Connect with us

19th Hole

Tiger Woods: “If I intimidate you, that’s your own (expletive) issue”

Published

on

In his heyday, Tiger Woods was one of the most intimidating athletes on the planet. I mean, does anyone dispute this? Woods demoralized and decimated his opponents, and he was happy to do so. Heck, his mother told him to step on his competitors’ necks…when he was a child!

For a period of time, there was no surer bet in the world of sports than a Tiger Woods win when he was in contention. He knew it. Fans knew it. Everyone else in the field knew it. Dude is 52-4 when holding at least a share of the 54-hole lead!

Things are a bit different now. Humbled, with a fused back and easier demeanor, Woods surely isn’t the fiery competitor who always showed up to tournaments expecting to win, is he?

Well, if that’s your opinion check out the gem Twitter user @donaldremington has had stashed away since a May Tiger Woods clinic (presumably at Tiger Jam in Las Vegas).

Warning: If you’re offended by graphic language, well, cover your ears.

Vintage.

While Woods may no longer intimidate competitors the way he once did (see: Casey, Paul at the Valspar Championship), he doesn’t seem to have developed any sympathy for those who can’t stand the heat in the kitchen.

Your Reaction?
  • 73
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW0
  • LOL7
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP2
  • OB2
  • SHANK23

7 Comments

7 Comments

  1. commoner

    Jul 17, 2018 at 4:22 pm

    Some “sports heroes” spend their lives in eternal adolescence.

  2. larrybud

    Jul 16, 2018 at 8:22 pm

    Never understood how someone can be intimidated by another golfer. Not like you’re getting into the ring of death with them.

  3. Jamie

    Jul 16, 2018 at 5:38 pm

    Ah, the good ol’ days! News Flash: Nobody’s intimidated anymore, Tiger. Should have said it 15 years ago when you were great.

Leave a Reply

Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

The 6 best #GolfWRX photos on Instagram today (10.15.19)

Published

on

In this segment, we’ll be taking a look at some of the best #GolfWRX tagged photos on Instagram. In case you aren’t already, there’s a whole load of action going on at our page, so follow us: @golfwrx

Let’s get to it then, here are six of the best #GolfWRX photos from the past 24 hours.

Dropping this Wednesday from Sugar Skull Golf.

Behind the scenes with Cushman Custom Golf.

Yutaka Kawanami showcasing Fuji Course, Kawana Hotel Golf Course in Japan.

New from Wilson Golf.

View this post on Instagram

A new classic.

A post shared by Wilson Golf (@wilsongolf) on

“Sprinkle, Sprinkle” from Tyson Lamb.

View this post on Instagram

Sprinkle sprinkle #LambCrafted

A post shared by Tyson Lamb (@tyson_lamb) on

New creation from National Custom Works.

View this post on Instagram

Working on the night moves

A post shared by National Custom Works (@nationalcustom) on

Get hashtagging your golf posts #GolfWRX for your chance to feature in our best of Instagram posts in the future!

Your Reaction?
  • 2
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Back: Tiger Woods’ first-ever memoir coming to retail

Published

on

Tiger Woods’ memoir, “Back,” will be coming to worldwide retail after HarperCollins Publishers today announced that they had acquired the rights to the book.

“Back” will be the first-ever memoir authored by Tiger Woods, and according to a statement published on the 15-time-major champion’s website, the memoir is “a candid and intimate narrative of an outsize American life.”

The first and only account directly from Woods, with the full cooperation of his friends, family, and inner circle, “Back” covers Woods’ life from his growing up a celebrated golf prodigy through to his stunning 2019 Masters victory.

Speaking on the upcoming release of his memoir, Woods stated

 “I’ve been in the spotlight for a long time, and because of that, there have been books and articles and TV shows about me, most filled with errors, speculative and wrong. This book is my definitive story. 

“It’s in my words and expresses my thoughts. It describes how I feel and what’s happened in my life. I’ve been working at it steadily, and I’m looking forward to continuing the process and creating a book that people will want to read.”

President and Publisher of HarperOne Group, Judith Curr, had this to say on acquiring the publishing rights to “Back”

“We are thrilled and proud to work with Tiger on what I believe will be the publishing event of the decade. Tiger will reclaim his own story and legacy and it’s a story for the world over.”

Your Reaction?
  • 19
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Jesper Parnevik handed a two-stroke penalty at the SAS Championship for NOT taking a mulligan

Published

on

At the SAS Championship on Sunday, Jesper Parnevik was handed a two-stroke penalty when he didn’t take a mulligan.

The incident occurred on the third hole of Parnevik’s final round, where according to Reuters, the Swede horseshoed a short bogey putt which came back and struck his foot. The veteran then tapped in for what he thought was a double-bogey, unaware that because the ball had accidentally struck him, he was required to take a mulligan. 

Speaking to Reuters, rules official, Brian Claar said

“When a ball on the putting green accidentally hits any person, animal or immovable obstruction, this stroke does not count and the ball must be replaced on its original spot.

Jesper tapped it in. In that situation he’s played from the wrong place. Unfortunately he gets a two-stroke penalty for playing from the wrong place, and the one where he tapped in counts but the original stroke does not count.”

If the situation sounds perplexing to you, then you aren’t alone.

According to Claar, when he called the USGA for assistance, the governing body asked him “Did that really happen out there?”, before adding that they had never heard of an incident like it occurring before in tournament play. 

Here is the rule which undid Parnevik explained:

Rule 11.1.b, Exception 2:

When Ball Played from Putting Green Accidentally Hits Any Person, Animal or Movable Obstruction (Including Another Ball in Motion) on Putting Green: The stroke does not count and the original ball or another ball must be replaced on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated).

Parnevik ended up making a triple-bogey on the hole and finished the event in a tie for 68th place.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 15
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW3
  • LOL4
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB3
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending