Don't miss

Aldila Phenom Review

by   |   December 12, 2011
post-123025-0-95691900-1313513884_thumb
Aldila Phenom Review GolfWRX

4.5


Review by: Willpeoples of GolfWRX

OK guys I finally got a chance to review one of these. The phenom was created simulatenously as the RIP Beta. In fact the first Green Eye 50Xs on tour were actually Phenom prototypes. The Phenom has the same launch as the beta. A little less spin with the phenom, the feel is much better with the phenom. I was told by a friend that they have “Stiff tip and butt, softer middle section”. He also said these things are extremely popular on tour already, and will be even more popular next year, here is a list of who is playing them already.

Ian Poulter
Fredrik Jacobsen
Heath Slocum
Ben Curtis
TA III
Kirk Tripplett
John Merrick
Brett Quigley
JJ Killeen
R S Johnson

I would definitely recommend trying this shaft, even if its next year, these shafts are worth it.

————

per Aldila…

RIP Phenom™

Thenew Aldila RIP Phenom incorporates Aldila’s Tour proven RIP Technologywith aunique composite construction to create a new and innovative shaft flex profilefor maximum distance and control – the Hyperbolic Flex Zon. RIP Technology repositions the materials andpatterns to optimize the performance characteristics of the shaft. The Phenom’s Hyperbolic Flex Zone provides astiff tip section for optimal launch and spin control, with a very firm buttsection for an incredibly stable feel, while the center section of the shaft issofter to provide outstanding kick through impact to maximize ball speed. Through the use of computer modelingtechnology and exclusive carbon fiber materials, Aldila completely turned golfshaft design and performance inside out. RIP Technology provides a shaft design with optimum flex and torquecharacteristics with increased cross-sectional stability throughout the tiparea for greater shot control. Throughthe use of a Hyperbolic Flex Zone, the new RIP Phenom incorporates the sameflex, torque and feel properties that have made the original RIP the leadingshaft on the PGA Tour, with a flex profile to achieve unparalleled performanceand launch characteristics for better players. The RIP Phenom is available in 50 and 70gram weight designs in R, S andX flexes. Suggested retail is $349

Click here to see more Pics and discussion… http://www.golfwrx.com/forums/topic/554235-phenom-review/

About

GolfWRX is a leading source for news, information and resources for the connected golfer. It's staff, featured writers and members report on the latest golf news and how it inspires golfers around the world. GolfWRX’s 3.1 million monthly visits is the world's largest and best online golf community. It surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process with original photographic and video content, peer-to-peer advice, camaraderie, technical how-tos and more.


10 Comments

  1. J.J.

    January 7, 2013 at 11:45 pm

    I expected to read a review not “my friend says”. These are just photos; how can you recommend anything based on photos and company hype? I thought GolfWRX prided itself on being knowledgeable and objective, not on “Ooh look! Shiny!”. This isn’t a review and without data to back up why someone might want to spend money on a product is just irresponsible.

  2. Robert

    February 19, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    Yes all the factory quotes on what the shaft does is nice, but how do we know what gram and stiffness is going to be right for us?

  3. Blacktip Shark

    February 4, 2012 at 4:53 am

    Shane were you playing the Alpha or Beta on the RIP? Thanks

    BTS

  4. SHANE

    February 3, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    This is by far on of the best shafts that I have hit in my R11s, even stuck it in my R11 and ball flight was very close. My ball speed went up 3 and my spin rate went down from 3100 to 2900. I really like this shaft and i been hitting the rip technology for last couple years.

  5. MartinÅLE

    January 18, 2012 at 8:49 am

    Do you anything about the torque ?

  6. 10000golf

    December 26, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    i only see the shaft,and the head?

  7. Blopar

    December 18, 2011 at 8:34 am

    A little better….still sounds like direct quotes from aldila factory spec/pr sheet.. How about a follow up where you hit this thing in several clubs, several golfers, and bring a launch monitor along so we can hear something about it’s performance that doesn’t sound like a grade school book report

  8. Tupac

    December 15, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    that’s better

  9. GolfWRX

    December 13, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Little harsh there. Dont you like to see pics before anyone else in world. We dont have any data yet on this baby. Pics were cought out on tour. Here is some more info for you…

    RIP Technology repositions the materials and patterns to optimize the performance characteristics of the shaft. The Phenom’s Hyperbolic Flex Zone provides a stiff tip section for optimal launch and spin control, with a very firm butt section for an incredibly stable feel. The center section of the shaft is softer to provide outstanding kick through impact to maximize ball speed.

    Through the use of a Hyperbolic Flex Zone, the new RIP Phenom incorporates the same flex, torque and feel properties that have made the original RIP the leading shaft on the PGA Tour, with a flex profile to achieve unparalleled performance and launch characteristics for better players,” said Bahl. The RIP Phenom is available in 50 and 70-gram weight designs in R, S and X flexes. Suggested retail is $299.

  10. blopar

    December 13, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    this is not a review, just a list of professionals.
    what about launch monitor stats?, what head was it tried in?, what is it compared to besides the RIP beta? (which isn’t really discussed). what about ball flight? how much were you paid by aldila to promo this thing without saying anything about it…..really!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>