Connect with us

19th Hole

Gary Woodland discusses beating Woods’ record, his approach on 14, and his clutch chip on 17 with Adam Schein

Published

on

U.S. Open Champion Gary Woodland made an appearance at SiriusXM’s Manhattan studios on Tuesday, where he sat down to discuss a multitude of topics with Adam Schein on his Mad Dog Sports Radio program – Schein on Sports.

Fresh off his career-defining victory at Pebble Beach, Woodland heaped praise on his caddie, Brennan Little, while speaking on the show, whom he credited with giving him the confidence to hit his outstanding second shot to the par-5 14th hole which led to birdie in the final round.

(*All quotes courtesy of SiriusXM’s Mad Dog Sports Radio)

“I’ll give the credit to my caddie on that one. It was one of those where we talked all week – I wanted to play aggressive. I wanted to play to win. I knew I was playing well. I got up there, I knew I had a one-shot lead. I’d actually – to that pin – I’d hit the chip shot left of the green, it wasn’t great in the practice rounds. I knew right’s out of bounds.

It was probably the first time all day I wanted to play conservative. I was actually thinking about laying up, and my caddie, it was the first time probably – we’ve been together three years – that he just, he said, ‘This is it. Hit three wood. Let’s go. Knock it up there, make a swing, hit at the right edge of the green and go.’ He gave me confidence, not only for that shot, but that gave me confidence in the last five holes.”

As for his clutch chip on 17 to save par, Woodland described his mindset taking the shot as well as how he was keeping tabs on what Koepka was doing at the same time on 18.

“Fortunately I had a similar shot off that green earlier in the week. That was one I’m just trying to make four. I can see Koepka on the green on 18; I saw he had a putt, I didn’t know if it was for birdie or for eagle. And I was trying to get it (the chip) past the hole, and it just came out perfectly with a little spin.”

Woodland also discussed beating Tiger Woods’ total of 12-under-par from the 2000 U.S. Open at Pebble Beach. The 35-year-old first mentioned how he recognized that Woods won that tournament by 15 strokes, before adding how he was aware of beating his 72-hole total, saying

“I knew it, but I was trying to two-putt. I wasn’t trying to make that putt. Once it got halfway there and it went in I obviously let the emotion out. My caddie came over to tell me congrats and I said, ‘You know that clipped Tiger by one?’ And he said, ‘No I didn’t.’ He was focused on the wrong stuff, he was focused on winning, I was focused on beating that record.”

While speaking more generally on Woods and the impact the 15-time major champion has on the game, Woodland described him being back as “everything”, which you can see in the embedded clip below.

Your Reaction?
  • 23
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Gianni is the Assistant Editor at GolfWRX. He can be contacted at gianni@golfwrx.com. Follow him on Twitter @giannimosquito

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

The DailyWRX (8/14/2020): Trottie’s iron spin cheat sheet | More Beef | Johnny made Elk’s Twitter

Published

on

Seems simple…

But this is GOLD

I have no words….

I do love me some Poults though.

More BEEF please…

On a selfish note….

I made Elk’s Twitter….life goal complete.

The 40-60 sec mark is the sweet spot..

Trust the pros.

DM @johnny_wunder

Your Reaction?
  • 1
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Caddie’s bunker infraction proves ruinous at U.S. Amateur 

Published

on

At the U.S. Amateur at Bandon Dunes a rare and cruel ruling on the final hole on Thursday evening put paid to Segundo Oliva Pinto’s chances in his last 16 match against Tyler Strafaci.

All tied up heading down the par 5 last, Oliva Pinto found the greenside bunker with his second shot. While assessing where to land his third shot, Oliva Pinto’s caddie, who is a local caddie from the resort, touched the sand with his hand which was deemed to have been testing the conditions of the bunker.

The local looper denied to rules officials that he touched the sand, despite the evidence proving otherwise.

Rule 12.1/a states that: before making a stroke at a ball in a bunker, a player must not deliberately touch sand in the bunker with a hand, club, rake or other object to test the condition of the sand to learn information for the next stroke. 

Unfortunately for Oliva Pinto, caddies are included in that rule, and the error in judgment proved fatal with the hole concession resulting in the end of the match.

Following the incident, Oliva Pinto was philosophical, saying: “What happened, happened”.

Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW5
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

19th Hole

The 6 best #GolfWRX photos on Instagram today (8.14.20)

Published

on

In this segment, we’ll be taking a look at some of the best #GolfWRX tagged photos on Instagram. In case you aren’t already, there’s a whole load of action going on at our page, so follow us: @golfwrx

Let’s get to it then, here are six of the best #GolfWRX photos from the past 24 hours.

Cool shots of Merion Golf Club courtesy of Ben Keyser.

Digital camo finish on these TM MG2 wedges.

Slick looking irons from Ballistic Golf.

Positive thinking!

Which one you taking, WRXers?

Coming Sunday from NCW Putters.

View this post on Instagram

Drops Sunday.

A post shared by NCW_putters (@ncw_putters) on

Get hashtagging your golf posts #GolfWRX for your chance to feature in our best of Instagram posts in the future!

Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK16

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending