Connect with us

19th Hole

Bryson DeChambeau’s handshake snub: Big deal or not so much?

Published

on

Bryson DeChambeau looked well on his way to capturing the Porsche European Open, Sunday. Instead, he went 5 over for his final four holes and final-round 6-over 78 and tied for 13th.

DeChambeau’s fall allowed journeyman Richard McEvoy to hoist his first trophy. However, the feel-good story of a long-time pro winning for the first time was unfortunately trumped by something else: an apparent snub from DeChambeau as he exited the 18th green.

Noel Gallagher, presumably not of Oasis fame, tweeted a capture from the telecast.

Now, the camera angle doesn’t show either of the men’s hands. However, you assume DeChambeau–since he went through the trouble of removing his cap–offered some sort of handshake.

It wasn’t a sort many liked, however.

Now, you can see a few of the chapters in the grim saga of DeChambeau’s final few holes in this Golf Channel clip. It also gives a little better look at the shake.

DeChambeau had just holed a putt for double bogey. The tournament was firmly within his grasp and he imploded. For a guy who wears his heart on the sleeve of his Puma golf shirt, it’s entirely understandable that he’d be absolutely boiling walking off the 72nd hole.

That said, few would say a dismissive handshake was appropriate in what we so often call a gentleman’s game.

All that said, what do you think GolfWRX members? Should Bryson be raked over the coals, or are we overreacting?

Update: DeChambeau posted this apology to Instagram

Your Reaction?
  • 53
  • LEGIT23
  • WOW12
  • LOL12
  • IDHT7
  • FLOP13
  • OB10
  • SHANK321

36 Comments

36 Comments

  1. Richard Douglas

    Aug 19, 2018 at 9:52 am

    Still looking for the snub. He took off his cap, walked over to him, shook his hand, then exited quickly.

    All of this anguish because Bryson didn’t linger and offer a few words? Time to coin a new term: “Pre-Hater.” Just looking for any excuse….

  2. Sonny McTesty

    Aug 18, 2018 at 1:26 am

    Let it go people. Geezus H Christ, he made one mistake, and will pay for it with a lifetime of social media bashing. Sad society we live in these days.

  3. orangeology

    Aug 14, 2018 at 2:33 pm

    a few words that make a normal WRX day to a bunch of hungry stray dogs barking at an empty pizza box: PXG. DeChambeau. Reed. Tiger.

    SMH

    • Biily Barue

      Aug 16, 2018 at 10:11 pm

      Dechaputz has a looong history of this behaviour. The fact that this cutrently is an issue is telling.

  4. AT

    Aug 13, 2018 at 2:55 am

    This is making a mountain of a molehill. It’s really sad and simultaneously comical how many people, especially on this site, look for any excuse to bash Bryson. Maybe it’s an age thing. What kind of person do you have to be to actively look for anything he might be at fault for? I’d love to meet all of the infallible saints here when they were 24. Seem that nobody is capable of considering a different point of view.

    He’s different, and is still a better golfer than about 3/4 of the tour. The man is going to have some bumps and bruises along the way as he learns and matures. Those that can’t accept that need to take a look at themselves.

  5. David

    Aug 7, 2018 at 8:46 pm

    not one of these above comments even asks is Bryson ok ? we don’t know what’s going on with him. maybe a family member or a close friend has been diagnosed with cancer. u only need look at Bryson on the driving range at the British Open to know something is not right. it’s ok for ppl to have an opinion but first and foremost is the mental health of those we put so much pressure on. If i had a work mate or friend exhibit such a change in personality i would be the first to ring and ask to meet up and ask is everything ok. maybe everything is ok and it was a bad moment. so lets forgive him for that. if he continues then sure, we can comment. He has brought such a new approach to an ancient game that i for one hope he keeps playing and pushing the boundaries for years to come. i wish him the best.

  6. Hoganben

    Aug 2, 2018 at 7:28 pm

    Me generation or perhaps just people who grew up watching Tiger (love it when Tiger ignores fans)….the supposed apology was really a tweet all about himself and his golf game. It should have started off with the apology and should not really have anything about his game etc. Plus everyone makes an apology after the fact on twitter for public relations reasons mainly so they don’t lose sponsers.Nicklaus loved to beat people, but when he actually did lose he went out of his way to congratulate people.

    Ps…if it was ok to be rude It would have been fine then for McEvoy to point out Bryson choked like a dog.

  7. Jordan Robert Anderson

    Jul 31, 2018 at 2:26 pm

    Greg Norman was man enough to congratulate Nick Faldo after what is probably one of the most painful collapses in sports history. Watch that round in 1996 then try to tell me Bryson has an excuse. The shark may have been known for choking, but I’ll always remember him for sucking it up, being a man, and extending his hand to Faldo.

  8. Jack Nash

    Jul 31, 2018 at 8:55 am

    Childish on Bryson’s part. You’ll have more cave in days in the future. Learn from this one so you’re prepared.

  9. HDTVMAN

    Jul 30, 2018 at 7:10 pm

    Arrogant. Palmer would never approve.

    • KL Nix

      Jul 30, 2018 at 10:00 pm

      I whole heartedly agree with your sentiment. I understand the feeling of helplessness he must have felt letting it all get away in what can only be described as a train wreck, but you learn more from your losses in this game than you ever do from your wins from my chair. The question is what would Captain Furyk say about it being as he is on the bubble.

  10. D. Eklund

    Jul 30, 2018 at 3:37 pm

    We expect public figures to be perfect 100% of the time and it is not possible. As it is said “we are human.” In watching the last 4 holes it was if Bryson was living a nightmare. i do not play at his his level but in a local tournament I had a back 9 once where nothing went right. I was frustrated beyond belief. My point is when we holed out on 18 I said good round to my playing partner and got the heck out of there. I don’t think DeChambeau was maliciously disrespectful-he looked like he was going to cry on the course. IMO he rectified the situation with a post later. I think people should cut him a break.

    • Geohogan

      Aug 1, 2018 at 2:48 pm

      Perfect would be 18 birdies. Golf is not a game of perfect, as the author wrote.

      Bryson is a self absorbed narcissist. Poster boy for the ugly American? Maybe that spot is taken.

    • christian

      Aug 11, 2018 at 10:56 am

      No we don’t. But we do expect grown up behaviour and not acting like a whiny little kid. That is far FAR from demanding “perfection”.

  11. Caroline

    Jul 30, 2018 at 2:49 pm

    Makes me laugh, single plane swing does not work when you get off plane now does it…nerves just as tough on that kinda of swing, maybe reason Moe Norman could hit a million straight shots on driving range but on course with top pros he folded just like most.

    • Josh

      Jul 30, 2018 at 3:52 pm

      Is your comment mean to highlight the role that nerves play in golf? Or are you trying to discredit the method of swinging on a single plane?

    • Funkaholic

      Jul 30, 2018 at 4:19 pm

      You must be at the top of the leader boards every week then, you obviously have it all figured out.

    • Geohogan

      Aug 1, 2018 at 2:57 pm

      Moe Norman had 33 course records and 55 Canadian tour wins. What else makes you laugh?

      Single plane swing is a marketing ruse by those who tried to exploit
      Moe Norman. “Vertical drop and horizontal tug” is not a one plane swing.

  12. commoner

    Jul 30, 2018 at 1:35 pm

    Anybody of age that recalls “the ugly American?”

  13. PM

    Jul 30, 2018 at 1:18 pm

    I’ll take the minority view here: he handled it quite well. He’s boiling inside (a form of temporary insanity) and decides the prudent thing to do is to leave immediately before he does anything he’ll regret. Then he gives props (publicly) in due course. If anyone reading this has ever busted a club or kicked his bag you know what he was feeling at the moment. Look up McEnroe from the 1970s for a contrast.

  14. Iain

    Jul 30, 2018 at 12:50 pm

    Pretty sure Richard didn’t give a toss at that moment. Still not what you expect from a professional.

  15. TONEY P

    Jul 30, 2018 at 11:38 am

    Nobody likes to lose, but you have to be respectful.

  16. golfraven

    Jul 30, 2018 at 9:26 am

    I am glad the win went to the underdog. Players like DeChambeau take wins for granted and its just a matter of collecting those like stamps. A lot of the young guns (there are exceptions) go off the rails when things go south. Certainly crumbled here – looks like he is not at the right state of mind these days looking at some footage of him lately.

  17. Devlin

    Jul 30, 2018 at 9:11 am

    …well that was not cool!it shows his immaturity level and his arrogance. Suck it up princess, it’s golf and you are playing a sport for a living and making money at it. It’s ok to be upset with yourself that u didn’t have the game at that point to finish off the win. It’s not ok to not acknowledge your opponents win, it hurts , it sucks but learn from it don’t behave like a 6 year old. It’s no wonder the broadcast companies don’t interview him as much.

    • NormW

      Jul 30, 2018 at 1:28 pm

      In case anyone was wondering, his whole performance shows that he does not have Ryder cup mentality. Who would want him as a partner? Love to have him as an opponent.

  18. Gmatt

    Jul 30, 2018 at 8:10 am

    Slicing up to his nickname of “douche chambeau”

  19. Herb

    Jul 30, 2018 at 7:57 am

    I don’t know how it can be a big deal, he didn’t violate the rules of golf. If you mean does it tell you something about DeChambeau, does it make you like or dislike him, then that’s personal. I don’t like it, think it doesn’t speak well of him, but he did apologize. If it doesn’t happen again then my opinion of him will go back up. Is it really any worse than what Dustin Johnson did after he blew the victory at I forget which major by missing a putt on the 18th? He didn’t show up for the awards ceremony. To me that’s a bit worse even and no one even mentioned it.

    • Joe prairie

      Jul 30, 2018 at 8:39 am

      Great point Herb. A lot of folks, especially the golf news hack are jealous of Bryson because he is a bit different and chooses to not follow the beaten path of traditional golf ways.
      It’s no big deal, except in the minds of the armchair wannabe golfers.

    • Garry Pierce

      Jul 30, 2018 at 2:36 pm

      an apology via tweeter is a COWARDS way out. Have some ALLS and apologize in person! That is the proper and a manly way of doing a wrong!

  20. Geoffrey Holland

    Jul 30, 2018 at 7:51 am

    He gave the guy a handshake what more do you want? With pissed off I totally understand his walking off like that.

  21. neil

    Jul 30, 2018 at 4:36 am

    he would have been invited to play along with some nice appearance money.

    so thats easily solved!

  22. PT

    Jul 29, 2018 at 10:13 pm

    Banish him

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19th Hole

Lexi Thompson violates Rules of Golf at Indy Women in Tech Championship

Published

on

During the third round of the Indy Women in Tech Championship, Lexi Thompson unknowingly ran afoul of the Rules of Golf.

Preferred lies–AKA lift, clean, and place–were in effect at soggy Brickyard Crossing. Thompson hit her drive at the par-5 10th hole wide right. It settled in the sixth fairway. Believing she was allowed to lift and clean any ball in the fairway, Thompson began to do so.

The rule, of course, only applies to balls that settle in one’s own fairway. Fortunately for Thompson, an official saw what was happening and stepped in to administer a penalty.

“Thankfully, Marty [the official] intervened before she hit her next shot,” Golf Channel’s Kay Cockerill reported. “Otherwise, she would have been hitting from the wrong spot, and it would have been a two-shot penalty. So, in a sense, it saved her a shot.”

The LPGA issued this statement.

“While playing the third round of the 2018 Indy Women in Tech Championship, Lexi Thompson incurred a one-stroke penalty for breach of the preferred lies local Rule (Appendix IA Part 3b Course Conditions).”

“The Committee adopted the preferred lies local Rule due to the turf conditions of the golf course after receiving over an inch of rain. The LPGA, under the local Rule, restricts the player from preferring her lie when her ball lies in a closely-mown area of a hole other than the one being played.”

“During the play of hole #10, Thompson’s tee shot came to rest in the fairway of hole #6. As Thompson’s ball lay on the fairway of hole #6, she was not entitled to prefer her lie.”

“She preferred her lie in breach of the local Rule but prior to playing her stroke from a wrong place (Rule 20-7), she was questioned by a Rules official regarding her actions. As she had not played her stroke from the preferred spot, she did not receive the general penalty of two-strokes under the local Rule. However, she did incur a one-stroke penalty under Rule 18-2 for lifting her ball at rest without authority.”

Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW5
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK5

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Joe LaCava, Tiger Woods’ caddie, paid a heckler $25 to leave at the WGC-Bridgestone

Published

on

While Steve Williams would likely have taken a different route, Tiger Woods’ current caddie admitted to bribing a fan to leave his boss alone.

LaCava called into ESPN’s “Golic and Wingo” and told a tale of paying of a heckler at the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational.

LaCava said the man heckled Woods throughout his final round at the Bridgestone, and on the 14th hole, LaCava interceded, telling the man to check out action elsewhere on the course. Interestingly/absurdly, the man said he would be happy to, provided LaCava reimburse him for his ticket.

Here’s the full transcript c/o ESPN.

Mike Golic: “Did you have any issues with the people at Bellerive?”

Joe LaCava: “Not at all, and you hit it right on the head, 99 percent of the guys and women are behind Tiger, pushing for Tiger. They want to see good golf in general they’re not anti-the-other-guys, but they’re certainly rooting for Tiger more so than the other guys. But, funny you guys ask that question. The week before in Akron, I had a little incident with a guy who was harassing my guy on the 14th hole at Akron the last day outside the ropes, roughening him up pretty good. And I said, hey listen bud, why do you gotta go there? Everyone’s having a good time, everyone’s pulling for Tiger. You don’t like the guy that’s one thing, but you don’t to be yelling at my guy, screaming negative stuff like that. And I said at the end of the day, if you affect him, his performance, it effects my bottomline. So he calls me a couple names and I go back and forth with the guy, and I say why don’t you just leave. And he says well if you give me $25 for the ticket that I bought today I’ll leave. And I said here you go, here’s $25.”

Mike: “Did he leave?”

Joe: “So I whip out $25 and he starts to go down the 14th fairway toward the green. I say look pal $25 is $25 you gotta head the other way. So he starts to head the other way, he goes 20 yards down the line, then he calls me a certain other, a swear word. So I run 20 yards back the other way and I’m going face to face with this guy. And all the sudden Tiger’s looking for a yardage, and I’m in it with this guy 20 yards down the line. So some cop has to come in, push this guy outta the way, and take him outta the tournament.

Mike: “So what did Tiger say when you came back to give him the yardage?”

Joe: “Well that’s a great question. We were so far to the right of the trees, and he was on his third shot believe it or not, we were still 150 yards away from the green, and he didn’t really know what happened. He heard the commotion, he heard the guy yelling at him, so we talked about it after the fact, but he didn’t really know how it developed. And he says I was wondering what happened, and he goes normally it wouldn’t that long to get a yardage. I said well a little incident down the road. He didn’t have a problem with it, and actually I gotta standing ovation for kicking the guy outta there.

Security probably should have happened sooner when LaCava was $25 richer.

Your Reaction?
  • 295
  • LEGIT27
  • WOW18
  • LOL13
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP4
  • OB3
  • SHANK18

Continue Reading

19th Hole

A brief cart ride (by his caddie) has big implications for Akshay Bhatia at the U.S. Amateur

Published

on

16-year-old Akshay Bhatia may be looking for a new caddie for his next event. The rising star of amateur golf was penalized when his caddie accepted a ride on a golf cart at the 14th hole during the round of 64 at the U.S. Amateur.

Bhatia would go on to lose to Bradford Tilley.

The match was all square at the 14th. Chris Darnell, Bhatia’s caddie, made a pit stop at the bathroom after Bhatia hit his approach. While the player walked to the green, Darnell was approached by what he believed was a USGA official driving a golf cart.

“The gentleman was wearing a USGA pullover,” Darnell said afterward. “I asked if I could get a ride to the green to keep up pace, and he said yes. So I hopped on the back, got up to the green, hopped off and thought nothing of it.”

Of course, neither players nor caddies can ride on any form of transportation during the round unless authorized, per the Rules of Golf. Bhatia was penalized accordingly and lost the hole after a (real) official spotted the infraction.

Particularly frustrating for the golfer was the fact that he had birdied the par-5 and believed he was going 1 up on his opponent, only to find out they were all square.

As mentioned, Bhatia would go on to lose in 19 holes.

Adding another layer to this drama, Darnell said Tilley’s caddie had done the same thing earlier in the match.

“I had already seen the other caddie in our group do it on the ninth hole,” Darnell said. “Same thing – USGA pullover, drove him from the bathroom up to the fairway – so I assumed it was fine. I didn’t point it out at the time because everything seemed kosher. He had the USGA stuff on, and I didn’t think anything of it.”

What are the chances Tilley or his caddie admit to the infraction now? And who is this mystery idiot who loves the USGA enough to drape himself in their garb but is daft enough to blatantly break a straightforward rule of competition?

Dumb rule? Certainly in this sense. But so many situations exist in amateur play that you can understand why the USGA would level a prohibition on transportation. Still, shouldn’t there be some room for interpretation? It’s difficult to argue Bhatia himself gained any advantage…

What do you think, GolfWRX members?

Your Reaction?
  • 7
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW2
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP2
  • OB2
  • SHANK56

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending