Connect with us

19th Hole

World Golf Hall of Fame changes age criteria; Tiger Woods eligible for induction in 2021



On Tuesday, the World Golf Hall of Fame announced its amended age criteria for induction which paves the way for Tiger Woods’ initiation in 2021.

In 2016, the World Golf Hall of Fame rose the eligible age from 40 up to 50, but from 2021 onwards, the age limit will now be reduced back down to 45. 

Speaking on the change, Jay Monahan, the PGA Tour’s commissioner and chairman of the World Golf Hall of Fame board stated

“Recognizing the game’s greatest players and contributors is an important endeavor and one our sport takes very seriously. We are committed to regularly evaluating the selection process to ensure we approach it with both historical context and the future in mind.”

As well as turning at least 45 in 2021, the criteria for consideration for induction into the World Golf Hall of Fame next year includes having 15 victories on a player’s home tour or two majors.

Tiger Woods, who turns 45 next December, would appear to be a shoo-in for the 2021 class, while other major candidates include, Jim Furyk, Henrik Stenson, Padraig Harrington and Lee Westwood.

Your Reaction?
  • 8
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Gianni is the Assistant Editor at GolfWRX. He can be contacted at Follow him on Twitter @giannimosquito

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. James

    Jan 22, 2020 at 11:35 am

    Tom Weiskopf. A far better inductee than Fred Couples. Did more as a player in less time than most others in the WGHOF. His courses are hands down the best of any player/designer. Honest and misunderstood.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

Payne’s Valley Cup (Tiger/JT vs Rory/Rose) – Viewer’s Guide



Golf fans are in for a treat today, as Tiger Woods, Justin Thomas, Rory McIlroy and Justin Rose are set to compete in the Payne’s Valley Cup celebrating the opening of Payne’s Valley Golf Course in Missouri.

Payne’s Valley is Tiger Woods’ first public golf course design, which was created in honor of the late Payne Stewart. Here we’ll provide all the details you need to know about today’s affair.

What time and where can I watch?

The Payne’s Valley Cup is live on Golf Channel, from 3-7 PM ET. Golf fans can also watch the live simulcast of the event on fuboTV.

What’s the format?

Tiger Woods will team up with Justin Thomas while Rory McIlroy will pair up with Justin Rose to make it a USA vs Europe affair.

The event will cover each format seen in the Ryder Cup. The opening six holes will be played as fourballs, and the middle six played as foursomes before players revert to singles action for the final six.

The players will also compete in a closest to the pin competition on the 202-yard “Johnny Morris 19th hole”, with this being the tiebreaker decider if needed.

Who will be on the broadcast team?

Dan Hicks and Paul Azinger will provide commentary on the event for Golf Channel.


Per, Tiger and JT are the betting favorites at 20/29, with Rory and Rose available to back at 23/20.

Your Reaction?
  • 9
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW1
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Rory Sabbatini endures ‘comical’ meltdown on the green; Danny Lee 6 putts at Winged Foot



The green complexes at Winged Foot flummoxed plenty of players over the weekend, with Rory Sabbatini falling foul in one of the most embarrassing of ways.

Faced with a tricky putt on the 15th hole from the back of the green, the 44-year-old decided to get creative and play the putt sideways in the hope that the ball would trickle back towards the pin. However, to Sabbatini’s surprise, the ball stayed on the upper slope to leave him red-faced.

“A little comical” noted Nick Faldo, as Sabattini went on to four-putt and make a double bogey on the hole.

The South African native wasn’t the only one to endure a nightmare on one of Winged Foot’s greens, with Danny Lee on Saturday suffering himself with a shocking 6-putt from close range on his final hole. Lee would withdraw from the tournament citing a wrist injury following his round.


Your Reaction?
  • 21
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW6
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

19th Hole

How much each player won at the 2020 U.S. Open



Bryson DeChambeau dominated Sunday at Winged Foot, and at the most lucrative major of them all, his outstanding play has earned him not just his first major but a payday in excess of $2 million. Matthew Wolff hung tough down the stretch to secure a solo second-place finish on Sunday, and for his excellent week in New York, the 21-year-old picks up a check for over $1 million.

With a total prize purse of $12.5 million up for grabs last week, here’s a look at how much each player who made the cut won at the 2020 U.S. Open championship.

1: Bryson DeChambeau, -6, $2,250,000

2: Matthew Wolff, E, $1,350,000

3: Louis Oosthuizen, +2, $859,812

4: Harris English, +3, $602,752

5: Xanderr Schauffele, +4, $502,035

T-6: Dustin Johnson, 285/+5, $424,040

T-6: Will Zalatoris, 285/+5, $424,040

T-8: Tony Finau, 286/+6, $302,236

T-8: Zach Johnson, 286/+6, $302,236

T-8: Rory McIlroy, 286/+6, $302,236

T-8: Webb Simpson, 286/+6, $302,236

T-8: Justin Thomas, 286/+6, $302,236

T-13: Viktor Hovland, 287/+7, $210,757

T-13: Adam Long, 287/+7, $210,757

T-13: Patrick Reed, 287/+7, $210,757

T-13: Lee Westwood, 287/+7, $210,757

T-17: Paul Casey, 288/+8, $157,931

T-17: Lucas Glover, 288/+8, $157,931

T-17: Jason Kokrak, 288/+8, $157,931

T-17: Hideki Matsuyama, 288/+8, $157,931

T-17: Alex Noren, 288/+8, $157,931

22: Sungjae Im, 289/+9, $129,407

T-23: Rafa Cabrera Bello, 290/+10, $101,797

T-23: Joaquin Niemann, 290/+10, $101,797

T-23: Taylor Pendrith, 290/+10, $101,797

T-23: Thomas Pieters, 290/+10, $101,797

T-23: Jon Rahm, 290/+10, $101,797

T-23: Brendon Todd, 290/+10, $101,797

T-23: Erik van Rooyen, 290/+10, $101,797

30: Charles Howell III, 291/+11, $83,422

T-31: Lucas Herbert, 292/+12, $75,649

T-31: Renato Paratore, 292/+12, $75,649

T-31: Bubba Watson, 292/+12, $75,649

T-34: Daniel Berger, 293/+13, $64,024

T-34: Tyler Duncan, 293/+13, $64,024

T-34: Stephan Jaeger, 293/+13, $64,024

T34: Romain Langasque, 293/+13, $64,024

T-38: Jason Day, 294/+14, $52,074

T-38: Brian Harman, 294/+14, $52,074

T-38: Billy Horschel, 294/+14, $52,074

T-38: Adam Scott, 294/+14, $52,074

T-38: Cameron Smith, 294/+14, $52,074

T-43: Patrick Cantlay, 295/+15, $39,275

T-43: Lanto Griffin, 295/+15, $39,275

T-43: Shane Lowry, 295/+15, $39,275

T-43: Matt Wallace, 295/+15, $39,275

T-43: Bernd Wiesberger, 295/+15, $39,275

48: Michael Thompson, 296/+16, $32,254

T-49: Thomas Detry, 297/+17, $30,312

T-49: Rickie Fowler, 297/+17, $30,312

T-51: Chesson Hadley, 298/+18, $28,563

T-51: Ryo Ishikawa, 298/+18, $28,563

T-51: John Pak, 298/+18, Amateur

54: Adam Hadwin, 299/+19, $27,720

55: Christiaan Bezuidenhout, 300/+20, $27,461

T-56: Abraham Ancer, 301/+21, $27,073

T-56: Robert MacIntyre, 301/+21, $27,073

58: Troy Merritt, 302/+22, $26,684

T-59: Sebastián Muñoz, 304/+24, $26,296

T-59: Rory Sabbatini, 304/+24, $26,296

61: Shugo Imahira, 305/+25, $25,901

Your Reaction?
  • 15
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW4
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading