Connect with us

19th Hole

Fred Couples on Seattle, being a feel player, and what Phil Mickelson is the best ever at

Published

on

Fred Couples joined Johnny Wunder for the latest installment of his “Gear Dive” podcast. Couples, as he approaches 60, is an interesting case from an equipment perspective, and he’s seen some major changes in the clubs he’s so fluidly swung across his career.

Particularly interesting is the fact that Couples seems to stick with a club until he wears it out. Look at his current driver (a 2013 TaylorMade SLDR) and 3-wood (a 2008 Callaway FT-i Squareway). Hearing what he has to say about those clubs and his equipment philosophy is darn interesting (and atypical).

That said, we’re pulling a section of the pod for further examination that has more to do with technique than equipment, as Couples had some interesting things to say about growing up as a feel player and learning to hit shots around the green.

Johnny: “You’re the epitome of a ‘feel guy’…growing up in Seattle, growing up in the Pacific Northwest, you have to be a feel player, you have to feel your way around a golf course…can you commentate a little bit on how to get yourself out of trouble…how to scramble? How did growing up in the Pacific Northwest teach how to play well hitting it straight and play well hitting it sideways?”

Fred Couples: “If you look at some of the shots some of us play. If you grow up in Seattle…I played at Jefferson Park…small greens; they called them ‘pop-up greens.’ If you missed the green, you had to have great feel, and you had to have touch to get it up in the air and to stop it fast. There weren’t many times where I took a 7-iron out and played a little bump-and-run; it was all sand wedge.”

“So when I got on the PGA Tour, ever time I used a club from off the green, it was a sand wedge…then as you go to Florida and you’re playing on Bermuda, that’ll make you look bad fluffing chips, so you just learn to play around the United States…”

“You mentioned a guy earlier, Phil Mickelson. People want to know how good he is–he’s probably the best player ever to judge a lie. Whether it was a bad lie, good lie, in the rough. We know he’s tried to hit drivers out of the rough and tried to do things, but more or less, that’s what makes Phil the player that he is…he’s got the feel for every shot, and he tries to pull off every shot. And if we’re anywhere alike, we’re like that…I do judge the ball well out of the rough.”

“Seattle, it certainly made me the player that I am. There’s no doubt in my mind.”

Incredible perspective from Couples–although he did later say rain is his kryptonite, which is somewhat odd for a Seattle boy. Anyway, the rest of Johnny’s talk with Boom Boom is well worth your time.

Check it out below.

Your Reaction?
  • 72
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW2
  • LOL0
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK7

4 Comments

4 Comments

  1. shawn

    Jun 6, 2018 at 10:06 pm

    “feel” is bogus…. what they’re talking about is emotional feeelings…!

    • Sour Grapes

      Jun 7, 2018 at 9:26 am

      Your thoughts are bogus…Perhaps you have never been a good golfer, otherwise you would know what feel is.

      • PhilDSnuts

        Jun 7, 2018 at 1:53 pm

        “Feel is bogus”. I would expect that coming from a ping swinger. Hack on my good man, hack on.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

Tweets of the Week: Phireside with Phil, Spieth’s early walk fail, and Koepka’s casual warmup

Published

on

Chez Reavie, Andrea Pavan and Hannah Green all recorded significant victories in their respective events over the weekend, but in a busy week, here are some of the things you may have missed, and some of the quirkier moments from the world of golf dished out in the Twittersphere over the past seven days.

Phireside With Phil

Keep ’em coming, Phil!

Brett Favre Superfan

Over at the Am-Fam Championship, the 1997 Superbowl winning QB had this interesting exchange with a superfan of his..

Spieth’s Early Walk Fail

Gary Woodland and Amy Bockerstette

Right after winning the U.S. Open, Woodland took time out to talk to Amy…

…before surprising her with an appearance on the Today Show.

Brooks Koepka’s Pre-Round Routine

Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW1
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

How much each player won at the 2019 Travelers Championship

Published

on

Over ten years on from winning his first title on the PGA Tour, Chez Reavie made it career-win number two at the Travelers Championship. Holding off a defiant Sunday charge from the crowd favorite Keegan Bradley, Reavie’s final round of 69 was enough to give him a four-stroke victory, and with it, take home a check for almost $1.3 million.

With a total prize purse of $7.2 million on offer, here’s a look at how much each golfer who made the cut earned at the 2019 Travelers Championship.

1: Chez Reavie, -17, $1,296,000

T-2: Zack Sucher, -13, $633,600

T-2: Keegan Bradley, -13, $633,600

4: Vaughn Taylor, -12, $345,600

T-5: Paul Casey, -11, $262,800

T-5: Joaquin Niemann, -11, $262,800

T-5: Kevin Tway, -11, $262,800

T-8: Abraham Ancer, -10, $194,400

T-8: Brian Harman, -10, $194,400

T-8: Jason Day, -10, $194,400

T-8: Bryson DeChambeau, -10, $194,400

T-8: Roberto Díaz, -10, $194,400

T-13: Kyoung-Hoon Lee, -9, $144,000

T-13: Tommy Fleetwood, -9, $144,000

T-15: Kevin Kisner, -8, $115,200

T-15: Ryan Moore, -8, $115,200

T-15: Kevin Streelman, -8, $115,200

T-15: Wyndham Clark, -8, $115,200

T-15: Patrick Cantlay, -8, $115,200

20: Alex Prugh, -7, $93,600

T-21: Russell Knox, -6, $65,760

T-21: Sungjae Im, -6, $65,760

T-21: Harold Varner III, -6, $65,760

T-21: Marc Leishman, -6, $65,760

T-21: Brendan Steele, -6, $65,760

T-21: Cody Gribble, -6, $65,760

T-21: Robert Streb, -6, $65,760

T-21: Adam Long, -6, $65,760

T-21: Martin Laird, -6, $65,760

T-30: Stephan Jaeger, -5, $43,740

T-30: Freddie Jacobson, -5, $43,740

T-30: Peter Malnati, -5, $43,740

T-30: Patrick Reed, -5, $43,740

T-30: Nick Watney, -5, $43,740

T-30: J.J. Spaun, -5, $43,740

T-36: Collin Morikawa, -4, $32,451.43

T-36: Louis Oosthuizen, -4, $32,451.43

T-36: Kyle Stanley, -4, $32,451.43

T-36: C.T. Pan, -4, $32,451.43

T-36: Justin Thomas, -4, $32,451.43

T-36: Josh Teater, -4, $32,451.43

T-36: Ryan Blaum, -4, $32,451.42

T-43: Sam Burns, -3, $21,924

T-43: Tyler Duncan, -3, $21,924

T-43: Brandt Snedeker, -3, $21,924

T-43: Cameron Davis, -3, $21,924

T-43: Joel Dahmen, -3, $21,924

T-43: Sangmoon Bae, -3, $21,924

T-43: Chip McDaniel, -3, $21,924

T-43: Andrew Landry, -3, $21,924

T-51: Sam Ryder, -2, $17,328

T-51: Hank Lebioda, -2, $17,328

T-51: Mackenzie Hughes, -2, $17,328

T-54: Bubba Watson, -1, $16,560

T-54: Ryan Armour, -1, $16,560

T-54: Viktor Hovland, -1, $16,560

T-57: Brooks Koepka, E, $16,128

T-57: Francesco Molinari, E, $16,128

T-57: Andrew Putnam, E, $16,128

T-60: Emiliano Grillo, +1, $15,480

T-60: Richy Werenski, +1, $15,480

T-60: Brandon Harkins, +1, $15,480

T-60: Bronson Burgoon, +1, $15,480

T-60: Kramer Hickok, +1, $15,480

T-60: Scott Brown, +1, $15,480

T-66: Seamus Power, +2, $14,904

T-66: Scott Langley, +2, $14,904

68: Brady Schnell, +3, $14,688

69: Seth Reeves, +5, $14,544

70: Sam Saunders, +6, $14,400

Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Seniors disqualified after playing the wrong ball at Farmfoods European Legends Links Championship

Published

on

On Friday, both Paul Lawrie and Carl Mason were disqualified from the Farmfoods European Legends Links Championship after mistakenly playing each other’s golf ball.

Lawrie took to social media to explain what had occurred, stating how the two played the wrong ball, both of which had similar markings, on the fifth hole, and didn’t realize their error until the seventh hole.

Both players were disqualified from the event after being in breach of rule Rule 6.3, which says

A player must not make a stroke at a wrong ball.

In stroke play, the player must correct the mistake by continuing play with the original ball by playing it as it lies or taking relief under the Rules –

  • The stroke made with the wrong ball and any more strokes before the mistake is corrected (including strokes made and any penalty strokes solely from playing that ball) do not count.
  • If the player does not correct the mistake before making a stroke to begin another hole or, for the final hole of the round, before returning his or her scorecard, the player is disqualified.

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 6
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW3
  • LOL5
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK10

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending