Connect with us

19th Hole

Shane Lowry roasts rules officials for PGA Championship debacle

Published

on

Shane Lowry isn’t exactly thrilled with the ruling–or lack thereof–he got at the PGA Championship.

Viewers joined the drama in medias res late in the Sunday telecast, Justin Thomas waiting to play his pitch shot from beside the par-3 16th green. Lowry was 10 under at the time, four strokes behind Brooks Koepka (Thomas was 11 under). The Irishman’s tee shot missed the green, settling next to a camera tower.

It was unclear during the telecast what was keeping Lowry from playing as he argued with officials, and the commentators seemed to suggest Lowry ought to go ahead and play and stop obstructing Thomas. JT eventually played, hitting a poor shot and bogeying the hole. Lowry, after a near 10-minute delay played from his original position and bogeyed the hole. Running hot, he bogeyed the 17th hole as well to fall outside the top 10.

Now, Lowry is speaking on what happened, telling the Irish Times

“I think the referee didn’t have the balls to make a decision there, and if he did I would have had an easier shot…If you put (European Tour official) John Paramor or any of the good referees out there, and he would have given me full relief. But he wasn’t giving me full relief, he was telling me to drop it in a tree basically.”

“The camera tower was the issue. I took my drop there was another camera tower in my way, straight away I felt I should get dropped on other side and they were getting me to drop it in the middle of the tree. I can’t, so where do I drop it? They’re saying drop it here, I have a club length (to drop the ball) and it is still my way. He wouldn’t make a decision. The other referee said, ‘it is your decision’. I said, ‘Do you know what? I’m just going to play’. I didn’t want to wait around any longer.”

Thomas, for his part, didn’t blame Lowry.

“It had nothing to do with Shane. The rules officials were having a hard time coming up with a ruling,” Thomas said. “They were kind of looking at each other and saying, ‘Well, what do we do?’ And Shane’s like, ‘Look, just tell me if I get a drop or not.’ And I’m a quick player, and that’s why I went.”

You can see Lowry’s eventual shot and the position he was in here.

Look, we all know the Rules of Golf can be complicated in their application. We also know that if an official gives a player bad advice, the player isn’t protected if he violates the Rules by the mere fact that he was doing what the official directed.

Thus, in situations where officials aren’t sure, they have little incentive to offer firm guidance, which brings up a more important point: The Lowry situation wasn’t some outrageous and unforeseen development. With the tower in play, all officials should have been well aware of the players’ options. In general, you want all officials to be able to apply the rules, yes, but particularly in expected situations.

More than mere doofery, the debacle speaks to a lack of preparation that is utterly unacceptable. Equally unacceptable–and likely final scoreboard altering–is the amount of time it took to come to the (lack of) decision.

Your Reaction?
  • 49
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW3
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB1
  • SHANK8

9 Comments

9 Comments

  1. Howard Meditz

    Aug 15, 2018 at 9:23 am

    Decision 34-2/2 tells us that this quote from this article is factually incorrect:

    “We also know that if an official gives a player bad advice, the player isn’t protected if he violates the Rules by the mere fact that he was doing what the official directed.”

    34-2/2 Referee Authorizes Player to Infringe a Rule
    Q.In error, a referee authorized a player to infringe a Rule of Golf. Is the player absolved from penalty in such a case?

    A.Yes. Under Rule 34-2, a referee’s decision is final, whether or not the decision is correct.

  2. Stuart F

    Aug 15, 2018 at 9:06 am

    Maybe he was hoping for “nicest” point of relief instead of nearest point of relief.

  3. Chris

    Aug 14, 2018 at 11:19 pm

    He hit it there not the rules official…suck it up…take your medicine…hit it again…it isn’t the rules officials job to bail you out

  4. tim

    Aug 14, 2018 at 6:50 pm

    I think the officials were stumped that Lowry was asking for advice. There was nothing impeding his swing or the path of the ball, play it where it lies.

  5. Andy

    Aug 14, 2018 at 5:06 pm

    Based on Lowry’s own description, the officials told him where the nearest point of relief was and what his options were. They can’t tell him where to play it from. That is his decision.

    If John Paramor would have given Lowry free relief from a tree, then he should be fired immediately. If not, then I think he is owed an apology.

  6. jgpl001

    Aug 14, 2018 at 4:35 pm

    Unbelievable that you could have 2 officials who basically hadn’t a clue at the PGA, a Major???

    After the debacle at the US Open and now this the USGA need to snap out of it and move with the times

    Wake Up boys, wake up

  7. jason

    Aug 14, 2018 at 3:02 pm

    the point is they have officials on course for a reason and the fact they didn’t know what to do in one of the most common occurrences on tour is bothersome. Damn straight if that were koepka or woods they would have got it correct. im surprised we didn’t here more on the issue

  8. Rev G

    Aug 14, 2018 at 12:32 pm

    didn’t seem like the shot he ended up taking was all that unreasonable. he had a full swing and a decent lie, with no rough. he probably had to keep it low because of branches – but wouldn’t you expect that anyway when you hit it in the trees?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

Tweets of the Week: Tiger’s humor, Rose’s fanatical supporter, and Spieth’s trick shot

Published

on

Rory McIlroy held his nerve to win the Players Championship after an explosive Sunday at TPC Sawgrass, while Guido Migliozzi won his maiden title on the European Tour at the Kenya Open. After a busy week, here are a few of the things you may have missed and some of the quirkier moments from the world of golf dished out in the Twittersphere over the past seven days.

Spieth’s Driver Flop Shot

His game on the course might not be near its best currently, but this shot pre-event from Spieth is a sight to behold.

Chamblee’s Bad News

Brandel Chamblee ruined every Tiger fans’ Saturday morning with this tweet…

..before Tiger made it all better by providing us all with this classic moment on the island green that evening.

Tiger’s Mugshot

That wasn’t the only thing Woods found amusing on Saturday either…

Justin Rose’s Biggest Fan?

Wow indeed.

Jon Rahm Implosion

I also do not understand any of this.

Gentleman Jim’s Hat Tan

That’s a ten.

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Tweets of the Week: Phil goes full Phil, Jason Day lets loose at Magic Kingdom and DJ’s lefty swing

Published

on

Francesco Molinari shot an incredible final round of 64 to seal the deal at Bay Hill, while Justin Harding claimed his maiden title on the European Tour at the Qatar Masters. Here at Tweets of the Week though, we take a look at some things you may have missed and some of the quirkier moments from the world of golf dished out in the Twittersphere over the past seven days.

No Tiger, No Party

Word certainly does get around, Brandel.

International Women’s Day

The event was Friday, and this is how Ian Poulter chose to celebrate the occasion.

Moving on…

Phil Goes Full Phil

A shot from someone’s garden with the ball on the out of bounds net and having to be played backwards? You got this Phil…

… all an elaborate excuse to show off those high kick skills really.

Jason Day Hits Up The Magic Kingdom

The Aussie was spotted at DisneyWorld following his withdrawal from the Arnold Palmer Invitational (a topic which our members have been keen to discuss on our forums)…

..and it’s fair to say that he looked as if he was enjoying himself.

Tyrrell Hatton Fumes

While Hatton made his caddie confirm that this was indeed the worst golf shot ever hit.

A Bad Hole In One?

DA Points hit this hole in one at Bay Hill, despite being unhappy with the shot.

DJ Goes Lefty

How do we rate DJ’s lefty swing, GolfWRXers?

 

Your Reaction?
  • 11
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Tweets of the Week: Content Committee bloopers, Keith Mitchell’s message box, and McIlroy’s classy gesture

Published

on

Keith Mitchell held off charges from Brooks Koepka and Rickie Fowler to win his first event on the PGA Tour at the Honda Classic,  Kurt Kitayama took down the Oman Open, while Park Sung-Hyun triumphed at the HSBC Women’s Championship. After a week which didn’t fail in delivering both drama and controversy, here are some things you may have missed and some of the quirkier moments from the world of golf dished out in the Twittersphere over the past seven days.

Rory’s Classy Move

He may have been disappointed not to have won the WGC-Mexico last week, but this gesture from McIlroy after the final round was all class.

Rahm Goes Deep

Jon Rahm and his fiancee showing off their skills for the NFL Combine.

Content Committee Bloopers

The European Tour finally released the bloopers from the new Content Committee team. Now we just need the uncencored version…

JT vs a Tree

There was no holding back from Thomas on this shot from the opening round at the Honda Classic!

Kid Rock Hole In One

Imagine making your first ever hole in one alongside Jack Nicklaus…

Phil’s Short Game Tips

Or another excuse to get those calves out…

McGirt’s Busy Rehabilitation

Keith Mitchell’s Phone

Speaking of head spinning…

 

Your Reaction?
  • 22
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending