Connect with us

19th Hole

Bryson DeChambeau went full Golf Scientist in professing his love for “The Golfing Machine”

Published

on

Published more than 30 years ago, Homer Kelley’s “The Golfing Machine” remains a golf swing bible for some, far too esoteric for others, and a weapon of mass destruction for others still.

Bryson DeChambeau, as we know, is firmly in camp No. 1. The former SMU physics major was always a fertile ground for Kelley’s scientific, geometric prose.

PGATour.com’s resident equipment writer, Jonathan Wall, spotted this DeChambeauian gem from a recent press conference in which some unidentified scribe served the Golf Scientist a heaping portion of red meat…or should we say, cake.

May he never change! While we at GolfWRX have been down with DeChambeau since the days of his single length Edel irons, even if you aren’t a fan, how can you not find the man entertaining?

Your Reaction?
  • 47
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP5
  • OB3
  • SHANK17

14 Comments

14 Comments

  1. rex235

    May 23, 2018 at 1:06 pm

    40 years after Bobby Clampett professed his love of TGM-

    It’s still how many…

    Works for DeChambeau…

    • steve

      May 23, 2018 at 1:40 pm

      TGM is a total fraud…. and Bryson is totally confused …. sooo obvious

  2. Steve Wozeniak

    May 22, 2018 at 9:01 pm

    Just think how good this guy would be if he understood the golf swing…….

  3. 8thehardway

    May 22, 2018 at 6:45 pm

    Got “The Golfing Machine” four years ago – so poorly edited it was unreadable and I was angry someone had the nerve to republish it. That said, good for Bryson carving out his own path.

    • steve

      May 23, 2018 at 1:38 pm

      Homer Kelley’s TGM is the sign of a disturbed mind… a low level mind that fraudulently claims to be ‘scientific’. Homer was incompetent scientifically but gullible golfers want to believe the secret is in TGM because “.. it’s so complicated..”. So pa thetic…

  4. steve

    May 22, 2018 at 4:21 pm

    Homer worked as a lowly clerk at Boeing, If TGM was an instruction manual for an aircraft, it would crash on takeoff! The GSED (Golf Stroke Engineer Doctor) instructors cannot explain Chapter 2 which has all of Homer’s “scientific” confusion. “Doctorate” degree instructors must be able to explain everything and not say it’s too complicated. It’a a scam.

  5. Brooklyn Golf

    May 22, 2018 at 8:39 am

    Love how peculiar Bryson is but in all honesty, nobody is using this “single/one plane” swing on Tour except him and Bryson does not win on Tour either… so the public has difficulties to follow or support him in my humble opinion…

    • JM

      May 22, 2018 at 9:28 am

      He has already won…

    • Johnny Penso

      May 22, 2018 at 7:43 pm

      12th on tour in strokes gained tee to green. Not even June and he’s put $2.5mill in the bank. SP swing works for him, how does your swing work for you?

  6. ZQ

    May 21, 2018 at 10:57 pm

    Lol that’s why he falls apart when his golf machine swing isn’t working. Cant adapt or make changes on the fly and just get it around. Too reliant on all this GM stuff

    • Johnny Penso

      May 22, 2018 at 7:46 pm

      Which golfer doesn’t fall apart when his swing isn’t working? Ever read Jack Nicklaus’s “My Story”? He mentions several times in his career he’s lost his swing or certain aspects to his game. It happens to the best I’m not sure why Bryson should be an exception.

  7. steve

    May 21, 2018 at 10:29 pm

    Bryson is not a SMU graduaate with a Physics degree, If had he would have concluded that Homer’s TGM is not based on scientific physics. In fact TGM is trash written by somebody who worked at Boeing as a drafting room librarian. Homer was not an engineer and TGM has an error on every page.

    • steve

      May 21, 2018 at 10:32 pm

      Furthermore, Bryson’s single length/lie clubs and his palm grip contradicts Homer’s TGM. So why is he panning failing TGM?

  8. CG

    May 21, 2018 at 7:45 pm

    I’m a big fan of Bryson DeChambeau. He’s doing it his way.

Leave a Reply

Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

The 6 best #GolfWRX photos on Instagram today (10.15.19)

Published

on

In this segment, we’ll be taking a look at some of the best #GolfWRX tagged photos on Instagram. In case you aren’t already, there’s a whole load of action going on at our page, so follow us: @golfwrx

Let’s get to it then, here are six of the best #GolfWRX photos from the past 24 hours.

Dropping this Wednesday from Sugar Skull Golf.

Behind the scenes with Cushman Custom Golf.

Yutaka Kawanami showcasing Fuji Course, Kawana Hotel Golf Course in Japan.

New from Wilson Golf.

View this post on Instagram

A new classic.

A post shared by Wilson Golf (@wilsongolf) on

“Sprinkle, Sprinkle” from Tyson Lamb.

View this post on Instagram

Sprinkle sprinkle #LambCrafted

A post shared by Tyson Lamb (@tyson_lamb) on

New creation from National Custom Works.

View this post on Instagram

Working on the night moves

A post shared by National Custom Works (@nationalcustom) on

Get hashtagging your golf posts #GolfWRX for your chance to feature in our best of Instagram posts in the future!

Your Reaction?
  • 2
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Back: Tiger Woods’ first-ever memoir coming to retail

Published

on

Tiger Woods’ memoir, “Back,” will be coming to worldwide retail after HarperCollins Publishers today announced that they had acquired the rights to the book.

“Back” will be the first-ever memoir authored by Tiger Woods, and according to a statement published on the 15-time-major champion’s website, the memoir is “a candid and intimate narrative of an outsize American life.”

The first and only account directly from Woods, with the full cooperation of his friends, family, and inner circle, “Back” covers Woods’ life from his growing up a celebrated golf prodigy through to his stunning 2019 Masters victory.

Speaking on the upcoming release of his memoir, Woods stated

 “I’ve been in the spotlight for a long time, and because of that, there have been books and articles and TV shows about me, most filled with errors, speculative and wrong. This book is my definitive story. 

“It’s in my words and expresses my thoughts. It describes how I feel and what’s happened in my life. I’ve been working at it steadily, and I’m looking forward to continuing the process and creating a book that people will want to read.”

President and Publisher of HarperOne Group, Judith Curr, had this to say on acquiring the publishing rights to “Back”

“We are thrilled and proud to work with Tiger on what I believe will be the publishing event of the decade. Tiger will reclaim his own story and legacy and it’s a story for the world over.”

Your Reaction?
  • 19
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Jesper Parnevik handed a two-stroke penalty at the SAS Championship for NOT taking a mulligan

Published

on

At the SAS Championship on Sunday, Jesper Parnevik was handed a two-stroke penalty when he didn’t take a mulligan.

The incident occurred on the third hole of Parnevik’s final round, where according to Reuters, the Swede horseshoed a short bogey putt which came back and struck his foot. The veteran then tapped in for what he thought was a double-bogey, unaware that because the ball had accidentally struck him, he was required to take a mulligan. 

Speaking to Reuters, rules official, Brian Claar said

“When a ball on the putting green accidentally hits any person, animal or immovable obstruction, this stroke does not count and the ball must be replaced on its original spot.

Jesper tapped it in. In that situation he’s played from the wrong place. Unfortunately he gets a two-stroke penalty for playing from the wrong place, and the one where he tapped in counts but the original stroke does not count.”

If the situation sounds perplexing to you, then you aren’t alone.

According to Claar, when he called the USGA for assistance, the governing body asked him “Did that really happen out there?”, before adding that they had never heard of an incident like it occurring before in tournament play. 

Here is the rule which undid Parnevik explained:

Rule 11.1.b, Exception 2:

When Ball Played from Putting Green Accidentally Hits Any Person, Animal or Movable Obstruction (Including Another Ball in Motion) on Putting Green: The stroke does not count and the original ball or another ball must be replaced on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated).

Parnevik ended up making a triple-bogey on the hole and finished the event in a tie for 68th place.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 15
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW3
  • LOL4
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB3
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending