Connect with us

19th Hole

Greg Norman introduces the Shark Experience. You won’t believe what it is.

Published

on

Greg Norman is nothing if not bold and willing to put his name on things.

Where to begin with this one? Right into the Shark-infested waters we go: The Greg Norman Company announced Wednesday the launch of something called the “Shark Experience.”

What does that name conjure up for you? Probably not this: the “Shark Experience” is a golf cart designed to revolutionize the game. Really.

Norman’s company has joined forces with the likes of Club Car and golf GPS technology firm GPSI to create the golf cart of your dreams. The Shark Experience cart features a HD-touchscreen that show live sports and highlights, streams videos and, you guessed it, plays Greg Norman instruction videos.

(photo c/o Golf.com/Greg Norman Enterprises)

(photo c/o Golf.com/Greg Norman Enterprises)

In addition, specially designed speakers are angled so riders can absorb the audio without disturbing those around them

Thus, the specific “experience” of the Shark Experience would seem to be watching Norman while riding in a Norman-designed contraption.

“Golfers have had little bits and pieces of this available to them with their iPhone, earbuds and bluetooth speakers. Now it’s all integrated into one,” Norman told Golf.com. “They now have all of this technology brought into one place, in a golf cart.”

Reportedly, there are also food and beverage options available and some variety of shot tracer.

“We’ve taken Top Golf from the driving range to the golf cart. We have everything they have, but now you’re on green grass,” Norman says.

The Shark Experience is slated to debut at the PGA Show in January.

What do you think, GolfWRX members? Looking forward to this Experience?

Your Reaction?
  • 1
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB3
  • SHANK48

9 Comments

9 Comments

  1. Andrew

    Nov 3, 2017 at 11:35 pm

    So which Greg story gets told? The narcissist? The British Open champion? The homewrecker? The ballstriker? The ones we want in the game can do their own homework.

  2. Andrew

    Nov 3, 2017 at 11:24 pm

    This is not growing the game for the right reasons, Greg. Thanks for encouraging the social media tards to pollute our hallowed grounds even more. The mess that the Tiger bandwagon left behind was hard enough. I’m disappointed in you Greg. Very disappointed. If it’s about money, you have enough. Disappear.

  3. Mr. Replier Guy

    Nov 1, 2017 at 9:45 pm

    Shark!…er I mean Shank!

  4. Ccshop

    Nov 1, 2017 at 4:29 pm

    Wonder how long it will be until someone watching a live stream crashes the cart and sues Greg Norman and the golf course. Would never add this to our carts. Plus I agree it would add to Round length

  5. Dan

    Nov 1, 2017 at 3:49 pm

    shark just jumped the shark

  6. Thomas A

    Nov 1, 2017 at 3:08 pm

    Hello 6 and 7 hour rounds of golf.

  7. Travis

    Nov 1, 2017 at 3:04 pm

    A golf cart with an Ipad in it….. HOOLLYYYYYY MOLLYYYYY WWOWWWWW.

  8. PM

    Nov 1, 2017 at 2:05 pm

    Someone will need to tell everyone under 40 who Greg Norman was.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19th Hole

Lexi Thompson violates Rules of Golf at Indy Women in Tech Championship

Published

on

During the third round of the Indy Women in Tech Championship, Lexi Thompson unknowingly ran afoul of the Rules of Golf.

Preferred lies–AKA lift, clean, and place–were in effect at soggy Brickyard Crossing. Thompson hit her drive at the par-5 10th hole wide right. It settled in the sixth fairway. Believing she was allowed to lift and clean any ball in the fairway, Thompson began to do so.

The rule, of course, only applies to balls that settle in one’s own fairway. Fortunately for Thompson, an official saw what was happening and stepped in to administer a penalty.

“Thankfully, Marty [the official] intervened before she hit her next shot,” Golf Channel’s Kay Cockerill reported. “Otherwise, she would have been hitting from the wrong spot, and it would have been a two-shot penalty. So, in a sense, it saved her a shot.”

The LPGA issued this statement.

“While playing the third round of the 2018 Indy Women in Tech Championship, Lexi Thompson incurred a one-stroke penalty for breach of the preferred lies local Rule (Appendix IA Part 3b Course Conditions).”

“The Committee adopted the preferred lies local Rule due to the turf conditions of the golf course after receiving over an inch of rain. The LPGA, under the local Rule, restricts the player from preferring her lie when her ball lies in a closely-mown area of a hole other than the one being played.”

“During the play of hole #10, Thompson’s tee shot came to rest in the fairway of hole #6. As Thompson’s ball lay on the fairway of hole #6, she was not entitled to prefer her lie.”

“She preferred her lie in breach of the local Rule but prior to playing her stroke from a wrong place (Rule 20-7), she was questioned by a Rules official regarding her actions. As she had not played her stroke from the preferred spot, she did not receive the general penalty of two-strokes under the local Rule. However, she did incur a one-stroke penalty under Rule 18-2 for lifting her ball at rest without authority.”

Your Reaction?
  • 90
  • LEGIT37
  • WOW36
  • LOL13
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP8
  • OB8
  • SHANK147

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Joe LaCava, Tiger Woods’ caddie, paid a heckler $25 to leave at the WGC-Bridgestone

Published

on

While Steve Williams would likely have taken a different route, Tiger Woods’ current caddie admitted to bribing a fan to leave his boss alone.

LaCava called into ESPN’s “Golic and Wingo” and told a tale of paying of a heckler at the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational.

LaCava said the man heckled Woods throughout his final round at the Bridgestone, and on the 14th hole, LaCava interceded, telling the man to check out action elsewhere on the course. Interestingly/absurdly, the man said he would be happy to, provided LaCava reimburse him for his ticket.

Here’s the full transcript c/o ESPN.

Mike Golic: “Did you have any issues with the people at Bellerive?”

Joe LaCava: “Not at all, and you hit it right on the head, 99 percent of the guys and women are behind Tiger, pushing for Tiger. They want to see good golf in general they’re not anti-the-other-guys, but they’re certainly rooting for Tiger more so than the other guys. But, funny you guys ask that question. The week before in Akron, I had a little incident with a guy who was harassing my guy on the 14th hole at Akron the last day outside the ropes, roughening him up pretty good. And I said, hey listen bud, why do you gotta go there? Everyone’s having a good time, everyone’s pulling for Tiger. You don’t like the guy that’s one thing, but you don’t to be yelling at my guy, screaming negative stuff like that. And I said at the end of the day, if you affect him, his performance, it effects my bottomline. So he calls me a couple names and I go back and forth with the guy, and I say why don’t you just leave. And he says well if you give me $25 for the ticket that I bought today I’ll leave. And I said here you go, here’s $25.”

Mike: “Did he leave?”

Joe: “So I whip out $25 and he starts to go down the 14th fairway toward the green. I say look pal $25 is $25 you gotta head the other way. So he starts to head the other way, he goes 20 yards down the line, then he calls me a certain other, a swear word. So I run 20 yards back the other way and I’m going face to face with this guy. And all the sudden Tiger’s looking for a yardage, and I’m in it with this guy 20 yards down the line. So some cop has to come in, push this guy outta the way, and take him outta the tournament.

Mike: “So what did Tiger say when you came back to give him the yardage?”

Joe: “Well that’s a great question. We were so far to the right of the trees, and he was on his third shot believe it or not, we were still 150 yards away from the green, and he didn’t really know what happened. He heard the commotion, he heard the guy yelling at him, so we talked about it after the fact, but he didn’t really know how it developed. And he says I was wondering what happened, and he goes normally it wouldn’t that long to get a yardage. I said well a little incident down the road. He didn’t have a problem with it, and actually I gotta standing ovation for kicking the guy outta there.

Security probably should have happened sooner when LaCava was $25 richer.

Your Reaction?
  • 319
  • LEGIT27
  • WOW20
  • LOL13
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP4
  • OB3
  • SHANK20

Continue Reading

19th Hole

A brief cart ride (by his caddie) has big implications for Akshay Bhatia at the U.S. Amateur

Published

on

16-year-old Akshay Bhatia may be looking for a new caddie for his next event. The rising star of amateur golf was penalized when his caddie accepted a ride on a golf cart at the 14th hole during the round of 64 at the U.S. Amateur.

Bhatia would go on to lose to Bradford Tilley.

The match was all square at the 14th. Chris Darnell, Bhatia’s caddie, made a pit stop at the bathroom after Bhatia hit his approach. While the player walked to the green, Darnell was approached by what he believed was a USGA official driving a golf cart.

“The gentleman was wearing a USGA pullover,” Darnell said afterward. “I asked if I could get a ride to the green to keep up pace, and he said yes. So I hopped on the back, got up to the green, hopped off and thought nothing of it.”

Of course, neither players nor caddies can ride on any form of transportation during the round unless authorized, per the Rules of Golf. Bhatia was penalized accordingly and lost the hole after a (real) official spotted the infraction.

Particularly frustrating for the golfer was the fact that he had birdied the par-5 and believed he was going 1 up on his opponent, only to find out they were all square.

As mentioned, Bhatia would go on to lose in 19 holes.

Adding another layer to this drama, Darnell said Tilley’s caddie had done the same thing earlier in the match.

“I had already seen the other caddie in our group do it on the ninth hole,” Darnell said. “Same thing – USGA pullover, drove him from the bathroom up to the fairway – so I assumed it was fine. I didn’t point it out at the time because everything seemed kosher. He had the USGA stuff on, and I didn’t think anything of it.”

What are the chances Tilley or his caddie admit to the infraction now? And who is this mystery idiot who loves the USGA enough to drape himself in their garb but is daft enough to blatantly break a straightforward rule of competition?

Dumb rule? Certainly in this sense. But so many situations exist in amateur play that you can understand why the USGA would level a prohibition on transportation. Still, shouldn’t there be some room for interpretation? It’s difficult to argue Bhatia himself gained any advantage…

What do you think, GolfWRX members?

Your Reaction?
  • 7
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW3
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP2
  • OB2
  • SHANK64

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending