Connect with us
Advertisement

19th Hole

Did Tiger Woods screw up by hitting iron off the tee at the 72nd hole?

Published

on

Tiger Woods, as we know, finished one stroke behind Paul Casey in his bid to return to the winner’s circle at the Valspar Championship.

Woods arrived at the 72nd hole needing birdie to tie Casey. Electing to avoid flirtation with fairway bunkers left and right, Woods hit a long iron 258 yards down the fairway, leaving himself a 185-yard approach shot to the back right pin. His approach shot ended up 38 feet, 11 inches, from the hole. Unsurprisingly considering the distance, he didn’t make the putt.

(via PGA Tour’s ShotLink)

Hindsight is 20/20, of course, but some questioned Woods not taking on the bunkers with a 3-wood or driver, and thus allowing for the possibility of a much shorter approach shot he would have been statistically more likely to get close.

Scott Fawcett, founder of the Decade course management system, didn’t question Woods’ decision however. In fact, Fawcett took to Twitter to laud Woods’ decision. The responses to Fawcett’s tweet were both interesting and insightful, spearheaded by our own Rich Hunt.

You can find a portion of this excellent conversation below.

What do you think, GolfWRX members, do you agree with Woods’ approach off the tee at the final hole?

Your Reaction?
  • 51
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW3
  • LOL2
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP5
  • OB2
  • SHANK20

20 Comments

20 Comments

  1. kevin

    Mar 13, 2018 at 2:26 pm

    Richie…correct me if i’m wrong

    LAY UP – 100% chance to hit fairway * ‘good’ approach to 27.7′ (make putt 8%) = 8% chance of birdie.

    DRIVER – 40% chance to hit fairway * ‘good approach to 16’ (make putt 20%) = 16% chance of birdie

    • kevin

      Mar 13, 2018 at 2:27 pm

      actually the driver would also give you 8% … 40% * 20% = 8%

  2. WestPhi

    Mar 12, 2018 at 10:47 pm

    how the “f” do you hit a 258y iron?!?!

  3. Not A Legend

    Mar 12, 2018 at 5:50 pm

    I heard from a reliable source that Tiger is considering using jailbreak technology, especially after his arrest. Also, the PGA Tour issued him a get out of jail free card.

  4. juststeve

    Mar 12, 2018 at 5:22 pm

    I think you are all ignoring the roll that the person actually hitting the shot plays in deciding what shot he can hit at a particular moment. Analogizing this to my years as a pitcher, the catcher would call for a pitch but ultimately it was for me to decide if I had command of that pitch at the moment. That’s not a matter of statistics. I suspect Tiger hit the shot he thought gave him the best chance to win and no one is in a better position than the guy hitting the shot to know which shot that is.

  5. MotionDynamics

    Mar 12, 2018 at 4:47 pm

    Scott Fawcett knows his stuff, love his methods, completely changed my game…

  6. Matthew Sanker

    Mar 12, 2018 at 4:46 pm

    Questioning the GOAT is bad karma. 185 yards considering the club they use is ludicrous. He just didn’t hit a good shot into the green. He was very average (our expectations of jim) except the birdie on 17

  7. It'sJustAGame

    Mar 12, 2018 at 4:45 pm

    My question is how many PGA tour events has HUNT GOLF @Richie3jacks won?

    • kevin

      Mar 13, 2018 at 2:16 pm

      this is so completely irrelevant.

      actually, pga tour winners employ guys like Hunt because they know what they are talking about and help them improve in areas such as course management. But I’m sure Richie thanks you for plugging his twitter handle.

  8. 4Right

    Mar 12, 2018 at 4:43 pm

    Doesn’t matter what we think… If he hits driver or 3 wood and plants it in the trees, rough, or bunker, this conversation is the completely different… Tiger has won 70 plus events and we question it… LOL!!!

  9. Eagleye

    Mar 12, 2018 at 3:40 pm

    Believe the long-iron tee off was appropriate in the situation. Tiger probably hits 8i to 185 yds, with the pin back and right, don’t you think a greater number iron would have got closer to pin ?

  10. kevin

    Mar 12, 2018 at 3:24 pm

    Richie Hunt is absolutely right on this. over the long haul vs needing a birdie on that hole at that moment…..it absolutely should change your strategy.

    • Looper

      Mar 12, 2018 at 4:39 pm

      We sometimes forget we are talking about Tiger, who are we to suggest otherwise. He hits something other than what he did and hits it in the garbage we are having a different discussion…

      • kevin

        Mar 13, 2018 at 2:18 pm

        yeah….never question tiger….its not like he’s ever made a poor decision before

        lol

  11. Eric

    Mar 12, 2018 at 3:06 pm

    Dude keeps talking about better odds but doesn’t factor in the odds being on Tiger’s side seeing as how he played that hole the same all weekend. If he can keep repeating it (which he had been doing) that would improve his chances at success too.

  12. Scott Francis

    Mar 12, 2018 at 2:56 pm

    sure playing 3 wood puts him farther down there but also given how far hes hitting irons wouldve had him hitting a 9 or PW more likely he wouldve spun off green considering pin location. He shouldve hit some kind of low chaser up there with pin being on a shelf. He also hit a big cut in there which was gonna stop immediately. Had to literally fly it pin high or beyond from 185 tough shot for even the GOAT

  13. MD

    Mar 12, 2018 at 2:41 pm

    What if he just hit his 3 wood, which he was hitting pretty well all week? He could have hit the fairway and been 30yds further down the fairway? I get that he probably doesnt make the green if its in the bunkers, but he left himself a much tougher shot in, even though it was only a 7 iron (probably needed 6iron)

  14. Eric

    Mar 12, 2018 at 2:01 pm

    at first blush i did not have a problem with the tee shot. however, after seeing the data it’s difficult not to second guess. what i did second guess was the club selection on the approach. 7 iron 185 uphill seemed like a strong ask. 6 seemed more appropriate. he’s obviously playing for the win so why not try to hit a club that can actually get to that back shelf?

  15. juststeve

    Mar 12, 2018 at 1:28 pm

    Hard to second guess Tiger’s decision. Unless I thought he took a dive, which I don’t, I think he hit the shot that he believed would give him the best chance to win. Although I am not a Tiger fan I do admire the fact that there is no quit in the guy. Always trying to win.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19th Hole

Jeff Golden issues statement on Florida Mid-Am incident

Published

on

Jeff Golden is sharing more details about the events of May 16 at the Florida Mid-Amateur Championship.

If you recall, police were summoned to Coral Creek Club during a rain delay in the Golden-Marc Dull final. Golden alleged Dull’s caddie, Brandon Hibbs, punched him in the face during a parking lot altercation. Dull and Hibbs both deny the incident occurred.

Rather than paraphrase or pull quotes, it seems appropriate to post the majority of Golden’s statement as is, since it’s his attempt to speak for himself and set the record straight.

“When my name was announced on the first tee, my opponent’s caddie immediately asked an off color question. I laughed off the timing of that question, along with many other examples of bad etiquette to come. Alcohol appeared to be influencing his behavior. I’ve never seen an opposing caddie engage in so much conversation with a competitor. On the eighth hole I had become extremely frustrated because I was forced to back off my shot two different times when my opponent and caddie were talking and moving. I expressed my disappointment with their etiquette to the match referee following our group.”

“The ruling that came from the caddie’s comments on the ninth hole started because of a simple question that I posed: “Was that advice?” I thought this was the only way to slow down the caddie, clean up the etiquette and play a gentlemanly match. I felt justified in my decision, especially since my opponent then asked his caddie, “Why did you say that?” The caddie recused himself from the match, but he didn’t leave the property.”

“…I didn’t even get my bag out of my car when the caddie reappeared and said he’d like to apologize. I most likely had a smile on my face, because I was ready to put the past behind us, and he punched me in the face. I was knocked to the ground, and by the time I looked up, he was walking away, to my surprise, toward the clubhouse. The pro shop is a separate building, so that’s where I immediately went for help. The inside of my mouth was bleeding and my face was throbbing. I realized my hand was also hurting –that’s what broke my fall instead of my head.

“The pro shop employee called the police and was extremely helpful, getting me ice and offering any help I needed. The police arrived, and the deputy concluded that there wasn’t enough evidence to justify pressing charges. I gave a recorded sworn statement to the deputy recapping the events.”

“The FSGA has one job, and that’s to follow the Rules of Golf. Unfortunately, there’s no rule for an inebriated “ex-caddie” punching a player in a match-play rain delay with no witnesses.”

“The FSGA gave me one option when the rain stopped. I had to play. My opponent had the option to concede the match and take responsibility for his caddie, but he told me he had nothing to do with what occurred.”

Golden further indicated that he conceded the match because of “physical and emotional distress, pulsing pain in my face, dizziness and cuts on my right hand.” He indicated he was surprised the FSGA didn’t suspend the match.

With respect to that point, it’s probably worth pointing out that FSGA executive director Jim Demick said that Golden “didn’t want to play anymore.”

“Regrettably, the golf course was very playable and Jeff understood that he needed to resume the match. I think he was just ready to go,” adding police “found absolutely no evidence of an assault.”

The FSGA hasn’t provided additional comment or modified that statement.

Your Reaction?
  • 5
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW3
  • LOL10
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK34

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Must be the Arby’s: Beef Johnston deadlifts 485 lbs

Published

on

Update: Thanks to WRX member Sam who pointed out: “The correct term for that lift would be a rack pull (weight does not start on the ground).”

An Instagram video posted by the European Tour’s Performance Institute shows Beef Johnston readying for a deadlift attempt.

Fueled by Beef ‘n Cheddars and curly fries, Johnston steps in for an attempt at hoisting 220kg (485 lbs).

To the uninitiated (me), the feat certainly looked impressive. But just how impressive? I fired up Google to find out…

Per PhysicalLiving.com

“Dan John, suggests in his book, Intervention: Course Corrections For The Athlete And Trainer, that the average weightlifter should be able to deadlift between 1 and 1.5 times their body weight. I think that’s a good general recommendation for most people who are interested in health, fitness, longevity, and quality of life. However, Coach Dan John also considers a deadlift using double your bodyweight to be a game-changer. So, there are certainly benefits to be had from doing more than the minimum.”

Johnston reportedly weighs 212 pounds. Thus, Beef lifted nearly 2.3 times his body weight.

Impressive stuff (don’t tell Brandel Chamblee).

WRXers who lift heavy things, what do you think?

Your Reaction?
  • 24
  • LEGIT7
  • WOW1
  • LOL3
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP3
  • OB1
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

19th Hole

How could a child hitting a golf ball off his father’s face go wrong?

Published

on

We’re bringing you this video in case you haven’t seen it elsewhere: Young Sam Blewett attempts to hit a golf ball off his father’s face, and…

Now, most people are assuming that this three-year-old lad had no idea what he was doing. His father orchestrated the video, told the son, who had never held a golf club nor had any concept of the game to hit the ball, and wood-chopping at the ball followed.

Hot take: I don’t think that’s true. The Instagram account is the three-year-old kid’s (managed by his mother), and he certainly knows how to hit a golf ball properly. See?

So, I’m positing that the kid saw an opportunity to whack his dad in the dome with a golf club and couldn’t pass it up. Yes, young Sam knew exactly what he was doing.

And more power to him. Cunning AND capable with a golf club.

Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending