Connect with us

19th Hole

A brief cart ride (by his caddie) has big implications for Akshay Bhatia at the U.S. Amateur

Published

on

16-year-old Akshay Bhatia may be looking for a new caddie for his next event. The rising star of amateur golf was penalized when his caddie accepted a ride on a golf cart at the 14th hole during the round of 64 at the U.S. Amateur.

Bhatia would go on to lose to Bradford Tilley.

The match was all square at the 14th. Chris Darnell, Bhatia’s caddie, made a pit stop at the bathroom after Bhatia hit his approach. While the player walked to the green, Darnell was approached by what he believed was a USGA official driving a golf cart.

“The gentleman was wearing a USGA pullover,” Darnell said afterward. “I asked if I could get a ride to the green to keep up pace, and he said yes. So I hopped on the back, got up to the green, hopped off and thought nothing of it.”

Of course, neither players nor caddies can ride on any form of transportation during the round unless authorized, per the Rules of Golf. Bhatia was penalized accordingly and lost the hole after a (real) official spotted the infraction.

Particularly frustrating for the golfer was the fact that he had birdied the par-5 and believed he was going 1 up on his opponent, only to find out they were all square.

As mentioned, Bhatia would go on to lose in 19 holes.

Adding another layer to this drama, Darnell said Tilley’s caddie had done the same thing earlier in the match.

“I had already seen the other caddie in our group do it on the ninth hole,” Darnell said. “Same thing – USGA pullover, drove him from the bathroom up to the fairway – so I assumed it was fine. I didn’t point it out at the time because everything seemed kosher. He had the USGA stuff on, and I didn’t think anything of it.”

What are the chances Tilley or his caddie admit to the infraction now? And who is this mystery idiot who loves the USGA enough to drape himself in their garb but is daft enough to blatantly break a straightforward rule of competition?

Dumb rule? Certainly in this sense. But so many situations exist in amateur play that you can understand why the USGA would level a prohibition on transportation. Still, shouldn’t there be some room for interpretation? It’s difficult to argue Bhatia himself gained any advantage…

What do you think, GolfWRX members?

Your Reaction?
  • 7
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW3
  • LOL4
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK68

7 Comments

7 Comments

  1. Nack Jicklaus

    Aug 21, 2018 at 10:03 pm

    The rulemeister strikes again with silly and pointless rules.

  2. Steve R

    Aug 17, 2018 at 8:30 am

    Tilley should step up and DQ himself for an incorrect scorecard

  3. Matt

    Aug 17, 2018 at 8:18 am

    Something wrong here, looking at the score card he didn’t lose the hole, even though he beat him on the hole they are marked as the hold being halved. Either way something is messed up about this and its very unfortunate. The rules need to be changed so include some sort of waive of a penalty for common sense if no one is gaining an advantage. Agree its in the rules that they can’t ride but if someone with a USGA pullover on says yes, then something else should have been done.

  4. NoTanks

    Aug 16, 2018 at 11:20 pm

    Dumb, tired rules.

  5. Hawkeye77

    Aug 16, 2018 at 10:35 pm

    Gaining advantage has nothing to do with application of the rule and you should know better than to invoke that.

    It’s match play, whatever hole the other player’s caddy had done it was over so too late to worry about it. So clearly Bhatia was clueless on the rule when it happened the first time and that’s on him. Having a hard time blaming the caddie without knowing his level of experience.

  6. David

    Aug 16, 2018 at 7:01 pm

    i agree Dan. if the other player’s caddie had done the same thing he should have spoken up at the time of the second incident. if i was the other player i would have just let it be and asked for no penalty. that’s what this game is about.

  7. Dan

    Aug 16, 2018 at 2:25 pm

    If the other competitors caddy did the same thing he should admit it. Very unfair

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

Tweets of the Week: McIlroy’s umbrella mishap, DeChambeau’s new celebration, Wahlberg’s unique swing

Published

on

J.B. Holmes won a marathon rain-affected Genesis Open, while Ryan Fox captured his first European Tour title at the World Super 6 in Perth. In an eventful week, full of controversy, here are some things you may have missed, and some of the quirkier moments from the world of golf dished out in the Twittersphere over the past seven days.

Swag Range Swing

I’ve been doing it wrong my entire life.

Phil Mickelson’s Crazy Par

Before the scores were reset due to the weather on Day One of the Genesis Open, Phil Mickelson made the most incredible par save that unfortunately never was.

Sergio In Disguise?

Could have fooled me too.

McIlroy’s Umbrella Moment

Boink.

DeChambeau Reels It In

Not sure on this celebration from Bryson DeChambeau which he showed off during his second round at Riviera…

Tiger is THAT Guy

Might be best not to try this one with Sergio. Then again…

Wahlberg’s Interesting Swing

What do you make of actor Mark Wahlberg’s very different swing, GolfWRXers?

J.B. Holmes’ “Deliberate” Play

We have a new poster boy for slow play it seems…

…and on the subject of slow play, Adam Scott says nothing will change, sadly.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 15
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Twitter user Legal Hooks: Matt Kuchar disrespected me when I was a 16-year-old caddie

Published

on

With Matt Kuchar’s character being called into question by many golf fans after the nine-time winner on the PGA Tour justified paying stand-in caddie David Ortiz $5,000 at last year’s Mayakoba Classic, a can of worms appears as if it may be about to spill open.

Going by the username of Legal Hooks, a Twitter user who allegedly caddied within the same group as Matt Kuchar at the 2006 Rheem Classic on the then Nationwide Tour, has claimed that Kuchar treated the then 16-year-old in an unfavorable manner.

In Legal Hooks’ social media thread, he claims that while in the group caddying for Bryce Molder, as the players exited the clubhouse, minus Molder who had made a pit-stop, the players and caddies began to hand out ice cream, which is when his experience turned sour.

Treating this with the requisite grain of salt necessitated in the social mediaverse, here’s the thread.

According to the then caddie, Kuchar “hadn’t a single kind word (to say) to me or act like I even existed” throughout the day. The reaction of Kuchar’s caddie, which involved tapping the youngster on the back and offering him a granola bar, is a sign to Legal Hooks that he wasn’t the first or last to be treated disrespectfully by the former Players champ.

The backlash against Kuchar appears to be gathering pace, with plenty of people on social media voicing their disappointment at the 40-year-old’s handling of the caddie dispute involving David Ortiz. Previous incidents, which made little impact on golf fans, such as the one below, look a lot more cynical all of a sudden and are gaining much more traction than they did when they first surfaced.

As business mogul Warren Buffett once said: “It takes 20 years to build a reputation and five minutes to ruin it.” Kuchar may be finding out the truth of that adage the hard way.

Your Reaction?
  • 76
  • LEGIT23
  • WOW12
  • LOL6
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP6
  • OB2
  • SHANK47

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Tweets of the Week: Tony Romo’s sorcery, Brooks Koepka’s slow play solution, and Jordan Spieth’s distressed hands

Published

on

Phil Mickelson is on the verge of career win number 44, while over at the Vic Open, David Law won his first European Tour title, while Celine Boutier also broke through and claimed her maiden LPGA Tour victory at the same event. In a busy past week, here are some things you may have missed, and some of the quirkier moments from the world of golf dished out in the Twittersphere over the past seven days.

No Stopping Brooks

Koepka is on a roll to begin 2019, and his plan to sort the issue of slow play out, at least in the groups he’s playing with, is indeed a novel one.

Romo’s Brilliance

I’m almost certain that Tony Romo perfectly called how this shot would play out in his head before hitting it too.

Lefty Not Keen On Early Starts

You’d think a three-shot lead with two holes to play would have left Phil Mickelson feeling good as he departed the course due to bad light last night. However, Lefty’s reaction to play being suspended said it all…

…Phil had plenty to smile about on Thursday though. For the first time in over two decades, Mickelson found every fairway in a round. Wet fairways FTW.

Ho sung’s Debut

Golf fans everywhere were excited to see Ho sung Choi’s first appearance on the PGA Tour, and while things didn’t all go to plan for the viral sensation, Choi still entertained the fans with eccentricities like this.

Jordan’s Poor Hand

If you thought being a professional golfer was all fun and games then check out this tweet displaying Jordan Spieth’s battered right hand. Eek.

New Players Trophy

The Players Championship has a new trophy on offer, which is said to incorporate aspects of each of the 38 different winners of the event.

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 19
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending