Connect with us

Opinion & Analysis

Exploring the majestic New South Wales GC

Published

on

Our Australian adventure comes to an end and we finish on a high note with the crown jewel: New South Wales GC.

One of the greatest golf architects ever, Alister Mackenzie (1870-1934), designed New South Wales Golf Course back in 1928. Laid out on a beautiful piece of land located on the east side of Sydney, this is an exceptional spot for a golf course with a roaring, wild coastline framing the playground. This project must have been sky high up on any golf architect’s wishlist at that time. While looking back at it and knowing our history, who could have done a better job than Alister Mackenzie?

(C) Jacob Sjöman. jacob@sjomanart.com

The design is so pure and it has a lot of character, for example you’ve got some crazy, quirky holes that you never will forget about just based on how different they are — I am thinking of the blind tee shot on the dogleg at the third, and the 17th hole with an enormous hill that breaks the par 5 right in the middle.

Then you’ve got those majestic, scenic holes with views over the ocean to (almost) kill for. To mention just one: when you are walking up to the top of the hill on the par-5 fifth hole and looking down to the green and seeing the par-3 sixth running along the sea, it’s a real treat for your eyes and something you will never forget. Let the photo here below give you an idea.

5th Hole, Par 5 – New South Wales GC – Sydney / Australia – (C) Jacob Sjöman. jacob@sjomanart.com

We should not forget about the fun and short par-3 17th with a slippery dancefloor — a hole where it almost feel like you throw darts for the bullseye.

Add some good strategic challenges along the way, and together with the jaw-dropping tee shot on the sixth, you start to understand that you’ve ticked plenty of boxes for playing a fantastic bucket list course.

There isn’t a single part of me regretting I’ve played this course. On a clear blue sky day, we headed out and faced this big challenge, a bit of wind and looking out over the beautiful ocean on almost on every hole. It was clearly an emotional journey with a couple of double bogeys and one eagle (the short par-4 14th) and most importantly such an tremendous adventure that I will always carry with me as a sweet golfing memory.

So, if you are in Sydney, you should definitely try to get on here. In my opinion it’s a world golf bucket list course.

(C) Jacob Sjöman. jacob@sjomanart.com

Your Reaction?
  • 26
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW7
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Since 2010, the tall Swede Jacob Sjöman has established himself as one of the premier golf course photographers in the world. Shooting from the ground, special high tripods, hanging out from helicopters and operating advanced drones, Jacob brings both fresh and amazing results to each project he undertakes. He has captured and left his own creative mark on some of the most recognized tracks around the world including Lofoten Links, Trump International Golf Links and now recently Gary Player's masterpiece in Bulgaria, Thracian Cliffs.

3 Comments

3 Comments

  1. Ryan

    Dec 13, 2018 at 7:46 pm

    This is GOLD! Adding this course to my bucketlist.

  2. freowho

    Dec 7, 2018 at 4:06 am

    It’s a shame most of your photos are of the one green. Admittedly it is probably the signature hole but the rest of the course is also worthy of some photos.

  3. Richard Tucker

    Dec 6, 2018 at 2:17 pm

    Used to be a member there when I lived in Sydney. One of the best kept secrets in world golf. Golfers talk about a 1 to maybe 3 club wind. At NSW we sometimes had to contend with up to a 6 club wind.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

On Spec

On Spec: Please don’t play blades (or maybe play them anyway)

Published

on

Host Ryan talks about the different ways to enjoy the game and maximizing your equipment enjoyment which doesn’t always have to mean hitting it 15 yards farther. The great debate of blades vs cavity backs is as old of an argument you will find in golf but both sides can be right equaling right. Ryan explains why.

Check out the full podcast on SoundCloud below, or click here to listen on iTunes or here to listen on Spotify.

Want more GolfWRX Radio? Check out our other shows (and the full archives for this show) below. 

Your Reaction?
  • 1
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Opinion & Analysis

What’s going on with the decline in putting on the PGA Tour?

Published

on

Watching the PGA Tour recently, I was struck by Frank Nobilo commenting on how professionals and their instructors work down to the smallest detail, a reflection on the intense competition on the PGA Tour and the fact that to be successful you cannot ignore anything. He made this comment with his thumb and forefinger barely not touching for emphasis.

That being the case, the numbers below should cause major introspection by every player and their coach. They are self-explanatory and have been verified by a third party expert who deals in putting data.

All figures are Shotlink data from the PGA Tour. To preclude undue influence by an anomaly years 2003-5 are averaged as are 2016-18

Average make percentage from 5 distances, 2003-2005 combined

  • 6 FEET: 71.98 percent
  • 8 FEET: 55.01 percent
  • 10 FEET: 43.26 percent
  • 15-20 FEET: 19.37 percent
  • 25 FEET AND BEYOND: 5.96 percent

Average make percentage from the same 5 distances, 2015-2018

  • 6 FEET: 70.43 percent
  • 8 FEET: 53.54 percent
  • 10 FEET: 41.39 percent
  • 15-20 FEET: 18.80 percent
  • 25 FEET AND BEYOND: 5.33 percent

Percent decrease 

  • 6 FEET: 1.55 percent
  • 8 FEET: 1.67 percent
  • 10 FEET: 1.87 percent
  • 15-20 FEET: .57 percent
  • 25 FEET AND BEYOND: .83 percent

One comment, green conditions have been vetted to the point where they are not considered a culprit. Faster, yes, but pristine surfaces, and very consistent week to week. There are some outliers like the U.S. Open greens but they are included in the data shown and caused no significant spike for that week.

Further, on the subject of greens, today’s professional has booklets showing green patterns, high MOI putter heads, instruction from putting specialists, and caddies, expert green readers in their own right. Bottom line: if anything the greens help not hurt.

So your turn. Look at the data. Appoint yourself all-powerful guru to improve putting data. What would your plan, be? Oh and this little tidbit so you can earn a huge consulting fee: We took six players, three on either side of the halfway point, your solution resulted in a one-shot per TOURNAMENT improvement. Average INCREASE in earnings for the season: a smidge over $500K!

Your Reaction?
  • 88
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW7
  • LOL4
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

Opinion & Analysis

A merciful new local rule

Published

on

This April, within a list of 2019 Rules Clarifications, the USGA and R&A quietly authorized a new Local Rule that you can expect to see enacted everywhere from the U.S. Open Championship to, if you’re lucky, your own club championship.  

New Local Rule E-12 provides some protection from an unintended consequence of Rule 14.3c, which requires that your ball come to rest in the relief area for the drop you’re taking. When I first read about this option, I confess that I was a bit skeptical. But now that I’ve experienced the Local Rule in action, its value has become very clear.  

My initial skepticism came from the fact that I like it that every time, we drop we now must drop in a relief area. I also like the simplicity of requiring the ball to come to rest in that relief area — no more awkward need to figure out if your ball stayed within two club lengths of the point where your drop first struck the course, as used to be the case.  So right from the start, I was very comfortable with the new rules in this regard. But in some cases, particularly for those who haven’t carefully studied the revised rules, this simple approach has caused problems. 

The freedom this new Local Rule provides applies exclusively to back-on-the-line relief drops, such as you might make from penalty areas or for unplayable balls. It’s a bit complicated, but let me take you through how it helps. We’ll use yellow-staked penalty areas as an example. Last year, for back-on-the-line drops such as these, you’d identify the point where your ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard and draw an imaginary line from the flagstick through that point, select a nice place to drop anywhere you chose back along that line, and then let it drop. If you picked a point sufficiently back, and your ball didn’t hit anything prohibited, and it didn’t stop more than two club lengths from where you dropped it, you were good to go.  

This year, instead of dropping on that imaginary line, you drop in a relief area that surrounds that imaginary line. Just like before, you identify the edge of the penalty area where your ball last crossed, go back as far as you wish along an imaginary line from the flagstick through that point — but now you should identify a relief area around your selected drop location. To do so, you pick a point on the line, then define a relief area one club length from that point no closer to the hole. So you typically have a semicircle two club lengths in diameter in which to drop. If you drop a foot or two back from the front edge of the semicircle, there’s almost always no problem with the ball coming to rest outside the releif area and you’ll be ready to play.  But if you drop right on the front edge of your defined relief area, or if you didn’t bother to identify a point/relief area along the imaginary line before you dropped, and your ball bounces and comes to rest even the slightest bit forward — it’s now outside the relief area and subject to a two-stroke or loss of hole penalty for playing from the wrong place if you end up hitting the ball before correcting your mistake.

That might seem kind of harsh — you take a back-on-the-line drop like you did last year, it bounces and stops an inch forward, you hit it — and you get severely penalized.  If you had simply established the relief area an inch or two forward, things would have been perfectly legal! The 2019 rules, in their effort to simplify and make consistent the drop/relief procedure, created an unintended potential trap for players that weren’t careful enough managing their business. This seemed like it was going to be a big enough problem that the USGA and R&A decided to graciously do something about it:  Introduce Model Local Rule E-12.

When this Local Rule is adopted, a player is given some additional freedom. If he or she applies the relief area/drop principles correctly, there is, of course, still no problem.  But if he or she ends up with the ball somewhat outside the relief area, there still might be no penalty. As long as the ball originally struck the course within where the relief area should be, and as long as it didn’t come to rest more than one club length from where it first hit the course when dropped, you can still play it penalty-free (as long as it’s not nearer the hole than where the ball originally lay in the case of an unplayable ball drop, or nearer the hole than the edge of the penalty area where the ball last crossed for a penalty area drop).

While all that’s a bit complicated sounding, in practice it’s intuitive. And as an added bonus, it probably doesn’t matter if you don’t understand it or even know it’s in force — there are simply more occasions when you can blissfully, even ignorantly, play on penalty-free.

This new Local Rule provides another advantage as well. When it’s in effect, an opponent or ref (or a TV viewer) won’t have to concern themselves with whether or not the player making the drop actually followed the recommendation of first defining a relief area before making a back-on-the-line drop. If you’re at a distance, and you see a player taking a drop which bounces slightly forward, you can relax. You don’t have to wonder whether or not you should rush up and confirm that the ball didn’t squeak out of the player’s intended relief area in an effort to prevent the player from incurring a penalty.  One way or another, everything is more than likely just fine.

With all that in mind, maybe you’d like to see the specific wording of E-12:

“When taking Back-On-the-Line relief, there is no additional penalty if a player plays a ball that was dropped in the relief area required by the relevant Rule (Rule 16.1c(2), 17.1d(2), 19.2b or 19.3b) but came to rest outside the relief area, so long as the ball, when played, is within one club-length of where it first touched the ground when dropped.

“This exemption from penalty applies even if the ball is played from nearer the hole than the reference point (but not if played from nearer the hole than the spot of the original ball or the estimated point where the ball last crossed the edge of the penalty area).

“This Local Rule does not change the procedure for taking Back-On-the-Line relief under a relevant Rule. This means that the reference point and relief area are not changed by this Local Rule and that Rule 14.3c(2) can be applied by a player who drops a ball in the right way and it comes to rest outside the relief area, whether this occurs on the first or second drop.” 

Your Reaction?
  • 18
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB5
  • SHANK29

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending