Connect with us

Tour News

Brilliant from tee to green, poor putting holds Woods back

Published

on

Tiger Woods fired a 4-under 68, Saturday that will have him starting his final round five strokes behind leader Bryson DeChambeau.

Woods called the score “the highest…I could possibly shot today,” and he isn’t wrong.

Woods missed twice from inside seven feet for par in his last three holes, as well as a four-footer for birdie at the 14th hole and two more opportunities inside 12 feet.

“I played really, really well. I played beautifully, actually,” Woods said, referring to his tee-to-green play. He hit 12 of 14 fairways and 15 of 18 greens. With a birdie putt at the 15th hole, Woods briefly grabbed a share of the lead.

“I was fine at the beginning of the round,” he said. “My speed was bad on the last two holes, the last two out of three holes, and I didn’t make any.”

If you’re wondering how much better Woods’ rounds should of been, TW did the math, per Golf Channel’s Tiger Tracker: “After estimating that he could have turn a second-round 67 into a 62 or 63, Woods believes that today’s effort should have been closer to 63 or 64.”

“I am definitely not taking advantage of how well I’m hitting it,” Woods said. “Shooting in the low 60s could have been pretty easy if I had just putted normally.”

Woods lost 1.42 strokes to the field with his putter Saturday. He lost 3.68 strokes Friday.

“Had total control of what I was doing out there,” Woods said.

Indeed. He’s second in the field in strokes gained: approach and second in strokes gained: around the green. He leads the field in strokes gained: tee to green–and is 72nd in strokes gained: putting through three rounds.

Patrick Reed, who played alongside Woods Saturday said this regarding the state of Woods’ game.

“It’s close…He missed a lot of short putts today, hit a couple good ones, but for him it easily could have been 7 or 8 under par without blinking.”

While it’s always easy to play the “shoulda, woulda, coulda” game, a couple of statistically average days from Woods would have his name at the top of the leaderboard. As it is, he’ll need the “7 or 8 under par without blinking” he could have shot Saturday on Sunday to have a chance.

Regardless, encouraging stuff for the 14-time major champion and his fans as he eyes the U.S. Open at Shinnecock two weeks from now.

Your Reaction?
  • 11
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW0
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP3
  • OB3
  • SHANK13

10 Comments

10 Comments

  1. John Evans

    Jun 3, 2018 at 10:43 pm

    Woulda, coulda, shouda!

  2. Way

    Jun 3, 2018 at 10:19 am

    The rest of the boys had better make sure they don’t let Eldrick win today. We just can’t have that happen. Cannot let Tont win. Got it?

  3. Greg V

    Jun 3, 2018 at 7:30 am

    Bet Rory finishes lower that Tiger.

  4. Man

    Jun 3, 2018 at 2:00 am

    Yes, it should HAVE been a better round.
    Learn to write English first, man.
    You’re garbage

    • Brian

      Jun 3, 2018 at 6:32 am

      Dude, relax.

      • Greg V

        Jun 3, 2018 at 7:29 am

        No, correct English grammar is important if one holds oneself out as a writer.

        • Brian

          Jun 4, 2018 at 5:39 am

          I understand and agree with this sentiment, but calling him garbage? That’s completely unnecessary.

  5. craig

    Jun 3, 2018 at 1:25 am

    … is Tiger a-comin’ back or is he just an also-ran from now on…?

  6. Ron

    Jun 2, 2018 at 9:35 pm

    Dare I say…maybe it’s time to look at another putter design. Doesn’t hurt to let the Scotty know that it can find it’s way back to the bench again.

  7. The dude

    Jun 2, 2018 at 9:23 pm

    Woulda….coulda….shoulda……

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

I wasn’t ready for the 2019 Rules of Golf

Published

on

We weren’t ready. We thought we were, but we weren’t.

For the last year, the USGA reminded us that in 2019 Rules of Golf were coming, but we didn’t listen. We heard the flag stick could remain in and we heard that you could take a penalty drop from knee-height.

But we didn’t listen.

I bet none of you have even practiced using your putter to flatten the entire green between your ball and the cup. You can do that now.

I’m also sure that you and I will continue to hover our club in all hazards, er, penalty areas. Yeah, we’re calling it a penalty area now.

The USGA went to the extreme depths of changing words all to simplify the game for you.

I don’t think the USGA listened either.

The rule changes were intended to speed up play and simplify golf for amateurs. Seems like a good idea. In turn, they may have bamboozled the PGA Tour while confusing the only amateurs who kind-of, sort-of knew the rules.

The pros didn’t need a new rule book, the amateurs just needed a simple one.

Us “locals” as the USGA refers to amateurs, do have one extremely fluid perk. When hitting a ball OB, or following a lost ball, you can drop with a two-stroke penalty instead of walking back to the tee. This of course, is dependent on your course, head professional, tournament conditions, and other factors including and not limited to what phase the moon is in.

If that’s somewhat confusing, read up, ask about your local rules, and buy a few extra sleeves. Reason being, in 2019, the limit on searching for a golf ball has been cut from five to three minutes.

2019-rules-of-golf

But wait, there’s good news.

Thanks to the USGA, if you accidentally move your ball as you frantically high-step through fescue, it’s no longer a penalty! What an exciting 180 seconds that will be!

If you somehow don’t find your golf ball in the hazard penalty area, the USGA tried to help us out, which they did, yet regrettably took away a more iconic portrait on the golf course.

The rigid, stoic stance and forceful drop of a ball at shoulder-height.

And we let it happen.

Now, we’ll watch a defeated man deliberately bend to his knees and gingerly drop his ball…Which, by the way, appears to be a convenient way for cheaters to “take a drop” that ideally doubles as “identifying my first ball”.

Don’t even get me started on the back issues this could flare up.

We heard in late 2018 that Bryson DeChambeau would use the flagstick when the odds were in his favor. He even laid it out simply for us.

“It depends on the COR, the coefficient of restitution of the flagstick.”

Simple.

We didn’t listen Bryson, we didn’t believe. We also have absolutely no clue what you’re talking about.

But hey, as Bryson would say, don’t hate the player, hate the game. Yeah, he’d clearly never say that, but here’s to hoping!

We heard he would do it, but we didn’t believe it. We had to see to believe. What we saw was DeChambeau first in strokes gained putting in the very first round he was allowed to do it.

Obviously, this trend will continue for DeChambeau, and others may join in, because what is golf if not a constant chase for a marginally better opportunity at success.

Watch your back, because those others that may join in could be closer than you think. You may turn around to find a fellow member asking for the flag on their next 12-footer.

It should be a fun year of commentary and confusion at your local club and on the PGA tour. Professionals will have constant questions for rules officials, and commentators will consistently question Bryson’s methods.

There is one real question I hope is answered this April.

What will we do when Bryson banks in a downhill putt at No. 2 of Augusta?

Will we be ready? Will Augusta?

Your Reaction?
  • 54
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW2
  • LOL10
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB0
  • SHANK44

Continue Reading

News

Stewart Cink pens multi-year deal with Ping

Published

on

Ping Golf has announced that six-time winner on the PGA Tour, Stewart Cink, has signed a multi-year deal with the company.

The deal will see the American play a minimum of 11 Ping clubs, as he looks to end an almost decade long winless streak on the PGA Tour. Cink had previously been an equipment-free agent (having been a Nike man prior to that) although he had been using Ping clubs for the majority of the last season.

Speaking on the addition of Stewart Cink to Team Ping, company president John K. Solheim stated

“Stewart has a long track record of success and overall consistency, evidenced by his wins, top 10s in majors, and the fact that he has competed on five U.S. Ryder Cup teams and in four Presidents Cups.

“He has instant credibility, and we know him well because he has played Ping irons for many years. Our tour staff has been impressed by his professionalism and his knowledge of equipment. We’re delighted to be associated with Stewart.”

Cink will make his first start as a Ping staff player at this week’s Sony Open. According to the company, the 2009 Open Championship winner is expected to have Ping’s G400 LST driver, G400 fairways woods, i25 irons and Sigma 2 Arna putter in the bag this week at Waialae Country Club.

No details of the financial terms of the arrangement have been disclosed.

Your Reaction?
  • 126
  • LEGIT12
  • WOW8
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK13

Continue Reading

Equipment

Charles Howell III’s winning WITB: 2018 RSM Classic

Published

on

Driver: Titleist TS3 (10.5 degrees)
Shaft: Mitsubishi Tensei AV Blue 65

Fairway woods: Titleist TS2 (15, 21 degrees)
Shafts: Fujikura ATMOS Tour Spec Black 8X, Fujikura ATMOS Tour Spec Black 9X

Irons: Titleist 718 T-MB 4-iron, Titleist 718 AP2 (5-7), Titleist 718 CB (8-PW)
Shafts: Project X LZ 6.5 (hard stepped)

Wedges: Vokey SM7 (52, 56, 60 degrees)
Shafts: True Temper Dynamic Gold S400

Putter: TaylorMade Spider Tour Red

Grips: Golf Pride Tour Velvet Align

Ball: Titleist Pro V1 (proto)

SEA ISLAND, GA – NOVEMBER 17: Charles Howell lll tees off on the eighth hole tee box during the third round of The RSM Classic at the Sea Island Resort Seaside Course on November 17, 2018 in Sea Island, Georgia. (Photo by Ben Jared/PGA TOUR)

RELATED: See what members are saying about CH III’s equipment in the forums.

Your Reaction?
  • 447
  • LEGIT33
  • WOW15
  • LOL4
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP1
  • OB3
  • SHANK10

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending