Connect with us

Reviews

Aldila Phenom Review

Published

on

Review by: Willpeoples of GolfWRX

OK guys I finally got a chance to review one of these. The phenom was created simulatenously as the RIP Beta. In fact the first Green Eye 50Xs on tour were actually Phenom prototypes. The Phenom has the same launch as the beta. A little less spin with the phenom, the feel is much better with the phenom. I was told by a friend that they have “Stiff tip and butt, softer middle section”. He also said these things are extremely popular on tour already, and will be even more popular next year, here is a list of who is playing them already.

Ian Poulter
Fredrik Jacobsen
Heath Slocum
Ben Curtis
TA III
Kirk Tripplett
John Merrick
Brett Quigley
JJ Killeen
R S Johnson

I would definitely recommend trying this shaft, even if its next year, these shafts are worth it.

————

per Aldila…

RIP Phenom™

Thenew Aldila RIP Phenom incorporates Aldila’s Tour proven RIP Technologywith aunique composite construction to create a new and innovative shaft flex profilefor maximum distance and control – the Hyperbolic Flex Zon. RIP Technology repositions the materials andpatterns to optimize the performance characteristics of the shaft. The Phenom’s Hyperbolic Flex Zone provides astiff tip section for optimal launch and spin control, with a very firm buttsection for an incredibly stable feel, while the center section of the shaft issofter to provide outstanding kick through impact to maximize ball speed. Through the use of computer modelingtechnology and exclusive carbon fiber materials, Aldila completely turned golfshaft design and performance inside out. RIP Technology provides a shaft design with optimum flex and torquecharacteristics with increased cross-sectional stability throughout the tiparea for greater shot control. Throughthe use of a Hyperbolic Flex Zone, the new RIP Phenom incorporates the sameflex, torque and feel properties that have made the original RIP the leadingshaft on the PGA Tour, with a flex profile to achieve unparalleled performanceand launch characteristics for better players. The RIP Phenom is available in 50 and 70gram weight designs in R, S andX flexes. Suggested retail is $349

Click here to see more Pics and discussion… http://www.golfwrx.com/forums/topic/554235-phenom-review/

Your Reaction?
  • 6
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.

10 Comments

10 Comments

  1. J.J.

    Jan 7, 2013 at 11:45 pm

    I expected to read a review not “my friend says”. These are just photos; how can you recommend anything based on photos and company hype? I thought GolfWRX prided itself on being knowledgeable and objective, not on “Ooh look! Shiny!”. This isn’t a review and without data to back up why someone might want to spend money on a product is just irresponsible.

  2. Robert

    Feb 19, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    Yes all the factory quotes on what the shaft does is nice, but how do we know what gram and stiffness is going to be right for us?

  3. Blacktip Shark

    Feb 4, 2012 at 4:53 am

    Shane were you playing the Alpha or Beta on the RIP? Thanks

    BTS

  4. SHANE

    Feb 3, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    This is by far on of the best shafts that I have hit in my R11s, even stuck it in my R11 and ball flight was very close. My ball speed went up 3 and my spin rate went down from 3100 to 2900. I really like this shaft and i been hitting the rip technology for last couple years.

  5. MartinÅLE

    Jan 18, 2012 at 8:49 am

    Do you anything about the torque ?

  6. 10000golf

    Dec 26, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    i only see the shaft,and the head?

  7. Blopar

    Dec 18, 2011 at 8:34 am

    A little better….still sounds like direct quotes from aldila factory spec/pr sheet.. How about a follow up where you hit this thing in several clubs, several golfers, and bring a launch monitor along so we can hear something about it’s performance that doesn’t sound like a grade school book report

  8. Tupac

    Dec 15, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    that’s better

  9. GolfWRX

    Dec 13, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Little harsh there. Dont you like to see pics before anyone else in world. We dont have any data yet on this baby. Pics were cought out on tour. Here is some more info for you…

    RIP Technology repositions the materials and patterns to optimize the performance characteristics of the shaft. The Phenom’s Hyperbolic Flex Zone provides a stiff tip section for optimal launch and spin control, with a very firm butt section for an incredibly stable feel. The center section of the shaft is softer to provide outstanding kick through impact to maximize ball speed.

    Through the use of a Hyperbolic Flex Zone, the new RIP Phenom incorporates the same flex, torque and feel properties that have made the original RIP the leading shaft on the PGA Tour, with a flex profile to achieve unparalleled performance and launch characteristics for better players,” said Bahl. The RIP Phenom is available in 50 and 70-gram weight designs in R, S and X flexes. Suggested retail is $299.

  10. blopar

    Dec 13, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    this is not a review, just a list of professionals.
    what about launch monitor stats?, what head was it tried in?, what is it compared to besides the RIP beta? (which isn’t really discussed). what about ball flight? how much were you paid by aldila to promo this thing without saying anything about it…..really!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Putting Perfecter

Published

on

Putting can be one of the most frustrating parts of the game, it mystifies scratch golfers as much as high handicaps and can make anybody tremble over a three-footers. It’s one of the biggest factors in scoring, especially for the club-level player, but it’s often one of the last things people actually work on. Let’s be honest, it’s a lot of fun to pound drivers on the range, am I right?

But if you are seriously looking for a simple tool to help get you into the proper address position, the Putting Perfecter is a great one to start with.

The beauty of the device is in its simplicity. Fitting under your arms and across your midsection, it “locks” the player into the proper position to create a pendulum putting stroke. After giving it a shot and hitting putts for just a few minutes, then going back to putting without it made me feel like I was much more connected.

Don’t think it’s just for putting though.

Funny story, when I first took it out to work on my putting, I used it for about 30 minutes and then moved onto my chipping. After a few trips around the putting green I tried chipping with the Putting Perfecter in the same position and “WOW” same connected feeling was produced—it was perfect for working on low-flying “runners.” I was excited to tell my friend about it, until I went home and realized they actually advertise it to help with that too. Guess I’m not as clever as I thought…

No matter how you use it, the Putting Perfecter is a simple and effective training tool that can be carried in a bag to be used before or after a round, takes NO time to set up (a big plus), and is light—so you don’t feel like its dragging you down if you actually keep it in your bag. Since it’s a putting tool, you can even use it indoors very easily. If you are someone that struggles with consistent address position on putts or disconnecting when chipping, I believe the Putting Perfecter is a great tool to try.

For more information check out the Putting Perfecter website.

 

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 50
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW4
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP2
  • OB1
  • SHANK17

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Linksoul golf apparel

Published

on

Product: Linksoul golf apparel

Pitch: From Linksoul “Linksoul is more a philosophy than a brand. More of an experience than a clothing company. Linksoul is the collective life’s work of people who care about each other and enjoy collaborating. We believe in creating products we value, with the people we love, for the good of our families and our community. Our roots are in golf. We descend from a long line of golfers, craftsmen and artists. But now we fill our time with many interests, including surfing, skiing, hiking, yoga, travel, cooking, parenting, dog walking…We believe that these everyday practices teach us the most about ourselves.”

Our Take on Linksoul’s golf apparel

Linksoul, whose mantra is “Tempus Fugit” (Time Flies), primarily provides golf clothing made to be just as appropriate and comfortable to wear on the course as off of it. The company has a range of different types of polos, tee-shirts, shorts, and pants available, but it was a button-down shirt from the company which I was most intrigued to check out.

Right off the bat, the brand’s Anza Heathered Button-Down shirt impressed with its ultra-soft fabric. To complement that softness, the shirt is wonderfully light and boasts an excellent fit. The length of the shirt sleeves is ideal, so you won’t need to keep fidgeting before and after each shot, and the comfort and fit combined gives you that added flexibility in your swing. The collar fits naturally the moment you put the shirt on and marks the clear quality that went into its creation.

It seems many are on the fence about whether button-down shirts on the course are for them (I was one of those!), but my take now is that they are the ideal summer shirt on the course. In the heat, comfort has to be the number one priority, and the button-down structure gives you so much more air. With Linksoul’s Anza button-down you’ll experience maximum breathability.

Linksoul offers the shirt in six color codes (White, Black Heather, Tidepool Heather, Ink Heather, Dark Gray Heather, and Dawn Heather). For $80, considering the caliber of the shirt, the only gripe I could make is that there aren’t more exotic colors available!

The brand’s Boardwalker Shorts are another piece of apparel that I found to contain the perfect blend of comfort and quality, as well as looking great. The shorts contain a four-way stretch fabric which gives you a plethora of flexibility during your swing, while the weight of the shorts I also found to be on point. The shorts are lightweight but not so much as to take away from the durability and quality of the shorts.

 

There is plenty of mobility on offer with the Boardwalker Shorts, while I also enjoyed that the shorts are a classic style length and sit right at the knee.

You can choose from eight different color codes (Black, Chalk, Khaki, Dark Gray, True Black, Bronze, Navy, Army, and River), and the shorts retail at $76. With their no-fuss look, high quality, and a clear focus on comfort, Linksoul’s Boardwalker shorts offer everything you’d want in a pair of golf shorts.

For those that prefer to play solely in trousers, you’ll be glad to hear that the company provide the same product in a pant style—the BoardWalker Pant.

There’s a huge amount to like about the apparel Linksoul is offering up, and at prices which are extremely reasonable considering the quality provided. Their site Linksoul.com offers a multitude of polos, button-downs (in both short and long sleeve), shorts, pants, and tee-shirts. If high-quality adaptable golf apparel is your thing, then it’s a company well worth checking out.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 18
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK9

Continue Reading

Equipment

WRX Spotlight Review: Eminent Golf’s Conic putting trainer

Published

on

The golf world is full of training aids. From the simple to the silly, there are no shortage of tools and machines being thought up to (hopefully) help golfers improve their games. It’s not very often you come across something that really has the potential to help improve consistency and “ingrain” a feeling (or “feels” as the pros say) into a part of the game that so many struggle with.

This is the Conic putting aid.

Before we go any further, let me be very up front: this is NOT a training aid intended or designed to be an impulse purchase during early morning reruns on Golf Channel. The Conic costs $1,350.00…but for good reason. It’s designed, manufactured, and built right here in the USA, milled from solid pieces of steel and aluminum. The entire system is built to last and to be a true lifelong training tool. The likelihood of this thing ending up the in a dusty corner of your garage is slim to none. Even the carrying case is something to behold.

On my first try, it took about 5-7 minutes to set up (I went full “dad-building-Ikea-furniture mode” and initially ignored the entire instruction manual. That’s on me), but after the first setup, getting this thing from the case to on the green took just a few minutes after that. It’s 100 percent NOT a “warm up before my tee-time, and throw it in my golf bag” style of training aid because of its size, but if you are headed to the green for a real “session” this is an indispensable tool.

So what does it actually do?

The Conic is designed to get you into the perfect putting setup and help you learn to make a repeatable motion built for your stroke and body type. This is not a one-size-fits-all training aid. It also works for both right and left0handed golfers.

So how does it do all of this:

  • The Conic has five adjustable plane angles for different size arcs: 85,80,75,70,65. This makes sure you get set up based on putter type and your optimal stance. The goal is to have you get more consistent with your stroke not some arbitrary “ideal stroke model”
  • The trainer controls the X, Y, Z axis of the putter head: Lie, Loft & Face Angle. Each one of these variables can make or break a putt (first putting pun in the bag), and so by being able to control those helps improve repeatability when on the course
  • It puts you into the same position time after time to help develop the feeling of a correctly made putting stroke. As much as people might say it, muscles DO NOT have memory — your brain does. The Conic helps develop motion patterns which again lead to helping you be more consistent on the greens
  • There is a built-in detachable arm that helps the golfer visualize both the target line and line the putter head up perpendicular to the target — a great tool for those that struggle with direction.
  • The putter arm can also be controlled to help maintain a specific stroke length — little stops get inserted into the slide and create instant feedback when you take the putter back too far.

So does it work?

Heck yeah it does! Although not meant for extremely long putts, you can use the Conic 1.0 easily on anything inside 20 feet, and it really helps with the 6-10 footers. With all of the adjustability, it’s also easy to switch between putter models that you might have.

My personal theory with putting and alignment is quite simple:  “Every putt is a straight putt. Just get it rolling and let gravity and speed take care of the rest.” The moment the ball leaves your putter face, your job is now over, and what the Conic does is allow you to work on, in a very structured way, hitting putts on line. My favorite use for the Conic was on roughly 7-9″ putts where you just set up, make the right stroke for speed, and watch the ball work its way into the cup.

This is an expensive tool — even PGA Tour pros that are using them paid in full. But like I said before, you get what you pay for with the Conic. Another feature is it can be used inside and out as long as you have a “green” or a nice piece of carpet to roll some putts. Beyond the players who spare no expense on clubs and fittings this seems like a bit of a no brainer – roughly the cost of three nice putters gets you something that will work for you, as long as you want to work with it.

I believe that one of the biggest markets for the Conic currently is for teachers to help students ingrain the feeling of making a solid stroke and increase consistency at setup. The cost is still the biggest factor that will detract people from purchasing this, but for the golfers looking for the ultimate putting aid, the Conic trainer could be your answer to those missed three-footers.

Your Reaction?
  • 40
  • LEGIT7
  • WOW4
  • LOL7
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB2
  • SHANK70

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending