Connect with us

Opinion & Analysis

WRX Rules Refresher: It’s OK to measure with your putter when taking relief (plus 4 other Rules tricks)

Published

on

The new Rules of Golf are in effect. And we love them. Or at least some people love them. And a lot of people (still) hate them.

Sometimes, you will be told that you are in breach of the Rules, when you are not. Below I will tell you about a few of these situations so that you can avoid accepting other people saying that you are in breach. And you might even want to do some of the things it purposely to try to shake an opponent in match play.

1. Use your putter to measure with

When taking relief, it is perfectly OK to use your putter to measure with. I repeat: It is perfectly OK to use your putter to measure with.

“That is incorrect,” you might want to respond. But it is not. One club-length in the Rules is defined as the length of the longest club you have brought, other that your putter. So the length is defined…. but not what you must use to measure with. Thus you can measure with whatever club you want. or even … It is perfectly OK to measure a relief area with your putter… as long as you drop within the correct relief area (the size of which depends on the length of your longest club, not being a putter).

Therefore next time you are taking relief, use your putter. Well, no, sorry, a correction: Before you do it, state very loud to your fellow player that you intend to measure with your PUTTER, and maybe even show to him (and tell him!), how long it is. Then measure with the putter, and drop your ball (remember to drop it inside the correct relief area).

I will assure you that you will get some kind of reaction from him/her. But you have done nothing wrong under the Rules of Golf.

2. Drop farther away than two-club-lengths

You could also do the opposite (than taking a long putter). Next time you are measuring (e.g. two club-lengths) when taking relief, use a short club, e.g. a wedge. When you are done measuring, state loudly to your playing partner: “I don’t think two club-lengths is enough, so I will drop a ball a bit farther away than that!” Then drop a ball clearly farther away than the two wedge-lengths.

That is perfectly OK…of course presupposing that you drop within two club-lengths, i.e. typically within two driver-lengths.

Again: I am sure you will get some kind of reaction from your fellow player.

3. Play a provisional without saying “provisional”

Did you know that you can actually play a provisional ball without saying the word “provisional.” The rule states, that you must either a) say the word or b) in another way make it clear, that you are playing a provisional.

Another way could be this:

– “I’m playing a ball under Rule 18.3.”
– “I’m going to play another just in case.”

Thus, next time you are playing a provisional ball, tell your fellow player that you play a ball under Rule 18.3. He will probably think you are nuts. But you are not (at least not because of this). You did fine played perfectly in accordance with the Rules.

4. Drop right next to the “line”

When you take “back on the line relief,” there is a new procedure in 2019, e.g. when you played from the fairway or rough. You don’t have to drop exactly on the “line” anymore (the line = the extension away from the hole of the line between the hole and the point e.g. where the unplayable ball lies).

Example: You play from the semi-rough, and your ball ends out of bounds. Your club does not have the new Local Rule in operation (allowing players to drop ahead with two penalty strokes), and thus you play a ball with a one-stroke penalty. You then must drop a ball in a relief area that is one club-length from a point on the “line,” that you chose (not closer to the hole). If you are so lucky that this one club-length area is partly on the fairway, it is perfectly Ok for you to drop on the fairway!

That is important to know. One “club-length” is typically a bit more than 1 yard, and therefore the area is typically more than two yards from one end to the other. And you are free to choose the best spot available within that area — also if you thereby come from the semi-rough to the fairway (as in the example).

5. Mis-hit in the teeing area: Just put it back up on the tee again!

Have you ever mis-hit the ball from the teeing area? You know, one of these strokes, where the ball merely falls down from the tee? Of course you haven’t! But I have. Well, guess what: I have some good news for you. you just put the ball back up on the tee again without penalty (remember that the stroke counts, so it will be your second stroke).

But this is only possible if, after the mis-hit, the ball was still lying inside the teeing area (two club-lengths). Therefore when you play bad, I will encourage you to play really bad! Thus, if the ball in a mis-hit rolls three yards forward, you don’t have the option to put the ball back up on the tee again without penalty (you must then a) play it as it lies or b) with a one-stroke penalty play again from the teeing ground i.e. stroke number three).

 

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB2
  • SHANK34

I am founder of "The Oswald Academy", which has only one purpose: To teach in the Rules of Golf. My hope is to make the Rules of Golf interesting and easy to understand. I am publishing Rules Books, conducting seminars, letterboxes, writing blogs, publishing "The Oswald Rules School" (videos) and much more. I live in New York, but I was born in Denmark. I am a former lawyer, and have two kids - and one wife.

4 Comments

4 Comments

  1. Fio

    Mar 15, 2019 at 1:40 pm

    What is the aim of the piece, to start arguments with your playing partners ? The changes will be difficult enough to get used to without suggesting to golfers how clever they can be in the interpretation of the Rules. Surely the writer can think of more useful information regarding the Rules that will actually benefit golfers?

  2. Deepy

    Mar 14, 2019 at 3:46 pm

    @1&2 but why?

    @3 „I’m going to play another just in case„ <- doubt that, see 18.3b, clearly announcing sounds different to me, the example states it is not enough to announce it as „play another ball“, „just in case“ doesn’t make any difference

    @4 Back on the line relief after hitting it O.B.?

    @5 planning to never make use of this rule

    • D

      Mar 15, 2019 at 2:27 am

      Douche doesn’t understand the rules. OB is OB, and it’s still stroke and distance, therefore you are still hitting the drop plus another, so it’s actually the same penalty as before from the nearest point where you just hit the OB shot.
      Therefore, as an example: if you are in the semi-rough next to the fairway with your tee shot like he says, and you hit that 2nd shot OB. You drop as near as possible to the place where you just hit the poor shot, without moving forward, and so you are now hitting your 4th. If the rule to move forward is not in effect, you play exactly how you used to play before, like that.
      But, the only new thing is, if you move forward instead with the new rules, and you drop next to the place the ball crossed, you add 2 and are now hitting your 5th from the line it crossed.
      Duh

      • Hitemtrue

        Mar 18, 2019 at 12:35 pm

        Under the new rules there is a relief area when taking stroke and distance. Within one club length of previous location, no closer to the hole.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Podcasts

TG2: Rory wins his “Fifth Major”! Plus, a discussion with a true golf junkie

Published

on

Of course we are talking about The Players and Rory’s win! Is The Players close to a 5th major or not? We have GolfWRX member mBiden2 on the show to talk about his golf junkie ways and the gear he is liking for 2019!

Check out the full podcast on SoundCloud below, or click here to listen on iTunes or here to listen on Spotify.

Your Reaction?
  • 1
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

Opinion & Analysis

College golf recruiting: The system works

Published

on

Yesterday, one of the parents I consult with on college placement asked me what the lessons are from the recent college admissions scandal for her and her son. What are the takeaways?

Michael Young, who coined the phrase in 1956, writes, a meritocracy is “the society in which the gifted, the smart, the energetic, the ambitious and the ruthless are carefully sifted out and helped towards their destined positions of dominance.” For decades higher education has embraced the meritocracy, creating an effective system which it funnels students with amazing precision to school that matches their academic ability, courtesy of indicators like GPA, SAT and class rank. So why would people work to circumvent this system? Ignorance and entitlement; the members of this scandal were driven by having the right brand name to tell their friends at dinner parties, not the welfare of their children.

In my own experience, I have seen families put their kids into months of hardcore standardized prep, while signing up for six to eight sittings of the SAT under the guise of trying to get to a better school, all while balancing practice and tournament golf. The problem is that this does not make you a good parent, it makes you an asshole.

In my own examination of data in the college signing process over the past three years, I have found only three outliers in Division One Men’s Golf at major conference schools. Each of these outliers had a NJGS ranking outside of the top 1000 in their class with scoring differentials above 3.5. They also each had a direct and obvious connection with the school. They leveraged the relationship and had their children admitted and put on the roster. Success! Unfortunately, none of the players appeared on the roster their sophomore year. Why? By the numbers, these players are 6 shots worst than their peers. That’s 24 shots over a four-round qualifier.

Obviously, it needs to be said again; the best junior players (boys and girls) are excellent. Three years of data suggest that players who attend major conference schools have negative scoring differentials close to 2. This means that they average about 2 shots better than the course rating, or in lay terms; have a plus handicap in tournaments. This is outstanding golf and a result of a well thought out and funded plan, executed over several years.

There is no doubt that the best players have passed through top tier programs in recent years, however, they have entered these programs with accolades including negative scoring differentials and successful tournament careers, including a pattern of winning. In order to compete at the professional level, players must meticulously try and mirror these successes in college. The best way to do it? Attend a school where the prospective student-athlete can gain valuable experience playing and building their resume. For a lot of junior golfers, this might not be the most obvious choice. Instead, the process takes some thought and looking at different options. As someone who has visited over 800 campuses and seen the golf facilities, I can say that you will be surprised and impressed with just how good the options are! Happy searching.

Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

Podcasts

The Gear Dive: World Long Drive Champ Maurice Allen

Published

on

In this episode of the Gear Dive brought to you by Fujikura Golf, Johnny chats with Remax World Long Drive Champion Maurice Allen on where he started, his crazy equipment specs and why he relies on his eyes over the numbers.

Check out the full podcast on SoundCloud below, or click here to listen on iTunes or here to listen on Spotify.

Your Reaction?
  • 9
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW6
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending