Connect with us
Advertisement

19th Hole

Barstool Sports founder shot a 66 (of sorts) at Shinnecock, our Swing Analysis

Published

on

Dave Portnoy, Barstool Sports’ founder, just brought upcoming U.S. Open venue Shinnecock to its knees…kind of.

How did El Pres wind up teeing it up in Southampton? Portnoy wrote about the genesis of the challenge in a characteristic blog post.

“So Riggs and I got in a huge debate a couple weeks ago on Barstool Radio. The question at hand was whether I could win the US Open with unlimited mulligans. For me the answer was a no brainer. Of course I would. That’s not even me bragging. That’s just me knowing what I’m capable of and knowing what unlimited mulligans actually means. I’d 100% birdie every par 3 and then par everything else. That’s -4 a day. Riggs projects the winner at Shinnecock this year will shoot -4 for the entire tournament. The ENTIRE TOURNAMENT. That means I’ll win by roughly 12 strokes. Easy peasy”

“Well apparently the good folks at the USGA caught wind of our argument and have generously offered to let me play Shinnecock on Monday with unlimited mulligans…When I said I’d win with unlimited mulligans I assumed that for the first 2 rounds I’d play from dawn to dusk to achieve my perfect score of -4 per day.”

Was this an insane expectation or something easily achievable? First of all, what do you think Portnoy’s handicap is? 20-25?

Here’s his action

Our Tom Stickney had these remarks after watching the video.

“His shoulders open and tail needs to be stuck out more. Portnoy gets the club rotated a touch too much to the inside and it gets laid off on the way back. An over-the-top transition and a faulty pivot causes the fire-and-fall-back finish.”

Having seen his swing, knowing he had a wheelbarrow’s worth of golf balls and a crew of mulligan retrievers, how do you think El Pres did?

Surely, Barstool will produce video of the round beyond the few cell phone videos on Twitter and Instagram. And if you’d like to see those fragments, check out Portnoy’s Twitter, the Barstool Instagram, and well, the myriad of Barstool-related accounts.

But here’s the bottom line: With an innumerable amount of mulligans, the Barstool founder managed to shoot 66.

Even say he averaged 10 mulligans per shot, shooting four under with, what we’ll label as an “extremely average” swing is impressive. .

Maybe it’s a feat of endurance, determination, and strategy more than it is a great golfing performance, but Portnoy’s performance in Southampton was more than a mere publicity stunt.

And even though we might stereotype the Stoolies as members of the “mashed potatoes” crowd, it’s tough to say the exposure and interaction is bad for the USGA and the U.S. Open.

What do you think, GolfWRX members? Interested? Impressed? Don’t care.

Your Reaction?
  • 77
  • LEGIT9
  • WOW2
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB1
  • SHANK64

10 Comments

10 Comments

  1. Patricknorm

    May 23, 2018 at 7:01 am

    Is this not the exact opposite way to promote golf amongst millenials? Unless I had satellite radio I’d have no idea what Barstool Sports was about. I first heard about this shenanigans on PGA Tour radio yesterday during the drive time broadcast. Talk about making a mockery of a fantastic golf course and further, making a mockery of golf altogether. If he wanted to test his “ mulligan “ concept I’d prefer he do it on a course that doesn’t rank in the top 100 in the world. I know there is a market for this kind of culture ( Barstool Sports), but , seriously I have no respect for this kind of experiment.

    • Teeps

      May 23, 2018 at 7:33 am

      You have no idea what you are talking about. Why does it matter what course he did it on. The argument was (from non dedicated golf fans) with unlimited mulligans anyone could win the US Open (shoot under par in one round.) Dave is a horrible golfer and said he could do it while everyone who knows and understands golf said he could not. The USGA itself offered the opportunity to try this. The point was proven in a big way, He managed to shoot under par while under tournament conditions.

      I consider myself a golf “hardo” and do not see any issue with this. It is a fun thing that allows people that don’t have the ability or the connections to play a course like this connect with it and see what it would take for someone of their skill level to compete on a course of this stature.

      They were welcomed by not only the Course Staff but the USGA itself so you are in the minority here. Either except the new age of golf and where it is going or golf will be dead in the near future.

  2. peedeecue

    May 22, 2018 at 2:40 pm

    That swing is worth about as much as his website.

  3. TheCityGame

    May 22, 2018 at 11:58 am

    This doesn’t make sense. He had unlimited mulligans only on tee shots? Or every shot?

    If it was only tee shots, then I don’t know how he shot 66. So, he has a ball out there 225(?) on every tee shot? No way he shoots 66.

    On the other hand, if it was every shot and every putt, 66 seems too high. Anyone who can contact a ball should be able to shoot 60 before sunset.

    • 3puttPar

      May 22, 2018 at 12:03 pm

      I agree, he should have shot closer to 60.

      I’d like to see what he shot, from the tips, no mulligans, 150?

    • Teeps

      May 22, 2018 at 1:29 pm

      It was media day, it was a shotgun start, they had a group behind them all day. USGA said they would give him 5 hours and 15 mins to finish, but they actually told him he had to leave a green before he could make the birdie because there was a group waiting on the tee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19th Hole

Hot takes on Phil Mickelson’s Saturday antics continue to fly

Published

on

Yesterday, Phil Mickelson played a bit of field hockey on Shinnecock’s 13th green that continues to be the talk of the golf world… Mickelson didn’t do much to quiet the murmurs with his refusal to talk to the media following his final round and his celebratory antics after a made putt at that hole, Sunday.

Regarding the left-hander’s violation of Rule 14-5, we have a thread that’s 18 pages long and 516 replies deep at the time of this writing. It spans the full spectrum of opinions, from staunch support for Phil to outright condemnation.

A poll among golf WRXers saw 41 percent of responders say Mickelson should have been disqualified. 49 percent said he shouldn’t have. 9 percent said Mickelson should withdraw.

MtlJeff had this take

“Imagine if a young player did it. We’d be ready to euthanize all millennials for their horrible tantrums.”

Ssfranny said

“I have to kinda think Phil just gave a big middle finger to the USGA and pin placements.”

Teetogreen

“Frustrated as he may have been, he’s no better than the field. Everyone has to play the same course. I know Phil’s a fan-favorite, but that was wrong and disgraceful.”

Nessism said

“Pure frustration. I feel sorry for him. A momentary lapse of awareness will now cost him endless scritany for years to come.”

Golfgirlrobin quickly perceived what would be Mickelson’s eventual explanation

“Or maybe brilliant. Ball goes all the way down the green into the fairway and taking the penalty might actually have ended up being the better play.”

HolyMoses said

“Phil said he hit the moving ball intentionally so it wouldn’t get behind the bunker again. If he’s that defiant, he should be DQ’d. That’s cheating, plain and simple.”

Moving from WRXers’ takes to a few from other realms.

On Twitter, Lee Westwood played the devil’s advocate with this slippery slope (appropriately) argument.

“Here’s a scenario…Thoughts everyone??? here you go….. over the back on 15 at Augusta. Chip it too hard, run over before it gets to the water and knock it on the green so you don’t have to hit it again or go the drop zone!”

Writer Alan Bastable introduced the specter of Rule 1-2.

“Meanwhile, just two years after the DJ rules fiasco at Oakmont, the USGA blue coats were left to explain to the world why Mickelson hadn’t been disqualified for such an egregious breach of the rules. Indeed, under Rule 1-2, the Committee could have deemed that Mickelson’s actions gave him “a significant advantage,” and therefore warranted a DQ. “I would have lobbied for disqualification,” former USGA executive director David Fay said on the Fox telecast.”

The portion of Rule 1-2 Bastable referenced states.

“A player is deemed to have committed a serious breach of Rule 1-2 if the Committee considers that the action taken in breach of this Rule has allowed him or another player to gain a significant advantage or has placed another player, other than his partner, at a significant disadvantage.”

Golf Channel’s Randall Mell discussed Mickelson’s communication with Mike Davis late Saturday after some scribes floated the idea that the golfer ought to be disqualified.

“Phil really did want to understand how the rule operates,” Davis said. “Frankly, as he said to me, `Mike, I don’t want to play in this championship if I should have been disqualified.’” Davis said he assured Mickelson that Rule 14-5 was correctly applied, and that a two-stroke penalty is all that was required.”

With respect to the claims that Mickelson ought to withdraw, ESPN’s Ian O’Connor wrote this.

“There was a problem with Lefty’s story — a fairly big one. His playing partner, Andrew “Beef” Johnston, said he told Mickelson, “Sorry, but I can’t help but laugh at that. It’s one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen.” Johnston also had this to say of his exchange with Mickelson: “He said, ‘I don’t know what that is. I don’t know what score that is or what happens now.’ And he started speaking to the rules official. It was one strange moment.”

“The standard-bearer with the group, Connor Buff, a 19-year-old from Smithtown and a student at the University at Albany, said he heard Mickelson tell the rules official, “Whatever I get, I get. Just let me know what it is.”

In other words, according to O’Connor Mickelson was both attempting to gain advantage and, for what it’s worth, lying about his thoughts during the field hockey moment.

And of course, Global Golf Post’s John Hopkins.

Amy Mickelson told Golfweek’s Beth Ann Nichols

“He has been pretty under fire,” she said. “A lot of people have been pretty rough. … . It’s not like we’re in his shoes and understand what he has gone through. You and me, we are looking at it from the outside, sitting in the press room or family dining. … They’re playing sports for a living, but still in the moment it’s a very heavy week, an intense week. A lot happens over the course of 24 hours every day.

Golf Digest’s Joel Beall wrote this about Mickelson’s mock celebration at the 13th, Sunday. He could just as well have written it Mickelson’s explanation and the whole ordeal

“His critics would call it the act of a charlatan. His fans would say he was being an entertainer. Part of the Phil Mickelson Experience is not knowing which is right.”

What do you think, GolfWRX members? Is there more to be said about the matter? Or, with the U.S. Open wrapped up, should be draw the curtain on all this as well? Do any other takes merit mention?

Your Reaction?
  • 6
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW1
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP2
  • OB3
  • SHANK16

Continue Reading

19th Hole

See what today’s stars look like with Corey Pavin’s 1995 mustache. Hilarious!

Published

on

Surely, you’re familiar with Skratch TV’s efforts.

Launched in 2015, the PGA Tour/Bedrocket joint venture was billed as “golf’s first internet video network,” and it has grown into something pretty special in the golf mediaverse.

However, the producers of Adventures in Golf and a buffet of entertaining social media content have truly outdone themselves with the following.

Well played, Skratch. Well played.

Your Reaction?
  • 29
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW2
  • LOL8
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Can you call Shinnecock “Shinny”? GolfWRX members don’t think so.

Published

on

Surely, you’ve seen or heard it in the coverage of this 118th U.S. Open. Shinnecock Hills Golf Club. Most golf fans and producers of content refer to the famed Southampton course Shinnecock Hills Golf Club as “Shinnecock.”

However, some pepper in another name for the track, and it’s a nomenclature that annoys some GolfWRX members more than a stone-cold shank: Shinny.

Youdamantiger writes this regarding “Shinny.”

“For some reason this really gets on my nerves. You see it mostly from the print golf journalists as opposed to the TV guys. I mean, are they too lazy to type out the extra nine letters? Is it to sound hip? At next years Masters are they going to be talking about the extra length added to “Gussie?” Now get off my lawn.”

Get off my lawn, indeed. When you see venom in the forums, you always wonder how it will be received. Will the OP get burned, or will other WRXers join the fire breathing chorus?

In this case, the latter. A sampling of the concurrence with original sentiments.

Ferguson says

“I pointed this out 2 weeks ago when “someone” posted “Shinny” twice in one sentence. In that case, I think he was trying to make it sound as if he was familiar with the club, maybe trying to “give the impression” he had played there.”

AceCatKY says

“Almost as annoying as those calling Baltusrol “Balty” a few years back.”

Bscinstnct draws some parallels

“St. Andrewski

“Pebble Beachinator

“McGusta”

Sharkiesj takes this approach

“I’m goin full on Chevy Chase in Fletch and callin it Shinnycocktoastin.”

And on and on they go, for four pages at this point.

So, what say you front page, WRXers? Does “Shinny” irk you?

Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending