Connect with us

19th Hole

Tour caddie shoots 202 in U.S. Am qualifier and gets DQ’d after the event

Published

on

There may be a  2.4 handicap index limit to enter a U.S. Am qualifier, but that didn’t prevent one player from running up an astronomical score of 202 at the event at Mayacoo Lakes C.C. on Monday – before it was revealed the player had been disqualified for “failing to play in the spirit of the game.”

Korn Ferry Tour player Justin Hueber tweeted out the card of the player in question and showed a scorecard of a player who shot a 194 total – equating to 123-over par.

@jhueb

Despite Hueber’s attempts to blur out the name of the player in question, it was found to be Trey Bilardello, better known for being a professional caddie most recently for Matt Every, and it turns out that the 194 total was, in fact, a 202.

Speaking to GolfDigest, Darin Green, director of rules & competitions for the Florida State Golf Association, revealed how a glitch in the online scoring system prevents numbers greater than 19 posted on any hole being submitted, but failed to elaborate on just how a player with a 2.2 handicap, according to the latest GHIN revision, could shoot such a total, stating  “The 202 was the score given to us and signed.” 

On Tuesday afternoon Bilardello’s story became even more intriguing when the FSGA decided to reverse its original decision and disqualify Bilardello after the event had ended.

“Serious misconduct and failing to play in the spirit of the game” was the reason for the disqualification according to Beth Major, USGA senior director of championship communications, who was speaking to Golf Digest.

Per the report, Bilardello began deliberately missing shots, especially around the green, and as he was within the first group at the event, his pace held up the rest of the field. Speaking on the incident, Major stated

“His disqualification was deemed appropriate as a result of the individual’s failure to show consideration for other players—deliberately playing away from the hole to run up his score.” 

Speaking to Golf Channel, Bilardello’s playing competitor, Kristian Fortis, disclosed how the Tour caddie started off normal but quickly went downhill.

“After the first nine, he said that he wanted to shoot the highest recorded score in USGA history. He just did not care. He was really rude to a lot of the officials, too. Something was off.

“He would chip shots and scoot his ball around on the tee box just to add strokes, and then he would just pipe a 2-iron down the middle of the fairway, hit it on the green and then just scoot his ball around again with his putter. He’d be right next to the hole and then I guess he’d think to himself that he didn’t have enough strokes and he’d hit his ball in the opposite direction of the hole.”

Bilardello’s past involves an arrest in 2014 in Royal Palm Beach, Fla, on a charge of first-degree domestic battery by strangulation, and he has been accused of “cheating the ballot to win” by an online commentator in a “Caddie for a Day” contest for Ken Duke. Per GolfDigest’s report, Bilardello was suspended from the Minor League Golf Tour for damaging golf course property during one of the events.

Your Reaction?
  • 52
  • LEGIT13
  • WOW102
  • LOL38
  • IDHT5
  • FLOP9
  • OB8
  • SHANK191

Gianni is a freelance writer. He holds a Bachelor of Arts as well as a Diploma in Sports Journalism. He can be contacted at gmagliocco@outlook.com. Follow him on Twitter @giannimosquito

63 Comments

63 Comments

  1. Mike

    Aug 11, 2019 at 10:02 am

    Wow, can’t believe how this thread turned into political BS…you folks on the left have to let go of the trump crap for a few minutes now & then.

    But seriously, this was a disgrace that wasted people’s time.

  2. Geo

    Aug 3, 2019 at 10:56 pm

    What is the reason for mentioning anything other than golf in the article, that’s where the score being discussed came from??????

  3. Rob

    Jul 20, 2019 at 10:44 am

    Based on the abundance of butthurt loser comments about his hat here, I can sort of guess what happened. Who said what about his hat? Tell me, do you like 8-hour rounds?

    • John

      Jul 20, 2019 at 2:23 pm

      I don’t think it’s about the hat. It’s about the disgraceful and disrespectful behavior he exhibited. He should be permanently banned from tournament golf- at the very least from usga and fsga events. Rudeness to the officials and just outright acting like the complete lowlife that he is.

  4. PG

    Jul 19, 2019 at 10:38 pm

    Good lord. I’m grateful for the forum mods after seeing this train wreck.

  5. Ted

    Jul 19, 2019 at 5:40 pm

    I know this clown. He is a disgrace and a horrible human being. No surprise here. He needs to be locked up before the next headline is that he seriously hurts someone. He’s capable of that.

    • Tom Greenwood

      Jul 19, 2019 at 6:07 pm

      If he had made a few putts he could have broken 200 easy…

    • Rob

      Jul 20, 2019 at 10:39 am

      You don’t know him. Maybe you should lock yourself up for being a butthurt hate-filled liar.

      • stephenf

        Aug 1, 2019 at 1:54 am

        “You don’t know him”?

        Yeah we do. He was a complete jerk, was allegedly rude to officials and players, and also was arrested for a violent crime. So there’s that.

        • Jay

          Aug 7, 2019 at 5:29 am

          I know him too. Scammer to the nth degree. Dangerous personality.

  6. cg

    Jul 19, 2019 at 5:27 pm

    Trying to qualify for the US Amatuer is a big deal. For this guy to just purposely play poorly surely made it harder for players anywhere near him. He should be banned from all things related to tournament golf in the future. He should not even be allowed to caddy. besides all that, he needs to be taken to the wood shed for a few minutes as well!

  7. Pelling

    Jul 18, 2019 at 10:42 pm

    So after a couple holes of slapping the ball around where it was obvious Bilardello wasn’t trying, why didn’t his playing partners, who paid good money to enter the qualifier, simply call for an official and ask to have him removed? It certainly must have distracted them, especially the player keeping his score.

  8. Stan Wojo

    Jul 18, 2019 at 10:06 am

    Looks like someone stopped taking his meds…

  9. Jamie

    Jul 18, 2019 at 9:25 am

    The hat obviously triggered Kristian or a rules official and he had the perfect comeback. Melt the precious little snowflakes.

    • Adam

      Jul 20, 2019 at 10:01 pm

      Sooo the playing partner and the rules official caused him to score a 204?

    • Biddles

      Aug 5, 2019 at 12:05 pm

      A) this isn’t a picture from the event you moron
      B) the “perfect comeback” is to be a prick and slow everyone down including people who had nothing to do with this?
      C) you’re a moron and a pathetic human being

  10. Mr Miles Dowsett

    Jul 18, 2019 at 3:45 am

    He’s a complete disgrace.

    Completely abused the privilege of playing in an event that a lot of people put a lot of hard work into putting on, for the benefit of amateurs everywhere. Should never be invited back.

  11. Daniel Stormy

    Jul 17, 2019 at 8:57 pm

    This dude digs Milfs…

  12. trevor burkhart

    Jul 17, 2019 at 8:45 pm

    He got 3 pars! that is better than me in most of my rounds…

  13. RP

    Jul 17, 2019 at 4:26 pm

    No surprise there. I caddied with him on the Nationwide Tour from 2009-11 and he was a very mentally unwell individual.

  14. Jose Pinatas

    Jul 17, 2019 at 4:05 pm

    Just doesn’t care. Now that’s the American way…

    • alan

      Jul 18, 2019 at 12:02 am

      no, that’s the liberal way…

      • Jose Pinatas

        Jul 18, 2019 at 10:26 pm

        Yeah. American.. that’s what I said.

      • JThunder

        Jul 19, 2019 at 6:34 am

        No liberal would be wearing a Trump hat. But then I can’t expect conservatives to be literate, since they cut education funding every chance they get.

        • Rob

          Jul 20, 2019 at 10:53 am

          They cut lazy teacher union mafia funding. Overpaying for 9-months of work a year and overpromising pensions has consequences.

          • Jason

            Jul 20, 2019 at 5:56 pm

            You can say a lot of things and have a credible argument but implying that teachers are overpaid has got to be a bridge too far

    • JThunder

      Jul 19, 2019 at 6:38 am

      It’s not just about “not caring”. America takes great pride in being the worst at things – like education, health care, arts and culture, empathy. That includes being #1 at apathy.

      • Drew

        Jul 19, 2019 at 11:33 am

        The leading live-theater musicals, television, music and movie industry in the world. Along with a clear majority of the world’s best universities.

        Yep, America is just terrible at arts and education.

        • Jose Pinatas

          Jul 19, 2019 at 3:23 pm

          Majority of which were started and run by immigrants, or descendants of immigrants which came from other nations and countries.

          • Rob

            Jul 20, 2019 at 10:56 am

            Who came here to practice their productive talents free of gov interference. Now they don’t have trades and want free handouts. Please reconsider your naive comment.

      • cg

        Jul 19, 2019 at 5:38 pm

        The United States has the #1 economy, and is the #1 military power in the world. It also is the best country on the planet, which is why you have droves of people despartely trying to get here. If you live here, you should kiss the ground you’re walking on. If you don’t, them STFU!

  15. 2putttom

    Jul 17, 2019 at 1:25 pm

    ” After the first nine, he said that he wanted to shoot the highest recorded score in USGA history. He just did not care. He was really rude to a lot of the officials, too. Something was off.”
    Not exactly the kind of notoriety ya need in your life

  16. Yo Adrian

    Jul 17, 2019 at 12:03 pm

    I wonder what 2 iron did he use?

  17. Travisty

    Jul 17, 2019 at 11:59 am

    What a loser and now he gets a headline article on GolfWRX and I’m sure other websites. Exactly what this guy wants. Some people are so pathetic they just have to take out their insecurities on the world. This guy definitely started botching his round up and thought, “I’m going to start making this look like it was totally on purpose so they don’t find out I actually kind of suck at golf.”

  18. Larry

    Jul 17, 2019 at 11:22 am

    That’s a straight douche move! I don’t understand why they let him finish the round!

  19. A. Commoner

    Jul 17, 2019 at 10:59 am

    Why was he allowed to complete the round?? !!

  20. Cdub

    Jul 17, 2019 at 10:52 am

    What an a**hole! Ruined the pace of play for the event and the likely chance of the players in his group qualifying.

  21. the giraffe

    Jul 17, 2019 at 10:30 am

    I’m betting he started on 9 and the double on 12 derailed him.

    • Nihonsei

      Jul 17, 2019 at 7:14 pm

      Yeah, must have started on back nine #10 if he decided after 9 holes to eff off.

  22. Elias

    Jul 17, 2019 at 10:10 am

    Sounds like a complete loser. He doesn’t deserve an article. Just ban him from the sport or working in the industry.

  23. underachiever

    Jul 17, 2019 at 10:03 am

    He did get it going though on holes 9-11…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

The 6 best #GolfWRX photos on Instagram today (10.15.19)

Published

on

In this segment, we’ll be taking a look at some of the best #GolfWRX tagged photos on Instagram. In case you aren’t already, there’s a whole load of action going on at our page, so follow us: @golfwrx

Let’s get to it then, here are six of the best #GolfWRX photos from the past 24 hours.

Dropping this Wednesday from Sugar Skull Golf.

Behind the scenes with Cushman Custom Golf.

Yutaka Kawanami showcasing Fuji Course, Kawana Hotel Golf Course in Japan.

New from Wilson Golf.

View this post on Instagram

A new classic.

A post shared by Wilson Golf (@wilsongolf) on

“Sprinkle, Sprinkle” from Tyson Lamb.

View this post on Instagram

Sprinkle sprinkle #LambCrafted

A post shared by Tyson Lamb (@tyson_lamb) on

New creation from National Custom Works.

View this post on Instagram

Working on the night moves

A post shared by National Custom Works (@nationalcustom) on

Get hashtagging your golf posts #GolfWRX for your chance to feature in our best of Instagram posts in the future!

Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Back: Tiger Woods’ first-ever memoir coming to retail

Published

on

Tiger Woods’ memoir, “Back,” will be coming to worldwide retail after HarperCollins Publishers today announced that they had acquired the rights to the book.

“Back” will be the first-ever memoir authored by Tiger Woods, and according to a statement published on the 15-time-major champion’s website, the memoir is “a candid and intimate narrative of an outsize American life.”

The first and only account directly from Woods, with the full cooperation of his friends, family, and inner circle, “Back” covers Woods’ life from his growing up a celebrated golf prodigy through to his stunning 2019 Masters victory.

Speaking on the upcoming release of his memoir, Woods stated

 “I’ve been in the spotlight for a long time, and because of that, there have been books and articles and TV shows about me, most filled with errors, speculative and wrong. This book is my definitive story. 

“It’s in my words and expresses my thoughts. It describes how I feel and what’s happened in my life. I’ve been working at it steadily, and I’m looking forward to continuing the process and creating a book that people will want to read.”

President and Publisher of HarperOne Group, Judith Curr, had this to say on acquiring the publishing rights to “Back”

“We are thrilled and proud to work with Tiger on what I believe will be the publishing event of the decade. Tiger will reclaim his own story and legacy and it’s a story for the world over.”

Your Reaction?
  • 23
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Jesper Parnevik handed a two-stroke penalty at the SAS Championship for NOT taking a mulligan

Published

on

At the SAS Championship on Sunday, Jesper Parnevik was handed a two-stroke penalty when he didn’t take a mulligan.

The incident occurred on the third hole of Parnevik’s final round, where according to Reuters, the Swede horseshoed a short bogey putt which came back and struck his foot. The veteran then tapped in for what he thought was a double-bogey, unaware that because the ball had accidentally struck him, he was required to take a mulligan. 

Speaking to Reuters, rules official, Brian Claar said

“When a ball on the putting green accidentally hits any person, animal or immovable obstruction, this stroke does not count and the ball must be replaced on its original spot.

Jesper tapped it in. In that situation he’s played from the wrong place. Unfortunately he gets a two-stroke penalty for playing from the wrong place, and the one where he tapped in counts but the original stroke does not count.”

If the situation sounds perplexing to you, then you aren’t alone.

According to Claar, when he called the USGA for assistance, the governing body asked him “Did that really happen out there?”, before adding that they had never heard of an incident like it occurring before in tournament play. 

Here is the rule which undid Parnevik explained:

Rule 11.1.b, Exception 2:

When Ball Played from Putting Green Accidentally Hits Any Person, Animal or Movable Obstruction (Including Another Ball in Motion) on Putting Green: The stroke does not count and the original ball or another ball must be replaced on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated).

Parnevik ended up making a triple-bogey on the hole and finished the event in a tie for 68th place.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 18
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW6
  • LOL6
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB3
  • SHANK5

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending