Connect with us
Advertisement

19th Hole

If GolfWRX sponsored a player on the PGA Tour, who would it be?

Published

on

Here’s an interesting question: In an environment of hat/visor deals being divested from club deals, and more players going without headwear sponsorship than we’ve seen recently, what if GolfWRX sponsored a Tour pro?

LYG, original poster, posed the question

“If all Golfwrx members put in $100 — and we REALLY sponsored someone, who would it be?

“ASSUME we could afford anyone. (That’s a big assumption — please don’t reply how we could not afford this…even though some people will still go down that rat hole).

“Who WOULD YOU WANT?”

As you can tell from his liberal use of all caps: LYG is passionate about the subject, and kudos to him for kicking off an excellent discussion.

Here are a few of the suggestions.

GatorMD says: Jason Dufner

MtlJeff says: “We could easily afford it. You can get your logo on a top 50 player for 50-100k. Henrik Stenson? I’ve never heard a bad thing about him here.”

Night train says: CH III

Duffer987 says: James Hahn

Beluga99 says: I think KJ Choi’s weekly club changes would get my vote as representative of the wider Golfwrx.
Bladehunter says: Now this is a great idea!!!! I vote Harold Varner 100%…. William Mccgirt would be my #2 guy .

And of course, there are plenty of mentions of Tiger Woods scattered throughout.

So, what do you think, GolfWRX members? Who ought to have the honor of wearing the GolfWRX logo on his hat? What master tinkerer and unrepentant club ho? What tryer of techniques and scholar of swing science?

Let us know who you think the man for job ought to be.

My vote: After Jason Dufner paid out of pocket for those National Custom Works irons, he sealed the deal. Let’s get Dufner in this WRX 9FIFTY snapback!

Your Reaction?
  • 27
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

9 Comments

9 Comments

  1. Lawson Glenn

    May 30, 2018 at 9:20 pm

    Ben, why don’t you raise the idea up to the powers at be within Golfwrx about really doing this, sponsoring someone…and “crowdsource” the funds, i.e. from Golfwrx members.

    Lots of interest, close to 5,000 views now.

    Lawson (the original poster of this thread).

  2. Robert

    May 29, 2018 at 8:12 pm

    Sponsor somebody on the Web.com and the Symetra. If they can get from these tours to the PGA and LPGA the sponsors will find them.

    Cheyenne Knight has Symetra Tour status and is leaving Alabama after this school year so how about her.

  3. The dude

    May 28, 2018 at 9:04 pm

    Brett Ogle

  4. Lowongan Kerja

    May 28, 2018 at 6:42 pm

    success is always for players and sponsors also smoothly

  5. PhilDSnuts

    May 28, 2018 at 10:49 am

    It would have to be the longest driver, still plays a 1 iron, uses 6 wedges, no iron covers, a stand bag, triple x shafts with a 102 mph swing speed with aggressive transition. I cant think of any off the top of my head so we’d have to get an actual scratch wrxer

  6. Brian Kawakami

    May 28, 2018 at 10:39 am

    Brooks Koepka

  7. mlecuni

    May 28, 2018 at 3:43 am

    KJ

  8. Johnny Penso

    May 28, 2018 at 12:13 am

    Tim Herron

  9. TexasSnowman

    May 28, 2018 at 12:11 am

    CH III. As I understand it, he is a total golf nerd. Has no other hobbies. Loves Golf.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19th Hole

Hot takes on Phil Mickelson’s Saturday antics continue to fly

Published

on

Yesterday, Phil Mickelson played a bit of field hockey on Shinnecock’s 13th green that continues to be the talk of the golf world… Mickelson didn’t do much to quiet the murmurs with his refusal to talk to the media following his final round and his celebratory antics after a made putt at that hole, Sunday.

Regarding the left-hander’s violation of Rule 14-5, we have a thread that’s 18 pages long and 516 replies deep at the time of this writing. It spans the full spectrum of opinions, from staunch support for Phil to outright condemnation.

A poll among golf WRXers saw 41 percent of responders say Mickelson should have been disqualified. 49 percent said he shouldn’t have. 9 percent said Mickelson should withdraw.

MtlJeff had this take

“Imagine if a young player did it. We’d be ready to euthanize all millennials for their horrible tantrums.”

Ssfranny said

“I have to kinda think Phil just gave a big middle finger to the USGA and pin placements.”

Teetogreen

“Frustrated as he may have been, he’s no better than the field. Everyone has to play the same course. I know Phil’s a fan-favorite, but that was wrong and disgraceful.”

Nessism said

“Pure frustration. I feel sorry for him. A momentary lapse of awareness will now cost him endless scritany for years to come.”

Golfgirlrobin quickly perceived what would be Mickelson’s eventual explanation

“Or maybe brilliant. Ball goes all the way down the green into the fairway and taking the penalty might actually have ended up being the better play.”

HolyMoses said

“Phil said he hit the moving ball intentionally so it wouldn’t get behind the bunker again. If he’s that defiant, he should be DQ’d. That’s cheating, plain and simple.”

Moving from WRXers’ takes to a few from other realms.

On Twitter, Lee Westwood played the devil’s advocate with this slippery slope (appropriately) argument.

“Here’s a scenario…Thoughts everyone??? here you go….. over the back on 15 at Augusta. Chip it too hard, run over before it gets to the water and knock it on the green so you don’t have to hit it again or go the drop zone!”

Writer Alan Bastable introduced the specter of Rule 1-2.

“Meanwhile, just two years after the DJ rules fiasco at Oakmont, the USGA blue coats were left to explain to the world why Mickelson hadn’t been disqualified for such an egregious breach of the rules. Indeed, under Rule 1-2, the Committee could have deemed that Mickelson’s actions gave him “a significant advantage,” and therefore warranted a DQ. “I would have lobbied for disqualification,” former USGA executive director David Fay said on the Fox telecast.”

The portion of Rule 1-2 Bastable referenced states.

“A player is deemed to have committed a serious breach of Rule 1-2 if the Committee considers that the action taken in breach of this Rule has allowed him or another player to gain a significant advantage or has placed another player, other than his partner, at a significant disadvantage.”

Golf Channel’s Randall Mell discussed Mickelson’s communication with Mike Davis late Saturday after some scribes floated the idea that the golfer ought to be disqualified.

“Phil really did want to understand how the rule operates,” Davis said. “Frankly, as he said to me, `Mike, I don’t want to play in this championship if I should have been disqualified.’” Davis said he assured Mickelson that Rule 14-5 was correctly applied, and that a two-stroke penalty is all that was required.”

With respect to the claims that Mickelson ought to withdraw, ESPN’s Ian O’Connor wrote this.

“There was a problem with Lefty’s story — a fairly big one. His playing partner, Andrew “Beef” Johnston, said he told Mickelson, “Sorry, but I can’t help but laugh at that. It’s one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen.” Johnston also had this to say of his exchange with Mickelson: “He said, ‘I don’t know what that is. I don’t know what score that is or what happens now.’ And he started speaking to the rules official. It was one strange moment.”

“The standard-bearer with the group, Connor Buff, a 19-year-old from Smithtown and a student at the University at Albany, said he heard Mickelson tell the rules official, “Whatever I get, I get. Just let me know what it is.”

In other words, according to O’Connor Mickelson was both attempting to gain advantage and, for what it’s worth, lying about his thoughts during the field hockey moment.

And of course, Global Golf Post’s John Hopkins.

Amy Mickelson told Golfweek’s Beth Ann Nichols

“He has been pretty under fire,” she said. “A lot of people have been pretty rough. … . It’s not like we’re in his shoes and understand what he has gone through. You and me, we are looking at it from the outside, sitting in the press room or family dining. … They’re playing sports for a living, but still in the moment it’s a very heavy week, an intense week. A lot happens over the course of 24 hours every day.

Golf Digest’s Joel Beall wrote this about Mickelson’s mock celebration at the 13th, Sunday. He could just as well have written it Mickelson’s explanation and the whole ordeal

“His critics would call it the act of a charlatan. His fans would say he was being an entertainer. Part of the Phil Mickelson Experience is not knowing which is right.”

What do you think, GolfWRX members? Is there more to be said about the matter? Or, with the U.S. Open wrapped up, should be draw the curtain on all this as well? Do any other takes merit mention?

Your Reaction?
  • 6
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW1
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP2
  • OB3
  • SHANK16

Continue Reading

19th Hole

See what today’s stars look like with Corey Pavin’s 1995 mustache. Hilarious!

Published

on

Surely, you’re familiar with Skratch TV’s efforts.

Launched in 2015, the PGA Tour/Bedrocket joint venture was billed as “golf’s first internet video network,” and it has grown into something pretty special in the golf mediaverse.

However, the producers of Adventures in Golf and a buffet of entertaining social media content have truly outdone themselves with the following.

Well played, Skratch. Well played.

Your Reaction?
  • 29
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW2
  • LOL8
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Can you call Shinnecock “Shinny”? GolfWRX members don’t think so.

Published

on

Surely, you’ve seen or heard it in the coverage of this 118th U.S. Open. Shinnecock Hills Golf Club. Most golf fans and producers of content refer to the famed Southampton course Shinnecock Hills Golf Club as “Shinnecock.”

However, some pepper in another name for the track, and it’s a nomenclature that annoys some GolfWRX members more than a stone-cold shank: Shinny.

Youdamantiger writes this regarding “Shinny.”

“For some reason this really gets on my nerves. You see it mostly from the print golf journalists as opposed to the TV guys. I mean, are they too lazy to type out the extra nine letters? Is it to sound hip? At next years Masters are they going to be talking about the extra length added to “Gussie?” Now get off my lawn.”

Get off my lawn, indeed. When you see venom in the forums, you always wonder how it will be received. Will the OP get burned, or will other WRXers join the fire breathing chorus?

In this case, the latter. A sampling of the concurrence with original sentiments.

Ferguson says

“I pointed this out 2 weeks ago when “someone” posted “Shinny” twice in one sentence. In that case, I think he was trying to make it sound as if he was familiar with the club, maybe trying to “give the impression” he had played there.”

AceCatKY says

“Almost as annoying as those calling Baltusrol “Balty” a few years back.”

Bscinstnct draws some parallels

“St. Andrewski

“Pebble Beachinator

“McGusta”

Sharkiesj takes this approach

“I’m goin full on Chevy Chase in Fletch and callin it Shinnycocktoastin.”

And on and on they go, for four pages at this point.

So, what say you front page, WRXers? Does “Shinny” irk you?

Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending