Connect with us

19th Hole

Pro forgets to show up to his tee time, still makes $43K

Published

on

The WGC events are often derisively referred to as “cash grabs,” but this takes things to another level.

It’s not quite as extreme as Daniel Berger collecting $50,500 at last year’s WGC-Bridgestone Invitational when he withdrew after hitting just one shot. Still, Shugo Imahira’s situation at the WGC-HSBC Champions is sure to draw some eyerolls.

Imahira didn’t show up for his 10:35 a.m. third-round tee time. Per Golf Channel’s Will Gray, the Japanese national was confused about his starting time. Accordingly, he was disqualified.

Even with the DQ, however, Imahira will still be awarded the last-place prize amount: $43,000. In other words, more than half of what the average American family earns in a year. Not a bad reward for failing to show up for work.

With rounds of 72-79, Imahira was already on a collision course with a last-place finish. Thus, he can console himself with the fact that he didn’t leave a huge pile of cash on the table.

Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW1
  • LOL5
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK13

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Who cares

    Oct 29, 2017 at 10:13 am

    Look at other professional sports, guys getting cut from team or released with guaranteed money upfront or longterm guaranteed contracts, not playing for seasons….but making millions; not $43k..this is peanuts, majority of golfers not making cut go home on Friday making nothing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19th Hole

Fancy a punt? Check out these Tiger Woods British Open prop bets

Published

on

It wouldn’t be a major featuring Tiger Woods without Tiger Woods prop bets, would it? Bettors, as we know, get off the sidelines to shovel cash behind Woods when he tees it up in major championships. This has been historically true. It was true at the Masters. It was true at the U.S. Open.

Accordingly, the good folks at BetDSI are offering a number of Woods wagers you may be keen to punt on…especially if you want a piece of the TW action but aren’t keen to take Woods at 24-1 to win The Open.

Tiger Woods makes cut

Yes -350
No +250

Tiger Woods wins

Yes +2400
No -2900

Tiger Woods finishes top 5

Yes +600
No -900

Tiger Woods finishes top 10

Yes +270
No -400

Tiger Woods finishes top 20

Yes +140
No -170

Tiger Woods finishing position

Over 25.5 (-115)
Under 25.5 (-115)

Tiger Woods lowest round

Over 69.5 (-110)
Under 69.5 (-120)

Tiger Woods highest round

Over 75.5 (-110)
Under 75.5 (-120)

Tiger Woods highest score on any hole

Over 7 (-110)
Under 7 (-120)

Tiger Woods total double bogeys or worse

Over 3 (-110)
Under 3 (-120)

Tiger Woods within 5 strokes of lead during final round

Yes +225
No -300

Your Reaction?
  • 2
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW1
  • LOL1
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

19th Hole

WATCH Phil Mickelson hit a flop shot over a man 2 yards in front of him

Published

on

On the Gear Dive podcast, Fred Couples told Johnny Wunder that Phil Mickelson is the best judge of a lie (and the shots he can execute from a certain lie) in the game of golf.

This video from Carnoustie yesterday is testament both to that fact and a reminder that Phil Mickelson’s short game is truly singular.

Former European Tour pro Gary Evans was the guinea pig.

Here’s the shot from another angle. That’s gotta be a 64-degree Callaway Mack Daddy PM Grind, no?

Mother of golf gods! Check your trousers, Gary! How crazy is that shot? There’s plenty of puffery when it comes to Phil’s short game, but that shot is simply insane. Would love to see the Trackman data on that flop.

I mean, if Phil doesn’t get the contact he wants and you get hit, you gotta hope to get pelted in the stomach or chest…and not the jewels or the face.

What do you think, GolfWRX members? Would you take Evans place for viral video fame? A few bills from Mickelson’s famed cash wad?

Your Reaction?
  • 25
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW6
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Want to watch Rickie Fowler drive it 458 yards? Sure you do!

Published

on

I’m not about to act like Rickie Fowler had some Hulk-meets-Joe Miller moment at the Scottish Open and belted a drive more than 450 yards.

No, Dick Fowler, P.I.,was massively aided by baked out Gullane, the contours of the fairway, and likely a decent tailwind. Obviously. He’d certainly admit that fact, and it’s abundantly clear he smacked his drive down a concrete ski slope.

That said, a 458-yard drive is a 458-yard drive, and it’s a spectacle worth watching.

Check it out.

All credit to the Cobra King F8+ and Aldila NV 2KXV Blue 70X shaft; check out Fowler’s full WITB here.

Fowler finished tied for sixth place at 14-under.

Your Reaction?
  • 13
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW2
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending