Connect with us

19th Hole

GolfWRX Members and PGA Tour pros rip JB Holmes for his 4-minute deliberation (and layup)

Published

on

It’s been three days since J.B. Holmes took more than four minutes to hit his second shot at Torrey Pines’ 18th Hole during the final round of the Farmers Insurance Open, and, oh boy, hot takes aplenty from fellow pros and GolfWRX members.

Holmes needed eagle to tie for the lead at the par-5 18th on Sunday. With 230 yards to the green, J.B. debated whether to aim for the putting surface or lay up. Four-minute long story short, he laid up (in the rough) and didn’t make eagle. Making matters worse, his playing partner, Alex Noren, would have won the tournament with a birdie, but he was effectively iced by Holmes (you could make the argument Noren should have been able to rise above, or merely told Holmes he was going to go ahead and hit).

We’ve heard from Holmes himself, who apologized, but didn’t seem to understand the outrage as he was “trying to win the tournament,” his fellow pros, and talking heads aplenty.

Now, let’s see what the GolfWRX membership has to say about the incident. And J.B., if you’re reading, avert your eyes. The first point to note: There were multiple “J.B. Holmes’ slow play” threads active prior to the incident at the 18th, which were merged into a single thread after “Fourminutetencecondgate.” Anyway, here’s a sampling of the responses from this now 13-page long thread.

Now, to be fair and balanced, the most diplomatic response was one of the first in the thread.

Mjen43 writes

“I don’t care about pace of play on television. They’re not holding me up, I’m just sitting here watching.”

Zz24hours (which is nearly as long as J.B. took) says

“That JB Holmes 2nd to 18 was borderline unsportsmanlike, moronic.”

Straightshot7 says

“They did just take 6 hours to play. That’s a problem. JB needs someone to follow his group with a shot clock and an air horn.”

North Texas looked at the situation from Noren’s perspective

“If I’m Alex Noren, I’m absolutely livid.” He later added, “Not only that, he [J.B.] “chickened out” and didn’t play to get into the playoff.”

Deadsolid…shank pointed out some potential lasting damage

“I’ve always been a JB fan. That just changed.”

Knock it close, ultimately, may have had the best take.

“Until someone other than a 14 year old asian kid [Guan Tianlang at the Masters in 2013] in is made an example of nothing will change. All other rules are enforced by the PGATour, why pace of play isn’t is beyond me.”

If you’re fired up about pace of play on the PGA Tour in general, or the J.B. Holmes ordeal in particular, you’ll want to check out this thread, because the GolfWRX membership has all the angles covered.

Your Reaction?
  • 54
  • LEGIT8
  • WOW4
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

10 Comments

10 Comments

  1. James

    Feb 1, 2018 at 2:39 pm

    Did somebody really spell second with a c?

  2. Jose Pinatas

    Jan 31, 2018 at 3:08 pm

    JB Holmes looks like he should be riding a unicycle between shots, scarfing down a bar S hotdogs leaving ketchup, mustard, and relish stains on his shirt. Works part time at the local tire service repair shop, and has a show on FX titled Baskets…

  3. Tartan Golf Travel

    Jan 31, 2018 at 2:48 pm

    JB was wrong. At some point you need to hit the ball. Also play to win. Choked down on a 3 wood if 5 wood wasn’t enough but you play to win. Also it was much longer than 4 mins. Palmer hit first so he had a few mins while Palmer was hitting to decide as well.

  4. Mandy

    Jan 31, 2018 at 2:02 pm

    So far I haven’t heard anyone even mention the high winds and wind gusts that JB was having to contend with right when it was his turn to take his shot. I have seen other more notable golfers take far more time than that to wait out the sudden gusts of wind. The only reason that this is even being discussed as much as it is, is because CBS didn’t have anywhere else to go and everyone got to watch and wait. Had JB not laid up, it wouldn’t have been blown out of proportion as it has been.

  5. The dude

    Jan 31, 2018 at 1:50 pm

    Topic is stale….move on

  6. Ed

    Jan 31, 2018 at 1:26 pm

    In golf and contract law — TIME IS OF THE ESSENCE :-O

  7. Curt

    Jan 31, 2018 at 1:17 pm

    JB needs to get his act together on the course. He’s a pro, and need to act like it, by respecting the pace of play for all concerned.

  8. TONEY P

    Jan 31, 2018 at 12:53 pm

    I support Holmes, playing to win a tournament with one shot that can make a difference. You need to take your time, nobody complained about Jack sitting over putts for a minute when they counted. If his group time was slow then remember it’s a group effort. Also freezing your opponent is part of most sports people. The gripers need to play more stroke tournaments to learn.

    • James T

      Jan 31, 2018 at 1:13 pm

      Icing your opponent, in particular the FG kicker in football, is okay… and acceptable. Not in golf. Sorry, if Nicklaus took a minute over a putt it doesn’t give Holmes the privilege of taking 4 minutes over a wedge shot. The two can’t even be compared. In the end the coward was just playing for 2nd place. The next morning Noren showed what a golf hero looks like by going for the green in 2. I’ll take Noren over Holmes any day.

    • Tartan Golf Travel

      Jan 31, 2018 at 2:46 pm

      But he didn’t play to win. After all that he laid up! It was actually longer than 4 minutes. Palmer hit first so he was there for a few minutes prior. You don’t slow play your opponent in golf…..especially in stroke play. You are just wrong on every point.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19th Hole

Amateur makes 3 holes-in-one in 36-hole competition

Published

on

We’d like to say congratulations to Ali Gibb, 51-year-old amateur golfer, for winning her club championship at Croham Hurst Golf Club in England, Monday. Oh, and she made three holes-in-one on the day.

That’s right, during the 36-hole final, Gibb aced the fifth hole twice and only needed one shot at the 11th hole during her second 18.

“Today was just a weird day. It was just very, very strange,” she said, per a BBC report. “On my card I had a nine, two eights, sixes, fives, fours, threes, twos and three ones.

“I have had a hole-in-one before – three actually. One was here on the seventh, one at Surrey National Golf Club, and one at the Atlantic Beach Golf Estate in South Africa,” Gibb added.

“It’s just absolutely extraordinary. I think I will wake up tomorrow asking if I’ve just been dreaming about it and if it is club championship day today instead!”

Hopefully, Gibb doesn’t have to buy three drinks for everyone at the club.

What can you say about a story like this? Beyond once-in-a-lifetime stuff. If the odds of an average golfer making a hole-in-one are 12,500 to 1, what are the odds of a player making three aces in 36 holes? You probably have a better shot of winning the Powerball. Incredible stuff.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 25
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW6
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Nick Faldo: Tiger Woods said his career was over in 2017

Published

on

It’s safe to say only the most optimistic of fans expected Tiger Woods would contend on the weekend at two major championships in the 2018.

We’ve heard murmurings that Woods himself doubted he would make a comeback, such as his 2015 “I think pretty much everything beyond this will be gravy,” remarks.

However, we’ve never heard explicitly that Tiger Woods thought he was finished playing professional golf. Sure, he’s said he didn’t know how well he’d be able to play and that he’s been surprised by his speed and power, but we haven’t heard anything as extreme as what Nick Faldo claims Woods said at last year’s Masters Champions Dinner.

Talking with Dan Patrick, Monday, Faldo had this to say.

“What he’s been able to do, Dan, is unbelievable, remarkable,” Faldo said. “To go from a frozen back, I know he whispered to another Masters champion two Masters dinners ago, ‘I’m done. I won’t play golf again.’ And here we are 18 months later.”

“He was in agony. He was in pain,” Faldo said. “The pain down his legs, nothing enjoyable, he couldn’t move.”

“What he’s been able to do is, it’s unbelievable, remarkable,” Faldo told Patrick. “To go from a frozen back—I know he whispered to another Masters champion two Masters dinners ago ‘I’m done. I won’t play golf again,’ and here we are, 18 months later…”

“No, I won’t mention the name, but he’s a Masters champion. He said ‘I’m done, my back is done.’ He was in agony, he was in pain, the pain down his legs, there was nothing enjoyable. He couldn’t move.”

Woods had his fourth back surgery April 20th, shortly after the Masters, which put him on the path that ultimately led to a runner-up finish at last week’s PGA Championship.

Your Reaction?
  • 22
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK5

Continue Reading

19th Hole

An airline lost Thorbjorn Olesen’s golf clubs…and his backup clubs…and his suitcases

Published

on

Thorbjorn Olesen has arrived in Sweden for the Nordea Masters. Unfortunately, his golf clubs have not…nor have his back up clubs.

He tweeted this, Tuesday.

“So the comedy continues, @British_Airways have managed to now lose 5 suitcases and 2 sets of golf clubs in 10 days! Decided to bring my only backup set of clubs on this morning’s flight to the Nordea Masters in case my other lost set don’t arrive and BA have also now lost these!”

Thousands of tour pros fly hundreds of times per year, yes, but doesn’t it seem like more golf bags are getting lost than should? Sidebar: Masterful GIF game, Mr. Olesen.

Olesen hasn’t provided an update on his bag(s) since the tweet above, so we’re not sure where things stand now. BA responded with this

Nope…doesn’t sound good at all…

Olesen also fired off this tweet–good he can see the humor in what has to be an utterly enraging situation.

Guess this is a #PlayBetter so you can afford NetJets, etc, situation, because it’s certainly not ever going to be a #AirlinesStoppedLosingBags situation. Also Ship Sticks is at least theoretically in play, right?

Or, of course, there’s option 3: Telescoping golf clubs in a collapsible bag that you can take as a carry on. That’s the surest bet: Just stash ’em overhead! Gotta get to work inventing those…

But really, rough stuff, and here’s hoping the Dane gets his bats back.

Your Reaction?
  • 29
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW12
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending