Connect with us

19th Hole

Jeff Golden issues statement on Florida Mid-Am incident

Published

on

Jeff Golden is sharing more details about the events of May 16 at the Florida Mid-Amateur Championship.

If you recall, police were summoned to Coral Creek Club during a rain delay in the Golden-Marc Dull final. Golden alleged Dull’s caddie, Brandon Hibbs, punched him in the face during a parking lot altercation. Dull and Hibbs both deny the incident occurred.

Rather than paraphrase or pull quotes, it seems appropriate to post the majority of Golden’s statement as is, since it’s his attempt to speak for himself and set the record straight.

“When my name was announced on the first tee, my opponent’s caddie immediately asked an off color question. I laughed off the timing of that question, along with many other examples of bad etiquette to come. Alcohol appeared to be influencing his behavior. I’ve never seen an opposing caddie engage in so much conversation with a competitor. On the eighth hole I had become extremely frustrated because I was forced to back off my shot two different times when my opponent and caddie were talking and moving. I expressed my disappointment with their etiquette to the match referee following our group.”

“The ruling that came from the caddie’s comments on the ninth hole started because of a simple question that I posed: “Was that advice?” I thought this was the only way to slow down the caddie, clean up the etiquette and play a gentlemanly match. I felt justified in my decision, especially since my opponent then asked his caddie, “Why did you say that?” The caddie recused himself from the match, but he didn’t leave the property.”

“…I didn’t even get my bag out of my car when the caddie reappeared and said he’d like to apologize. I most likely had a smile on my face, because I was ready to put the past behind us, and he punched me in the face. I was knocked to the ground, and by the time I looked up, he was walking away, to my surprise, toward the clubhouse. The pro shop is a separate building, so that’s where I immediately went for help. The inside of my mouth was bleeding and my face was throbbing. I realized my hand was also hurting –that’s what broke my fall instead of my head.

“The pro shop employee called the police and was extremely helpful, getting me ice and offering any help I needed. The police arrived, and the deputy concluded that there wasn’t enough evidence to justify pressing charges. I gave a recorded sworn statement to the deputy recapping the events.”

“The FSGA has one job, and that’s to follow the Rules of Golf. Unfortunately, there’s no rule for an inebriated “ex-caddie” punching a player in a match-play rain delay with no witnesses.”

“The FSGA gave me one option when the rain stopped. I had to play. My opponent had the option to concede the match and take responsibility for his caddie, but he told me he had nothing to do with what occurred.”

Golden further indicated that he conceded the match because of “physical and emotional distress, pulsing pain in my face, dizziness and cuts on my right hand.” He indicated he was surprised the FSGA didn’t suspend the match.

With respect to that point, it’s probably worth pointing out that FSGA executive director Jim Demick said that Golden “didn’t want to play anymore.”

“Regrettably, the golf course was very playable and Jeff understood that he needed to resume the match. I think he was just ready to go,” adding police “found absolutely no evidence of an assault.”

The FSGA hasn’t provided additional comment or modified that statement.

Your Reaction?
  • 8
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW4
  • LOL11
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK41

4 Comments

4 Comments

  1. Manfaat Kesehatan

    May 28, 2018 at 6:43 pm

    hopefully all in good health and fine..

  2. Johnny Penso

    May 28, 2018 at 12:18 am

    I suspect there’s a lot more to the story than we’re getting here.

  3. Richard Douglas

    May 27, 2018 at 12:10 am

    This seems to be a very credible account. Why else would Golden choose not to continue?

    I’m baffled by law enforcement’s reaction, but those people are pretty stupid as a rule.

    This match should have been suspended. Better yet, Dull should have conceded the match. It seems pretty obvious what his caddie did.

  4. Mike W

    May 25, 2018 at 12:13 pm

    Nothing new under the sun. Ted Ray knocked the daylights out of Wilfred Reid at the U.S. Open between the second and third rounds of the U.S. Open while the latter was leading the field (Reid completely collapsed thereafter), an incident immortalized in the book “The Greatest Game Ever Played”. One can only imagine the huge blow up today in the world of instant media, video of the event, at a restaurant, going viral, the likely suspension of Ray, the whole thing would’ve been blown up into an international scandal. But Ray went on to nearly win it all and later the two patched it up and became good friends.

Leave a Reply

Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

The 6 best #GolfWRX photos on Instagram today (7.19.19)

Published

on

In this segment, we’ll be taking a look at some of the best #GolfWRX tagged photos on Instagram. In case you aren’t already, there’s a whole load of action going on at our page, so follow us: @golfwrx

Let’s get to it then, here are six of the best #GolfWRX photos from the past 24 hours.

A couple of nice shots of Blue Mound Golf & Country Club in Wauwatosa, Wisconsin.

Check out this exotic looking custom made putter from Tyson Lamb.

In case you missed this madness on Thursday.

Some very slick finish work going on from the guys at Olson Putter Co.

View this post on Instagram

Ouhh… shiny… #finishwork

A post shared by O L S O N PUTTER CO (@olsonmfg) on

A giveaway worth checking out from Sugar Skull Golf.

View this post on Instagram

**Instagram British Open Giveaway** __________________________________ It’s time for a British Open giveaway with some major prizes for TWO winners! Here is how it will work: Like this post, make sure you are following us on Instagram, and tag friends in the comments who are NOT CURRENTLY following us and encourage them to follow our Instagram account. On Sunday, July 21st at 9:00 pm Eastern, we will draw a name from all NEW FOLLOWERS only. That new follower will win the British Open limited release cover and SSG microfiber towel pictured on the left. If you were the first one to have tagged that new follower that won, YOU will WIN the British Open cover, microfiber towel AND the set of woods (pictured)!!!! Unlimited entries allowed but be sure your tags aren’t currently followers and that the friends you tag definitely follow us for a chance to win. __________________________________ Best of luck!! __________________________________ #sugarskullgolf #golf #headcover #puttercover #golfcover #accessories #golfaccessories #sugarskull #ireland #2019open #148thopen #britishopen #royal #portrush #uk #pgatour #finalmajor #headcover #limitedrelease #tartan #kilt #golfwrx #royalportrush #britisharmy #giveaway #golfgiveaway #instagramgiveaway #instagramcontest #nopurchasenecessary #goodluck

A post shared by Sugar Skull Golf (@sugarskullgolf) on

Sweet looking ride indeed!

Get hashtagging your golf posts #GolfWRX for your chance to feature in our best of Instagram posts in the future!

Your Reaction?
  • 0
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Erik van Rooyen’s ankle-shy pants caused quite a stir at The Open

Published

on

Erik van Rooyen’s 68 in round two vaulted him up the leaderboard and into contention on Friday morning at Royal Portrush. But while the South African’s golf has been impressive over the opening two days at The Open, it’s van Rooyen’s pants which have got everyone talking.

The 29-year-old’s ankle shy red pants on Friday were such a hot topic that they even dominated the chatter during his post-round media duties. Following his second round, van Rooyen was asked seven questions by the press, and five of those were about his pants.

Speaking on the pants in question, van Rooyen confidently stated after his round

“I like the fact that it’s a little bit different yet still classy at the same time. It’s not out there and whacky with a bunch of flashy colors … If you’re going to wear it, you’ve got to own it. I feel like I’m owning it.”

However, while the South African may feel that way, his trousers received a much more mixed reaction on social media.

What’s your take on Erik van Rooyen’s polarizing pants, WRXers?

Your Reaction?
  • 19
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW1
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK21

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Strong start, then tremendous misfortune: David Duval cards a 13 after playing the wrong ball

Published

on

David Duval suffered a nightmare first round at Royal Portrush on Thursday, and during his opening nine, the 2001 Claret Jug winner recorded the highest score on a single hole at The Open for 69 years.

The 47-year-old came to the par-5 seventh hole having played his previous two holes five-over-par, but that was nothing compared to what Duval was about to experience.

Duval played the wrong ball on the seventh hole, and his entire play on the hole even managed to confuse the official scoreboard. The former Open Champion was initially credited with a triple-bogey eight on the par-5, which was then adjusted to a whopping 15, before being changed to a 13.

As you would expect, Twitter had plenty to say on the octuple bogey.

*Update*

Thursday afternoon, the R&A announced on The Open’s website that Duval’s score had again been adjusted from a 13 to a 14, stating

“The adjustment was made following an error in reviewing his score on the 7th hole. David lost his first two balls from the tee and then played a wrong ball for the third ball played from the tee. On discovering the mistake at the green he had to return to where the wrong ball was played but the correct ball could not be found. Therefore he had to play again from the tee for a fourth time under penalty of stroke and distance. He played six shots in completing the hole with the fourth ball from the tee. He incurred a two-shot penalty for playing the wrong ball but the strokes played with the wrong ball do not count in his score (Rule 6.3c).”

The correction results in Duval’s opening round becoming 91, 20-over-par.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 2
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW9
  • LOL5
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending