Connect with us

19th Hole

Want to bet Tiger Woods will win a major in 2018? You can.

Published

on

As every non-comatose golf fan is well aware, Tiger Woods returns to action at the Hero World Challenge next week.

BetOnline.ag has odds on Tiger Woods returning to the winner’s circle at the Hero (33/1, longest in the field). Even more interesting, however, the bookmaker is now accepting wagers on a number of Woods-related prop bets.

So, if you’re itching to place a wager before we even see Woods test the structural integrity of his back following anterior lumbar interbody fusion in April, here’s your chance.

Implied probability of just under four percent that TW wins a major this season, FYI.

Tiger Woods 2018 To Make Cut in all 4 Majors
Yes 16/1
No 1/50
Tiger Woods 2018 To Play in 2018 Ryder Cup
Yes 16/1
No 1/50
Tiger Woods 2018 To Win a Major in 2018
Yes 25/1
No 1/66
Tiger Woods 2018 To Win a PGA Tour Event 2017/18
Yes 6/1
No 1/20
Tiger Woods 2018 Top 10 Finish in a Major
Yes 29/20
No 20/39
Tiger Woods 2018 Top 5 Finish in a Major
Yes 5/1
No 1/9
Your Reaction?
  • 9
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW2
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK13

3 Comments

3 Comments

  1. Lee

    Nov 25, 2017 at 8:51 pm

    Bet on him to win the Masters this last week in Vegas. Got 60-1 odds.

  2. JasonHolmes

    Nov 25, 2017 at 7:16 pm

    No one that bets on sports or reads about betting on sports uses Fractional display. If you set the dropdown to “American” it will display odds that people understand.

    IE Tiger to finish top 10 in a major

    Yes +145
    No -190

    People that bet on sports understand that. They dont understand fractional displays.

    • Ben Alberstadt

      Nov 26, 2017 at 3:29 pm

      A good point. This is the way the book sent us the odds. However, I agree it makes more sense to present it as you suggest.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19th Hole

68 at the British Open in the morning, golf with hickories at St Andrews in the afternoon

Published

on

Yes, golf fans, just another day in the charmed life (or week, at least) of one Brandon Stone.

Stoney (as I assume his friends call him), came to Carnoustie on the heels of a final-round 60 to win the Scottish Open. All he did in his opening round was fire a 3-under 68. Not bad!

But his Thursday to remember was only getting started as Stone made the 25-mile trip south to the Old Course to peg it…with a set of hickory clubs! Well played, sir, well played.

Your Reaction?
  • 6
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Jean van de Velde’s 1999 British Open collapse is still tough to watch in LEGO form

Published

on

Gather ‘round, golf fans, for the saddest British Open story ever told–in LEGOs.

Maestro of the plastic medium, Jared Jacobs, worked his singular magic on Jean van de Velde’s notorious final-hole collapse at Carnoustie in 1999.

The interlocking plastic brick cinema begins after van de Velde’s approach shot has caromed off a grandstand railing to land on the opposite side of the Barry Burn.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 6
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Sung Kang finally responds to cheating allegations

Published

on

Sorry to interrupt your regularly scheduled British Open programming, but Sung Kang stated today he still doesn’t think he didn’t anything wrong. “I followed the rules by the rules official…I think I did the right thing,” he said after his opening round at The Open.

Joel Dahmen, if you recall, accused the 31-year-old pro of taking a bad drop at the 10th hole during the final round of the Quicken Loans National.

The comments were Kang’s first public remarks since a statement co-released with the PGA Tour which said, “He is standing by the ruling that was made by PGA Tour Rules officials on Sunday and will have no further comment.”

While he stopped short of giving his side of the story, Kang did indeed make “further comment.”

Here’s some of what he said.

“I did not want to say anything bad about Joel. Because there can be difference of opinions. But the way he just said it on Twitter was not right. There can be different opinions. And also, it was made a decision by the rules official. So nothing was wrong.”

“I really want to say a lot of things about it, the truth about what happened, but no comment because I’m not going to say anything. I think I made the right decision. … Even when I say something, a few people still kind of think i still did something wrong. And if someone believes in me, they aren’t going to trust what Joel said.”

“No matter what I say, some people are going to trust it, some people are not going to trust it. And then I’m going to be thinking about it more and more. So I’m just focusing on my golf game.”

The British press asked Kang if he wishes he had done anything differently.

“No. Why? I did the right thing,” Kang replied.

Now, I’m not here to argue one way or the other, but the rules official wasn’t in position to do anything other than leave things at the player’s discretion, which he did. So, it’s misleading–if not downright deceptive–for Kang to suggest otherwise.

The official didn’t see the shot. There was no video of it. The only thing he had to rely on was the accounts of those who did see it. In a situation where accounts vary, and with the Rules of Golf relying on player integrity as they do, all he could do was leave the ball in Kang’s court. Thus, the decision as to where to drop was wholly Sung Kang’s.

Again, this isn’t to say the drop was necessarily bad, bad to play the “decision by the rules official” card is, well, a bad drop.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 22
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW1
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB2
  • SHANK36

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending