Connect with us

19th Hole

Tiger Woods driver swing video, on-site reports as he prepares for Hero World Challenge

Published

on

Tiger Woods, as you surely have heard, teed it up with President Donald Trump, Dustin Johnson, and Brad Faxon at Trump National in Jupiter, Florida, on Friday.

The unheralded fourth member of the group, Brad Faxon, had this to say (exclusive to Golfweek) regarding Woods’ play.

“Tiger looked great to me. He was happy and, more than anything, he’s finally pain-free. The issues he had with the back the last couple of comebacks seem to be gone. He looked effortless, he looked free, he had some power.”

“I was impressed with how far he hit the ball. Probably on the 10 holes that they were both hitting driver, Tiger hit it past Dustin half the time and Dustin hit it past Tiger half the time. He looked great. I think more than anything, he looked at ease. He was not concerned about swinging hard and going at it with driver. The ball flight, the sound off the club, all of it was right there.”

“Tiger looked like he had all the touch shots down. On the very first hole he hit a pitch shot over a bunker that looked great. Hit some tough little pitch shots, tough chip shots and hit some close. Some to gimme’ distance.”

Outdriving Dustin Johnson? If you say so, Mr. Faxon. Two days later, Woods was on site at sun-drenched paradise that is Albany in the Bahamas, where he’ll tee it up in the Hero World Challenge next week.

While the quality of this video from Golf Channel’s Tiger Tracker is sort of “animal spotted in the wilderness,” the driver swing shown is comfortable with the slightest hint of sauce. Definitely a fuller follow through than we saw from TW at Albany last year. TT also reported Woods’ driver swing is “not there yet” but “irons look good.”

TGR Live Events tweeted a better video of Woods’ driver swing (as you’d expect, given the slightly better access).

ESPN’s Bob Harig looks to be on site in Albany (rough gig). He reported Woods played a brisk (sub 2.5 hour!) 18 holes Sunday and finished with a lengthy session on the putting green, tweeting this photo.

Look, there’s no point making bold predictions about Tiger Woods’ future in the game. Somewhere between “he’s going to win more major championships” and “he’ll never win again” is the most probable future for the phenom, should his health permit.

However, we can say a few things about what we’ve seen from the Presidents Cup until now. Woods is serious about his comeback, seems genuinely pain-free and able to do a healthy amount of practice.

Also, even Brandel Chamblee has to agree that Woods’ action looks serviceable and free enough to compete on the PGA Tour. If we add to this reports about his distance off the tee, Woods looks to have the tee-to-green game to play respectable golf.

Pitching, chipping, and bunker play may be another story. And of course, there’s the canard of Woods fractured mental state…Fortunately, we’ll know more in a less than a week (and mercifully the season of speculation will be over).

Your Reaction?
  • 196
  • LEGIT9
  • WOW3
  • LOL7
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK13

4 Comments

4 Comments

  1. Jack Nash

    Nov 27, 2017 at 4:59 pm

    itll be good to see Joe again.

  2. Judge Smeills

    Nov 27, 2017 at 12:04 pm

    Nah he likes grouper

  3. TeeBone

    Nov 27, 2017 at 12:01 pm

    This just in…Tiger Woods had tuna fish for lunch.

    • Ryan Michael

      Nov 28, 2017 at 3:23 pm

      Tiger has earned the coverage he gets through being one of the top two GOAT. This isn’t hard to figure out he is the needle no need for the tuna fish sandwich remark.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

19th Hole

Lexi Thompson violates Rules of Golf at Indy Women in Tech Championship

Published

on

During the third round of the Indy Women in Tech Championship, Lexi Thompson unknowingly ran afoul of the Rules of Golf.

Preferred lies–AKA lift, clean, and place–were in effect at soggy Brickyard Crossing. Thompson hit her drive at the par-5 10th hole wide right. It settled in the sixth fairway. Believing she was allowed to lift and clean any ball in the fairway, Thompson began to do so.

The rule, of course, only applies to balls that settle in one’s own fairway. Fortunately for Thompson, an official saw what was happening and stepped in to administer a penalty.

“Thankfully, Marty [the official] intervened before she hit her next shot,” Golf Channel’s Kay Cockerill reported. “Otherwise, she would have been hitting from the wrong spot, and it would have been a two-shot penalty. So, in a sense, it saved her a shot.”

The LPGA issued this statement.

“While playing the third round of the 2018 Indy Women in Tech Championship, Lexi Thompson incurred a one-stroke penalty for breach of the preferred lies local Rule (Appendix IA Part 3b Course Conditions).”

“The Committee adopted the preferred lies local Rule due to the turf conditions of the golf course after receiving over an inch of rain. The LPGA, under the local Rule, restricts the player from preferring her lie when her ball lies in a closely-mown area of a hole other than the one being played.”

“During the play of hole #10, Thompson’s tee shot came to rest in the fairway of hole #6. As Thompson’s ball lay on the fairway of hole #6, she was not entitled to prefer her lie.”

“She preferred her lie in breach of the local Rule but prior to playing her stroke from a wrong place (Rule 20-7), she was questioned by a Rules official regarding her actions. As she had not played her stroke from the preferred spot, she did not receive the general penalty of two-strokes under the local Rule. However, she did incur a one-stroke penalty under Rule 18-2 for lifting her ball at rest without authority.”

Your Reaction?
  • 98
  • LEGIT38
  • WOW37
  • LOL14
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP8
  • OB9
  • SHANK170

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Joe LaCava, Tiger Woods’ caddie, paid a heckler $25 to leave at the WGC-Bridgestone

Published

on

While Steve Williams would likely have taken a different route, Tiger Woods’ current caddie admitted to bribing a fan to leave his boss alone.

LaCava called into ESPN’s “Golic and Wingo” and told a tale of paying of a heckler at the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational.

LaCava said the man heckled Woods throughout his final round at the Bridgestone, and on the 14th hole, LaCava interceded, telling the man to check out action elsewhere on the course. Interestingly/absurdly, the man said he would be happy to, provided LaCava reimburse him for his ticket.

Here’s the full transcript c/o ESPN.

Mike Golic: “Did you have any issues with the people at Bellerive?”

Joe LaCava: “Not at all, and you hit it right on the head, 99 percent of the guys and women are behind Tiger, pushing for Tiger. They want to see good golf in general they’re not anti-the-other-guys, but they’re certainly rooting for Tiger more so than the other guys. But, funny you guys ask that question. The week before in Akron, I had a little incident with a guy who was harassing my guy on the 14th hole at Akron the last day outside the ropes, roughening him up pretty good. And I said, hey listen bud, why do you gotta go there? Everyone’s having a good time, everyone’s pulling for Tiger. You don’t like the guy that’s one thing, but you don’t to be yelling at my guy, screaming negative stuff like that. And I said at the end of the day, if you affect him, his performance, it effects my bottomline. So he calls me a couple names and I go back and forth with the guy, and I say why don’t you just leave. And he says well if you give me $25 for the ticket that I bought today I’ll leave. And I said here you go, here’s $25.”

Mike: “Did he leave?”

Joe: “So I whip out $25 and he starts to go down the 14th fairway toward the green. I say look pal $25 is $25 you gotta head the other way. So he starts to head the other way, he goes 20 yards down the line, then he calls me a certain other, a swear word. So I run 20 yards back the other way and I’m going face to face with this guy. And all the sudden Tiger’s looking for a yardage, and I’m in it with this guy 20 yards down the line. So some cop has to come in, push this guy outta the way, and take him outta the tournament.

Mike: “So what did Tiger say when you came back to give him the yardage?”

Joe: “Well that’s a great question. We were so far to the right of the trees, and he was on his third shot believe it or not, we were still 150 yards away from the green, and he didn’t really know what happened. He heard the commotion, he heard the guy yelling at him, so we talked about it after the fact, but he didn’t really know how it developed. And he says I was wondering what happened, and he goes normally it wouldn’t that long to get a yardage. I said well a little incident down the road. He didn’t have a problem with it, and actually I gotta standing ovation for kicking the guy outta there.

Security probably should have happened sooner when LaCava was $25 richer.

Your Reaction?
  • 325
  • LEGIT27
  • WOW20
  • LOL13
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP4
  • OB3
  • SHANK20

Continue Reading

19th Hole

A brief cart ride (by his caddie) has big implications for Akshay Bhatia at the U.S. Amateur

Published

on

16-year-old Akshay Bhatia may be looking for a new caddie for his next event. The rising star of amateur golf was penalized when his caddie accepted a ride on a golf cart at the 14th hole during the round of 64 at the U.S. Amateur.

Bhatia would go on to lose to Bradford Tilley.

The match was all square at the 14th. Chris Darnell, Bhatia’s caddie, made a pit stop at the bathroom after Bhatia hit his approach. While the player walked to the green, Darnell was approached by what he believed was a USGA official driving a golf cart.

“The gentleman was wearing a USGA pullover,” Darnell said afterward. “I asked if I could get a ride to the green to keep up pace, and he said yes. So I hopped on the back, got up to the green, hopped off and thought nothing of it.”

Of course, neither players nor caddies can ride on any form of transportation during the round unless authorized, per the Rules of Golf. Bhatia was penalized accordingly and lost the hole after a (real) official spotted the infraction.

Particularly frustrating for the golfer was the fact that he had birdied the par-5 and believed he was going 1 up on his opponent, only to find out they were all square.

As mentioned, Bhatia would go on to lose in 19 holes.

Adding another layer to this drama, Darnell said Tilley’s caddie had done the same thing earlier in the match.

“I had already seen the other caddie in our group do it on the ninth hole,” Darnell said. “Same thing – USGA pullover, drove him from the bathroom up to the fairway – so I assumed it was fine. I didn’t point it out at the time because everything seemed kosher. He had the USGA stuff on, and I didn’t think anything of it.”

What are the chances Tilley or his caddie admit to the infraction now? And who is this mystery idiot who loves the USGA enough to drape himself in their garb but is daft enough to blatantly break a straightforward rule of competition?

Dumb rule? Certainly in this sense. But so many situations exist in amateur play that you can understand why the USGA would level a prohibition on transportation. Still, shouldn’t there be some room for interpretation? It’s difficult to argue Bhatia himself gained any advantage…

What do you think, GolfWRX members?

Your Reaction?
  • 7
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW3
  • LOL3
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP2
  • OB2
  • SHANK67

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending