Connect with us

News

Brutal penalty crushes European Tour hopeful’s Q-School dreams

Published

on

On Monday, while attempting to forge his way into the Q-School final stage, young European Tour hopeful Gian-Marco Petrozzi suffered a penalty which ultimately cost him the chance of competing in a playoff for an alternate spot.

The incident took place on the 18th hole at Las Colinas Golf & Country Club in Spain, where, while preparing for his approach shot which needed to be played over a bunker, the 21-year-old walked through the bunker and then raked his footprints in the sand before playing his second shot. Petrozzi was deemed to have improved his line of sight, breaching Rule 13-2, which carries a two stroke penalty.

Petrozzi had fired five birdies in his last six holes, in a round which also included a hole in one on his eighth hole of the day, and he walked off the 18th green believing he had shot a round of 65 which would have earned him a place in a playoff for an alternate spot. However, after being assessed the penalty, Petrozzi signed for a 67 which dashed all hopes of making the Q-School Final Stage.

Speaking about the incident on social media, the Englishman spoke about the “tough lesson” he had learned and explained how he was unaware that he was involved in any wrongdoing at the time.

Rule 13-2, which Petrozzi invoked, states that a player must not improve his line of play by:

  • pressing a club on the ground,
  • moving, bending or breaking anything growing or fixed (including immovable obstructions and objects defining out of bounds),
  • creating or eliminating irregularities of surface,
  • removing or pressing down sand, loose soil, replaced divots or other cut turf placed in position, or
  • removing dew, frost or water.

The Q-School Final Stage takes place from November 10-15 at Lumine GC in Spain.

Your Reaction?
  • 14
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW17
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB4
  • SHANK107

Gianni is a freelance writer. He holds a Bachelor of Arts as well as a Diploma in Sports Journalism. He can be contacted at gmagliocco@outlook.com. Follow him on Twitter @giancarlomag

17 Comments

17 Comments

  1. John Hall

    Nov 10, 2018 at 12:34 am

    Speaking as an Englishman, I would like to remark on the way he took stoic ownership of his infraction, unlike another very recent female golfer.

  2. Keith

    Nov 9, 2018 at 2:52 pm

    Well, if he raked a straight line from the green to his ball position, he did create a guide, and did violate the rules.

  3. Paul

    Nov 9, 2018 at 2:08 pm

    These are the types of issues that make golf look completely ridiculous.

  4. David Roberts

    Nov 9, 2018 at 12:49 pm

    Really in this day and age get rid of these antiquated rules and bring the game into the 21st century.

  5. RAT

    Nov 9, 2018 at 11:57 am

    Wow! tough but I think unless it’s improving his footing or marking a line by using his footprints this should have be a no harm no foul

  6. Bill

    Nov 9, 2018 at 11:54 am

    So then… what the rules are also saying is that anyone walking ahead of their ball to get a better look at their target is committing the same infraction if there is dew on the ground?? I’m sure that’s been done countless times even on tour.
    I think what is missing in the rules is “intent.” If the rules included that, he would have to have intended to improve his line which is clearly not the case because he would have no reason to hit it in the bunker.

    • John Hall

      Nov 10, 2018 at 12:24 am

      Bill, I’m usually a real stickler for the rules (If you don’t have rules, you don’t have a game) but I really like your idea of “intent”. I’m surprised no-one’s suggested it before, as far as I know.

  7. SaiDaiOh

    Nov 9, 2018 at 2:23 am

    Lesson learnt: Never rake a bunker yourself during a tournament

  8. Tiger Noods

    Nov 8, 2018 at 5:11 pm

    Can someone verify that this would not be a 2019 penalty?

  9. Geoffrey Holland

    Nov 8, 2018 at 12:45 am

    “Petrozzi was deemed to have improved his line of sight, breaching Rule 13-2, which carries a two stroke penalty.”

    Line of play, not sight you nimrods.

    Nice proofreading.

  10. Jim

    Nov 7, 2018 at 3:09 pm

    Dang thats rough! I never would have known NOT to do that and ive only been playing this game for 25 years. What i interpret here is he was just putting the bunker around him back to its original state where he found his ball.
    How can you improve your line/sight by raking a bunker?? I honestly dont understand that.

    Though there are 3 sides to every story and we really arent being told if by doing so it actually improved his line/shot.

    • ScoFF

      Nov 7, 2018 at 7:15 pm

      IF he had hitten a fat shot and throw the ball into the bunker, He would have had improved his line/shot.

      • Jim

        Nov 7, 2018 at 11:34 pm

        Ohh Gotcha. That makes sense. Thank you!

      • SaiDaiOh

        Nov 9, 2018 at 2:25 am

        In what way? He is not playing in that bunker yet. Returning to its original state should not be penalized at that stage.

        • SaiDaiOh

          Nov 9, 2018 at 4:11 am

          This ruling is outright stupid. He should have filed a complaint against that ruling, for his tour card he worked so hard for and for every aspiring golfer.

          • Like

            Nov 9, 2018 at 12:07 pm

            He was playing for a playoff to the alternate spot to the final stage of Q school. Unlikely he got a spot in that tournament much less his tour card.

      • RaytheRules

        Nov 11, 2018 at 4:14 pm

        It may be that he had a blind shot and went to view the pin position. He would then walk a straight line back to his ball through the bunker. If he then rakes the bunker to indicate the line for his approach – then he could incur a penalty. That is how I interpret the ruling.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

News

Phil phires a 60 | Lowry leads in Abu Dhabi | Bernhard the bricklayer’s son

Published

on

By Ben Alberstadt (ben.alberstadt@golfwrx.com)

January 18, 2019

Good Friday morning, golf fans.
1.  Desert Classic
A “rusty” Mickelson leads with nothing less than a 12-under 60…
Golf Channel’s Ryan Lavner…”If this is his idea of rusty, it could be another special year for Phil Mickelson…Before heading out to begin his 28th year on the PGA Tour, Lefty alerted his 250,000-plus Twitter followers that he was “excited” and “fresh” and “ready to get started,” but also, um, “rusty,” which is a golfer’s subtle way of suggesting that expectations should be lowered. Mickelson even told his playing partner, Aaron Wise, the reigning Rookie of the Year, as much before the round: “I’m rusty, so don’t expect much.”
  • “But Mickelson has been doing the improbable for nearly three decades now, and so maybe it shouldn’t have been such a complete surprise that in his first round of 2019, at 48 years of age, with no expectations, he carded his lowest score in relation to par in his long and decorated Tour career – a 12-under 60, to take the lead Thursday at the Desert Classic.”
  • “It was kind of a lucky day in the sense that I did not feel sharp heading in,” Mickelson said afterward. “Sometimes it’s just one of those days when it clicks.”
2. Meanwhile, on the LPGA Tour…
AP Report…”Nearly three months after Lewis became a mother, and six months after she last played on tour, she opened with seven birdies on Thursday for a 5-under 66 that left her one shot behind Brooke Henderson and Eun-Hee Ji at the Diamond Resorts Tournament of Champions.”
  • ”Pleasantly surprised,” Lewis said. ”Had pretty low expectations going into the day. Just really made a lot of putts. I had some weird shots, which I knew was going to happen having not played in a while. I don’t know where it came from, but I’m going to take it.”
  • “Henderson overcame a slow start with a bogey on the second hole and a par save on No. 3 at the Tranquilo Golf Club at Four Seasons. She birdied five of her last eight holes for a 65 to tie Ji, who had a bogey-free round.”
  • “The tournament – the first season-opener in Florida for the LPGA since 2015 – is only for LPGA winners each of the last two years.”
3. European Tour
A report from The National...”Shane Lowry has a three-shot advantage to take into Saturday’s final round of the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship presented by EGA.”
  • “A birdie at the 18th gave him a round of 67 to leave him on -17, three ahead of South African Richard Sterne.”
  • “An eagle on the final hole from Ian Poulter lifted the Englishman to -12 and gives him hope he can prevail on Saturday.”
  • “Pablo Larrazabal will start the final round on -11 ahead of a quartet of Maximilian Kiefer, Thomas Pieters, Soren Kjeldsen and Scott Jamieson.”
4. The bricklayer’s son
Bernhard Langer’s “My Shot” runs in Golf Digest this month.
A few morsels…
  • “My father built our house. When I was a boy, he would call on me to help him lay bricks. I would shovel the material for the mortar into a small mixing machine, then join him in laying the bricks, setting them carefully, one by one, using string to make sure everything was straight. I consider it a miracle to have come this far.”
  • “WE CADDIES were given four hand-me-down clubs to share. There was a 2-wood, 3-iron and 7-iron, all with bamboo shafts, and a putter with a shaft bent like an archer’s bow. By the time I was 12, I saved enough money to buy a new set of Kroydon irons. They weren’t top of the line, but they were shiny, new and all mine. I added a Blue Goose model putter that had a small indentation in the head. It was a magical putter, and I quickly became the best putter at the course, Golfclub Augsburg, and possibly all of Germany. One day the putter went missing. I frantically went through the members’ bags, and sure enough, found my Blue Goose with the indentation. But I was in a terrible situation. I couldn’t confront the member-he surely would deny everything, and I would be fired. So I kept it to myself. I never did get the Blue Goose back. I’ve spent the past 50 years looking for a putter that suits me as well.”
5. Latin American Am
AP Report…“Alvaro Ortiz of Mexico had an ideal start Thursday in hopes of turning his fortunes in the Latin American Amateur Championship, opening with a 6-under 66 to build a three-shot lead after the opening round.”
  • “Ortiz has been runner-up in the Latin American Amateur the last two years. He finished five shots behind Joaquin Niemann of Chile last year, and he lost in a three-man playoff to Toto Gana the previous year.”
  • “The winner earns a spot in the Masters in April, and is exempt into the final stage of qualifying for the U.S. Open and British Open.”
6. Pins in at Augusta National? Maybe…
Golf Channel’s Nick Menta…”Will players really be allowed to putt with the pins in during at the Masters?”
  • “Asked that question Thursday at the Latin America Amateur Championship, Augusta National chairman Fred Ridley didn’t say no.”
  • “Under the new Rules of Golf, which went into effect on Jan. 1, players are now allowed to leave the flagstick in while on the greens, as Bryson DeChambeau so eagerly demonstrated.”
  • “Addressing the possibility of Augusta National going against the Rules of Golf during Masters week, Ridley first thanked the USGA’s Mike Davis and R&A’s Martin Slumbers for their work, then preached a message of “consistency” at the game’s highest levels.”
  • “We will, as we always do, collaborate with the governing bodies. We will talk about those local rules and conditions that will be implemented,” Ridley said.”
  • “We think it’s important that there be some consistency in top championship golf, and so you should expect that the Masters Tournament, from a rules perspective, will look very much, if not the same, as what you’re seeing in the major championships and the professional tours.”
7. The weirdest lies in golf history
Great stuff here from Coleman Bentley rounding up some of the most absurd lies (and resultant shots) in golf history (although it’s hard to believe there’s any way his list could be comprehensive, but hey, headlines, and you have to admire the effort)
  • “Golf is a game of minutely controlled chaos. Atoms crashing into atoms. Weight swooping into inertia. A ballet of bounces, spins, kicks, and ricochets that goes wrong just as often as it goes right. The beauty of a such an unpredictable game-one of inches, not yards-however, is that when it goes right it’s spectacular and when it goes wrong, well, it’s equally spectacular. Beg to differ? Well, keep on begging, because as the weirdest, wildest lies in golf’s weird, wild history prove, chaos is a beautiful thing indeed.”
  • “Shane Lowry – 2018 Abu Dhabi Championship…Before Shane Lowry could tie the course record at the 2018 Abu Dhabi Championship, he first had to conquer Trash Heap Corner. P.S. If no one’s taking that couch, we might know a guy who’s interested.”
  • “Phil Mickelson – 2014 Barclays Championship…The Leave: Just to the left of Big Jeff’s Hotdog Haus. One day Phil Mickelson will save par from the surface of the moon. We’re sure of it. Until then, his walkabout at the 2014 Barclays Championship will have to suffice.”
8. Kang & McNealy
A couple of Las Vegas-based golf pros are a couple!
Golf Channel’s Randall Mell...”Danielle Kang watched Maverick McNealy with special interest when he was mic’d up on Golf Channel’s telecast of the Web.com Tour event in the Bahamas earlier this week.”
  • “They are dating.”
  • “Kang wasn’t sure whether to reveal McNealy is her boyfriend, but she couldn’t help herself.”
  • “He’s a dork,” she cracked when asked to review his running dialogue on Golf Channel. “But he’s my dork.”
  • “She was applying the Kang needle. Both she and McNealy live in Las Vegas. She said they met at a golf course there, The Summit Club.”
  • “He’s a sweetheart,” Kang said. “I have so much respect for him and vice versa.”
  • Aww!
9. Back in black!
Titleist 718 AP2 Black and AP3 Black released in limited quantities. Previously only available in a traditional chrome finish, the new Titleist 718 AP2 Black and Titleist 718 AP3 Black irons are finished with a sleek, high polish black PVD coating. The irons feature True Temper AMT Onyx shafts stock.
  • Titleist has unveiled new 718 AP2 Black and 718 AP3 Black irons in limited black finish that will be available to purchase from March 1.
  • Previously only available in a traditional chrome finish, the new Titleist 718 AP2 Black and Titleist 718 AP3 Black irons are finished with a sleek, high polish black PVD coating. The irons feature True Temper AMT Onyx shafts stock. The shafts’ powder coat matte black finish aims to minimize glare (in addition to looking cool). An all-black Golf Pride Tour Velvet 360 grip is standard as well.
  • Speaking on the move to release the irons in black, Josh Talge, Vice President, Golf Club Marketing said
  • “One request we heard from both tour players and amateurs, particularly those who have gravitated toward our Jet Black Vokey SM7 wedges, was if they could have these same irons in a darker finish. Our team spent a lot of time making sure the aesthetics were done just right. It’s a look that you just have to see.”
Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Equipment

Brooks Koepka with Mizuno JPX 919 irons, TaylorMade M5 driver in the bag at Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship

Published

on

Brooks-Koepka-Mizuno-JPX919

Brooks Koepka is in action this week at the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship equipped with a new driver and set of irons.

Golf.com’s Jonathan Wall broke the news, via Twitter, that Kopeka has TaylorMade’s new M5 Driver in his bag this week, as well as Mizuno’s JPX 919 Tour Irons.

The three-time major champ used TaylorMade’s M3 460 Driver and Mizuno’s JPX 900 Tour irons throughout 2018, and it appears as if Koepka is happy to make the transition to both manufacturers latest additions of those series of clubs right from the get-go in 2019.

Brooks-Koepka-Mizuno-JPX-919

Koepka is currently T13 after two rounds of play at the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship and sits five shots off the lead.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 38
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW1
  • LOL5
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK5

Continue Reading

News

European Tour members have heated exchange over cheating incident…from 2013

Published

on

Social media appears to have become the new playground for golfers to air their issues with each other, and this week it was the turn of two European Tour members.

The two men involved were Spain’s Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano and England’s Simon Dyson, and the subject of the feud revolves around a new change in the rulebook of golf. As of 2019, players are allowed to repair spike marks on the greens, an act which Dyson was found guilty of doing when it was prohibited back in 2013, and subsequently found himself slapped with a fine and a suspension.

Fernandez Castano kicked off the fun and games following his opening round at this week’s Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship. The Spaniard said how the new rule “will take some time to get used to” before adding the punchline  “Unless you are Simon Dyson and you have been doing it for years.”

The bad blood between Fernandez-Castano and Dyson appears to be fully down to Dyson’s misdemeanour in 2013, as one year later on Twitter when the Spaniard was asked for his opinion on Dyson; he bluntly replied: “Used to like him, not anymore”.

Asked why he hadn’t tagged Dyson in his tweet yesterday, the Spaniard claimed that the Englishman had blocked him, before Dyson took to the stage, with a different rationale. In a since-deleted tweet, Dyson stated that Fernandez-Castano didn’t have the cojones (or something similar) and stated that the Spaniard is a “sad little man”.

After getting that off his chest, Dyson approached the incident differently, saying that he, unlike Fernandez-Caetano supposedly, had moved on from the affair which occurred six years ago.

Nothing quite like a good old confrontation on social media with a peer to begin your professional year, eh?

 

Your Reaction?
  • 11
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP3
  • OB0
  • SHANK10

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending