Connect with us
Advertisement

19th Hole

Matt Kuchar ran the Presidents Cup press conference as only Matt Kuchar could

Published

on

When Matt Kuchar hangs up his Skechers, he might have a future as a media official.

With the U.S. team assembled in the media center following their 19-11 thrashing of the Internationals, Matt Kuchar elected to play the part of official, posing questions to his teammates.

Kuchar started by throwing a couple of softballs Presidents Cup rookie Daniel Berger’s way, at which point Dustin Johnson cut in and asked Jordan Spieth about his abysmal Presidents Cup singles record.

“Golden Child here needs a little jab once in awhile,” DJ said.

Kuchar then tried to set the record for shortest post-win presser in tour history by saying

“Well, if there are no further questions, I think we’re done.”

Amanda Herrington stepped in for the PGA Tour and restored order. Kuchar wasn’t done clowning, however. When his turn at the mic came, he decided to wind Phil Mickelson up (the only team member who didn’t make it to the Tour Championship).

MATT KUCHAR: This team was just an amazing bunch of guys, amazing performance. Everybody was on great form. For us to have — we had 11 guys in the Tour Championship; everybody except Phil Mickelson was at East Lake (laughter).

It was like, how many times does it happen that you get 11 out of 12. If it was only for Phil, we would have had 12 of 12, but Phil was not there. So if we just — we were one guy short of having an entire team there (laughter) and if Phil was there, that would have been the whole team. Like how many times does a team ever have that many guys play that well to make the tour champion?

Mickelson, for his part, surprisingly didn’t have a great rebuttal.

PHIL MICKELSON: Gave me a chance to go home and work on my game in case it did come down to my singles match, you know.

MATT KUCHAR: Justin, tell him how great East Lake was (laughter).

Well played, Kuch. Kuchar gets plenty of guff on social media for his Sketchers sponsorship, G-rated cursing, and back-door top-10 finishes. But the guy is funny. Like, you might actually want to hang out with him.

Ultimately, if you’re a fan of the United States squad, you can happily file all of this away as a team-building exercise for the 2018 Ryder Cup at Le Golf National.

Your Reaction?
  • 19
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19th Hole

Jeff Golden issues statement on Florida Mid-Am incident

Published

on

Jeff Golden is sharing more details about the events of May 16 at the Florida Mid-Amateur Championship.

If you recall, police were summoned to Coral Creek Club during a rain delay in the Golden-Marc Dull final. Golden alleged Dull’s caddie, Brandon Hibbs, punched him in the face during a parking lot altercation. Dull and Hibbs both deny the incident occurred.

Rather than paraphrase or pull quotes, it seems appropriate to post the majority of Golden’s statement as is, since it’s his attempt to speak for himself and set the record straight.

“When my name was announced on the first tee, my opponent’s caddie immediately asked an off color question. I laughed off the timing of that question, along with many other examples of bad etiquette to come. Alcohol appeared to be influencing his behavior. I’ve never seen an opposing caddie engage in so much conversation with a competitor. On the eighth hole I had become extremely frustrated because I was forced to back off my shot two different times when my opponent and caddie were talking and moving. I expressed my disappointment with their etiquette to the match referee following our group.”

“The ruling that came from the caddie’s comments on the ninth hole started because of a simple question that I posed: “Was that advice?” I thought this was the only way to slow down the caddie, clean up the etiquette and play a gentlemanly match. I felt justified in my decision, especially since my opponent then asked his caddie, “Why did you say that?” The caddie recused himself from the match, but he didn’t leave the property.”

“…I didn’t even get my bag out of my car when the caddie reappeared and said he’d like to apologize. I most likely had a smile on my face, because I was ready to put the past behind us, and he punched me in the face. I was knocked to the ground, and by the time I looked up, he was walking away, to my surprise, toward the clubhouse. The pro shop is a separate building, so that’s where I immediately went for help. The inside of my mouth was bleeding and my face was throbbing. I realized my hand was also hurting –that’s what broke my fall instead of my head.

“The pro shop employee called the police and was extremely helpful, getting me ice and offering any help I needed. The police arrived, and the deputy concluded that there wasn’t enough evidence to justify pressing charges. I gave a recorded sworn statement to the deputy recapping the events.”

“The FSGA has one job, and that’s to follow the Rules of Golf. Unfortunately, there’s no rule for an inebriated “ex-caddie” punching a player in a match-play rain delay with no witnesses.”

“The FSGA gave me one option when the rain stopped. I had to play. My opponent had the option to concede the match and take responsibility for his caddie, but he told me he had nothing to do with what occurred.”

Golden further indicated that he conceded the match because of “physical and emotional distress, pulsing pain in my face, dizziness and cuts on my right hand.” He indicated he was surprised the FSGA didn’t suspend the match.

With respect to that point, it’s probably worth pointing out that FSGA executive director Jim Demick said that Golden “didn’t want to play anymore.”

“Regrettably, the golf course was very playable and Jeff understood that he needed to resume the match. I think he was just ready to go,” adding police “found absolutely no evidence of an assault.”

The FSGA hasn’t provided additional comment or modified that statement.

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW2
  • LOL7
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK22

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Must be the Arby’s: Beef Johnston deadlifts 485 lbs

Published

on

Update: Thanks to WRX member Sam who pointed out: “The correct term for that lift would be a rack pull (weight does not start on the ground).”

An Instagram video posted by the European Tour’s Performance Institute shows Beef Johnston readying for a deadlift attempt.

Fueled by Beef ‘n Cheddars and curly fries, Johnston steps in for an attempt at hoisting 220kg (485 lbs).

To the uninitiated (me), the feat certainly looked impressive. But just how impressive? I fired up Google to find out…

Per PhysicalLiving.com

“Dan John, suggests in his book, Intervention: Course Corrections For The Athlete And Trainer, that the average weightlifter should be able to deadlift between 1 and 1.5 times their body weight. I think that’s a good general recommendation for most people who are interested in health, fitness, longevity, and quality of life. However, Coach Dan John also considers a deadlift using double your bodyweight to be a game-changer. So, there are certainly benefits to be had from doing more than the minimum.”

Johnston reportedly weighs 212 pounds. Thus, Beef lifted nearly 2.3 times his body weight.

Impressive stuff (don’t tell Brandel Chamblee).

WRXers who lift heavy things, what do you think?

Your Reaction?
  • 21
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW1
  • LOL3
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP2
  • OB1
  • SHANK5

Continue Reading

19th Hole

How could a child hitting a golf ball off his father’s face go wrong?

Published

on

We’re bringing you this video in case you haven’t seen it elsewhere: Young Sam Blewett attempts to hit a golf ball off his father’s face, and…

Now, most people are assuming that this three-year-old lad had no idea what he was doing. His father orchestrated the video, told the son, who had never held a golf club nor had any concept of the game to hit the ball, and wood-chopping at the ball followed.

Hot take: I don’t think that’s true. The Instagram account is the three-year-old kid’s (managed by his mother), and he certainly knows how to hit a golf ball properly. See?

So, I’m positing that the kid saw an opportunity to whack his dad in the dome with a golf club and couldn’t pass it up. Yes, young Sam knew exactly what he was doing.

And more power to him. Cunning AND capable with a golf club.

Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending