Connect with us

19th Hole

What’s going on with Jordan Spieth’s putting? GolfWRX members discuss.

Published

on

As Shakespeare wrote, “Something is rotten in the Texas wunderkind’s putting stroke.” Maybe it was “Something is rotten in Denmark.” Regardless…

Jordan Spieth is, as we know, not rolling the rock well and is having his worst putting season since turning pro in 2012.

Spieth is currently 192nd in strokes gained: putting. Although, to be fair, he had sporadic difficulties with the flatstick last year when he finished 42nd in the category. From 2014-2016, he wasn’t worse than 20th.

GolfWRX members are keen to discuss what’s going on with Spieth on the green (figures are from before the final tally for the Fort Worth Invitational).

flopshotscott started a thread dedicated to the subject

“Currently, for the 2018 PGA Tour Season, JS is ranked 190th in strokes gained putting, while he is ranked 2nd in Strokes Gained tee-to-green (everywhere else).

“Jordan Spieth is the second best golfer on tour until it gets to the green, yet his best finishes are 3rd at the masters and T3 the week before that.

“As a big Spieth fan, the only part that really bothers me is how he fails to really admit that he has a problem. Is there not a big problem? Will it just go away as he gets amped for the rest of major season? How long do these ruts last, or is this like other cases of the yips that won’t go away?”

Mjen43 points to confidence and variance

“I don’t think he has the yips, as I haven’t seen any evidence of an actual yipped out stroke. He just seems to not be making much and has lost some confidence. At this point I’d just chalk it up to an extended case of variance.”

BNGL says belief is key

“Part of playing at this level is thinking you’re the best no matter what the numbers say. I guarantee if anyone here is noticing. Jordan is more than aware of his decencies.

“Vijay when he went in that tear of a season with 9 wins, told himself he’s the world’s best putter before every putt (even though he isn’t even close). Gotta believe.”

Eagle1997 says let’s tap the brakes

“1/2 a year does not a season make. Let’s revisit the discussion after this year’s Open. I think he’s still playing catch-up after the early season bout with mono.”

Ghostwedge says

“He’s over-thinking this putting thing. Don’t remember him taking this much time with putts when he was draining everything. If i was Greller, i?d take that greens book away from him.”

Of course, as WRXer ibanesto suggested, Spieth could always try this method on the green…

What do you think, GolfWRX members? What’s are you seeing in Spieth’s putting stroke, and what remedy do you suggest (if any)?

Your Reaction?
  • 11
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK2

6 Comments

6 Comments

  1. gunmetal

    May 30, 2018 at 9:34 pm

    Haney says very adamantly that he does have the yips and that he’s witnessed a yip in his wrist countless times last season and obviously this season it’s gotten even worse. The strange thing is that the yips usually only present themselves on short putts and JS hasn’t ever been a very good short putter. Where he dominates is 10-25 feet but he’s just not making any of those this year.

  2. Bob Parson Jr.

    May 30, 2018 at 3:57 pm

    Oh, so the Cameronites are not going to blame the putter? They are quick to give victories to Cameron, specially when the Douche of California is not the one swinging the club. Barf!

  3. Man

    May 29, 2018 at 2:00 am

    Putting is not the problem. His ball striking and proximity to the green in hot situations is what’s putting pressure on having to get up and down more often, is the true problem. He needs to get his hybrid and iron play in order. His putting is the same, if he can just get his GIR up.

  4. Kata dan Cerita

    May 28, 2018 at 6:38 pm

    hopefully he’s always okay,.

  5. Deacon Blues

    May 28, 2018 at 4:17 pm

    Reduce or eliminate the forward press, which hurts the consistency of his stroke (especially on short putts). Phil putts much better these days with a reduced forward press.

  6. Hoople

    May 28, 2018 at 12:21 pm

    If you look at video down the line from the front, Jordon is standing one to two inches further away from the ball then when he putted great. Close the gap and speed and line will get back to normal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

Lexi Thompson violates Rules of Golf at Indy Women in Tech Championship

Published

on

During the third round of the Indy Women in Tech Championship, Lexi Thompson unknowingly ran afoul of the Rules of Golf.

Preferred lies–AKA lift, clean, and place–were in effect at soggy Brickyard Crossing. Thompson hit her drive at the par-5 10th hole wide right. It settled in the sixth fairway. Believing she was allowed to lift and clean any ball in the fairway, Thompson began to do so.

The rule, of course, only applies to balls that settle in one’s own fairway. Fortunately for Thompson, an official saw what was happening and stepped in to administer a penalty.

“Thankfully, Marty [the official] intervened before she hit her next shot,” Golf Channel’s Kay Cockerill reported. “Otherwise, she would have been hitting from the wrong spot, and it would have been a two-shot penalty. So, in a sense, it saved her a shot.”

The LPGA issued this statement.

“While playing the third round of the 2018 Indy Women in Tech Championship, Lexi Thompson incurred a one-stroke penalty for breach of the preferred lies local Rule (Appendix IA Part 3b Course Conditions).”

“The Committee adopted the preferred lies local Rule due to the turf conditions of the golf course after receiving over an inch of rain. The LPGA, under the local Rule, restricts the player from preferring her lie when her ball lies in a closely-mown area of a hole other than the one being played.”

“During the play of hole #10, Thompson’s tee shot came to rest in the fairway of hole #6. As Thompson’s ball lay on the fairway of hole #6, she was not entitled to prefer her lie.”

“She preferred her lie in breach of the local Rule but prior to playing her stroke from a wrong place (Rule 20-7), she was questioned by a Rules official regarding her actions. As she had not played her stroke from the preferred spot, she did not receive the general penalty of two-strokes under the local Rule. However, she did incur a one-stroke penalty under Rule 18-2 for lifting her ball at rest without authority.”

Your Reaction?
  • 98
  • LEGIT38
  • WOW37
  • LOL14
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP8
  • OB9
  • SHANK170

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Joe LaCava, Tiger Woods’ caddie, paid a heckler $25 to leave at the WGC-Bridgestone

Published

on

While Steve Williams would likely have taken a different route, Tiger Woods’ current caddie admitted to bribing a fan to leave his boss alone.

LaCava called into ESPN’s “Golic and Wingo” and told a tale of paying of a heckler at the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational.

LaCava said the man heckled Woods throughout his final round at the Bridgestone, and on the 14th hole, LaCava interceded, telling the man to check out action elsewhere on the course. Interestingly/absurdly, the man said he would be happy to, provided LaCava reimburse him for his ticket.

Here’s the full transcript c/o ESPN.

Mike Golic: “Did you have any issues with the people at Bellerive?”

Joe LaCava: “Not at all, and you hit it right on the head, 99 percent of the guys and women are behind Tiger, pushing for Tiger. They want to see good golf in general they’re not anti-the-other-guys, but they’re certainly rooting for Tiger more so than the other guys. But, funny you guys ask that question. The week before in Akron, I had a little incident with a guy who was harassing my guy on the 14th hole at Akron the last day outside the ropes, roughening him up pretty good. And I said, hey listen bud, why do you gotta go there? Everyone’s having a good time, everyone’s pulling for Tiger. You don’t like the guy that’s one thing, but you don’t to be yelling at my guy, screaming negative stuff like that. And I said at the end of the day, if you affect him, his performance, it effects my bottomline. So he calls me a couple names and I go back and forth with the guy, and I say why don’t you just leave. And he says well if you give me $25 for the ticket that I bought today I’ll leave. And I said here you go, here’s $25.”

Mike: “Did he leave?”

Joe: “So I whip out $25 and he starts to go down the 14th fairway toward the green. I say look pal $25 is $25 you gotta head the other way. So he starts to head the other way, he goes 20 yards down the line, then he calls me a certain other, a swear word. So I run 20 yards back the other way and I’m going face to face with this guy. And all the sudden Tiger’s looking for a yardage, and I’m in it with this guy 20 yards down the line. So some cop has to come in, push this guy outta the way, and take him outta the tournament.

Mike: “So what did Tiger say when you came back to give him the yardage?”

Joe: “Well that’s a great question. We were so far to the right of the trees, and he was on his third shot believe it or not, we were still 150 yards away from the green, and he didn’t really know what happened. He heard the commotion, he heard the guy yelling at him, so we talked about it after the fact, but he didn’t really know how it developed. And he says I was wondering what happened, and he goes normally it wouldn’t that long to get a yardage. I said well a little incident down the road. He didn’t have a problem with it, and actually I gotta standing ovation for kicking the guy outta there.

Security probably should have happened sooner when LaCava was $25 richer.

Your Reaction?
  • 324
  • LEGIT27
  • WOW20
  • LOL13
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP4
  • OB3
  • SHANK20

Continue Reading

19th Hole

A brief cart ride (by his caddie) has big implications for Akshay Bhatia at the U.S. Amateur

Published

on

16-year-old Akshay Bhatia may be looking for a new caddie for his next event. The rising star of amateur golf was penalized when his caddie accepted a ride on a golf cart at the 14th hole during the round of 64 at the U.S. Amateur.

Bhatia would go on to lose to Bradford Tilley.

The match was all square at the 14th. Chris Darnell, Bhatia’s caddie, made a pit stop at the bathroom after Bhatia hit his approach. While the player walked to the green, Darnell was approached by what he believed was a USGA official driving a golf cart.

“The gentleman was wearing a USGA pullover,” Darnell said afterward. “I asked if I could get a ride to the green to keep up pace, and he said yes. So I hopped on the back, got up to the green, hopped off and thought nothing of it.”

Of course, neither players nor caddies can ride on any form of transportation during the round unless authorized, per the Rules of Golf. Bhatia was penalized accordingly and lost the hole after a (real) official spotted the infraction.

Particularly frustrating for the golfer was the fact that he had birdied the par-5 and believed he was going 1 up on his opponent, only to find out they were all square.

As mentioned, Bhatia would go on to lose in 19 holes.

Adding another layer to this drama, Darnell said Tilley’s caddie had done the same thing earlier in the match.

“I had already seen the other caddie in our group do it on the ninth hole,” Darnell said. “Same thing – USGA pullover, drove him from the bathroom up to the fairway – so I assumed it was fine. I didn’t point it out at the time because everything seemed kosher. He had the USGA stuff on, and I didn’t think anything of it.”

What are the chances Tilley or his caddie admit to the infraction now? And who is this mystery idiot who loves the USGA enough to drape himself in their garb but is daft enough to blatantly break a straightforward rule of competition?

Dumb rule? Certainly in this sense. But so many situations exist in amateur play that you can understand why the USGA would level a prohibition on transportation. Still, shouldn’t there be some room for interpretation? It’s difficult to argue Bhatia himself gained any advantage…

What do you think, GolfWRX members?

Your Reaction?
  • 7
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW3
  • LOL3
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP2
  • OB2
  • SHANK67

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending