Connect with us

Reviews

Iron comparison: TaylorMade MC v. RocketBladez

Published

on

From the forums, By Caesar Palache

My shop was lucky enough to get the RocketBladez delivered quite early and they came in today around 2 p.m. First thing I did was cut the box open and take them down to the range for a quick demo.

A little background on myself: I’m a 2.8 handicap but that doesn’t mean I don’t shoot 80 every few weeks, and I’m 5’6″ with spikes on. I do not hit the ball far nor do I try to, but I hit it straight. That being said my 7 iron is a 165-yard max club, meaning I pull the 7 iron out on 155-165 yard shots.  I play Taylormade MC 4-PW irons with KBS C-Taper stiff shafts.

Today in Virginia it was a cool 50 degrees tops, and the wind was a slight breeze straight into my face. I expected to be hitting my 7 iron around 155 since it was cool, into the wind and I hadn’t swung the club in a week. I took out the range finder and found a spot on the range that was exactly 165 from one of the flags. Each MC 7 iron I hit was coming up around 5-10 yards short of the flag I was aiming for (155-160 yards). Then I pulled out the RocketBladez…

The first shot went up and kept going up, and continued to go up until it came down a good 5 paces beyond the 165 yard flag. The ball goes high. As I mentioned before I was hitting into the breeze so you assume the ball would balloon up into to, except this ball didn’t balloon.  It cut right through the wind as if nothing was there and then came down soft at about 170 yards. My thoughts were maybe I nutted it. I took another swing and what do you know, the ball went up and up and flew to the 165-yard flag with ease as if it were a calm, sunny 77-degree day. I hit about 10 balls with the RocketBladez 7 iron and nine of the 10 carried the 165-yard flag. Did I mention the ball went high?

Now, the stock shaft is lighter then what I am accustomed to and because of this I missed a few left of the flag and hung a few right when I was trying not to “snap” it left.  If I drew a line from the far left ball to the far right ball, 9 of the 10 balls would have been within 3 paces of the line.  I hit some thin, hit some flush, pulled some, pushed some, even nearly hozeled one (the heel shot went dead straight about 160 yards, still carrying past my MC 7 iron on this chilly day). Needless to say I was quite impressed.  I flew the RocketBladez iron on average 10-15 yards further then my MC 7 iron. It was a hard day to get a clear picture on how far these irons would go since it was cold and windy, but I have no doubt these added at least a club to a club and a half more distance.

Now for more of a detailed review. Click here for more discussion in the forums. 

Looks:

First things first, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the package up and pulled the 7 iron out. My first thoughts, this DOES NOT look like the RocketBallz irons from last year — these look darn good.  Pictures do not do these clubs justice because they look great.  This comes from a guy who plays the TM MC, a players club, but I could easily game the RocketBladez iron. I thought for sure I would have to go with the Tour version since it was more the players club, but these fit the eye more then you’d expect. The thin sole was a very nice surprise — think Taylormade CB meets Burner 2.0.  The RocketBladez have a thicker top line then a players club, but not as much offset as you would expect.  The 4 and 5 iron are obviously the most “Game Improvement” looking of the irons. Their heads seem much bigger then my MC heads, but the 6-8 irons seem only a touch larger and the 9, PW and AW looked like a players club.

Feel/Sound:

TaylorMade said these clubs would feel as good as a non-forged club could feel, and yes these clubs did feel fairly good.  This comes from a guy who thinks the MC irons are as good as it gets (without flushing a blade of course).  There is nothing quite like flushing a blade, or in my case flushing my MC iron. In my mind, it literally sounds like a muted flush and feels effortless when you strike it a MC iron solid. Well, no one is going to mistake you for hitting a blade or MC when you hit the Rocketbladez. It sounds like your hitting a cavity back iron. Now, I’m not sure if that is because I picked the ball, or hit the ball thin. But at certain times I really heard a POP when hitting these. Don’t get me wrong: it’s great feedback to hear POP as you strike the ball and see it go up and up (Did I mention how high these go?). But coming from a player’s club background, I like my muted flush a little bit better.

As for the feel of the POP, it was actually quite nice, knowing “yup I caught that one well” as you see the ball climb higher and higher and pierce the wind like it’s nothing. Think of what it feels like to flush a hybrid. Add a little bit of iron feel and you’ve got it.  As for the thin shots where they say the Speed Pocket is influenced even more, you can tell you hit it thin. It feels a bit harsher and doesn’t have the cavity POP I was talking about.  A thin shot with a Rocketbladez though, is much, much better then a thin with my MC irons. Overall you know you are hitting a “game improvement” club, but it feels quite nice.

Dispersion/Consistency:

As I said, this shaft was lighter and probably a bit weaker then I would like.  So I blame the left and right balls on the shaft, obviously, but I was overwhelmed with how easy it was to consistently hit the ball the same exact distance each time.  My near hozel shot traveled straight and 160 yards, I think we would all take a straight heel shot.  I “purposely” tried to hit some thin, and except for a touch harsher feel, the ball got up as high as my MC iron and went a touch shorter then a center face strike of the RocketBladez.  I cannot wait to try these with a shaft that I am more comfortable with.

Workability/forgiveness:

Now onto my favorite, can you work the ball? Obviously since I play the MC irons, I like to work the ball, preferably right to left.  But who doesn’t love a little forgiveness?

After getting comfortable with the RocketBladez I tried shaping some a little bit more then normal.  I started a 5 iron about 25 feet right of where I wanted it to land and released it hard from inside to see what it would do. Well, the ball went up and up and turned and turned right (well it actually turned left) into my target. Remember when I said these balls go high? Now, some of that movement can be attributed to the lighter shaft, but overall I was very surprised at how easy it was to move the ball around. It obviously wasn’t as easy as my MC iron but it wouldn’t be difficult to turn the ball into a tight pin if I needed too.

As for forgiveness, well, I didn’t slice one ball so it’s a high handicapper’s delight!  In all seriousness the ball went straight when I missed it, my near hozel went straight, my thin shots went straight, my toe shots went fairly straight.  They say the Speed Pocket helps with forgiveness and I believe it. The sweet spot is huge, it’s very very easy to hit it straight. (Take that with a grain of salt as I normally hit the ball straight and these where much easier to hit then my MC’s). As for hitting the ball, these were effortless to get up into the air. And they go high. For anyone who struggles launching the ball high, these are the club for you.

Overall I was very impressed with the Rocketbladez irons, considering I all but wrote them off and was expecting to only demo the Tour version.  I think it will be quite a bit harder to just go with the Tour version because they are the “players club.”  These Rocketbladez irons are a great club for a “player” if they can get over a few things first.

  • Address: The top line is thicker then you would want in your players irons in the 4-7 iron, and the offset is reasonable through the iron set, with the exception being the 4 and 5 iron might be bit to much for someone who likes a blade. I was fine with the offset and would easily game the 4 and 5 irons, even if I went with the Tour 6-PW.
  • Sound: for those who love the flush, these bladez don’t have it. Don’t get me wrong you can flush them, but they are a louder flush. They have the POP! but you can live without the muted flush sound. Trust me, you can get used to the POP! I found myself trying to get the loudest POP! I could after awhile.
  • Now as for the lofts, get over it! I do not know what the lofts are off the top of my head and never thought of the lofts until just now.  These clubs, even with their jacked lofts, will fly higher, land softer, and be more consistent then what you are playing now. So I could care less about the lofts. They flat out perform and I cannot imagine how high these would fly if they had traditional lofts.

My last word. Superintendants everywhere will be outraged with the destruction of their green complexes if these clubs are as popular as I believe they will be.  They fly high!  If you play on a course with soft greens, you better always keep a ball mark repair tool in your pocket or else.  If I could play Rocketbladez with KBS tour or C-Taper, I think I’d have a winner.  Actually give me a Rocketbladez with the stock shaft and I’ve got a winner.  Taylormade you got me, I will game these “Game Improvement” irons over my MC’s any day.

(Disclaimer: I am a Taylormade loyalist, so you may believe I only like these because I drink the Taylormade cool aide. Try them for yourself, you will be surprised. I did this test in about 20 minutes outside because I was freezing, this was a quick review but I hope it helped sorry for the pictures, I snapped them quick)

Click here for more discussion in the forums. 

RocketBladez 50* AW vs 52* ATV (last year’s model)

RocketBladez 7 iron vs MC 7 iron

RocketBladez 5 iron vs MC 5 iron

Click here for more discussion in the forums. 

Your Reaction?
  • 1
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.

23 Comments

23 Comments

  1. Cc15

    Jun 6, 2013 at 12:44 pm

    They will probably feel the same since taylormades forging is not soft at all.

  2. Michael

    Apr 17, 2013 at 1:18 am

    I am suspicious of any reviewer who thinks that the word “than” is spelt “then”.

  3. John V

    Feb 1, 2013 at 6:27 pm

    I wonder how the rocketbladez tour will compare to the MC irons I’m using now.

  4. Pingback: TaylorMade RocketBladez Irons Review | TheGolfingPost.com

  5. Ruddy

    Dec 26, 2012 at 11:07 am

    Just played my first round with new RocketBladez. The 4-7 irons go 10 or more yards further. A lot of height on 6-7 irons. Still getting used to them. The pop sound is loud and hard to tell if I hit it flush. I have more control and can work them both sides. I miss the feel of my AP1s, but love the results of the RBLDZ. I’ll keep at it.

  6. Bob

    Dec 18, 2012 at 2:22 pm

    Tempedan

    Played my Hogan Apex PC’s since 1985. Went with the Bridgestone J38’s last summer (same lie/loft as my Hogan’s) great club…. of course I tried my friends Rocketblades as soon as he received them….to me they were very similar to the burner 2.0’s the clubs were longer and lofts stronger so they went about a club further than my current Bridgestone’s. I just prefer the forged clubs…

    YMMV

    Bob

  7. tempedan

    Dec 1, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    I am a weekend hack, handicap 5.1, sixty two years ancient, and I still play the Hogan Apex blades I got for Christmas in 1992.
    I think it’s time for a technology upgrade, and the RocketBladez Tour caught my attention.
    Is it a good choice for me, or should I go for the standard? My death-shot is a hook, and I hate offset, but maybe I should just get over it and go for the standard?

  8. Chuck

    Nov 26, 2012 at 9:38 am

    Lot of haters here. Gentlemen, the trajectory is what gets the attention. If it goes higher than the MC, what does the actual loft number have to do with it. New tech has brought on higher trajectory with less loft. The important thing is club length. If you can attack with one club shorter, you are going to be more consistantly sticking it close. As for hitting into the wind, shut it down and play it like you would any other club. No one club plays both ways. But this club cut through the wind like no other. Hit it lower and the head wind doesnt have a chance. Why compare to a blade? Because blades are hard to hit. You have to be a scratch player that hits it on the nuts everytime. A very small percent of players are in that category and playing a blade at 1 or higher handicap is not the best choice anymore.

  9. chris

    Nov 26, 2012 at 7:53 am

    Why does every review start out with…”it was cold and wet and I didn’t warm up”?….Give me a break…move to Florida, do some yoga and compare apples to apples.

  10. Dolph Lundgrenade

    Nov 25, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    For starters I agree with the others in two regards; 1. You cannot compare Game Improvement irons to Players irons (and, why would you?) and 2. The author must be aware of all specs on the clubs involved in the test/comparison.

    Furthermore, when reviewing clubs it is absolutely crucial for the tester to not be a “fan-boy” of one particular brand and, regardless of brands, should definitely know how long, what flex, kickpoint, loft/lie, offset and any other variable relevent to the test. Otherwise, what are you testing or comparing? Looks? This review was just one person agreeing with himself.

    • Trevor

      Nov 25, 2012 at 11:24 pm

      Agreed. It almost sounds as if he was convincing himself that he should replace his MC’s with these RocketBladez (or should I say rOcKETbLaDeZ?)

  11. tlmck

    Nov 25, 2012 at 4:48 am

    I think the TM marketing staff just offered the author a job.

    Once he replaces the stock shaft with the KBS, the up and up and up, goes away and and away and away.

  12. Ray M

    Nov 23, 2012 at 4:32 pm

    Great comment Hula_Rock and xHellsing. You can’t compare a game improvement to a players iron. Of course you’re going to hit the ball farther with the GI. TM jacks there lofts up way too much. It’s ridiculous…terrible review.

  13. Stuey01

    Nov 22, 2012 at 8:28 am

    How far do you hit your mc 6 iron?
    Because that is what the RBZ is, despite what it says on the sole.

  14. fsubaseball21

    Nov 21, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    I am a proud TMAG Staff member. That being said i just got my new set of Adams cmb’s. enough said.

  15. xHellsing

    Nov 21, 2012 at 11:23 am

    Didn’t read the review. Why the heck would you compare these two models??? I mean really, its like they would compare AP1 vs. AP2 from Titleist. Useless reading imo, compare them to the old “TP CB’s” and/or Burner 2.0 and/or RBZ……

  16. Hula_Rock

    Nov 21, 2012 at 9:40 am

    Specs:
    MC 7-iron: 34 degrees
    RB 7-iron: 30 degrees

    enough said….. better be flying the RB further by 10 yards….

    • Pugster22

      Nov 24, 2012 at 6:50 pm

      Good catch…..thanks for taking the time to compare specs! 🙂

      • Shawn

        Mar 13, 2014 at 10:16 pm

        Exactly! I have been trying to tell everyone this. Ping is guilty too this 2014 season. I looked at their G25 irons and the same as Taylormade, 30 degree 7-irons and 40 degree 9-irons… of course you hit them 10 to 15 yards farther!! DUH!

  17. jgpl

    Nov 21, 2012 at 3:50 am

    Seems like shovels are the new “in-thing”

    Thank God for Titleist and Mizuno

    Spot on Clayton – bring these to a links course and see if you can hit them into the wind……….

  18. ClaytonPetree

    Nov 20, 2012 at 11:24 pm

    All this talk about high balls. Hit my PW SKY HIGH and about 155 yards. I’m a little bit worried about this club since I play a windy links course most of my rounds. Any tips Zak?

  19. sean_miller

    Nov 20, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    In some of the side-by-sides it’s hard to tell which shovel is which. Are the 5 and 7 irons that would be hard to aim (i.e. avoid a pull hook) the MC or the RB? It looks like they’re the MC which is opposite the RB versus ATV comparison.

    • sean_miller

      Nov 20, 2012 at 7:22 pm

      Edit: I type shovel as a reflex. They’re growing on me (like a wart?) and certainly don’t look any more shovelly than the latest Cleveland and Nike game improvers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Reviews

Ari’s Course Reviews: Riviera Country Club

Published

on

Riviera Country Club was designed by George Thomas and opened in 1927. Construction was done by Thomas’ right hand man, Billy Bell, whom he worked with on all of his great projects in California. Instantly regarded as a top test of golf, Riviera Country Club has hosted 3 major championships. When the pros tee it up this week at Riviera for the Genesis Open (formerly the Los Angeles Open), it will be the 55th time the course has played host to this now annual test of the best in the world.

Related: Our photos from this week at the 2018 Genesis Open

The clubhouse is one of the most amazing in golf; it sits up on top of a hill with the golf course (other than the first tee and 18th fairway/green) laid out in the lower canyon, continuously bisected by a set of barrancas that are integral to the strategy of the course. The first tee is right next to the pro shop and is one of the most unique and best in all of golf. Literally feet away from the pro shop and the starter shack, each player gets their name and home town announced as they prepare to tee off, an experience that gives the place an even more special feel. Sometimes it’s the little details that matter. The first tee shot drops 75 feet to the fairway, giving you the feel of standing on the edge of a cliff as you tee off on the first hole.

George Thomas was all about strategy and angles in his course design. It was a constant theme in the courses he designed, as well as the books he wrote. This can be seen in most of the holes at Riviera. The best angle into the green is almost always the angle off the tee with the most trouble. You can see this on holes 1, 2, 3, 7, 9, 10, 13, 17 and 18. If you challenge the fairway bunker, or barranca, or stay tight to the tree line, you get a much more open angle into the green. If you play out to the open side of the fairway, you have a much more difficult shot into the green.

The view of the first tee, and first fairway down below

There are only two or three par 5s on the course, depending on if you’re talking about member play or the PGA Tour. The first hole is just a shade over 500 yards and sometimes plays as a par 4 for the Tour. After the extremely memorable drop-shot tee shot, you descend into the valley that most of the course occupies. A barranca crosses the fairway at about 300 yards. The green is wide and wraps around a deep centering bunker.  There is a deep fairway bunker on the left side of the fairway past the barranca that does not really come into play for the Tour, but for the members if you can challenge this bunker you generally get a better angle into the green, unless the hole is cut on the far right side of the green. The 11th hole is tight between two stands of trees and crosses another barranca on the way to the green with a deep bunker guarding the right side. The 17th is a long, challenging, uphill par-5. The fairway is heavily bunkered on the left side. The right side is up tight to the tree line with only a single bunker back in the fairway. The green is large and double tiered. It is open on the left and guarded by and extremely deep bunker on the right. The best angle into the green is as close to the fairway bunkers on the left as possible.

Riviera has a great set of par 3s. The 4th hole was called the greatest par 3 in America by Ben Hogan, and it’s a long, Redan-style hole with a huge bunker short of the right-to-left sloping green. A shot out to the right with a draw can catch the contours on the right side and send the ball close to the hole just as easily as a high spinny shot right at the hole. The 6th is a true Thomas original and one of the most unique holes in the world. It’s a mid-to-long iron uphill to a large green with a bunker in the middle. The genius in this green is that it is contoured in such a way that you can get the ball close to the hole from just about any spot on the green to just about any hole location. The 14th is a mid-to-long iron to an elevated green that is wider than deep, and fronted by deep bunkers. The 16th is a gem of a shot hole, just 166 yards from the tournament tee to a very tiny, almost island of a green surrounded by sand. Besides being tiny, the green is fantastically contoured for its size and seems to fold up on itself. Hit the green and have a great chance to make birdie… miss into one of the deep green side bunkers and good luck making par!

The par 4s are nicely varied in length and challenge. Hole No. 2 is very difficult and plays uphill to a green banked into a hill that is long and skinny. Challenge the fairway bunker on the right for the better, open angle into the green.  Hole No. 3 plays slightly downhill to a fantastic fallaway green. Challenge the fairway bunker on the left for the better more open angle into the green. Hole No. 5 is a standout hole with a semi-blind tee shot that bends softly to the left around the edge of the property. Its unique feature is a large grass mound that extends out into the fairway short and right of the large back to front sloping green.  Hole No. 7 is a very tight driving hole; the fairway is tightened severely at about 275 yards by a huge, winding bunker that cuts in from the left side. The more you challenge this severe hazard, the better your angle into this very narrow green protected by a barranca and deep bunker on the right. The left is a bailout area cut as fairway, but the slope up to the green is steep and the up-and-down from there is not an easy one.

The 8th hole starts one of the most interesting 3-hole stretches in PGA Tour golf. It’s a split fairway par-4 with two distinct fairway sections that are bisected by a deep barranca. Depending on the hole location and ones preferred shot shape, and what fits the eye, the hole can be played any number of different ways. In general, the left fairway is a little more demanding to hit, but sets up better to most hole locations. The right fairway is a little more accessible, but leaves a more demanding shot into the green. This was one of George Thomas most famous holes and the right fairway was originally washed away in 1938. It was brought back in play around the recent turn of the century, and, while not an exact replica of what was there, provides the strategic design that Thomas intended when he designed the hole.

The 9th is one of the most difficult holes on the course and plays uphill to a deep, narrow green that falls hard from back-to-front. The tee shot is pinched by a pair of bunkers, but in true Thomas strategic fashion, they are staggered by about 55 yards so the player can plot their best line and try to execute on their strategy.

An aerial view of the 10th hole

The 10th is simply one of the best holes in golf. An absolute masterpiece of a short par 4… maybe the best short par 4 in golf. The player is presented with a multitude of options off the tee. The easiest shot off the tee again yields the toughest shot into the green. A mid-iron just short of the cross bunkers carries very little risk, however, the player is then left with an extremely difficult short-iron shot into this tiny sliver of a green from absolutely the worst angle. The safest way to play this hole is to take this route from the tee and then hit your second shot short left of the green. This will give you a chance to get up-and-down for par from the best place, but intentionally missing a green on a par 4 that is barely over 300 yards is not a choice most are willing to make. The next safest option off the tee is a long iron or fairway wood down the left side towards the far left fairway bunker. This leaves a shorter shot into the green from a much better angle. Then there is also the play of hitting driver between the bunkers right at the green. Pull this off and leave yourself the best chance for par or birdie, but miss the tee shot at your peril. There are a lot of big numbers waiting on this hole for the aggressive player. The green is extremely narrow and slants hard from right-to-left. It is extremely difficult to hit from any distance. This is a hole that has perplexed the best players in the world for 90 years and has been studied by anyone that is interested in golf course architecture. Truly deserving of its reputation as one of the best in the world.

Hole Nos. 12 and 13 play along the edge of the hill that defines the property line across the valley from the clubhouse. A line of Pacific Palisades mansions look down on these holes as the land slopes gently towards the ocean. Hole No. 12 bends to the right and crosses the barranca, while 13 bends left and is tight and is lined with trees. Hole No. 15 is a hard dogleg right with a deep bunker guarding the inside of the dogleg. Play out to the safe left side and the hole plays longer but more open. Fly the fairway bunker and get into the fairway and shave some yardage off the hole. The green is huge, bisected by a large swale, and is my personal favorite on the course. The 18th is one of the most difficult and famous finishing holes in the game. A long, uphill par 4 with a blind tee shot over a hill that bends gently to the right along the tree covered hillside.  The closer to the tree line on the right you find your ball, the better angle you get into the small green that is set into a natural amphitheater in the shadow of the clubhouse.

A view from behind the 18th green

Aside from a great collection of holes, Riviera is one of those courses that is more than the sum of its parts. The routing is tight and extremely walkable, and the greens and tees are all in very close proximity to each other. Other than walking down the big hill off the first tee, and up the big hill after 18 tee, the course meanders up and over some nice rolling terrain, but there are no strenuous walks. The bunkering is stunning and fits the sense of place that you get from the course and the site well. They give the feeling that every square inch was sculpted perfectly as intended. They have lips that are built up and over which makes them extremely deep and difficult.

The site is fantastic too, ringed by mansions of the rich and famous up on the hillside and laid out mostly in the canyon below that cascades gently towards the ocean. The barrancas that run through the property are used strategically over and over again by Thomas and they add immensely to the character of the course. Unfortunately, George Thomas did not design that many courses and equally tragic even less of them are in existence today. Fortunately, Riviera is still there today, so George Thomas can still show us how much fun a course full of strategy, beauty and challenge can be.

A day at Riviera is a very special one and this is one of the PGA Tour events I most look forward to watching every year.

If you liked this review, read Ari’s review of Oakmont Country Club!

Your Reaction?
  • 36
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

On the course? Off the course? Adidas’ new adicross line has you covered

Published

on

Furthering golfwear’s trend toward the more casual and versatile in a big way, Adidas today unveiled a new line extension: Adicross.

Urban inspired. Decidedly non-traditional. The Adicross line (styled “adicross”) leverages Adidas’ clothing and footwear styles from other arenas and reimagines them for wear on the fairway. Available December 1, the line brings Anorak jackets, henleys, hoodies, joggers, and even an Oxford to the golf course.

And before you clutch your saddle shoes in terror, remember, this is a line extension targeting a particular segment of the golfing population, not a total change of course for the entire Adidas Golf brand. If you’re wondering who represents the segment in question, think Erik Anders Lang: filmmaker, irrepressible golf enthusiast, and host of Skratch TV’s Adventures in Golf.

Lang hosted a launch event in Manhattan’s Meatpacking District warehouse space where he sat down with Adidas execs and world No. 1 Dustin Johnson for a chat about the new line. He praised the performance aspects of the five-pocket pant and the footwear styles, in particular.

As for golf’s top-ranked player, regarding the Adicross line, DJ told us the line is much more in keeping with stuff he’d actually wear than the baggy shirts and khakis that were the uniform of golf when he started out on tour.

“This is a line that I’ll wear all the time,” Johnson said. “I can wear it to the course and then go meet some buddies for lunch, and I’m not a walking poster for golf.”

From the Stretch-Woven Oxford, to the jogger pant, to the Adicross Bounce footwear, every item Dustin Johnson wears in picture below is intended for both on- and off-course wear.

“Adicross is the lifestyle brand that golfers everywhere have been waiting for,” said the world No. 1. “This is something that I’ll wear when I’m traveling to a tournament, practicing at home, or even headed to the gym.”

The aforementioned versatility of the Adicross line is very much a function of the materials: No-show sweat wicking technology, nylon-spandex blends (featured in the five-pocket pant and short), Primeknit (featured in Icon Polo and Jacket). These are clothes that are ready to wear to the office, but stretch, are light enough, and offer enough comfort to play 18 holes in.

“We wanted to challenge ourselves to design a line that would aid in helping athletes in their game, their life and in their world,” said Chad Alasantro, senior designer, men’s apparel at adidas Golf. “adicross is a perfect blend of hidden technology, fused with a creative aesthetic.”

 

The Adicross line also boldly brings street-inspired footwear to the golf course, retooling Adidas’ ultrapopular Bounce design to support the foot and grip the turf during the golf swing (and resist water during dew-sweeping early morning rounds)

“Adicross was designed as a result of the feedback we were hearing from our core consumer,” said Dylan Moore, Creative Director, Adidas Golf. “Like everyone else, golfers live in a complex, busy world with many diverse interests. They expect more from less and demand performance out of what they wear.”

The centerpiece Bounce features an ergonomic fit, offset wrapped saddle with multiple eyelet rows for customizable lacing, and a non-marking adiwear rubber spikeless outsole that features 181 strategically-placed lugs for a green-friendly grip.

The Bounce will be released in January, and additional styles will follow in February.

Regarding said “additional styles,” you can spot a few in this promo video. 

Your Reaction?
  • 45
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW4
  • LOL5
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP3
  • OB1
  • SHANK14

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

Choose Your Tartan: Enter now to win a Sunfish Tartan headcover

Published

on

Sunfish, well known for its stylish headcover designs, is offering up free Tartan-style headcovers to five GolfWRX Members. All you have to do to apply is become a GolfWRX member, if you’re not already, and then reply in the forum thread with your favorite the Tartan pattern.

TartanPatternsSunfish

The five winners will receive a free headcover in the pattern that they select. Winners will be selected on Friday, so don’t wait.

Click here to enter into the giveaway and pick your favorite style.

Reminder: Commenting on this post WILL NOT enter you into the giveaway.

Your Reaction?
  • 6
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending