Connect with us

19th Hole

Phil Mickelson hopes we’ll eventually be able to laugh about Shinnecock incident

Published

on

Phil Mickelson was at Soldier Field in Chicago on Monday to help promote this week’s KPMG Women’s PGA Championship.

Lefty threw footballs (right-handed) with Bears quarterback Chase Daniel and engaged in the full spectrum of autograph signing, clinic giving, and everything you’d expect…he also addressed the events at Shinnecock Hills two weeks ago with Todd Lewis of Golf Channel.

“It wasn’t the right decision,” Mickelson said “It took a little while for my anger and frustration to subside enough to where I could see clearly that I made not my best move. It wasn’t my best moment. And so I apologized. Now, moving forward, the best thing I can do is to start promoting the game again in a positive way.”

Regarding whether he plans to use the rules in his favor in a similar manner again, Phil said.

“It wasn’t the smart decision. The Rules of Golf actually address that for next year, so I don’t think anybody will be looking at it as a smart play. But at the time I really didn’t care about the stroke difference.”

He added

“I have pretty thick skin and I’m aware that I’ll probably hear about this for some time. Fortunately, I can take it, and I hope at some point we’ll all be able to laugh about it.”

Here’s Mickelson’s full chat

What do you think of what Mickelson had to say, GolfWRX members?

Your Reaction?
  • 25
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP3
  • OB1
  • SHANK13

2 Comments

2 Comments

  1. David

    Jun 27, 2018 at 8:30 pm

    When i saw Phil hit the ball on the putting green i laughed out loud. Not a golfer watching hasn’t experienced that level of frustration. but i would have been more interested if Phil had let the ball come to a stop off the green then declared the ball unplayable. using the rules he would hit another ball from where the first putt was and continued to finish the hole that way. do u think that would have caused as much controversy ??

    • geoh

      Jun 27, 2018 at 9:08 pm

      To have used the unplayable rule would be fair play, although ‘doughboy’ would be
      considered even more a wimp, had he done that.

      As it is, his confession of intent following his round, clearly indicated that he purposely breached rule 1-2, and subject to disqualification. If he is truly repentant then give 100% of his winnings to charity (not the Phil ‘tax relief’ Trust fund). ie he would end up with zero, the same as if he were disqualified, as he should have been, by his own confession of intent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19th Hole

68 at the British Open in the morning, golf with hickories at St Andrews in the afternoon

Published

on

Yes, golf fans, just another day in the charmed life (or week, at least) of one Brandon Stone.

Stoney (as I assume his friends call him), came to Carnoustie on the heels of a final-round 60 to win the Scottish Open. All he did in his opening round was fire a 3-under 68. Not bad!

But his Thursday to remember was only getting started as Stone made the 25-mile trip south to the Old Course to peg it…with a set of hickory clubs! Well played, sir, well played.

Your Reaction?
  • 1
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Jean van de Velde’s 1999 British Open collapse is still tough to watch in LEGO form

Published

on

Gather ‘round, golf fans, for the saddest British Open story ever told–in LEGOs.

Maestro of the plastic medium, Jared Jacobs, worked his singular magic on Jean van de Velde’s notorious final-hole collapse at Carnoustie in 1999.

The interlocking plastic brick cinema begins after van de Velde’s approach shot has caromed off a grandstand railing to land on the opposite side of the Barry Burn.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 5
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Sung Kang finally responds to cheating allegations

Published

on

Sorry to interrupt your regularly scheduled British Open programming, but Sung Kang stated today he still doesn’t think he didn’t anything wrong. “I followed the rules by the rules official…I think I did the right thing,” he said after his opening round at The Open.

Joel Dahmen, if you recall, accused the 31-year-old pro of taking a bad drop at the 10th hole during the final round of the Quicken Loans National.

The comments were Kang’s first public remarks since a statement co-released with the PGA Tour which said, “He is standing by the ruling that was made by PGA Tour Rules officials on Sunday and will have no further comment.”

While he stopped short of giving his side of the story, Kang did indeed make “further comment.”

Here’s some of what he said.

“I did not want to say anything bad about Joel. Because there can be difference of opinions. But the way he just said it on Twitter was not right. There can be different opinions. And also, it was made a decision by the rules official. So nothing was wrong.”

“I really want to say a lot of things about it, the truth about what happened, but no comment because I’m not going to say anything. I think I made the right decision. … Even when I say something, a few people still kind of think i still did something wrong. And if someone believes in me, they aren’t going to trust what Joel said.”

“No matter what I say, some people are going to trust it, some people are not going to trust it. And then I’m going to be thinking about it more and more. So I’m just focusing on my golf game.”

The British press asked Kang if he wishes he had done anything differently.

“No. Why? I did the right thing,” Kang replied.

Now, I’m not here to argue one way or the other, but the rules official wasn’t in position to do anything other than leave things at the player’s discretion, which he did. So, it’s misleading–if not downright deceptive–for Kang to suggest otherwise.

The official didn’t see the shot. There was no video of it. The only thing he had to rely on was the accounts of those who did see it. In a situation where accounts vary, and with the Rules of Golf relying on player integrity as they do, all he could do was leave the ball in Kang’s court. Thus, the decision as to where to drop was wholly Sung Kang’s.

Again, this isn’t to say the drop was necessarily bad, bad to play the “decision by the rules official” card is, well, a bad drop.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 13
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW1
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK31

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending