunker. From the fairway I could easily control it and actually get the ball up in the air enough and with enough spin to hold greens.”

MillerLowLife

  • Club Tested: Callaway Steelhead XR 4+ (16 degrees)

“The top of this club looks awesome at address. I really liked the look of the crown that is a dark blue and shows the carbon fiber underneath. That, coupled with the silver steel face, makes it easy to frame the ball. This is a steel club so the sound and feel will be a sharper metal sound that’s accustomed to the old Steelheads. Has great swing weight and feel. Felt really easy to hit this in the tee box, fairway, or rough.”

“I really enjoyed the versatility of the 4+ with the shorter playing length, heavier swing weight, and flatter lie angle. For me, it felt like a bomber off the tee box, but it was still something I could use to get me out of less-than-ideal lies outside of the fairway —  something I wouldn’t think about with my current gamer.”

Hackster

  • Club Tested: Callaway Steelhead XR 4+ (16 degrees)

“This club is all business. Longer than my 3-wood, flies higher and able to work the ball left and right. On the tee, the ball jumps forward when it hits fairway. Does not lose much distance on off-center hits.”

“Long off the fairway, just put on cruise control and fire away. I struggle in the rough with any fairway wood, so not much to compare to — that’s what hybrids are for. Love this club. Had concerns where it would fit in the bag, but easily able to replace my 14.5-degree 3-wood with the 4+. Much more versatile than my current 3-wood and longer.”

drifliboy

  • Club Tested: Callaway Steelhead XR 3+ (13.5 degrees)

“This club with the lower loft of the 3+ worked well for me off the tee. It was close to my driver on distance. It seemed to launch quickly and then maintain its height. It did not balloon for me. It also really seemed to want to go straight, a couple of times shots almost seemed to correct a little in the air, particularly if I had pushed it. This club at this loft is pretty much a driver replacement for me.”

“If you are looking for a very classy fairway wood that is solid, long, with some forgiveness and doesn’t look like it was developed by a “mad” scientist, this club should be on your short list. It works well off the tee and turf. Please test and get fitted for the right loft and flex. I think this club provides most golfers with very good options that should be considered if they are looking to upgrade any of their woods.”

Discussion: Read the full responses here.

Your Reaction?
  • 73
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW3
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB2
  • SHANK16

Continue Reading

Iron Reviews

Review: Honma TW737-Vs Forged Irons

Published

on

Your Reaction?
  • 130
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW7
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB0
  • SHANK20

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending