The traditions of the Masters and Augusta National are well covered in the media; Champions Dinners, Ceremonial Opening tee shots, pink azaleas, Green Jackets, pimento cheese sandwiches, white caddie jumpsuits… the list goes on and on. But there’s a tradition that’s been overlooked for years: lucky numbers.

As you may have seen floating around the Internet, Sergio Garcia’s caddie was wearing the same number (No. 89) as Danny Willett’s caddie in 2016 and Jack Nicklaus’ in 1986.

It’s an amazing coincidence due to the sheer randomness of how numbers are assigned.

“The caddie for the previous year’s champion wears No. 1, and the rest of the numbers are issued simply based on the order the competitor arrives and checks in for the tournament,” a representative for the Augusta Chronicle told me. “For decades, the golfers had to partner with a caddie provided by Augusta National, but in 1983 golfers were allowed to bring their own caddies for the first time.”

This all got me thinking about what other numbers are “lucky.” Is this a phenomenon we’ve been completely ignoring? To determine this, I went through photos from every year of The Masters and matched the winning player with the number of their caddie. What I found in my photo research was a handful of numbers have repeated on the winning caddie’s suits throughout the years, sometimes even for the same player.

Alas, below are the “lucky” numbers.

No. 7


  • Sam Snead: 1952
  • Charles Coody: 1971

No. 9


  • Ian Woosnam: 1991
  • Bernhard Langer: 1985

No. 13


  • Trevor Immelman: 2008
  • Arnold Palmer: 1960, 1962

No. 16


  • Vijay Singh: 2000
  • Ben Crenshaw: 1995
  • Jack Nicklaus: 1972

No. 17


  • Jose Maria Olazabal: 1999
  • Adam Scott: 2013

No. 36


  • Nick Faldo: 1989 (more proof since the photo is fuzzy)
  • Raymond Floyd 1976

No. 52


  • Gary Player: 1978
  • Gary Player: 1961
  • Ben Crenshaw: 1984

No. 53


  • Phil Mickelson: 2004
  • Angel Cabrera: 2009

No. 67


  • Tiger Woods: 2005
  • Nick Faldo: 1996

No. 71


  • Tiger Woods: 2001
  • Tiger Woods: 1997

No. 89


  • Jack Nicklaus: 1986
  • Danny Willett: 2016
  • Sergio Garcia: 2017
Your Reaction?
  • 26
  • LEGIT8
  • WOW4
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP6
  • OB1
  • SHANK61

Previous articleWATCH: Michael "Diceman" Jacobs on the golf swing
Next articleErik Anders Lang: The Filmmaker Tackling Golf's Most Interesting Questions
Andrew Tursky is the Assistant Editor at GolfWRX. He played on the Hawaii Pacific University Men's Golf team while earning a Masters degree in Communications. He also played college golf at Rutgers University, where he graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism.


Not seeing your comment? Read our rules and regulations. Click "Report comment" to alert GolfWRX moderators to offensive or inappropriate comments.