Connect with us

19th Hole

Deja vu: Video review leads to a rules violation on the LPGA Tour

Published

on

While it didn’t cost her the tournament (poor final-round play did that), Nicole Broch Larsen incurred the wrath of video review at the Volunteers of America Texas Classic.

Broch Larsen was six under during her Saturday effort amid the weather-decimated tournament. Video review revealed she caused her ball to move at her second-to-last hole of the day.

Unwelcome stuff for Broch Larsen, yes, but making matters worse: an on-course rules official told her there was no infraction. She played on accordingly, and was retroactively hit with a one-stroke penalty. However, as she was following the guidance of a rules official, the LPGA didn’t assess an additional penalty stroke for playing a ball out of position.

You can see the incident in the Golf Channel video below.

The violation of Rule 18-2 is pretty clear, as it’s the act of Broch Larsen addressing the ball that caused it to move, rather than an outside agency. That said, it’s another curious case. To so-called “Lexi Thompson Rule” isn’t in effect, as the movement of the ball was readily apparent to the naked eye.

The tournament was a near washout, adding another layer of oddity to this incident. No golf was played Thursday. Friday’s round got started eight hours late, and the tournament was reduced to 36 holes.

Broch Larsen finished tied for 12th, six strokes behind winner Sung Hyun Park (-11).

Do you think Broch Larsen knew she’d committed a violation, but wasn’t aware she could still be penalized despite what the rules official said? Do you think she was genuinely unsure and trusted the opinion of the official? How did the official get it so wrong? What say you, GolfWRX members?

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW3
  • LOL0
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP7
  • OB2
  • SHANK25

10 Comments

10 Comments

  1. Todd Dugan

    May 8, 2018 at 2:41 pm

    Its pure speculation here as to what the conversation was between the player and rules official. Almost certainly, the video footage revealed a reality different than what the player reported. Having said that, the old rule was simple; if you grounded your club, you were DEEMED to have caused the ball to move. Now, maybe you did, maybe you didn’t. Who knows? Finally, there should be NO PENALTY at all for a ball at rest moved.

  2. One Day At A Time

    May 8, 2018 at 1:27 am

    I just want to point out how much perspective shift there would have been if she had called a penalty on herself without a rules official. It’s a bad rule, her intent was clear, but she had an opportunity to highlight those things, and, let’s be honest- did she really need an interpretation of the rule? No.

  3. Law Prof

    May 8, 2018 at 12:44 am

    I don’t think it was a fait accompli that she caused the ball to move. One can address a ball on a hillside and that ball may be about to move at any moment and then it moves completely incidental to addressing it. It wasn’t obvious to me, just jumping right out, that she’d touched the ball. I don’t know, but that’s a tough call.

    • Law Prof

      May 8, 2018 at 12:50 am

      …and yes, I understand she didn’t have to touch the ball to be penalized, but nonetheless, it wasn’t obvious to me that her address of the ball caused it to move. A judgment call. Which should be properly made by the official on the scene, not second-guessed after the fact. And again, at best it’s guesswork, an opinion. Probably she caused the ball to move, but only God knows, and it’s anything but certain.

  4. MacAllan

    May 7, 2018 at 11:01 pm

    Looks like LPGA has become more a video game then a live sport.

  5. Jon

    May 7, 2018 at 9:03 pm

    On that premise, If a rules official gets it wrong does she not get her stroke back later?

  6. Fyearoldgolfer

    May 7, 2018 at 6:31 pm

    Video won’t play, just audio

  7. Wiger Toods

    May 7, 2018 at 5:51 pm

    Hey ref, is that a foul?

    No.

    *game ends*

    Let’s go back and take free throws…

  8. Caroline

    May 7, 2018 at 4:33 pm

    You can bet the 10 or 20 spectators at that LPGA event did not see anything….If rules officials do not mean anything why have them…once a rule official says strike or ball it should be over…this action is just one more reason the LPGA is hurting…

  9. Jack

    May 7, 2018 at 4:19 pm

    Total BS. If the rules official deems it wasn’t an infraction, that is the end of it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

The 7 best #GolfWRX photos on Instagram today: 9/20/18

Published

on

If you’re on Instagram, you’re hopefully aware that we are ‘gramming it up as well (@golfwrx). And if you’re not following us, well, that hurts our feelings more than a three-putt bogey.

Even if you do follow WRX on Instagram, however, you may not be aware that an abundance of equipment enthusiasts are hashtagging their photos #GolfWRX. We feel it’s only right to feature the best of the WRX-tagged imagery here.

And if you’re not on Instagram, well there’s no way you could see these photos, so think of this series as a handy filter for the best #GolfWRX photos from the past 24 hours.

Aiken Golf Club, looks like y’all are good to go. All bag room and cart barn photos are 100% WRX approved.

Some puttorial handiwork from Bradley Putters, here. Acrylic + wood = nastiness.

A post that will only resonate with golfers of a certain age…

View this post on Instagram

When golf balls were golf balls….

A post shared by NCW Fine Furniture Department (@ncwfinefurniture) on

Do lambs travel in a herd? (Technically correct, according to Google)

Lovely Lincoln ball makers, indeed. Nice work here from CNC Creations.

The expected singular ferrule work from Boyd Blade & Ferrule. Very nice.

View this post on Instagram

1958

A post shared by Boyd Blade & Ferrule Co (@bbandfco) on

Lovely Red Bird & Avian wand.

View this post on Instagram

Heat-stained, Stamped & Fitted. ??

A post shared by RedBird & Avian Custom Clubs (@redbird.avian) on

If you’re on Instagram, remember to hashtag your photos #GolfWRX. And if you’re not on Instagram, well, don’t.

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

19th Hole

ICYMI: The incredible story of a golf course artist freed from jail

Published

on

Since Max Adler of Golf Digest profiled convicted killer and golf artist Valentino Dixon in 2012, the Attica inmate has been on much of the golf audience’s collective radar.

It wasn’t just that Dixon, who never so much stepped onto a golf course in his life, dedicated himself to putting beautiful golf landscapes on paper, but rather, many, including Adler, believed he was wrongfully convicted. Jimmy Roberts, too, profiled Dixon, albeit in video form, and was of the same mind.

Adler and Roberts both played a small part in what happened this week, as the publicity generated by their work alerted wrongful conviction advocates to Dixon’s case: Dixon’s murder conviction was vacated.

It’s an incredible story of both justice served (albeit woefully late), and a surprising passion. If you’re unfamiliar with Dixon’s work, you can see some of it in this YouTube video by tinad426, presumably featuring the photos of his drawings taken by Golf Digest. (Many outlets refer to Dixon’s art as “paintings.” This is incorrect as his medium in colored pencil: he wasn’t allowed to use paint and paintbrushes)

“The guys [in prison] can’t understand,” Dixon said. “They always say I don’t need to be drawing this golf stuff. I know it makes no sense, but for some reason my spirit is attuned to this game.”

A quick recap of the case: Dixon had been serving a minimum 38-year-to-life sentence since August, 1991, for the shooting of 17-year-old Torriano Jackson, allegedly following an argument about a girl.

While Dixon admitted he was at the crime scene, he claimed was in a nearby liquor store at the time of the killing. Georgetown University’s Prisons and Justice Initiative found that a gunpowder test on Dixon’s clothes had come back negative and the prosecution failed to share the information with the defence.

Additionally, Lamarr Scott told local media he was in fact the shooter, and has maintained that he, not Dixon, was guilty in the years since.

He was never arrested for the crime. However, Scott, in jail for a separate crime, was given the opportunity to formally confess to the crime this week. He did so, and Dixon was exonerated hours later.

“Maybe he’ll even take up golf,” Golf Digest’s Max Adler quoted his subject of six years ago as saying.

Let’s hope he does.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 8
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

19th Hole

The 7 best #GolfWRX photos on Instagram today

Published

on

If you’re on Instagram, you’re hopefully aware that we are ‘gramming it up as well (@golfwrx). And if you’re not following us, well, that hurts our feelings more than a three-putt bogey.

Even if you do follow WRX on Instagram, however, you may not be aware that an abundance of equipment enthusiasts are hashtagging their photos #GolfWRX. We feel it’s only right to feature the best of the WRX-tagged imagery here.

And if you’re not on Instagram, well there’s no way you could see these photos, so think of this series as a handy filter for the best #GolfWRX photos from the past 24 hours.

The folks at Dormie Workshop continue to outdo themselves. It’s ubearable.

The Peoples Clubs with a sick set of NCW blades they just built.

Heckuva an action by one of Jimmy Hutchings’ young pupils.

Kraken Golf is working on a deathly cool project.

Michael Martinez with a savage mock-up of some Ryder Cup Jordans

About right…

We think so too, Kevin.

If you’re on Instagram, remember to hashtag your photos #GolfWRX. And if you’re not on Instagram, well, don’t.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 6
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending