The Presidents Cup captains picks are in (albeit with considerably less fanfare than last year’s Ryder Cup selections). U.S. Captain Steve Stricker made sure Phil Mickelson’s streak of appearing in every Presidents Cup since 1994 remained intact. Stricker selected Lefty, along with Charley Hoffman, to complete his 12-man squad. This will be Hoffman’s first appearance in the team competition.

“We all know what Phil brings to the table,” Stricker said. “He’s been on 20-plus teams. He’s an important part of all these teams. He, too, is starting to play better. He guarantees me he’s on the right track.”

International captain, Nick Price, selected Emiliano Grillo (Argentina) and Anirban Lahiri (India) for his two picks.

Mickelson’s tie for sixth at last week’s Dell Technologies Championship locked up his spot in captain Stricker’s mind, even though the left-hander finished 15th in the points standings.

“It really has been special the way the people [in the New York area] have treated me and my family,” Mickelson said. “They’re incredible sports fans. It’s a great place for the USA to play and complete. I don’t know what sparked it, but I’m certainly very appreciative.”

This will be Mickelson’s 12th Presidents Cup, where his record is 23-16-12. Stricker’s other selection, Charley Hoffman, finished 11th on the points list.

“I’m glad it’s finally over and I finally made an American team, and I can’t wait. It’s a very special moment. Phil and I have played a lot of golf in San Diego and he talks a lot about it. It’s sort of one of the things that drove me to get on this team was sort of the ribbing he gave me put on the golf course out in San Diego and knowing how special it would be to be a part of this Presidents Cup.”

The other players on the U.S. team: Dustin Johnson, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Rickie Fowler, Daniel Berger, Brooks Koepka, Kevin Kisner, Patrick Reed and Matt Kuchar.

The other players on the International team: Hideki Matsuyama, Jason Day, Adam Scott, Louis Oosthuizen, Marc Leishman, Charl Schwartzel, Branden Grace, Si Woo Kim, Jhonattan Vegas and Adam Hadwin.

The United States has dominated the Presidents Cup. A tie in 2003 is the only non-U.S. win since 1998. The competition kicks off Thursday, September 29, at Liberty National Golf Club.

Your Reaction?
  • 37
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW1
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK7


Not seeing your comment? Read our rules and regulations. Click "Report comment" to alert GolfWRX moderators to offensive or inappropriate comments.
  1. I am so over the Phil fan club! The slobbering commentators couldn’t take their eyes off his last run for 8 th place until the hosel rocket sand wedge. They should pick # 11 and 12 and be done with it.