Connect with us

19th Hole

Bryson does Bryson: DeChambeau spotted using a compass to read greens

Published

on

Plenty of armchair humorists and hot take artists remarked on Bryson DeChambeau’s use of a compass during the Travelers Championship this weekend.

Unfortunately (perhaps) for DeChambeau, the PGA Tour spotted the former physics major utilizing the device.

While it’s highly irregular/quite expected from DeChambeau, the powers that be aren’t certain of the legality of compass use.

“They said we just want to let you know we’re investigating this device and seeing if it’s allowable or not,” DeChambeau said.

The SMU alum also threw this bit of shade at the Tour: “People are saying it’s an unusual device, that’s at least what the tour’s saying… It’s funny people take notice when you start playing well.”

Let’s press pause here for a second to address the elephant in the room: What the heck was Bryson doing with the compass-and-yardage-book routine.

Here’s what he told reporters

“Figuring out true pin locations. The pin locations are a little bit off every once in a while, so I’m making sure they’re in the exact right spot.”

True pin locations. Is that like true gravity? Anyway, DeChambeau has reportedly been using the device since 2016… How is this the first we’re seeing of it? Does he only bust out the compass when he suspects

It also wasn’t the first time DeChambeau has used the device, he said, noting that he’d been doing so since the 2016 PGA Tour stop in Las Vegas. Reportedly, the Tour’s investigation concerns whether the compass is an “allowable” device (per Will Gray).

What do you think, GolfWRX members? Rules junkies: Is Bryson in violation? Mathematically inclined/cartographers: Is the technique an asset in cases of “untrue” pins?

Your Reaction?
  • 43
  • LEGIT10
  • WOW3
  • LOL11
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP2
  • OB4
  • SHANK42

20 Comments

20 Comments

  1. gif

    Jun 26, 2018 at 12:07 pm

    Perhaps his AimPoint green charts show N-arrow to orient the charts… so Bryson is just aligning the charts to the green topography. However I think it’s a lot more sinister… he’s tracking the earth’s geomagnetic lines to determine how the ball may break due to planetary influences.. 😮

  2. Nathan

    Jun 26, 2018 at 11:20 am

    Does someone need to tell him that pin sheets are not actual size and shape?

  3. Caroline

    Jun 25, 2018 at 1:50 pm

    What ever it takes…. Pros have to shoot under par most rounds to make a living…those under par rounds also make money for the PGA Tour, the equipment companies and all the other companies paying for commercials each week. Not surprising to see any player trying to find an edge for his/her game.

  4. joro

    Jun 25, 2018 at 1:16 pm

    Maybe he is checking which way home for when he goes after he misses a cut.

    • Gerald Teigrob

      Jun 25, 2018 at 4:44 pm

      Seriously? How many cuts has he missed? A lot less than Rory or others!

  5. cwt

    Jun 25, 2018 at 12:25 pm

    He should do his homework the night before the tournament when they announce the next day’s pin placement. By the way, don’t some tournaments have the next day’s hole location marked? I’ve seen reports of caddies doing their homework on Friday’s greens for Saturday when they see the location marked.

  6. Q

    Jun 25, 2018 at 10:10 am

    +1 for true gravity comment. No different than plumb bobbing if you ask me

    • Adam

      Jun 25, 2018 at 11:40 am

      -1 isn’t anything unless you’re an Allman Brothers fan. It’s true north you were looking for.
      – another 2 for not knowing either of these details.

      • Jamie

        Jun 25, 2018 at 3:20 pm

        -100 for tongue-lashing someone for not being an Allman Brothers fan.

        • Gerald Teigrob

          Jun 25, 2018 at 4:45 pm

          I agree with Jamie! Never been a big fan of the Allman brothers although I have a feeling Cher knows more about them than I do.

  7. Johnny Penso

    Jun 25, 2018 at 9:42 am

    I love this guy and the way he is taking his own unique approach to tournament golf. If I had said 5 years ago all the stuff he was doing would work and he’d be winning tournaments and in contention nearly every week I would have been laughed out of the clubhouse. He’s my new favourite golfer!!

  8. Jamie

    Jun 25, 2018 at 9:28 am

    So what do you do if you find a hole that not’s perfectly located on an otherwise conceptual plan probably marked NTS, Bryson? Issue a Micrsoft White Paper? FIS(mart)JAM?

  9. Peter

    Jun 25, 2018 at 8:22 am

    I thought they were talking about a magnetic compass and then I see the photo of the needle/pencil compass, gee whiz PGA, it’s like using a ruler, lay off the Kool Aid.

    • Gerald Teigrob

      Jun 25, 2018 at 4:49 pm

      Well said! Next, they might say that flatulating adds an unfair wind advantage. It’s not hurting the integrity of the game and the kool-aid rule aficionados need to find something else to go after since they are apparently bored. As well as the armchair rules officials. Sniffing glue also comes to mind!

  10. jake krayson

    Jun 25, 2018 at 7:13 am

    and in other news,,,both the PGA Tour and the USGA will begin investigating the relative thickness of player’s socks. “We don’t want anyone to feel too comfortable and therefore gain an unfair advantage.”

  11. Richard Douglas

    Jun 25, 2018 at 6:45 am

    The Tour would try to ban his hat if there weren’t so many pictures of Hogan wearing one.

    A compass? How is that an “unusual device”? It determines direction, right? Why wouldn’t a player be entitled to know that? Or is it a GPS that gives coordinates? That should be okay, given all the Garmin watches for sale. (True, the Tour prevents players from using GPS devices to measure distances.)

    When Bryson wanted to putt side-saddle, the USGA ruled his putter non-conforming, but would not commit as to WHY it was non-conforming. They just didn’t like looking at him making putts like that, so they got rid of it.

    The Tour and the USGA. Can any sports organization be as backwards as these two? (Yes, I’m looking at you, R&A….)

  12. Joe

    Jun 25, 2018 at 4:08 am

    Only question the PGA has to answer is this: Does it give him an advantage against his fellow competitor. And the answer is an easy and resounding no. If you allow for yardage books, pin sheets, and green books, you have to allow for accurate measurement of those books to be taken into consideration. If you provide, at all, a graphic that gives an “accurate” distance analog, then you must allow for a player to render their judgement of how accurate that distance is. It’s no different then when Jack Nicklaus began stepping off yardages to get more accurate distances from either 100-150-200 yard markers or sprinkler heads that had measurements. Or if a European player who is not used to Imperial, to have a way to calculate the equivalency into metric. It’s not gaining an unfair advantage in any way.

    I mean, seriously,they are going to let guys use rangefinders in 2019…and they are going to argue against a device that has been around for 1000’s of years.

  13. Brad

    Jun 24, 2018 at 11:17 pm

    The PGA seems to hate Bryson DeChambeau, and they are probably going totally bonkers that the “Mad Scientist” has been so consistently good this season. I’m sure they will rule the compass is not an “allowed device” simply because Bryson is probably the only golfer on tour who could gain any possible advantage from using it.

    If Bryson tried to use an Abacus, they would probably ban that as well…

    • bebop a lula

      Jun 25, 2018 at 7:56 am

      I’m waiting for single length irons to be banned, the Tour do seem to have a thing about him.

      I mean what possible advantage could using a compass a have

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

The 6 best #GolfWRX photos on Instagram today (6.19.19)

Published

on

In this segment, we’ll be taking a look at some of the best #GolfWRX tagged photos on Instagram. In case you aren’t already, there’s a whole load of action going on at our page, so follow us: @golfwrx

Let’s get to it then, here are six of the best #GolfWRX photos from the past 24 hours.

Chesson Hadley celebrated his T9 finish at the U.S. Open by giving us all his rendition of “Shallow”.

Just enough sauce from Tyson Lamb?

View this post on Instagram

You can never have too much sauce. #LambCrafted

A post shared by Tyson Lamb (@tyson_lamb) on

New designs from Dormie Workshop.

Phil showcasing Philmont Country Club in Philadelphia.

Arriving later this week from Swag.

“Beer me” headcovers from Michael Martinez.

Get hashtagging your golf posts #GolfWRX for your chance to feature in our best of Instagram posts in the future!

 

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Gary Woodland discusses trading NBA ambitions for a U.S. Open title, what it meant to win in front of his father, and more on the Dan Patrick Show

Published

on

Gary Woodland dialed into the Dan Patrick Show this week where he discussed amongst other topics – his impressive U.S. Open victory at Pebble Beach, what it meant to have his father in attendance, and how he traded his NBA aspirations for his career in golf.

Speaking on the emotions he felt winning the U.S. Open on Father’s Day in front of his father, who suffered a heart attack in Woodland’s rookie year while he was playing at Pebble Beach, the 35-year-old described the occasion as one that “you can’t make up.”

Clips courtesy of AT&T Audience Network.

As well as Sunday’s victory, Woodland discussed how his sporting ambitions changed after initially desiring a career in the NBA. In the 10 minute interview, the U.S. Open champion mentioned how in his first basketball game in college when matched up against Kirk Hinrick he realised that “he needed to find something else to do”.

Woodland also talked about his celebrations which involved drinking vodka out of the trophy with Jordan Spieth – a ritual Justin Thomas wouldn’t partake in due to a superstition having not yet won the U.S. Open, as well as the advantage longer hitters on Tour now have whether the course is long or short, and his nerveless shots on 14 and 17 on Sunday.

Check out the entire interview in the video below.

The Dan Patrick Show airs daily at 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. ET on AT&T Audience Network which can be found on DIRECTV Ch. 239.

Your Reaction?
  • 1
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Gary Woodland discusses beating Woods’ record, his approach on 14, and his clutch chip on 17 with Adam Schein

Published

on

U.S. Open Champion Gary Woodland made an appearance at SiriusXM’s Manhattan studios on Tuesday, where he sat down to discuss a multitude of topics with Adam Schein on his Mad Dog Sports Radio program – Schein on Sports.

Fresh off his career-defining victory at Pebble Beach, Woodland heaped praise on his caddie, Brennan Little, while speaking on the show, whom he credited with giving him the confidence to hit his outstanding second shot to the par-5 14th hole which led to birdie in the final round.

(*All quotes courtesy of SiriusXM’s Mad Dog Sports Radio)

“I’ll give the credit to my caddie on that one. It was one of those where we talked all week – I wanted to play aggressive. I wanted to play to win. I knew I was playing well. I got up there, I knew I had a one-shot lead. I’d actually – to that pin – I’d hit the chip shot left of the green, it wasn’t great in the practice rounds. I knew right’s out of bounds.

It was probably the first time all day I wanted to play conservative. I was actually thinking about laying up, and my caddie, it was the first time probably – we’ve been together three years – that he just, he said, ‘This is it. Hit three wood. Let’s go. Knock it up there, make a swing, hit at the right edge of the green and go.’ He gave me confidence, not only for that shot, but that gave me confidence in the last five holes.”

As for his clutch chip on 17 to save par, Woodland described his mindset taking the shot as well as how he was keeping tabs on what Koepka was doing at the same time on 18.

“Fortunately I had a similar shot off that green earlier in the week. That was one I’m just trying to make four. I can see Koepka on the green on 18; I saw he had a putt, I didn’t know if it was for birdie or for eagle. And I was trying to get it (the chip) past the hole, and it just came out perfectly with a little spin.”

Woodland also discussed beating Tiger Woods’ total of 12-under-par from the 2000 U.S. Open at Pebble Beach. The 35-year-old first mentioned how he recognized that Woods won that tournament by 15 strokes, before adding how he was aware of beating his 72-hole total, saying

“I knew it, but I was trying to two-putt. I wasn’t trying to make that putt. Once it got halfway there and it went in I obviously let the emotion out. My caddie came over to tell me congrats and I said, ‘You know that clipped Tiger by one?’ And he said, ‘No I didn’t.’ He was focused on the wrong stuff, he was focused on winning, I was focused on beating that record.”

While speaking more generally on Woods and the impact the 15-time major champion has on the game, Woodland described him being back as “everything”, which you can see in the embedded clip below.

Your Reaction?
  • 21
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending