Connect with us
Advertisement

19th Hole

Dustin Johnson doesn’t hit the ball too far, says Dustin Johnson

Published

on

Dustin Johnson, as the top-ranked golfer in the world, has a voice in all things golf related, including the distance debate.

Even though he averages 310 yards off the tee, DJ said he doesn’t believe his distance is excessive.

“I don’t think I hit it too far. Yeah, there’s occasions where you get downwind, downhill on firm ground and the ball goes a long way. Walk around here. When you’ve got a ball straight into the wind, the golf ball ain’t going that far. I definitely don’t hit it too far and the game is not easy, that’s for sure. I don’t know what to say to them except maybe go watch some golf shots.”

Johnson’s remarks are a furthering of the sentiment he expressed during the Abu Dhabi championship in January.

“It’s not like we are dominating golf courses…When was the last time you saw someone make the game too easy? I don’t really understand what all the debate is about because it doesn’t matter how far it goes; it is about getting it in the hole.”

While this may be true, the crux of the distance debate isn’t that players are shooting 18 under par every round, so focusing on the scoring element is something of a red herring, most rollback proponents would say.

And considering Johnson is the best golfer in the world with the current ball and equipment restrictions, it’s difficult to think he’d advocate for a change. I mean, would you? This isn’t to say he’s right or wrong, but rather, he wouldn’t be acting in his own interest by advocating for change.

What do you think about Johnson’s remarks, GolfWRX members? Significant in this period of review regarding distance or not so much?

Your Reaction?
  • 18
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

4 Comments

4 Comments

  1. joro

    Jun 15, 2018 at 4:15 pm

    Oh Dustin, You’r such a kidder. And a Ferrari is not an expensive, fast, car. Ha ha ha ha ha

  2. Isaak

    Jun 14, 2018 at 2:35 pm

    For a guy who has been working out for, lets say conservatively, 16 years; and has dedicated his life to golf, I’d say he’s hitting it just how far he should be. With all that hard work he deserves that distance.

  3. Matt

    Jun 14, 2018 at 1:40 pm

    This also just in: doctors don’t think they make too much money.

    C’mon DJ. You hit the ball too far. The only reason it hasn’t completely altered the scoring is we keep expanding courses to ridiculous lengths that are alienating the weekend golfer.

  4. Brett Weir

    Jun 14, 2018 at 12:22 pm

    DJ saying that he isn’t a long player is like hearing Warren Buffet saying he isn’t rich.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19th Hole

Greg Norman is appearing in ESPN’s Body Issue, like he told us he would

Published

on

As he said he’d consider doing when asked by Michael Williams on our 19th Hole podcast, Greg Norman is set to appear in the ESPN “Body Issue.”

The 63-year-old will follows in the footsteps of Gary Player, as well as number of other golfers, including Camilo Villegas, Belen Mozo, Carly Booth, Sandra Gal, Suzann Pettersen, and Christina Kim.

Here’s what Norman told our Michael Williams when asked about appearing in the annual corporeal showcase

“Would I do it? Of course I’d do it. I think I like being fit. I think on my Instagram account I probably slipped a few images out there that created a bit of a stir..And I enjoy having myself feel good. And that’s not an egotistical thing, it’s just none of my, most of my life I’ve been very healthy fit guy and if somebody like ESPN wants to recognize that, yeah of course I would consider doing it.”

Well, folks, he’s doing it. Never change, Shark, never change.

Click here for a full list of the athletes to appear in this year’s issue.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 1
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

19th Hole

WATCH: Phil Mickelson gets the Happy Gilmore meme treatment

Published

on

Maybe it’s too soon to find humor in the Phil Mickelson’s behavior on the 13th green during Saturday’s third round of the U.S. Open.

That said, the initial image of one of the game’s greats running after his golf ball and playing hockey in the manner of a child at mini golf was both shocking and humorous to most observers.

Perhaps not surprisingly, then, the meme producers at SPUN have put together this riff on Mickelson’s putting and post-round remarks, leveraging footage from the great golf masterpiece “Happy Gilmore.”

Check it out.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 68
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW0
  • LOL9
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK9

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Hot takes on Phil Mickelson’s Saturday antics continue to fly

Published

on

Yesterday, Phil Mickelson played a bit of field hockey on Shinnecock’s 13th green that continues to be the talk of the golf world… Mickelson didn’t do much to quiet the murmurs with his refusal to talk to the media following his final round and his celebratory antics after a made putt at that hole, Sunday.

Regarding the left-hander’s violation of Rule 14-5, we have a thread that’s 18 pages long and 516 replies deep at the time of this writing. It spans the full spectrum of opinions, from staunch support for Phil to outright condemnation.

A poll among golf WRXers saw 41 percent of responders say Mickelson should have been disqualified. 49 percent said he shouldn’t have. 9 percent said Mickelson should withdraw.

MtlJeff had this take

“Imagine if a young player did it. We’d be ready to euthanize all millennials for their horrible tantrums.”

Ssfranny said

“I have to kinda think Phil just gave a big middle finger to the USGA and pin placements.”

Teetogreen

“Frustrated as he may have been, he’s no better than the field. Everyone has to play the same course. I know Phil’s a fan-favorite, but that was wrong and disgraceful.”

Nessism said

“Pure frustration. I feel sorry for him. A momentary lapse of awareness will now cost him endless scritany for years to come.”

Golfgirlrobin quickly perceived what would be Mickelson’s eventual explanation

“Or maybe brilliant. Ball goes all the way down the green into the fairway and taking the penalty might actually have ended up being the better play.”

HolyMoses said

“Phil said he hit the moving ball intentionally so it wouldn’t get behind the bunker again. If he’s that defiant, he should be DQ’d. That’s cheating, plain and simple.”

Moving from WRXers’ takes to a few from other realms.

On Twitter, Lee Westwood played the devil’s advocate with this slippery slope (appropriately) argument.

“Here’s a scenario…Thoughts everyone??? here you go….. over the back on 15 at Augusta. Chip it too hard, run over before it gets to the water and knock it on the green so you don’t have to hit it again or go the drop zone!”

Writer Alan Bastable introduced the specter of Rule 1-2.

“Meanwhile, just two years after the DJ rules fiasco at Oakmont, the USGA blue coats were left to explain to the world why Mickelson hadn’t been disqualified for such an egregious breach of the rules. Indeed, under Rule 1-2, the Committee could have deemed that Mickelson’s actions gave him “a significant advantage,” and therefore warranted a DQ. “I would have lobbied for disqualification,” former USGA executive director David Fay said on the Fox telecast.”

The portion of Rule 1-2 Bastable referenced states.

“A player is deemed to have committed a serious breach of Rule 1-2 if the Committee considers that the action taken in breach of this Rule has allowed him or another player to gain a significant advantage or has placed another player, other than his partner, at a significant disadvantage.”

Golf Channel’s Randall Mell discussed Mickelson’s communication with Mike Davis late Saturday after some scribes floated the idea that the golfer ought to be disqualified.

“Phil really did want to understand how the rule operates,” Davis said. “Frankly, as he said to me, `Mike, I don’t want to play in this championship if I should have been disqualified.’” Davis said he assured Mickelson that Rule 14-5 was correctly applied, and that a two-stroke penalty is all that was required.”

With respect to the claims that Mickelson ought to withdraw, ESPN’s Ian O’Connor wrote this.

“There was a problem with Lefty’s story — a fairly big one. His playing partner, Andrew “Beef” Johnston, said he told Mickelson, “Sorry, but I can’t help but laugh at that. It’s one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen.” Johnston also had this to say of his exchange with Mickelson: “He said, ‘I don’t know what that is. I don’t know what score that is or what happens now.’ And he started speaking to the rules official. It was one strange moment.”

“The standard-bearer with the group, Connor Buff, a 19-year-old from Smithtown and a student at the University at Albany, said he heard Mickelson tell the rules official, “Whatever I get, I get. Just let me know what it is.”

In other words, according to O’Connor Mickelson was both attempting to gain advantage and, for what it’s worth, lying about his thoughts during the field hockey moment.

And of course, Global Golf Post’s John Hopkins.

Amy Mickelson told Golfweek’s Beth Ann Nichols

“He has been pretty under fire,” she said. “A lot of people have been pretty rough. … . It’s not like we’re in his shoes and understand what he has gone through. You and me, we are looking at it from the outside, sitting in the press room or family dining. … They’re playing sports for a living, but still in the moment it’s a very heavy week, an intense week. A lot happens over the course of 24 hours every day.

Golf Digest’s Joel Beall wrote this about Mickelson’s mock celebration at the 13th, Sunday. He could just as well have written it Mickelson’s explanation and the whole ordeal

“His critics would call it the act of a charlatan. His fans would say he was being an entertainer. Part of the Phil Mickelson Experience is not knowing which is right.”

What do you think, GolfWRX members? Is there more to be said about the matter? Or, with the U.S. Open wrapped up, should be draw the curtain on all this as well? Do any other takes merit mention?

Your Reaction?
  • 42
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW2
  • LOL8
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP4
  • OB6
  • SHANK112

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending