Connect with us

19th Hole

Joel Dahmen says Sung Kang cheated at the Quicken Loans National

Published

on

Update: Comment from Sung Kang via PGA Tour’s Communications department: “He is standing by the ruling that was made by PGA Tour Rules officials on Sunday…”

If you thought Francesco Molinari’s barn burning Sunday 62 in triple-digit heat was hot, check out this fire from Joel Dahmen.

The 30-year-old flat out accused Sung Kang of cheating. It all went down on the overflowing landfill that is Twitter, appropriately.

Here’s the exchange with a fan who wondered about a hold up during play.

Kang is yet to respond to the accusations, and Dahmen hasn’t said anything further.

Seemingly, Kang tried go for the par-5 10th green in two shots. However, his ball went left into a native area. Dahmen didn’t think the ball ever crossed the hazard, whereas Kang, obviously, believed it did. After 25 minutes of argument, presumably mediated by officials, Kang ultimately dropped on the side of the hazard closer to the hole. He played his fourth shot onto the green and made par.

For what it’s worth, here’s the visual from Shotlink.

(c/o PGA Tour’s Shotlink)

We’re sure the PGA Tour is looking into it, however–and not just because they were mentioned in Dahmen’s original tweet–and surely some type of investigation and statement are forthcoming. Or a statement that there will be an investigation. Because integrity is the cornerstone of the Rules of Golf, These Guys are Good, Live Under Par and all that.

We’ll keep an eye on how this one shakes out.

Your Reaction?
  • 49
  • LEGIT8
  • WOW21
  • LOL4
  • IDHT6
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK9

11 Comments

11 Comments

  1. bc

    Jul 4, 2018 at 7:21 pm

    How would this be treated differently if he (Kang) was in contention (as a co-leader) with the likes of Dustin Johnson, Jordan Spieth, Justice Thomas, Brooks Koepka, Jon Rahm, Rory McIlroy, Rickie Fowler and Jason Day to win one of the majors or the Players Championship? It WOULD be treated differently!!!

  2. Tee-Bone

    Jul 3, 2018 at 2:57 pm

    I’ve been critical of this rule for a long time. For a number of reasons, it is often difficult, or even impossible, to know the point that the ball last crossed the margin of a hazard. Hypothetically, it could come down to the difference of a foot or so. You’re supposed to see that clearly from 200+ yards away? By nature, this rule involves estimation and thus is ripe for error and abuse.

    • steve

      Jul 3, 2018 at 9:02 pm

      I agree. Not to mention that playing partners are almost always facing different angles and not standing directly behind the ball. But somehow they are supposed to be part of this ruling process?

  3. Jamie

    Jul 2, 2018 at 11:48 pm

    Good for Joel for speaking up instead of being a silent sheep.

  4. jc

    Jul 2, 2018 at 6:46 pm

    years ago, in an lpga event, anika and another lady were playing…there was a ditch running across the fairway…annika hit a shot and plugged under the lip….she wanted a drop and claimed that the ball had flown over the ditch and somehow backed up and lodged under the lip…the other lady was ‘no way’. it is impossible. they argued for over 10 minutes and finally the other girl said ‘do what you want annika’ and walked away. stardom has it’s privledge.

  5. jc

    Jul 2, 2018 at 4:35 pm

    just wait until the new rules come in and you can take a drop for an out of bounds shot….and try and figure out where to drop

    • Josh

      Jul 3, 2018 at 12:40 am

      That is going to be an optional local rule or widely utilized in casual play, it’s 2 shot penalty drop near where it went out of bounds. They aren’t going to play that on tour…

  6. Lee

    Jul 2, 2018 at 2:07 pm

    There’s a guy on Twitter saying he was running the shotlink from the green and he said the ball never crossed the hazard.

  7. Jeff

    Jul 2, 2018 at 1:41 pm

    All other sports use some type of instant replay. Golf has shotlink (they should use it). If there is a dispute then they should go to the tech to see what happened. This would could prevent name calling and keep up the pace of play. Just my Opinion

    • Christopher

      Jul 2, 2018 at 5:59 pm

      Shotlink doesn’t account for the curvature of the ball, so its not that reliable.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

Check out these limited-edition Ryder Cup Adidas Tour360 shoes

Published

on

Here are GolfWRX, we love our Ryder Cup swag. Gianni brought you news of the U.S. squad’s apparel and some goodies from Puma last week. Today, we have more Ryder Cup-related gear news for fans of golf’s most storied team competition: Adidas is launching a limited edition Tour360 to commemorate the showdown at Le Golf National.

Available Sept. 24, the shoes draw their inspiration from the famed Ryder Cup trophy. The 10-cleated TPU outsole is designed to look like the wood grain finish at the trophy’s base, and the TPU top plate is shiny and gold like the trophy itself.

While the exterior of the shoe is the same whether your support the United States or Europe, the fortunate souls who snag a pair of the limited-edition shoes will be able to choose their preferred sockliner. One features the American flag and the final scores from every Ryder Cup since 1979, the other, the European flag.

“We know how much the Ryder Cup means to fans all over the world,” said Masun Denison, global footwear director, adidas Golf. “It’s the most competitive event in golf, and brings out a level of emotion that you don’t normally see in the sport. Possession of the Ryder Cup trophy is what both of these teams and fans are after, so we looked to it for inspiration.”

The shoes (MSRP $220) will come with a limited-edition shoe bag and will only available online at adidas.com.

Your Reaction?
  • 29
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW2
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK8

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Rope hat fans, rejoice: Titleist’s Tour Rope Flat Bill is here

Published

on

The rope hat is having something of a moment, isn’t it? As the mesh trucker fades to the periphery and the outer recesses of hipsterdom where it belongs, the good old-fashioned cotton rope snapback is stepping up to fill the void in vintage-inspired headwear.

Titleist is getting into the rope hat game with its Tour Rope Flat Bill, worn perhaps most prominently by Cameron Smith recently, but seen adorning the heads of Adam Scott, Jason Kokrak, and Rafa Cabrera Bello.

Check ’em out.

The Tour Rope Flat Bill is available on Titleist’s website for $30 now in black/white, navy/white, and white/hunter green colorways.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 9
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW0
  • LOL4
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB2
  • SHANK28

Continue Reading

19th Hole

GolfWRX Members analyze (and roast) Cosmo Kramer’s golf swing

Published

on

Kramer Hickok’s win last week on the Web.com Tour brought to mind the greatest golfing Kramer of them all: Cosmo Kramer, of course.

Jerry Seinfield’s singular “hipster doofus” next-door neighbor flirted with the great game on occasion, if you recall: Beating ball into the Atlantic (which ultimately factors into George’s great “marine biologist” ruse), Stan the Caddie, playing Westchester, and a handful of other angles.

It’s during the “Marine Biologist” episode that we get a look at Cosmo’s action, and it is something to behold. The fluidity of Snead, here, folks.

We asked our GolfWRX members to fire up their V1 and give us their best breakdown of Kramer’s “driver off the beach” swing. Here are some of the best replies.

BewareTheGlowball writes

“On takeaway the hands get a little too close to the body, which would lead to a tendency to move over the top on the downswing. In this case however, Kramer makes a great move to put the club back on path from the top of his swing. Nearing impact his weight shifts backwards, which he owns and holds it like it was a classic swing of old…Better than about 75% of swings on the driving range when I go out.”

D1bound says: “Looks like he had a seizure.”

Getair23 says: “It’s so bad, he can’t even hit the ocean from the beach!”

ThunderBuzzworth says

“Horizontal takeaway equals more space for that flying elbow and massive hip turn. Then notice his transition and how he violently thrusts his upper body backwards into a silky smooth back-snap finishing with ALL his weight on his rear leg. Considering he is on the beach… take notes on the unorthodox ground impact location which happens to be 10 inches behind the ball to dramatically reduce spin.”

PowderedToastMan knows his Seinfeld: “That swing has the power to kill a whale, literally.”

Nony noke does as well: “Almost as good as Larry David’s swing. Preeettty, preeeettty good.”

And Gioguy21: “Kramer’s reverse C finish is simply poetic – if only he had the man hands necessary to release properly.”

And DavePelz4: “He’s not the Master of his Domain…or his swing.”

ZAP may have the most concise and spot-on breakdown.

“Stack and realaaaaaaaaaaalllllllly tilt.”

Thanks for the analysis, GolfWRX Members! And if anyone else would like to chime in on Cosmo’s club swinging motion, please do. Also, if there’s another swing from the big or small screen you’d like to see scrutinized, let us know.

Your Reaction?
  • 17
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending