Connect with us

19th Hole

WATCH Sergio Garcia’s club toss for the ages

Published

on

Do we chalk this up to the dangers of repressed rage? Sergio Garcia seemed just a little too cool with his 13 during the Masters….

The Spaniard was anything but cool at TPC San Antonio, Friday, giving a furious axe-toss to his driver after an unsatisfying tee shot at the par-4 fifth hole.

Garcia then spent a considerable amount of time searching for his Callaway Rogue Sub Zero in the woods. His drive ended up well left of the green at the 342-yard hole. Compounding matters further, he proceeded to shank his approach shot across the green, eventually making bogey.

Here’s the full horror.

At 2-over, Garcia is one stroke outside the cut line at the time of this writing.

This seems like an insensitive time to plug our Sergio Garcia: WITB, but what the heck.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 42
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW5
  • LOL14
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK10

14 Comments

14 Comments

  1. GolfGolfGolf

    Apr 23, 2018 at 11:10 am

    This along with his grip, grip, grip, regrip, grip, regrip, regrip, grip… makes him intolerable

  2. Brett Weir

    Apr 22, 2018 at 12:45 pm

    I’m glad the old immature Sergio isn’t completely gone despite now being married and having a kid.

  3. Sébastien D'Amour

    Apr 22, 2018 at 7:37 am

    Walk of shame in the bushes.
    Love how the caddie just walks and he like go fetch your own club!!!

    Probably a lack of sleep from being a new dad mixed with a bad round and Spanish blood.
    Callaway will build him a new one.

  4. 4Right

    Apr 21, 2018 at 10:33 pm

    I really like Sergio, but this is ridiculous!!! He must forget what he represents and the people who admire him. Keep it together man!!!

  5. James

    Apr 21, 2018 at 10:14 am

    He has always been a whiny little brat. Marriage and fatherhood haven’t changed anything.

  6. Chris

    Apr 21, 2018 at 6:54 am

    Gambling is illegal at Bushwood – and I never slice

  7. Jamie

    Apr 20, 2018 at 11:06 pm

    Is it too soon to name his next child Axthrow Garcia? I’m not sorry, Angela.

  8. Dave r

    Apr 20, 2018 at 10:42 pm

    Sergio got to luv him shows he is human. Like the way his temper lets loose every once in awhile. Kinda funny in a way when he looses it. Especially when he thru the shoe episode. And the bunker thing.

  9. Lenny

    Apr 20, 2018 at 9:55 pm

    Tommy Bolt says, “Meh.”

  10. Robbie Taylor

    Apr 20, 2018 at 4:14 pm

    Needs to go back to Taylormade.

  11. Judge Smeills

    Apr 20, 2018 at 3:41 pm

    Shout out to his caddy who just walked away

  12. Scott

    Apr 20, 2018 at 3:34 pm

    I hope that Rich Lerner doesn’t say anything about this. Sergio’s wife will be all over him saying that he is making fun of Sergio’s ax throwing family members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19th Hole

Ricky Barnes DQd at the Byron Nelson

Published

on

Ricky Barnes took a trip to Dairy Queen at the AT&T Byron Nelson. Barnes was disqualified following his second round 1-over 72. He signed for a three at the par-4 sixth hole, when in fact he had made a par.

Ultimately, he won’t rue his impromptu trip to get a Blizzard: Barnes was 3 over and was in no danger of making the cut.

Because this is the world we live in, Barnes apparently found out about the DQ via LuckyTrout Golf Pool on Twitter.

Of course, no scorecard error will ever top “What a stupid I am,” Roberto De Vicenzo signing for 66 when he shot 65, handing the green jacket to Bob Goalby at the 1968 Masters. Such an unfortunate legacy for a man who won hundreds of tournaments around the world.

Also unfortunate: Ricky Barnes is on the way for being remembered as a man who never lived up to the promise he showed at that same tournament, The Masters, as an amateur.

Let’s hope that changes.

Your Reaction?
  • 7
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW3
  • LOL4
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP1
  • OB3
  • SHANK31

Continue Reading

19th Hole

WATCH/LOOK AWAY: Jordan Spieth misses a 15-inch putt

Published

on

Aren’t you glad there isn’t video of all the 15-inch putts you’ve missed? I certainly am.

Unfortunately for Jordan Spieth, his failed attempt from little more than a foot at the Byron Nelson was captured on video, and it will exist on the internet for all eternity.

Spieth, who has struggled with the flatstick lately, stood over a short par putt at the par-4 15th hole, and well…

Spieth is currently 183rd on the PGA Tour this season in strokes gained: putting, losing .412 strokes per round to the field on the greens.

But at least he hit the hole, right?

Here’s the offending weapon: Spieth’s trusty Scotty Cameron 009.

Your Reaction?
  • 1
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW3
  • LOL7
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

19th Hole

GolfWRX members debate: What should the World Golf Hall of Fame criteria be?

Published

on

There have been a couple of controversial inclusions on the World Golf Hall of Fame. This isn’t to rehash, say, Fred Couples earning a spot, but rather, take a look at entry criteria.

More specifically, GolfWRX member playar32 writes

“I know the actual criteria is 15 tour wins, or 2 majors/Players championship. But what’s YOUR minimum?…For example, if a player won a “B” tournament every year (the one opposite a WGC event), every year in a row for 15 years, but missed the cut in every other event, would you still considered them HOF?”

It’s an interesting point. Specifically, the World Golf Hall of Fame criteria for an active male golfer is as follows.

“A player must have a cumulative total of 15 or more official victories on any of the original members of the International Federation of PGA Tours (PGA TOUR, European Tour, Japan Golf Tour, Sunshine Tour, Asian Tour and PGA of Australasia) OR at least two victories among the following events: The Masters, THE PLAYERS Championship, the U.S. Open, The Open Championship and the PGA Championship.”

Further, a player must be at least 50 or five years removed from competition.

Here are some other WRX members’ takes.

Bladehunter says

“15 tour wins and 2 majors for me. Otherwise almost every 1 major winner out there is in.”

McCann1 says

“If we won’t remember your name without the HOF in 50 years I think you shouldn’t be in.”

Fowlerscousin says

“If any of these three criteria are met: 3 or more majors. Minimum 5 Ryder cup appearances. 15 tour victories.”

Hawkeye77 says

“Whatever the criteria are, don’t ever think about it unless someone whose speech I want to hear gets in.’

Golfer929 has more stringent standards

“20 Wins. 3 Majors. 2 Ryder Cup/President Cup appearances. 100 total weeks inside Top 50 OWGR.”

Golfgirlrobin says

“I’d like to see them go to some sort of point system like the LPGA uses. Factor in everything that’s important and let the chips fall where they may.”

You’ll want to check out the rest of what GolfWRX members have to say in the thread.

There are a ton off questions to consider when thinking about which current/recent players should make the HoF.

A few…

1. Should the standards be on par with other sports? If so, what does that look like?
2. If the WGHOF should be more/less stringent, why?
3. How important are major victories? Why two and not three?
4. Why 15 wins and not 10? Or 20?

All important questions, and ones which the golf fans of the world should be able to weigh in on, rather than merely a selection committee of 16 people.

Let us know what you think, GolfWRX members!

Your Reaction?
  • 2
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending