Connect with us
Advertisement

19th Hole

Hank Haney: Tiger Woods will win another major (but probably not this year)

Published

on

It looks like Tiger Woods’ former swing coach, Hank Haney, is in the “Tiger will win another major” camp.

“If next year’s venues were this year, then I’d say I think he can win a major this year. But I’m a little hesitant about the venues this year,” Haney told Golfweek’s Forecaddie. .

It’s an interesting remark, and references an element of Woods’ dominance in the early part of this millennium that’s frequently overlooked: He’s very much a “horse for the course” type of player.

Haney doesn’t like Woods’ chances at Shinnecock, Carnoustie, and Bellerive. We can assume he’s more enticed by the possibility of TW hoisting major hardware after a healthy year of tournament play and the all important “reps,” as well.

Next year, the U.S. Open is at Pebble Beach and the PGA Championship is at Bethpage–both venues where Woods has won. So, on the whole, you can see why Haney thinks Woods is more likely to capture a major in 2019.

With respect to the Masters, Haney doesn’t like the four-time Masters champ’s chances at Augusta National in general, reminding fans Woods’ hasn’t won at ANGC since 2005

“He’s won one time on the new course there since they really lengthened it out and put all those trees in.”

The green-blazered bunch added yardage and adjusted tees on six holes for the 2006 Masters, and Woods hasn’t earned a green jacket since. Haney rightfully indicates the 14-time major champion has a bugaboo with respect to the first, second, and 13th holes.

You can read The Man Out Front’s full transmission here

What say you GolfWRX members? Is Haney on the mark? Do you like Tiger’s chances this year? Next year? Never?

Your Reaction?
  • 35
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW1
  • LOL2
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP7
  • OB11
  • SHANK49

11 Comments

11 Comments

  1. CB

    Feb 8, 2018 at 11:17 am

    Hank is always right. Like Trump is always right. That’s why you can’t handle the truth.

  2. Dr. Freud

    Feb 7, 2018 at 11:01 am

    Tigger’s golf and sx life both took a nose dive simultaneously. Sad.

  3. Brett Weir

    Feb 7, 2018 at 9:29 am

    Not if DJ, Speith, McIllroy, and Day can help it.

  4. WetLipHaney

    Feb 7, 2018 at 6:45 am

    Haney is a windbag. He’s no longer relevant and should go away.

  5. HKO

    Feb 7, 2018 at 12:47 am

    while all those courses have ‘changed’, why does he think it’s same Tiger to 2005? typical, one of those 500 million #garbage articles (produced in last 2 wks) just for the sake of spelling Tiger to drag attentions in.

    • Redman

      Feb 7, 2018 at 12:33 pm

      the article was written because of Haney’s remarks. And you chose to read it.

      • Joro

        Feb 7, 2018 at 2:48 pm

        Haney is nothing but a self promoting hack with nothing. I went to a seminar he was a speaker at and he turned out to be nothing but a self admiring loud mouth,, so his comments, whatever they may be are nothing but self inflating BS.

        Did you read the article? lol

      • HKO

        Feb 7, 2018 at 10:20 pm

        yes i chose to read it cuz i was interested in what he’s gonna say. if you ever read it, he makes an assumption by pairing the courses with changes and Tiger of 2005.

  6. steve

    Feb 6, 2018 at 11:12 pm

    TV golf desperately needs a Tiger comeback to suck in the eyeballs/$$$$$ for the networks.

  7. moses

    Feb 6, 2018 at 6:22 pm

    Wow. Haney complemented Tiger for once.

  8. ron

    Feb 6, 2018 at 3:59 pm

    Sounds like tiger fuel to me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19th Hole

The Florida Mid-Am final ended with a player getting punched in the face. Or did it?

Published

on

On paper–that is the Florida State Golf Association’s paper, not the police report–Marc Dull won the Florida Mid-Am when his opponent, Jeff Golden, withdrew.

Dull had just birdied the 16th hole to pull even, when the skies opened.

A FSGA statement on the final match indicates what happened next

“With the players on 17, play was halted by heavy rains. When conditions permitted play to continue nearly two and a half hours later, Golden was unable to continue due to an unfortunate injury and defaulted the match.”

Indeed, the statement is technically correct. However, it hardly tells the full story…and what a story it is.

Golf Channel’s Ryan Lavner did some digging into the “unfortunate injury,” and what he found was certainly surprising.

Per a Charlotte County Sheriff’s Office police report, Jeff Golden (the man who suffered the “unfortunate injury”) called police. Golden claimed he was assaulted in the Coral Creek Club parking lot by his opponent’s caddie. According to Golden, Dull’s caddie, Brandon Hibbs, punched him in the face.

Why in the world did this happen? Apparently, during the ninth hole of the Golden-Dull match, Golden asked Dull about the condition of one of the holes, inquiring as to whether the cup was damaged.

“Don’t worry about it,” Hibbs (again, this is Dull’s caddie) told Golden. “If you’re going to make it, you’re going around it.”

Following this, Golden told a rules official that he believed the caddie’s statement constituted advice (to Golden, who was not his player). Apparently/incredibly, the rules official agreed, and Golden was awarded the hole.

Hibbs, presumably furious, left the course at this point and returned to the clubhouse.

During the previously mentioned rain delay that interrupted the match, Golden claims Hibbs approached him in the parking lot while he was at his car getting additional clothing.

Per the report, Hibbs “approached him, apologized, then punched him on the left side of the face.”

Now this story would be ridiculous enough if these facts were agreed upon. However, Hibbs says the incident never happened. He claims after leaving the course, he was in the clubhouse during the entire rain delay.

Nobody saw the alleged attack, and there were no surveillance cameras trained on the parking lot. Further, Golden’s face was not swollen or cut and Hibbs’ hands showed no evidence that he’d punched anything.

Golden maintains he was punched and that his shirt had blood on it, also claiming that he suffered “concussion symptoms.”

Golden declined to press charges, and both Hibbs and Dull maintain nothing happened.

Per Ryan Lavner, FSGA executive director Jim Demick said that Golden “didn’t want to play anymore.”

“Regrettably, the golf course was very playable and Jeff understood that he needed to resume the match. I think he was just ready to go,” adding police “found absolutely no evidence of an assault.”

What do you make of this, GolfWRX members? The scales of justice don’t seem to be tipped in Mr. Golden’s favor, do they?

Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW6
  • LOL5
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Ricky Barnes DQd at the Byron Nelson

Published

on

Ricky Barnes took a trip to Dairy Queen at the AT&T Byron Nelson. Barnes was disqualified following his second round 1-over 72. He signed for a three at the par-4 sixth hole, when in fact he had made a par.

Ultimately, he won’t rue his impromptu trip to get a Blizzard: Barnes was 3 over and was in no danger of making the cut.

Because this is the world we live in, Barnes apparently found out about the DQ via LuckyTrout Golf Pool on Twitter.

Of course, no scorecard error will ever top “What a stupid I am,” Roberto De Vicenzo signing for 66 when he shot 65, handing the green jacket to Bob Goalby at the 1968 Masters. Such an unfortunate legacy for a man who won hundreds of tournaments around the world.

Also unfortunate: Ricky Barnes is on the way for being remembered as a man who never lived up to the promise he showed at that same tournament, The Masters, as an amateur.

Let’s hope that changes.

Your Reaction?
  • 12
  • LEGIT8
  • WOW4
  • LOL7
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP3
  • OB7
  • SHANK74

Continue Reading

19th Hole

WATCH/LOOK AWAY: Jordan Spieth misses a 15-inch putt

Published

on

Aren’t you glad there isn’t video of all the 15-inch putts you’ve missed? I certainly am.

Unfortunately for Jordan Spieth, his failed attempt from little more than a foot at the Byron Nelson was captured on video, and it will exist on the internet for all eternity.

Spieth, who has struggled with the flatstick lately, stood over a short par putt at the par-4 15th hole, and well…

Spieth is currently 183rd on the PGA Tour this season in strokes gained: putting, losing .412 strokes per round to the field on the greens.

But at least he hit the hole, right?

Here’s the offending weapon: Spieth’s trusty Scotty Cameron 009.

Your Reaction?
  • 1
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW5
  • LOL7
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending