Connect with us

19th Hole

Rules violation at LPGA Q-Series leads to ugly fallout between players

Published

on

Controversy marred last week’s LPGA Q-Series at Pinehurst No. 9, as a rules infraction led to a messy fallout, which extended to social media between players involved.

According to Golfweek, the controversy began during Thursday’s sixth round and involved Christina Kim, Dewi Weber, and Kendall Dye. With Weber set to play the par-3 17th (their eighth hole of the day), Dye motioned to Weber’s caddie to find out the club that their player was using off the tee, an action, which breaks Rule 10-2 under soliciting advice, resulting in a two-stroke penalty for both parties.

Kim decided to wait until the end of the round to inform a rules official and both players about the infraction, and though Dye stated to Golfweek that she was unaware that her gesture was in breach of the rules, both herself and Weber’s caddie confirmed that they had committed the infraction. Both Dye and Weber also admitted to Golfweek their disappointment in Kim waiting until the end of the round to report the issue.

The situation was not finished there, however, as Kim then took to social media to post a cryptic post-round tweet following the incident.

@thechristinakim

Kim spent plenty more time on social media following the tweet, where she defended her actions with a series of posts, and then appeared on Golf Channel’s Morning Drive to further assert her position, stating

“I’ve been called a nark. Unfortunately, the Rules of Golf don’t really care about who [are] your friends, don’t really care about your personal emotions, and one thing I pride myself in is my integrity and just knowing that I had to do the right thing.

“If I was going to sit there and try to protect my two friends, one, I’m in breach of the Rules, which is something I hold sacred, and two, that’s unfair to the other 95 players in the field, so it was a really tough decision. 

“I wasn’t trying to start any drama. All I was trying to do is just remind people, hey, if you’re going to do something just make sure you do it within the confines of what is and isn’t allowed.”

On Sunday morning, Dye then had her say on the incident where she owned up to the error and expressed her regret at causing an “innocent player” to incur a two-stroke penalty, before slamming Kim’s “unprofessional” behavior in taking the matter to social media.

@kendall_dye

While Dye and Weber both missed out on earning their Tour cards for the 2020 season, Kim successfully attained her ticket for the new year.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 38
  • LEGIT62
  • WOW9
  • LOL18
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP4
  • OB3
  • SHANK70

Gianni is a freelance writer. He holds a Bachelor of Arts as well as a Diploma in Sports Journalism. He can be contacted at gmagliocco@outlook.com. Follow him on Twitter @giannimosquito

30 Comments

30 Comments

  1. Ronald Dickey

    Nov 6, 2019 at 12:29 pm

    No one likes to get caught with their hand in the cookie jar. Thank goodness Christine had the courage to do what is right. I cannot imagine how difficult it was. The men need to take a look at this issue also.

  2. Brendan

    Nov 5, 2019 at 12:52 pm

    Dye and Weber’s caddy both owe Kim a public apology. They created this situation and now Kim has to deal with the idiots who somehow think she did something wrong. One of the best things about golf is that we follow the rules to whatever extent we are aware of them. It is the only self-policed sport that I am aware of. Anywhere else it’s a case of you only broke a rule if you get caught. For pros there is absolutely no excuse for something as basic as soliciting advice.

  3. Dave r

    Nov 5, 2019 at 11:39 am

    Rules are rules they were broken. Everyone who plays golf knows that rule. These are pro golfers people and pros know the rule. Obviously their caddies need to be updated on the rules.

  4. joro

    Nov 5, 2019 at 9:16 am

    Since when did the LPGA worry about the rules.

  5. Mario

    Nov 4, 2019 at 8:25 pm

    Dye is an idiot for not knowing the rule 10.2.a about advice. (unreal!)
    Weber’s caddy is an idiot for the same reason.
    Kim behaved appallingly by not disclosing the issue on the tee and waiting till the end of the round. She actually breached rule 20.1.c (2) abd should have been disqualified:

    Players Should Protect Other Players in the Competition. To protect the interests of all other players:

    If a player knows or believes that another player has breached or might have breached the Rules and that the other player does not recognize or is ignoring this, the player should tell the other player, the player’s marker, a referee or the Committee.
    This should be done promptly after the player becomes aware of the issue, and no later than before the other player returns his or her scorecard unless it is not possible to do so.
    If the player fails to do so, the Committee may disqualify the player under Rule 1.2a if it decides that this was serious misconduct contrary to the spirit of the game.

    • Matt

      Nov 4, 2019 at 10:12 pm

      @Mario. According to Kim, she spoke to an official right after they left the Green. The official acknowledged and she then decided to bring it up again after the round to clarify.

  6. Chris Kelly

    Nov 4, 2019 at 6:54 pm

    Walking over and looking in the bag —– also a rules violation. Someone should let her know.

    • Bruce

      Nov 4, 2019 at 7:35 pm

      Looking in the bag is not a violation. Asking for that information is. Kim was right in her action. The other two were not. Nothing to see here. If you are going to play at The highest levels, you’d better start.eith a least a basic knowledge of the rules.

    • Mario

      Nov 4, 2019 at 8:14 pm

      No, it’s not a violation. The caddie or the player can always hide the club number if they want to make sure it doesn’t happen.

  7. dixiedoc

    Nov 4, 2019 at 6:22 pm

    Twitter was probably not the appropriate place to voice her opinion about the rules but reporting them was certainly the right thing to do.

  8. Patricknorm

    Nov 4, 2019 at 5:19 pm

    I play about 15 amateur tournaments a season and I’ve known for 20 years you can’t tell your partner what club you used and the distance to a pin. So, when a pro says she didn’t know the rules, I say she’s full of poop. And a liar.

    • Jonathan Ho

      Nov 5, 2019 at 7:15 am

      You’ve got it wrong for 20 years. You can share club information and distance to the pin with your partner. You cannot share club selection or other advice with a fellow competitor but can share common knowledge like distance to the pin and penalty areas etc…

    • mattyice

      Nov 5, 2019 at 11:46 am

      When an amateur claims to know the rules, I say they’re full of poop!

      All distance is considered common knowledge and is defined in the rules to not be considered advice……. whether or not the competitor wants to tell you or not says a lot about their personality. Don’t forget your range finder and an extra battery!

  9. Dan

    Nov 4, 2019 at 12:52 pm

    A rule keeper does not make you any less an assh*le. Under Kim’s theory, she would definitely report her neighbor under the wrong government like Nazi. Blindly keeping the rule never makes you a good person, but it makes you a closed-minded person. What did Weber do anyway? Kim clearly knew it would hurt an innocent player, but she reported it anyway and costing Weber a Tour card. For Kim, her self righteousness is more important than an innocent player’s livelihood. That is the classic definition of an Assh*le in my opinion.

    • grant

      Nov 5, 2019 at 1:19 am

      i wonder if this Dobbing has happened on the mens tour

    • Bob Pegram

      Nov 5, 2019 at 1:34 pm

      If she didn’t report it she would have also been subject to disqualification since ignoring a rules violation is also grounds for disqualification.

      • Yale

        Nov 7, 2019 at 3:40 pm

        This is (or will be ‘was’) somewhat common practice on Tour. Sure, they all know and that why they use gestures. It’s done in plain sight, and rule officials never enforced it. Perhaps Kim does not have a close friend on Tour that no one did it for her? Nevertheless I’m more than sure that she saw it being done many times before that day.

        There is a certain code among Tour pros. When they see someone accidentally or not-accidentally moving the ball, they usually don’t report it. Even when someone cheats in front of you and you are being interviewed about it, they usually try to downplay it. That’s not Kim for sure. Even worse, she intentionally makes an issue out it and than try to make it even bigger.

  10. john big

    Nov 4, 2019 at 12:40 pm

    can’t believe some people side with the rule breakers.

  11. james

    Nov 4, 2019 at 12:28 pm

    Thanks for fueling the drama. Devolving into TMZ.

  12. PGA Tour Caddie

    Nov 4, 2019 at 12:08 pm

    This matter is a total farce! For decades both players and caddies wittingly share club selection information with their competitors. And, I’m not talking about players/caddies actually looking in their competitor’s golf bag, but being signaled by hand signs from many yards away. It should be noted that when you see a pro’s caddie display two fingers (meaning either 7-iron or 2-iron) it is not information that is shared just with the on-course television announcers and shielded from their fellow competitors’ players and caddie. No, it is meant for their fellow competitors’ players and caddie too.

    You may then say – But, the competitors’ players and caddie did not ask for this information. True, but it is ‘understood’ that sharing this knowledge is both accepted and expected. Is it a means to get around Rule 10 under soliciting advice? You bet it is! Which begs the question – why did Christina Kim feel the need to make such a big deal of what happened, and continue on about it on social media.

  13. Michael D Christiansen

    Nov 4, 2019 at 10:26 am

    “thousands of times between players, caddies and media”? Is this really true? Between amateurs, in a friendly, non tournament game, we often ask what club a players is using, but I know that it is against the rules.

  14. Golfplayer

    Nov 4, 2019 at 10:22 am

    The only person that you need to be disappointed in is “YOU”. You knew the rules but pretended you didn’t. Instead of speaking it out loud you did it by sign language. You really need to be honest with yourself and quit blaming Christina. You brought this onto yourself.

  15. Tim

    Nov 4, 2019 at 10:16 am

    Golfers have a responsibility to protect the field and what they did was a breach of the rules. End of story!! Unless I am not seeing the other tweets; where did Kim actually call out the two golfers in a tweet other than to say, if you want to be a professional golfer – learn the rules.

    In my line of business, you don’t know the rules or don’t follow the rules you are most likely going to be fired. It is pathetic how golfers don’t know the rules of a game that they decided to play as their career.

  16. julie

    Nov 4, 2019 at 10:05 am

    she should be disqualified for wearing that shirt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

The 6 best #GolfWRX photos on Instagram today (12.13.19)

Published

on

In this segment, we’ll be taking a look at some of the best #GolfWRX tagged photos on Instagram. In case you aren’t already, there’s a whole load of action going on at our page, so follow us: @golfwrx

Let’s get to it then, here are six of the best #GolfWRX photos from the past 24 hours.

“Rose of Tralee”

View this post on Instagram

Rose of Tralee

A post shared by Boyd Blade & Ferrule Co (@bbandfco) on

Some beautiful work from Olson.

Colorful finish from LowTide Putters.

Sweet giveaway from Corey Paul.

Lefty love from Cushman Custom Golf.

Phil Carlson showcasing Pinehurst No. 4.

View this post on Instagram

Tuesday: Played @pinehurstresort number 4. This course is phenomenal. Gil Hanse’s redesign of this course is outstanding. Definitely not as punishing as course 2 but just as good in terms of layout. Greens are fast and large but will not punish you as much with imprecise shots. Much more fun to play if you want to score well. Still difficult but it will not frustrate you like Course 2. We had a beautiful 70 degree day and couldn’t of had a better time playing this course. We had the first tee time off in the morning and finished just under 4 hours which left us enough time to go play another track which I will post about shortly. Enjoy the pics! #pinehurst4 #whyilovethisgame #pinehurstgolf #golfislife #instagolf #golfdigesttop100 #ncgolf #golfwrx #golfcoursepics

A post shared by Phil Carlson (@token_golfer) on

Get hashtagging your golf posts #GolfWRX for your chance to feature in our best of Instagram posts in the future!

Your Reaction?
  • 7
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW3
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Thorbjorn Olesen pleads not guilty to sexual assault; will stand trial in May

Published

on

European Tour professional Thorbjorn Olesen has pleaded not guilty to charges of sexual assault, being drunk on an aircraft and assault by beating.

The Dane appeared at Isleworth Crown Court on Friday morning where he issued his not guilty plea to the three charges. Olesen will now stand trial on May 11, 2020, which is the week of the PGA Championship.

Olesen was arrested at Heathrow Airport on his return to London from Memphis on 29 July, where he is alleged to have abused passengers, molested a woman and urinated in the first-class aisle of the plane.

The 29-year-old remains suspended from the European Tour pending the outcome of his trial.

Your Reaction?
  • 5
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW0
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

19th Hole

The 6 best #GolfWRX photos on Instagram today (12.12.19)

Published

on

In this segment, we’ll be taking a look at some of the best #GolfWRX tagged photos on Instagram. In case you aren’t already, there’s a whole load of action going on at our page, so follow us: @golfwrx

Let’s get to it then, here are six of the best #GolfWRX photos from the past 24 hours.

Channing Benjamin showcasing PGA West – Stadium Course.

Dropping today from American Flatsticks.

Pocket Pair Cover Sets arriving today from Swag.

Slick looking blade from Norcal Putters.

Sweet look at Cushman Custom Golf busy at work.

Our own Ryan Barath giving us an up-close look at Mizuno’s Pure Steel MP37s.

Get hashtagging your golf posts #GolfWRX for your chance to feature in our best of Instagram posts in the future!

Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending