Connect with us

19th Hole

WATCH/LOOK AWAY: Jordan Spieth misses a 15-inch putt

Published

on

Aren’t you glad there isn’t video of all the 15-inch putts you’ve missed? I certainly am.

Unfortunately for Jordan Spieth, his failed attempt from little more than a foot at the Byron Nelson was captured on video, and it will exist on the internet for all eternity.

Spieth, who has struggled with the flatstick lately, stood over a short par putt at the par-4 15th hole, and well…

Spieth is currently 183rd on the PGA Tour this season in strokes gained: putting, losing .412 strokes per round to the field on the greens.

But at least he hit the hole, right?

Here’s the offending weapon: Spieth’s trusty Scotty Cameron 009.

Your Reaction?
  • 1
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW5
  • LOL7
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK8

11 Comments

11 Comments

  1. TeeBone

    May 20, 2018 at 12:04 pm

    15 inches? People are always way under when guessing the length of a putt. Its almost impossible to miss from 15 inches. That was 2 feet. Miss-able. If the average hack actually putted those out, instead of conceding them to themselves, they’d miss about 20% of the time.

    • Boyo

      May 21, 2018 at 12:16 pm

      I play in matches three times a week at my home course. Everything is putted in. You would not believe the putts that are missed. That’s good, that’s good. NOT.

  2. Richard

    May 19, 2018 at 10:00 pm

    This is hilarious. I watched it about 20 times. How about all the whingers trying to blame Jimmy Walker for Spieth just flat out missing. His whole body is moving away from the hole even before it misses. He’s in all sorts.

  3. The dude

    May 18, 2018 at 7:07 pm

    So far….these comments scream…”I know very little about golf”…..

  4. Peter

    May 18, 2018 at 4:41 pm

    Looks exactly like a Karsten Anser knockoff… without that ping magic… 😮

    • Gorden

      May 19, 2018 at 12:03 am

      as almost every company has one…easier to copy then to come up with something new. Ping eye 2 irons, has there really been anything better, every year they come out with new irons (even Ping) that just add a different color piece of plastic here and there…or tell us how the face flexes to get more distance…funny I do believe if you check the lofts in current irons you will really find the distance difference…I know my current 9 iron has the same loft as my 10 year old 8 iron…

  5. Matt

    May 18, 2018 at 4:25 pm

    No wonder he missed…look at how close faced that thing is in the first picture.

  6. Johnny Penso

    May 18, 2018 at 2:46 pm

    Jordan should be calling the Tommy Armour folks for a new putter.

  7. 4Right

    May 18, 2018 at 2:41 pm

    Yeah blame the putter! Hilarious! It’s never the arrow, it’s always the indian.

  8. rig14port

    May 18, 2018 at 2:28 pm

    time to try a different Flatstick i think. He should be able to get Scotty to weld up a Plumbers Neck Fastback for a little more forgiveness.

Leave a Reply

Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

The 6 best #GolfWRX photos on Instagram today (10.15.19)

Published

on

In this segment, we’ll be taking a look at some of the best #GolfWRX tagged photos on Instagram. In case you aren’t already, there’s a whole load of action going on at our page, so follow us: @golfwrx

Let’s get to it then, here are six of the best #GolfWRX photos from the past 24 hours.

Dropping this Wednesday from Sugar Skull Golf.

Behind the scenes with Cushman Custom Golf.

Yutaka Kawanami showcasing Fuji Course, Kawana Hotel Golf Course in Japan.

New from Wilson Golf.

View this post on Instagram

A new classic.

A post shared by Wilson Golf (@wilsongolf) on

“Sprinkle, Sprinkle” from Tyson Lamb.

View this post on Instagram

Sprinkle sprinkle #LambCrafted

A post shared by Tyson Lamb (@tyson_lamb) on

New creation from National Custom Works.

View this post on Instagram

Working on the night moves

A post shared by National Custom Works (@nationalcustom) on

Get hashtagging your golf posts #GolfWRX for your chance to feature in our best of Instagram posts in the future!

Your Reaction?
  • 2
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK5

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Back: Tiger Woods’ first-ever memoir coming to retail

Published

on

Tiger Woods’ memoir, “Back,” will be coming to worldwide retail after HarperCollins Publishers today announced that they had acquired the rights to the book.

“Back” will be the first-ever memoir authored by Tiger Woods, and according to a statement published on the 15-time-major champion’s website, the memoir is “a candid and intimate narrative of an outsize American life.”

The first and only account directly from Woods, with the full cooperation of his friends, family, and inner circle, “Back” covers Woods’ life from his growing up a celebrated golf prodigy through to his stunning 2019 Masters victory.

Speaking on the upcoming release of his memoir, Woods stated

 “I’ve been in the spotlight for a long time, and because of that, there have been books and articles and TV shows about me, most filled with errors, speculative and wrong. This book is my definitive story. 

“It’s in my words and expresses my thoughts. It describes how I feel and what’s happened in my life. I’ve been working at it steadily, and I’m looking forward to continuing the process and creating a book that people will want to read.”

President and Publisher of HarperOne Group, Judith Curr, had this to say on acquiring the publishing rights to “Back”

“We are thrilled and proud to work with Tiger on what I believe will be the publishing event of the decade. Tiger will reclaim his own story and legacy and it’s a story for the world over.”

Your Reaction?
  • 20
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Jesper Parnevik handed a two-stroke penalty at the SAS Championship for NOT taking a mulligan

Published

on

At the SAS Championship on Sunday, Jesper Parnevik was handed a two-stroke penalty when he didn’t take a mulligan.

The incident occurred on the third hole of Parnevik’s final round, where according to Reuters, the Swede horseshoed a short bogey putt which came back and struck his foot. The veteran then tapped in for what he thought was a double-bogey, unaware that because the ball had accidentally struck him, he was required to take a mulligan. 

Speaking to Reuters, rules official, Brian Claar said

“When a ball on the putting green accidentally hits any person, animal or immovable obstruction, this stroke does not count and the ball must be replaced on its original spot.

Jesper tapped it in. In that situation he’s played from the wrong place. Unfortunately he gets a two-stroke penalty for playing from the wrong place, and the one where he tapped in counts but the original stroke does not count.”

If the situation sounds perplexing to you, then you aren’t alone.

According to Claar, when he called the USGA for assistance, the governing body asked him “Did that really happen out there?”, before adding that they had never heard of an incident like it occurring before in tournament play. 

Here is the rule which undid Parnevik explained:

Rule 11.1.b, Exception 2:

When Ball Played from Putting Green Accidentally Hits Any Person, Animal or Movable Obstruction (Including Another Ball in Motion) on Putting Green: The stroke does not count and the original ball or another ball must be replaced on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated).

Parnevik ended up making a triple-bogey on the hole and finished the event in a tie for 68th place.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 16
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW4
  • LOL4
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB3
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending