Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight Review: Golf Pride Tour SNSR Contour Pro

Published

on

Product: Golf Pride Tour SNSR Contour Pro

Pitch: From Golf Pride: “Tour-proven shapes that are engineered with innovative SNSR material that delivers unsurpassed Tour-level feel and feedback. The…grips are made of a soft-tuned rubber formulation that gives these grips extraordinary feel, and encourages lighter grip pressure that golfers seek in creating a smooth stroke. The most-preferred sculpted pistol shape on the worldwide Tours is now available in our proprietary SNSR rubber blend, with two oversized shapes for maximum feel and feedback.”

Our take on the Golf Pride Tour SNSR Contour Pro

Golf Pride has a new addition to the SNSR line that it has been making for a few years. In March, you will be able to get your hands on (bad pun) the new Tour SNSR Contour Pro. This new model has a refined pistol shape that has been preferred by players on professional tours and comes in two sizes. The new pistol shape is a little smaller in the upper hand, will less protrusion in the pads of the fingers. The Contour Pro is flat on the front of the paddle for proper thumb placement, but it also has a curve near the end that helps lock the putter in the palm of your hand. This new Contour Pro model feels like it has more taper in the lower half as well, like some traditional grips.

Right out of the box, the Tour SNSR Contour Pro has a very soft rubber feel, almost squishy before you install it. Once installed the soft-tuned rubber has a great tackiness to it without being sticky. It isn’t hot out yet, but I have confidence that even in the hottest and most humid environments this grip will perform well.

Two sizes, 104cc  and 140cc, both feel good in the hands, with neither having ridges or shapes that hit you anywhere that would feel strange. The contour on the front, upper half of the grip really does help lock the grip into your palm without having to add any additional pressure. The lower half of the grip is slightly softer and overall the SNSR material reminds me that I don’t need a death grip on the putter.

I like the reduced pistol shape in the pads of my fingers on the upper hand as well. I don’t feel like I have to “try” to grip the putter, it just rests naturally in my hand. The flat top of the grip is also comfortable and a solid platform to place your thumbs. The only real thing I would change would be to add a smaller size, similar to a standard grip. I mean that is all personal preference, but I like the feel of a slightly smaller grip.

On the putting green the soft SNSR material really performed better than I thought. I figured the grip would remove too much vibration and kill the responsiveness, but I was wrong. The grip provides solid and precise feedback, even with the larger 140cc version. One of the two sizes should be a fit for any putting preference or hand size. I wear a medium glove and a standard putter grip so the 104cc felt the best for me. I liked having more taper in my lower hand since I struggle with having a strong right hand grip and the taper allowed me to grip the club more neutrally.

Overall, the Tour SNSR Contour Pro is a really good option for someone who wants a larger grip but doesn’t want to lose feel or taper. The soft, tacky rubber should provide great traction throughout any weather you are willing to play through!

Your Reaction?
  • 81
  • LEGIT9
  • WOW6
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP2
  • OB3
  • SHANK11

We share your golf passion. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX, Facebook and Instagram.

13 Comments

13 Comments

  1. Dave S

    Mar 7, 2019 at 11:58 am

    How does it compare to the original Tour Sensor Pistol grip (the red one)?

  2. Harry L. Johnson

    Mar 1, 2019 at 3:59 pm

    How about loading the Hogan tour story. Who cares about old news grips. Joke on me

  3. kevin

    Feb 26, 2019 at 11:53 am

    Still Fugly

  4. David C

    Feb 25, 2019 at 10:42 pm

    Thank you for the article. What is the weight of these two? The prior versions were too heavy, but I liked the size and texture of those. Hoping these are lighter.

  5. Thang

    Feb 25, 2019 at 7:51 pm

    Yes let us all remind ourselves of Peyronie’s Disease with this grip every time we hold our thang

    • The dude

      Feb 25, 2019 at 10:23 pm

      ….,dumb

    • Tiger Noods

      Feb 25, 2019 at 11:07 pm

      Go back to your MAGA rally, pinhead.

      • Agam

        Feb 26, 2019 at 1:16 am

        Pinhead? You’re helping make his point? lol
        And a nice you’ve got there, Noods

  6. Matt

    Feb 25, 2019 at 7:24 pm

    The grey looks slightly better than the Ronald McDonald red/yellow/black color and the bright blue and yellow versions.

  7. Marc

    Feb 25, 2019 at 6:52 pm

    What’s the difference between this one and the red version? I have the red one on my newport 2 and love it

  8. Jordan

    Feb 25, 2019 at 5:03 pm

    Every time I go into my local GG, there are so many used putters on the rack with these grips. It kills the feel throws the weight off, so everyone thinks they have a bum putter, when it’s really the grip.

    Why can’t they just come out with non logo’d pingman grips?

    • DB

      Feb 26, 2019 at 8:41 am

      I agree, they are a touch heavy at 90g and 124g.

  9. Realist

    Feb 25, 2019 at 3:48 pm

    What is wrong with a standard solid putter color grip. The multi tone look is cheap looking and a marketing scheme.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Putting Perfecter

Published

on

Putting can be one of the most frustrating parts of the game, it mystifies scratch golfers as much as high handicaps and can make anybody tremble over a three-footers. It’s one of the biggest factors in scoring, especially for the club-level player, but it’s often one of the last things people actually work on. Let’s be honest, it’s a lot of fun to pound drivers on the range, am I right?

But if you are seriously looking for a simple tool to help get you into the proper address position, the Putting Perfecter is a great one to start with.

The beauty of the device is in its simplicity. Fitting under your arms and across your midsection, it “locks” the player into the proper position to create a pendulum putting stroke. After giving it a shot and hitting putts for just a few minutes, then going back to putting without it made me feel like I was much more connected.

Don’t think it’s just for putting though.

Funny story, when I first took it out to work on my putting, I used it for about 30 minutes and then moved onto my chipping. After a few trips around the putting green I tried chipping with the Putting Perfecter in the same position and “WOW” same connected feeling was produced—it was perfect for working on low-flying “runners.” I was excited to tell my friend about it, until I went home and realized they actually advertise it to help with that too. Guess I’m not as clever as I thought…

No matter how you use it, the Putting Perfecter is a simple and effective training tool that can be carried in a bag to be used before or after a round, takes NO time to set up (a big plus), and is light—so you don’t feel like its dragging you down if you actually keep it in your bag. Since it’s a putting tool, you can even use it indoors very easily. If you are someone that struggles with consistent address position on putts or disconnecting when chipping, I believe the Putting Perfecter is a great tool to try.

For more information check out the Putting Perfecter website.

 

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 50
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW4
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP2
  • OB1
  • SHANK17

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Uther Supply golf towels

Published

on

Product: Uther Supply golf towels

Pitch: Via Uther: “Uther cart towels use the highest quality material and construction which have been tested to perform season after season…Uther’s unique blend of moisturize wicking, soft microfiber is 3x more absorbent than cotton and 5x more durable…Waffle pattern to easily remove even the most stubborn dirt in club grooves and golf ball dimples…Uther is the creator of the fashionable golf towel. Features unique sublimated prints and designs that make a fun accessory for both men and women golf bags.”

Our take on Uther Supply golf towels

Most golfers have a “logo” towel hanging on their bag today. Typically you’ll see the name of a course the golfer has visited, or an OEM name. Uther Supply towels, however, are different. Uther (pronounced “other”) Supply Founder Dan Erdman described his inspiration for this unique line of golf towels in an interview with GolfWRX a few years back:

“When you work in the back shop and storage facility, you handle a lot of golf bags. I just noticed rows and rows of bags that all look the same and I thought it made a lot of sense to inject some personality into it. You know, people go crazy for how all the pros personalize their wedges and their bags. They buy towels and bag tags from courses like TPC Sawgrass and Pebble Beach to personalize their stuff, but in the end it all kind of blends together… I thought we could really add something to the marketplace.”

They have certainly succeeded in creating a new type of towel in the marketplace. We used them over several rounds of golf, in various conditions to put them to the test.

Meant to be shown off, Uther golf towel designs are creative and clever, with some of the most popular being the “Happy Gilmore inspired” Cart Towel and “90s coffee cup” Tour Towel. There of course, are many others to choose from.

Of course, let’s not forget that the primary function of a towel is to clean your golf equipment. That might seem easy but we at WRX have ordered some custom towels from other manufacturers in the past and were disappointed in the performance. Uther’s towels, however, succeed in both form and function. They’re stylish, but they also are an excellent functional towel. You’re like to be impressed at how light they are as well. These aren’t bath towels, but rather high-quality microfiber blends that Uther says are 3x more absorbent than cotton.

As far as cons, if we’re nitpicking, you may need to find a larger carabiner clip for some golf bags if you want to hang your towel in a more prominent place. These are made to show off, after all.

Prices range from $28-$35 USD and are available for purchase at uthersupply.com, Dick’s Sporting Goods and Golf Galaxy in the US and Golf Town in Canada.

Your Reaction?
  • 29
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Published

on

Product: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Pitch: From Adidas: “Designed for protection from the elements, these golf shoes have enhanced cushioning to return energy on every swing. The shoes feature a spikeless outsole that flexes with your foot and has strategically placed lugs for outstanding grip and balance. An innovative closure system is built for micro-adjustments so you get the exact fit you need.”

Our take on Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Golf shoes are curious creatures existing in a strange place? No? Finally free of the gravitational pull of traditionalism, shoe styles are finally at a place where form follows function. And while you may pine for the days of saddle shoes aesthetically, your feet (and likely your golf swing) surely do not.

While the shoes are also available in gray/white and black/white colorways, we tested the bolder dark marine variant.

Now, “good” footwear, as we are constantly wont to admit, is highly subjective. As of yet, you can’t test two pairs of kicks on a TrackMan and determine which is superior (rumored featured of TrackMan 5). So leaving aside aesthetics and how you like your shoes to fit, we provide the most valuable information, that is, regarding stability, cushioning, and traction. However, in this case, it’s also worth noting the closure system does allow for a more precise fit (and one that stays in place) than lace-up shoes do.

With respect to comfort, first of all, anything Boost is going to be comfortable, and these shoes are no exception. And whether you refer to the “Forgefiber in the upper features heat-pressed, TPU-coated fibers…stitched in” to the upper (as Adidas does), or merely the sensation that the Forgefiber Boas provide a solid foundation during the swing, the truth is the same: sound, stable here.

A look at the Puremotion outsole showcases some serious spikeless technology that also offers performance on par with the very best in spikeless footwear.

A final word: These shoes are no porous sieve, either, as you might be concerned they could be on first glance. Adidas’ Climastorm technology in the exterior yields a respectable level of water-repellency.

Your Reaction?
  • 76
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW6
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP9
  • OB2
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending