Connect with us

19th Hole

Can Edoardo Molinari make a hole-in-one in 500 shots before losing his mind?

Published

on

According to a video posted to the European Tour’s Facebook page today, there’s a 1-in-2,500 chance of a Tour player making a hole-in-one. As it turns out, however, there’s a way better chance that Edoardo Molinari loses his mind before making a hole-in-one in 500 attempts.

Ahead of this week’s Italian Open, Molinari volunteered for what surely seemed like a fun experiment beforehand, but in reality it turned into some sort of cruel torture.

MolinariBallMarks

While Molinari showcased amazing skill and consistency — he nearly holed his first shot, actually dunked his 153rd shot that popped out of the hole, and left an absurd amount of ball marks within feet of the hole — the experiment proved to be a frustrating failure as Molinari could not make a hole-in-one in 500 shots.

Watch the full video for yourself to see how dialed Molinari was from 145-yards with a 9-iron, and just how frustrated he became as the experiment progressed.

Since the golf gods have a very weird way of asserting their power, look out for Molinari to record a hole-in-one at this week’s event. I wouldn’t be shocked at all.

Your Reaction?
  • 30
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW3
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Andrew Tursky is the Editor-in-Chief of GolfWRX. He played on the Hawaii Pacific University Men's Golf team and earned a Masters degree in Communications. He also played college golf at Rutgers University, where he graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. rymail00

    Oct 10, 2017 at 9:17 pm

    Personally I really like what the Euro PGA is doing. I’m guessing some might hate it, but they are doing different things and I “personally” think it’s much more interesting stuff vs the normal PGA stuff. They’re having fun, and that’s extremely entertaining.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19th Hole

68 at the British Open in the morning, golf with hickories at St Andrews in the afternoon

Published

on

Yes, golf fans, just another day in the charmed life (or week, at least) of one Brandon Stone.

Stoney (as I assume his friends call him), came to Carnoustie on the heels of a final-round 60 to win the Scottish Open. All he did in his opening round was fire a 3-under 68. Not bad!

But his Thursday to remember was only getting started as Stone made the 25-mile trip south to the Old Course to peg it…with a set of hickory clubs! Well played, sir, well played.

Your Reaction?
  • 6
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Jean van de Velde’s 1999 British Open collapse is still tough to watch in LEGO form

Published

on

Gather ‘round, golf fans, for the saddest British Open story ever told–in LEGOs.

Maestro of the plastic medium, Jared Jacobs, worked his singular magic on Jean van de Velde’s notorious final-hole collapse at Carnoustie in 1999.

The interlocking plastic brick cinema begins after van de Velde’s approach shot has caromed off a grandstand railing to land on the opposite side of the Barry Burn.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 7
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Sung Kang finally responds to cheating allegations

Published

on

Sorry to interrupt your regularly scheduled British Open programming, but Sung Kang stated today he still doesn’t think he didn’t anything wrong. “I followed the rules by the rules official…I think I did the right thing,” he said after his opening round at The Open.

Joel Dahmen, if you recall, accused the 31-year-old pro of taking a bad drop at the 10th hole during the final round of the Quicken Loans National.

The comments were Kang’s first public remarks since a statement co-released with the PGA Tour which said, “He is standing by the ruling that was made by PGA Tour Rules officials on Sunday and will have no further comment.”

While he stopped short of giving his side of the story, Kang did indeed make “further comment.”

Here’s some of what he said.

“I did not want to say anything bad about Joel. Because there can be difference of opinions. But the way he just said it on Twitter was not right. There can be different opinions. And also, it was made a decision by the rules official. So nothing was wrong.”

“I really want to say a lot of things about it, the truth about what happened, but no comment because I’m not going to say anything. I think I made the right decision. … Even when I say something, a few people still kind of think i still did something wrong. And if someone believes in me, they aren’t going to trust what Joel said.”

“No matter what I say, some people are going to trust it, some people are not going to trust it. And then I’m going to be thinking about it more and more. So I’m just focusing on my golf game.”

The British press asked Kang if he wishes he had done anything differently.

“No. Why? I did the right thing,” Kang replied.

Now, I’m not here to argue one way or the other, but the rules official wasn’t in position to do anything other than leave things at the player’s discretion, which he did. So, it’s misleading–if not downright deceptive–for Kang to suggest otherwise.

The official didn’t see the shot. There was no video of it. The only thing he had to rely on was the accounts of those who did see it. In a situation where accounts vary, and with the Rules of Golf relying on player integrity as they do, all he could do was leave the ball in Kang’s court. Thus, the decision as to where to drop was wholly Sung Kang’s.

Again, this isn’t to say the drop was necessarily bad, bad to play the “decision by the rules official” card is, well, a bad drop.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 22
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW1
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB2
  • SHANK37

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending