Connect with us

19th Hole

Lexi Thompson violates Rules of Golf at Indy Women in Tech Championship

Published

on

During the third round of the Indy Women in Tech Championship, Lexi Thompson unknowingly ran afoul of the Rules of Golf.

Preferred lies–AKA lift, clean, and place–were in effect at soggy Brickyard Crossing. Thompson hit her drive at the par-5 10th hole wide right. It settled in the sixth fairway. Believing she was allowed to lift and clean any ball in the fairway, Thompson began to do so.

The rule, of course, only applies to balls that settle in one’s own fairway. Fortunately for Thompson, an official saw what was happening and stepped in to administer a penalty.

“Thankfully, Marty [the official] intervened before she hit her next shot,” Golf Channel’s Kay Cockerill reported. “Otherwise, she would have been hitting from the wrong spot, and it would have been a two-shot penalty. So, in a sense, it saved her a shot.”

The LPGA issued this statement.

“While playing the third round of the 2018 Indy Women in Tech Championship, Lexi Thompson incurred a one-stroke penalty for breach of the preferred lies local Rule (Appendix IA Part 3b Course Conditions).”

“The Committee adopted the preferred lies local Rule due to the turf conditions of the golf course after receiving over an inch of rain. The LPGA, under the local Rule, restricts the player from preferring her lie when her ball lies in a closely-mown area of a hole other than the one being played.”

“During the play of hole #10, Thompson’s tee shot came to rest in the fairway of hole #6. As Thompson’s ball lay on the fairway of hole #6, she was not entitled to prefer her lie.”

“She preferred her lie in breach of the local Rule but prior to playing her stroke from a wrong place (Rule 20-7), she was questioned by a Rules official regarding her actions. As she had not played her stroke from the preferred spot, she did not receive the general penalty of two-strokes under the local Rule. However, she did incur a one-stroke penalty under Rule 18-2 for lifting her ball at rest without authority.”

Your Reaction?
  • 121
  • LEGIT47
  • WOW38
  • LOL19
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP8
  • OB10
  • SHANK212

61 Comments

61 Comments

  1. brett

    Sep 29, 2018 at 2:50 pm

    Men love golf….. women hate men….

  2. Liberty Apples

    Sep 8, 2018 at 8:50 pm

    This story is dated August 19. Time to move on.

  3. orangeologyt

    Sep 6, 2018 at 4:01 pm

    isn’t the real concerning problem here is that she keeps herself being in the middle of the rule debate? once, it could happen. twice, again? third, that’s categorized a repeated offender no matter what.

    • nguyenguyen

      Sep 26, 2018 at 11:34 am

      Great article for the beginners like us . I am a new in this game and enjoying the adventure.

  4. TRUMP 2020

    Aug 26, 2018 at 11:01 pm

    Its not a USGA rule. So anyone bashing her for “not knowing the rules” clearly does not know the rules themselves. Idiots and armchair golfers everywhere….

    • joeo

      Aug 31, 2018 at 4:58 pm

      Now now big boy. It applies to her Fairway, not the whole course. Do you know that ? Her non knowledge of what she is doing is getting old. Get a Decisions book Lexi, and read and understand it. Sure, her Caddy should know if she doesn’t, but she is the Cat. of the ship in the end.

  5. geohogan

    Aug 22, 2018 at 1:29 pm

    Lexi, please take a 6 month break , come back refreshed with a new caddie.

  6. Donn Rutkoff

    Aug 20, 2018 at 11:41 pm

    I would rather make her 1 stroke penalty mistake than the 3 stroke mental mistake Jason Day made last year at 18 on the PGA Championship. Instead of getting safely back in the fairway from behind a tree, and taking a probably bogey, Jason tried a low percentage strategy that ended with a quad bogey. Mental mistakes come in many shapes and colors.

  7. Greg Ragni

    Aug 20, 2018 at 10:23 pm

    How does a professional golfer not know that “lift, clean and place” only applies in your own fairway. That’s a pretty basic rule that every amateur golfer knows. Wake up Lexi….

  8. ken

    Aug 20, 2018 at 8:19 pm

    Yikes! How does a professional AND caddie miss that one?

    • Ty Webb

      Aug 21, 2018 at 8:54 am

      Probably because they don’t play from the wrong fairway nearly as often as we do.

  9. Tom

    Aug 20, 2018 at 6:57 pm

    Mind-out, happens to us all at times…..

  10. TONEY P

    Aug 20, 2018 at 3:50 pm

    Come on, even the best pro’s make mistakes sometimes. GO LEXI

  11. Bobby

    Aug 20, 2018 at 1:58 pm

    Been playing golf for 20+ years now all the way to the level of mini tours and never have once have i heard this rule called preferred lies lmao wtf

    • Daniel

      Aug 20, 2018 at 8:02 pm

      So u havent been playing all the way to mini tours for 20+ years.. everyones heard of preferred lies.. we play them for 6+ months every single year. Even the pros play them at least a handful of times every year when theres a tiny bit of mud on ball

      • TomTaylor

        Aug 28, 2018 at 11:28 pm

        Exactly. Preferred Lies is the name of the rule, not lift clean and place. Before a tournament they also get a rules sheet with any local rules explained in depth. Anytime preferred lies is in effect it will be at the top of the list of rules. I know she’s had a tough year but this is a no brainer and her caddy at least should have known it’s in your own fairway only.

  12. millennial82

    Aug 20, 2018 at 1:27 pm

    If this was a south Korean, the article would have been head lined “SOUTH KOREAN CHEATING LIAR” lol.

    But, since shes the arguably “FACE of the LPGA” at 5th place and “Believing she was allowed to lift and clean any ball in the fairway”.. We should all just leave her alone before her “feeling” get hurt and “leaves” the game? lol!

    btw, remember the writer is not bias in anyway, lol.

    • Gerald Teigrob

      Aug 20, 2018 at 6:07 pm

      I don’t understand why we would have to see this as any different from a Korean or Canadian violating the rules. I thought the USGA had better brains than this! I think we are going back to the dark ages and majoring on minors! Time to get with it USGA and stop nitpicking the rules! That’s twice now they have shafted Lexi! I never heard of this idiotic rule and I think it should be on the next list to be removed…or it will suck the life out of what should be a fun game!

      • Tal

        Aug 21, 2018 at 1:04 am

        She’ll stop getting “shafted” when she stops breaking rules. This is such a basic rule and I can’t believe any golfer (pro or othereise) would violate it so carelessly!

    • ken

      Aug 20, 2018 at 8:21 pm

      Ok…This is golf..Save your race baiting political nonsense for infowars

    • Solzhenitsen

      Aug 20, 2018 at 10:28 pm

      Millennial85, tilt at windmills much? Seriously, what are you even talking about? Lol

  13. Jack Nash

    Aug 20, 2018 at 1:13 pm

    Bad, if she OR her Caddy couldn’t figure that one out.

  14. Geoffrey Holland

    Aug 20, 2018 at 1:00 pm

    Despite some of the headlines using terms like snafu and inadvertent that I’ve seen about this, this was entirely her own fault. The rules were laid out at the beginning of the tournament both she and her caddy should have known that she wasn’t allowed to improve her lie on a fairway other than the one on the hole she was playing. This is down to her 100%.

  15. Jim Gift

    Aug 20, 2018 at 12:46 pm

    Will you please leave Lexi alone!!!! You are going to make her so self conscious that she’s not even going to be able to play golf. You are going to be responsible for the LPGA losing a beautiful, talented US golfer if you keep this up! And, we desperately need her on the LPGA. If it were anyone else, her simple infraction would have not even been thought about, let alone trying to make headlines! That’s what I see you doing, trying to bring attention to yourself at the expense of someone else. Grow up and cut it out!!

    • Jack Nash

      Aug 20, 2018 at 1:15 pm

      No worries, I believe her putting has done that for her. She needs to connect with Aria’s putting/short game coach.

    • Tal

      Aug 21, 2018 at 1:08 am

      You’re right, a one-off rule infraction isn’t news. Lexi Thompson being guilty of a third rule infraction in 12 months is news. She’s got nothing to support her here!

  16. Craig

    Aug 20, 2018 at 12:20 pm

    Well didn’t know that, fairway is fairway to me

    • Pete McGill

      Aug 21, 2018 at 3:52 am

      True, but usually it’s the fairway you’re playing. Unless it’s clearly stated it’s through the green.

  17. hrfdez

    Aug 20, 2018 at 11:55 am

    Boy, even weekend hackers know that.

  18. Martyman

    Aug 20, 2018 at 11:45 am

    Rules are Rules and are in place to make things equal amongst the players. Though I think a lot of Lexi, it seems to me that there is a lack of awareness of the situation, rules and where and how they may apply and a lack of communication between caddie and pro. It isn’t something she needs to dwell on just move on from here. A learning experience, Lexi….

  19. dc1

    Aug 20, 2018 at 11:31 am

    I’m pretty surprised neither she nor her caddie knew about this rule. This is an easy one. That being said she was penalized and moved on. It would have come up later as a two shot penalty for certain.

  20. Paul

    Aug 20, 2018 at 11:28 am

    C’mon give her a break! She should definitely have a conversation with her caddy! Her life is topsy turvey right now. No need to dog pile on her now! Good job by the official.

    • Jack Nash

      Aug 20, 2018 at 1:16 pm

      No excuse Not to know the rules. She’s a “Pro” right?

  21. David Lovit

    Aug 20, 2018 at 11:21 am

    Thats rediculous. Everyone knows when you have lift, clean and place it is “only in the fairway ” of the hole you are playing.
    Shame on her caddie as well.

    • Howard

      Aug 20, 2018 at 3:29 pm

      where does it say that in the rules? I’ve never heard that one before. this was, I believe, a Local Rule, and she was at fault for not reading the info given, but why was it in place at all.

      • ken

        Aug 20, 2018 at 8:24 pm

        The rule is not specifically listed as a rule in the Rules of Golf.
        There is a section that does pertain to unusual conditions. And Local rules.

        • Pete McGill

          Aug 21, 2018 at 3:50 am

          True. A few months ago I missed the rule change at my club and my group were preferring like it was going out of business. It was… ‘winter rules’ was stopped the day before. Disqualified AND dropped a shot on my handicap!

    • Golfer

      Aug 20, 2018 at 9:39 pm

      I agree should should have known. BUT I also think this is an example of Golf “stupid” (and always have). If it’s in a fairway, after 1 inch of rain, and you’re playing lift clean and place, you should be allowed to do the same. Logic being, if it was a dry day, you’d have the same lie advantage being in the wrong fairway. The whole concept is to try and negate the rain impact

  22. STEVE

    Aug 20, 2018 at 10:59 am

    Looks like Lexi needs more time off to “get a life”. Yes, this is a foul on her caddy too, but c’mon, this rule is pretty basic. While I root for Lexi to be successful, she clearly won’t be splitting the atom any time soon.

    • Glftips

      Aug 20, 2018 at 11:15 am

      The PGA Tour uses LCP in all closely mown areas.

  23. Tommy

    Aug 20, 2018 at 10:59 am

    Probably be good to stop piling on the poor girl. She’s obviously not doing it on purpose. She’s got a lot of distraction in her life right now. Can you remember what you were thinking at 22? Keep quiet and let her work through it. For sure, she’s not getting away with anything…don’t worry. People just can’t help but try and ruin a person’s life when they’re winning. Lay off!!

    • Steve

      Aug 20, 2018 at 11:12 am

      I was thinking about how much I’d love to play professional golf instead of getting a “real job.” This rile is about as basic as it gets.

  24. Chuck Barkley

    Aug 20, 2018 at 4:22 am

    Genius material………………she is NOT! Caddy, you’re fired too, btw!

  25. Sahil Singh

    Aug 20, 2018 at 2:52 am

    She’s responsible for knowing the rules. LPGA, she’s a pro. know the rules. So many times to the same player. She lacks knowledge of the basic rules. very unprofessional.

  26. Travis

    Aug 19, 2018 at 9:58 pm

    At some point you’d think her or her caddie would take a 2nd or 3rd glance at the rules…

  27. DCOTTIN

    Aug 19, 2018 at 9:58 pm

    I’m beginning to think that she just doesn’t have a grasp of some basic rules. Here’s what I think she knows: Hit ball, find ball, hit again, count shots. Everything else, she needs to study up on.

    • Brandon

      Aug 20, 2018 at 9:07 am

      You didn’t read the article, nothing about this is a basic rule.

      • Terry

        Aug 20, 2018 at 11:22 am

        No I’m pretty SURE that when you’ve been playing golf for many years, you should know you can’t lift clean and place when you’re in another fairway.. What’s next, she’s going to tee off from the wrong tee box accidentally?

      • DCOTTIN

        Aug 20, 2018 at 12:13 pm

        I did read the entire article and it’s a very basic rule. Lift, clean, and place is and always has been in your own fairway only (unless you are playing LCP through the green, which I’ve never seen on a pro tour).

      • Robert Bringardner

        Aug 20, 2018 at 2:35 pm

        The USGA rule book provide their recommendation for preferred lies in Appendix 1. It applies to ANY closely mown area on the course and does NOT limit the golfer to his/her own fairway. The LPGA deviates from this recommendation and limits relief to your own fairway. I’d be interested to know how far in advance golfers were informed of this.

        • DCOTTIN

          Aug 20, 2018 at 2:59 pm

          Either way, the girl doesn’t pay attention to or know some pretty easy rules (local or not). You’re not even on your own hole and you pick up a ball to LCP without asking a judge or playing partner? Seems pretty obvious what she should have done. Both she and her caddy are space cadets or cheaters. You be the judge.

  28. Scott

    Aug 19, 2018 at 8:55 pm

    Again!!!!??????????

  29. Jim McPherson

    Aug 19, 2018 at 7:51 pm

    This is news? Does anyone care? I was hoping for a scandal where she tried to cheat and get away with a heinous act.

  30. shane

    Aug 19, 2018 at 3:16 pm

    Hang and pillory her for contravening the sacred Rules and Rules and Rules of Goff … 😮

  31. Tim Armington

    Aug 19, 2018 at 2:11 pm

    She probably just spaced it! Ive done it! It happens.

  32. Bryan

    Aug 19, 2018 at 1:11 pm

    Seems like a common sense rule. You can’t give yourself a preferred lie out of the rough, why would you assume you can clean your ball when your an entire fairway over.

    • Glftips

      Aug 20, 2018 at 11:17 am

      The PGA Tour uses LCP in all closely mown areas. Lift clean and place is not covered in the Rules of Golf. It is a condition set by the committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

The 6 best #GolfWRX photos on Instagram today (4.23.19)

Published

on

In this segment, we’ll be taking a look at some of the best #GolfWRX tagged photos on Instagram. In case you aren’t already, there’s a whole load of action going on at our page, so follow us: @golfwrx

Let’s get to it then, here are six of the best #GolfWRX photos from the past 24 hours.

A custom TeI3 Newport from Embrace Putters.

Airstrike headcovers from Bettinardi Golf are hitting the Hive this Thursday.

While these flat-sticks from Bettinardi look very impressive.

It wasn’t just the Egg Cover that the guys over at Swag were busy creating for this Easter.

How about this creation from National Custom Works, exciting or scary?

View this post on Instagram

The perfect amount of exciting & scary.

A post shared by National Custom Works (@nationalcustom) on

Love the coloring of these putter covers from MLA Golf that will be released this summer.

Get hashtagging your golf posts #GolfWRX for your chance to feature in our best of Instagram posts in the future!

Your Reaction?
  • 0
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Former caddie Steve Williams raves about Tiger Woods’ victory at the 2019 Masters

Published

on

Tiger Woods’ ex-caddie, Steve Williams, has spoken in glowing terms concerning the 43-year-old’s latest victory at the Masters, a win which Williams believes will “re-energize” the sport.

The New Zealander, who was speaking to ESPN’S Bob Harig, admitted that though he doesn’t watch the sport regularly on TV anymore, he made an exception last weekend, and feels how his former boss’ victory at Augusta National will do wonders for the game.

“Now that Tiger has come right back there again, winning a major championship, possibly putting Jack’s (Nicklaus) record in play again … it just re-energizes the game . . .  It’s absolutely awesome.

He’s the only guy who can energize the game like that. All those kids who were watching had to think it was fantastic. And so what he’s done is a remarkable achievement. It’s so positive.”

Though Williams and Woods’ high profile split in 2011 was less than amicable, Williams credited the 15-time major champion’s “amazing achievement” in coming back from the point where he was on the verge of retiring to claim his fifth green jacket down to “pure guts and hard work.”

“Given the fact that two years ago he stated that he was unlikely to play competitive golf again, or was seriously doubting it – he wouldn’t just say that in jest, There would have been a lot of truth to it. For him to actually come back full cycle to win a major championship… it’s just an incredible story.

 It’s an amazing achievement of pure guts and hard work for him and just a true indication of what he is made of. It proves again what an amazing athlete he is. It’s just an amazing achievement.”

Williams also believes that the passing of golfing legend Arnold Palmer in 2016 had a significant impact on Woods, and while writing for the Australian site The Players Voice, the New Zealander stated

“I’m thinking that when Arnold passed away there was a realisation in Tiger that golf had lost a guy who was the most popular player ever. It was about a year after Arnold died that Tiger started his comeback after his back surgery and I think he may have decided that with his second chance he wanted to be remembered the way Arnold was remembered. I do think the passing of Arnie had a change in that respect.”

Steve Williams caddied for Woods between 1999 and 2011 and was on the 43-year-old’s bag for 13 of his 15 major championship victories.

Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Couple to name son after Tiger Woods after husband wins a bet with his wife

Published

on

Tiger Woods’ victory at last week’s Masters had a significant impact in the sporting world, and its meaning will forever be remembered in the household of a Dallas couple who are set to name their child after the 15-time major champion.

Trey Little, a lifelong golf fan, drew up a contract the week of the tournament (as you do), which stated that “If Tiger Woods wins the Masters this week, I (father) get to have the option of naming our son (coming September 2019) Tiger Little.” which his wife, Denise, signed.

Speaking to the NY Post, Little talked about the reaction of his wife and himself when they realized that Woods was about to win the event last Sunday.

“On hole 18, we realized, ‘Wow, he’s really going to pull this thing off. This whole thing started almost as a joke, then it turned into something really real, really quick.”

The name may not be the easiest to live up to, but with the child’s middle name to be Julian, Trey has all the bases covered, joking “He could always go by T.J.”

Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending