Connect with us
Advertisement

19th Hole

Jeff Golden issues statement on Florida Mid-Am incident

Published

on

Jeff Golden is sharing more details about the events of May 16 at the Florida Mid-Amateur Championship.

If you recall, police were summoned to Coral Creek Club during a rain delay in the Golden-Marc Dull final. Golden alleged Dull’s caddie, Brandon Hibbs, punched him in the face during a parking lot altercation. Dull and Hibbs both deny the incident occurred.

Rather than paraphrase or pull quotes, it seems appropriate to post the majority of Golden’s statement as is, since it’s his attempt to speak for himself and set the record straight.

“When my name was announced on the first tee, my opponent’s caddie immediately asked an off color question. I laughed off the timing of that question, along with many other examples of bad etiquette to come. Alcohol appeared to be influencing his behavior. I’ve never seen an opposing caddie engage in so much conversation with a competitor. On the eighth hole I had become extremely frustrated because I was forced to back off my shot two different times when my opponent and caddie were talking and moving. I expressed my disappointment with their etiquette to the match referee following our group.”

“The ruling that came from the caddie’s comments on the ninth hole started because of a simple question that I posed: “Was that advice?” I thought this was the only way to slow down the caddie, clean up the etiquette and play a gentlemanly match. I felt justified in my decision, especially since my opponent then asked his caddie, “Why did you say that?” The caddie recused himself from the match, but he didn’t leave the property.”

“…I didn’t even get my bag out of my car when the caddie reappeared and said he’d like to apologize. I most likely had a smile on my face, because I was ready to put the past behind us, and he punched me in the face. I was knocked to the ground, and by the time I looked up, he was walking away, to my surprise, toward the clubhouse. The pro shop is a separate building, so that’s where I immediately went for help. The inside of my mouth was bleeding and my face was throbbing. I realized my hand was also hurting –that’s what broke my fall instead of my head.

“The pro shop employee called the police and was extremely helpful, getting me ice and offering any help I needed. The police arrived, and the deputy concluded that there wasn’t enough evidence to justify pressing charges. I gave a recorded sworn statement to the deputy recapping the events.”

“The FSGA has one job, and that’s to follow the Rules of Golf. Unfortunately, there’s no rule for an inebriated “ex-caddie” punching a player in a match-play rain delay with no witnesses.”

“The FSGA gave me one option when the rain stopped. I had to play. My opponent had the option to concede the match and take responsibility for his caddie, but he told me he had nothing to do with what occurred.”

Golden further indicated that he conceded the match because of “physical and emotional distress, pulsing pain in my face, dizziness and cuts on my right hand.” He indicated he was surprised the FSGA didn’t suspend the match.

With respect to that point, it’s probably worth pointing out that FSGA executive director Jim Demick said that Golden “didn’t want to play anymore.”

“Regrettably, the golf course was very playable and Jeff understood that he needed to resume the match. I think he was just ready to go,” adding police “found absolutely no evidence of an assault.”

The FSGA hasn’t provided additional comment or modified that statement.

Your Reaction?
  • 8
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW4
  • LOL11
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK41

4 Comments

4 Comments

  1. Manfaat Kesehatan

    May 28, 2018 at 6:43 pm

    hopefully all in good health and fine..

  2. Johnny Penso

    May 28, 2018 at 12:18 am

    I suspect there’s a lot more to the story than we’re getting here.

  3. Richard Douglas

    May 27, 2018 at 12:10 am

    This seems to be a very credible account. Why else would Golden choose not to continue?

    I’m baffled by law enforcement’s reaction, but those people are pretty stupid as a rule.

    This match should have been suspended. Better yet, Dull should have conceded the match. It seems pretty obvious what his caddie did.

  4. Mike W

    May 25, 2018 at 12:13 pm

    Nothing new under the sun. Ted Ray knocked the daylights out of Wilfred Reid at the U.S. Open between the second and third rounds of the U.S. Open while the latter was leading the field (Reid completely collapsed thereafter), an incident immortalized in the book “The Greatest Game Ever Played”. One can only imagine the huge blow up today in the world of instant media, video of the event, at a restaurant, going viral, the likely suspension of Ray, the whole thing would’ve been blown up into an international scandal. But Ray went on to nearly win it all and later the two patched it up and became good friends.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19th Hole

Hot takes on Phil Mickelson’s Saturday antics continue to fly

Published

on

Yesterday, Phil Mickelson played a bit of field hockey on Shinnecock’s 13th green that continues to be the talk of the golf world… Mickelson didn’t do much to quiet the murmurs with his refusal to talk to the media following his final round and his celebratory antics after a made putt at that hole, Sunday.

Regarding the left-hander’s violation of Rule 14-5, we have a thread that’s 18 pages long and 516 replies deep at the time of this writing. It spans the full spectrum of opinions, from staunch support for Phil to outright condemnation.

A poll among golf WRXers saw 41 percent of responders say Mickelson should have been disqualified. 49 percent said he shouldn’t have. 9 percent said Mickelson should withdraw.

MtlJeff had this take

“Imagine if a young player did it. We’d be ready to euthanize all millennials for their horrible tantrums.”

Ssfranny said

“I have to kinda think Phil just gave a big middle finger to the USGA and pin placements.”

Teetogreen

“Frustrated as he may have been, he’s no better than the field. Everyone has to play the same course. I know Phil’s a fan-favorite, but that was wrong and disgraceful.”

Nessism said

“Pure frustration. I feel sorry for him. A momentary lapse of awareness will now cost him endless scritany for years to come.”

Golfgirlrobin quickly perceived what would be Mickelson’s eventual explanation

“Or maybe brilliant. Ball goes all the way down the green into the fairway and taking the penalty might actually have ended up being the better play.”

HolyMoses said

“Phil said he hit the moving ball intentionally so it wouldn’t get behind the bunker again. If he’s that defiant, he should be DQ’d. That’s cheating, plain and simple.”

Moving from WRXers’ takes to a few from other realms.

On Twitter, Lee Westwood played the devil’s advocate with this slippery slope (appropriately) argument.

“Here’s a scenario…Thoughts everyone??? here you go….. over the back on 15 at Augusta. Chip it too hard, run over before it gets to the water and knock it on the green so you don’t have to hit it again or go the drop zone!”

Writer Alan Bastable introduced the specter of Rule 1-2.

“Meanwhile, just two years after the DJ rules fiasco at Oakmont, the USGA blue coats were left to explain to the world why Mickelson hadn’t been disqualified for such an egregious breach of the rules. Indeed, under Rule 1-2, the Committee could have deemed that Mickelson’s actions gave him “a significant advantage,” and therefore warranted a DQ. “I would have lobbied for disqualification,” former USGA executive director David Fay said on the Fox telecast.”

The portion of Rule 1-2 Bastable referenced states.

“A player is deemed to have committed a serious breach of Rule 1-2 if the Committee considers that the action taken in breach of this Rule has allowed him or another player to gain a significant advantage or has placed another player, other than his partner, at a significant disadvantage.”

Golf Channel’s Randall Mell discussed Mickelson’s communication with Mike Davis late Saturday after some scribes floated the idea that the golfer ought to be disqualified.

“Phil really did want to understand how the rule operates,” Davis said. “Frankly, as he said to me, `Mike, I don’t want to play in this championship if I should have been disqualified.’” Davis said he assured Mickelson that Rule 14-5 was correctly applied, and that a two-stroke penalty is all that was required.”

With respect to the claims that Mickelson ought to withdraw, ESPN’s Ian O’Connor wrote this.

“There was a problem with Lefty’s story — a fairly big one. His playing partner, Andrew “Beef” Johnston, said he told Mickelson, “Sorry, but I can’t help but laugh at that. It’s one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen.” Johnston also had this to say of his exchange with Mickelson: “He said, ‘I don’t know what that is. I don’t know what score that is or what happens now.’ And he started speaking to the rules official. It was one strange moment.”

“The standard-bearer with the group, Connor Buff, a 19-year-old from Smithtown and a student at the University at Albany, said he heard Mickelson tell the rules official, “Whatever I get, I get. Just let me know what it is.”

In other words, according to O’Connor Mickelson was both attempting to gain advantage and, for what it’s worth, lying about his thoughts during the field hockey moment.

And of course, Global Golf Post’s John Hopkins.

Amy Mickelson told Golfweek’s Beth Ann Nichols

“He has been pretty under fire,” she said. “A lot of people have been pretty rough. … . It’s not like we’re in his shoes and understand what he has gone through. You and me, we are looking at it from the outside, sitting in the press room or family dining. … They’re playing sports for a living, but still in the moment it’s a very heavy week, an intense week. A lot happens over the course of 24 hours every day.

Golf Digest’s Joel Beall wrote this about Mickelson’s mock celebration at the 13th, Sunday. He could just as well have written it Mickelson’s explanation and the whole ordeal

“His critics would call it the act of a charlatan. His fans would say he was being an entertainer. Part of the Phil Mickelson Experience is not knowing which is right.”

What do you think, GolfWRX members? Is there more to be said about the matter? Or, with the U.S. Open wrapped up, should be draw the curtain on all this as well? Do any other takes merit mention?

Your Reaction?
  • 6
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW1
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP2
  • OB3
  • SHANK16

Continue Reading

19th Hole

See what today’s stars look like with Corey Pavin’s 1995 mustache. Hilarious!

Published

on

Surely, you’re familiar with Skratch TV’s efforts.

Launched in 2015, the PGA Tour/Bedrocket joint venture was billed as “golf’s first internet video network,” and it has grown into something pretty special in the golf mediaverse.

However, the producers of Adventures in Golf and a buffet of entertaining social media content have truly outdone themselves with the following.

Well played, Skratch. Well played.

Your Reaction?
  • 29
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW2
  • LOL8
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Can you call Shinnecock “Shinny”? GolfWRX members don’t think so.

Published

on

Surely, you’ve seen or heard it in the coverage of this 118th U.S. Open. Shinnecock Hills Golf Club. Most golf fans and producers of content refer to the famed Southampton course Shinnecock Hills Golf Club as “Shinnecock.”

However, some pepper in another name for the track, and it’s a nomenclature that annoys some GolfWRX members more than a stone-cold shank: Shinny.

Youdamantiger writes this regarding “Shinny.”

“For some reason this really gets on my nerves. You see it mostly from the print golf journalists as opposed to the TV guys. I mean, are they too lazy to type out the extra nine letters? Is it to sound hip? At next years Masters are they going to be talking about the extra length added to “Gussie?” Now get off my lawn.”

Get off my lawn, indeed. When you see venom in the forums, you always wonder how it will be received. Will the OP get burned, or will other WRXers join the fire breathing chorus?

In this case, the latter. A sampling of the concurrence with original sentiments.

Ferguson says

“I pointed this out 2 weeks ago when “someone” posted “Shinny” twice in one sentence. In that case, I think he was trying to make it sound as if he was familiar with the club, maybe trying to “give the impression” he had played there.”

AceCatKY says

“Almost as annoying as those calling Baltusrol “Balty” a few years back.”

Bscinstnct draws some parallels

“St. Andrewski

“Pebble Beachinator

“McGusta”

Sharkiesj takes this approach

“I’m goin full on Chevy Chase in Fletch and callin it Shinnycocktoastin.”

And on and on they go, for four pages at this point.

So, what say you front page, WRXers? Does “Shinny” irk you?

Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending