Connect with us

19th Hole

Eddie Pepperell DQ’d in Turkey after running out of balls

Published

on

Eddie Pepperell’s weekend at the Turkish Open Airlines came to an abrupt end when during his third round, the Englishman ran out of balls after suffering his very own “Tin Cup” moment.

The incident occurred on Pepperell’s 13th hole of the day after starting at the tenth at Montgomerie Maxx Royal, where the 28-year-old repeatedly found the water attempting the same shot.

Speaking to Golf Digest’s John Huggan, his playing partner, Martin Kaymer, gave some insight into what had happened following the round.

“Eddie hit his shots to the green, then came over to tell us he had run out of balls. Then he walked off. I thought he lost four or five. We are about 80% sure it was five, 20% four. He was quick, so it was hard to keep track. He did not ask if he could borrow one from me or George (Coetzee, the third man in the group).”

Kaymer further explained how Pepperell “did not look like he wanted to play”, as well as adding that the Englishman had putted with a wedge on the previous hole.

Despite running out of balls, Pepperell could have completed his round had he borrowed a ball from Kaymer or Coetzee, but would have been DQ’d if it was a different ball than the one in which he started the hole.

Your Reaction?
  • 7
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW3
  • LOL7
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK14

Gianni is the Assistant Editor at GolfWRX. He can be contacted at gianni@golfwrx.com. Follow him on Twitter @giannimosquito

12 Comments

12 Comments

  1. jgpl001

    Nov 12, 2019 at 9:37 am

    This guy’s attitude totally sucks, not surprised at this

    He didn’t actually care, he rarely does

    2 years ago at the British Open he admitted that he turned up for the last round hung over and he was top 10 in the tournament at the time – TOTAL DISRESPECT

    He needs a good kick up the …

  2. Dyson Bochambeau

    Nov 12, 2019 at 7:17 am

    Tough luck for Eddie Pepperoni Nips

  3. William Davis

    Nov 12, 2019 at 5:59 am

    I can’t believe he would go out with only 6 or so balls. I think he just decided he had had enough and quit. Should have explained to playing partners – sure they would understand but probably not approve.

  4. JP

    Nov 11, 2019 at 8:12 pm

    It was intentional and a crybaby way to end a round early. Take it on the chin and record your round. Don’t get pissy and do this. Poor form

  5. JACKWOODS@GMAIL.COM

    Nov 11, 2019 at 5:43 pm

    not surprised he seems like a cry baby anyway

  6. John Krug

    Nov 11, 2019 at 5:30 pm

    Another silly golf rule.

    • larrybud

      Nov 11, 2019 at 8:53 pm

      What, that you need to play golf with a ball?

  7. Tom54

    Nov 11, 2019 at 5:26 pm

    I was always under the impression if you ran out of balls that was tough luck. I never thought you could borrow any either regardless of the make and model. I guess you could send your caddy to the locker room or even the pro shop? Only heard of this happening a long time ago to Billy Kratzert.

  8. crazy golfer

    Nov 11, 2019 at 1:48 pm

    Rule Misc.
    One Ball Condition
    Q.What does the “One Ball Condition” mean?

    A.The Rules of Golf do not require a player to use the same brand and type of golf ball throughout the stipulated round. A player may use a different ball to start each hole. However, the Committee may adopt as a Condition of a Competition, the “One Ball Condition.” When this condition is adopted, players are required to use the same brand and type of golf ball throughout the stipulated round. Please refer to Appendix 1; Part C; 1 (Specification of the Ball).

  9. Kevin

    Nov 11, 2019 at 9:39 am

    Different ball meaning not just brand but type. If he was playing a ProVI he could not “borrow” an avx. Player is required to use same model ball throughout the round

  10. Reid

    Nov 11, 2019 at 8:59 am

    Different ball meaning different brand?

    • Kevin

      Nov 11, 2019 at 9:39 am

      Different ball meaning not just brand but type. If he was playing a ProVI he could not “borrow” an avx. Player is required to use same model ball throughout the round

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

The 5 most crushing lip-outs of the 21st century

Published

on

Lip-outs have crushed the dreams of many golfers down the years, but what have been the harshest and most brutal of recent times? We thought we’d take a look back at some of the most significant lip-outs this century, and how each player reacted to the cruel twist of fate.

Tiger Woods – 2007 PGA Championship

Tiger Woods blitzed Southern Hills CC during the second round of the 2007 PGA Championship firing birdie after birdie to take charge of the event.

Woods faced a 15-foot putt on the final hole for the first-ever 62 at a major championship. But it wasn’t to be, as to Tiger’s disbelief, the ball caught a chunk of the hole and spat the ball out, leaving a stunned Woods a tap-in for 63.

“As far as that last putt, I was trying to make it. And I hit it a little bit firm and I thought I made it, because it was breaking at the end. I knew it broke a lot more at the end than at the beginning. Started diving. Evidently didn’t want to go in.”

Regardless, Woods would go on to win his 13th major championship after firing two subsequent rounds of 69.

Brandt Snedeker – 2009 BMW Championship

At Cog Hill in 2009, Brandt Snedeker looked almost assured of securing his place in the Tour Championship. A bogey would have done it on the final hole, and the Nashville native was sitting pretty facing a 15-foot putt on the final green for a par.

However, after knocking that putt three feet past the hole, everything unravelled…

Snedeker’s nightmare triple-bogey finish would put an end to his season.

“I just started thinking about the wrong things. I didn’t concentrate over the bogey putt. I was thinking about all the things THE TOUR Championship comes with and I did everything you’re not supposed to do…I can’t believe I did this. I just made a mess of it.”

In-Kyung Kim – 2012 Kraft Nabisco Championship

A par on the final hole would have given Kim her first major championship back in 2012 at the Kraft Nabisco Championship, and it looked all but secure with the Korean facing just outside of a foot for her par on the par 5 18th. However, the golf god’s had other ideas. 

Following the miss, Kim would go on to lose in a playoff. 

Speaking a year later on the miss, Kim said:

“It was tough to handle at first. But I learned from it, and I can be an example to show young kids that it’s not always going to be glorious in victory out here.

Some people think it’s really difficult what happened. It doesn’t matter what happened. What matters is what happens after that. Sometimes you have to pick yourself up. You either live happy or unhappy. I live to be happy.”

She would find redemption when winning the 2017 Women’s British Open.

Phil Mickelson – 2013 Waste Management Phoenix Open

Lefty brought TPC Scottsdale to its knees during round one of the 2013 WMPO and gave himself an outside shot at his first-ever 59 on tour.

Facing a long birdie putt on his final hole, Mickelson stroked a beautiful putt that seemed destined to find the back of the cup, before taking a stunning detour at the last moment and spinning out.

Mickelson was in disbelief, and his caddie Bones was on the floor. It was to be a cruel 60.

“To have that putt on line, I am kind of mortified that it didn’t go in…. I am walking after it and somehow it moves at the end low and caught the lip. And even at that pace, I think it’s going to lip in.

That one’s tough to take because you don’t get those chances very often, but I’m ecstatic with 60.”

Mickelson would go on to win the title in Phoenix.

Phil Mickelson – 2016 Open Championship

Mickelson was looking for another milestone in 2016, this time at Royal Troon where he had designs on being the first player in history to shoot 62 in a major.

Lefty gave himself a wonderful opportunity at the last, and needing a birdie for the record-setting number, Mickelson felt the ghosts of the 2013 WMPO return.

At perfect pace, the ball looked good all the way before catching a large portion of the hole and staying out.

Understandably, Mickelson felt crushed.

“I want to shed a tear right now. That putt on 18 was an opportunity to do something historical. I knew it, and with a foot to go I thought I had done it. I saw that ball rolling right in the centre.

I went to go get it, I had that surge of adrenaline that I had just shot 62, and then I had the heartbreak that I didn’t and watched that ball lip out. It was, wow, that stings.”

Lefty would go on to finish runner-up to Henrik Stenson at the 2016 Open Championship.

Your Reaction?
  • 0
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

The DailyWRX: 9/29/2020

Published

on

Facts…

Freddy IGs never get old…

What a steal…

If you gonna argue with BC, you better have facts ready…

Tell us what you really think, pro….

Still love the guy, but DAMN.

DM @johnny_wunder

Your Reaction?
  • 0
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

The DailyWRX (9/28/2020): If 2020 were an approach shot…

Published

on

John Catlin low key trying to sneak into Augusta…

View this post on Instagram

Winning is a habit @catlinjohn ???? #DDFIrishOpen

A post shared by European Tour (@europeantour) on

Almost as heartbreaking as Russ Wilson NOT HANDING IT OFF on the last play of Super Bowl XLIX. Caps means I’m yelling.

View this post on Instagram

Today eight years ago ???? #MiracleAtMedinah

A post shared by Martin Kaymer (@martinkaymer59) on

If 2020 were an approach shot…

View this post on Instagram

???????????? Via: @golf_gods

A post shared by Hack Patrol (@hackpatrol) on

Can’t win em all, pro….

LOLOLOLOLOL!!!!

DM @johnny_wunder

Your Reaction?
  • 1
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending