Don't miss

Mizuno MP-64 Irons Review

by   |   October 3, 2012
mizuno mp64 review
Mizuno MP-64 Irons Review GolfWRX
Looks
Performance
Flight & Distance
Feel

Summary: Mizuno moved forward by looking behind. They took the feel that got them to the big dance and paired that up with the latest technology in forgiveness for a players iron. This goes to show that Mizuno is listening to joe public. Could be perfection.

5

Land-O-Lakes


See It The Golf Warehouse
See It FairwayGolf USA
See It Golfsmith
See It In The Hole Golf

Review by: J13 – Updated 1-17-2013

Pros: Mizuno has hit a home run with these irons. I can’t stress it enough that along with Luke Donald’s help, Mizuno has taken a page out of the old play book and went back to the super soft feel that it is know for. My most recent set of Mizunos were the MP-68s. The MP-68s are certainly softer than the average forging, but the MP-64s just seem to melt at impact, like a hot knife through warm butter. Also the modern sized head and one of the best sole designs on record makes this a gem.

Cons: There’s not a whole lot to complain about with these. The only downside is that they aren’t super forgiving so you have to be a solid ball striker to wield the MP-64s. Now, I don’t like to put a handicap on irons like Mizuno does, but I will say that if you make consistent solid contact these irons will suit you nicely. If not, look at Mizuno’s MP-H4s, which are much more forgiving.

Bottom Line: Mizuno moved forward by looking behind. It took the feel that got Mizuno to the big dance and paired that up with the latest technology in forgiveness for a players iron. This goes to show that Mizuno is listening to the public.

Tested: Mizuno MP-64 (3-PW) with KBS Tour C-Taper X-Flex Shafts (Soft Stepped)

About Mizuno MP-64 Irons: Mizuno Golf has a history providing the best irons a golfer can buy. These forged irons were historically reserved for the better golfers. Now, Mizuno offers different designs for all levels of skill. The MP-64 irons we are reviewing here are for the better player, meaning if you have a handicap better than a 14 you could justify these, but more importantly is how you miss the shot. If you tend to hit the dirt before the ball and are heavy a lot, these might not be for you. The soles are on the thinner side. I will try to do an unbiased review. For the record, I play to a scratch handicap.

Here is a great tech video by GolfWRX:

Click here for more discussion about the review in the forums

The Review

Looks:

The MP-64s are beautiful. Mizuno hit the nail on the head with these. They are understated — no crazy graphics — and set up to the ball like a players irons should. The Mizuno chrome shines like a set of 22-inch rims in a rap video. The satin face frames the ball extremely well and helps with alignment to the target.

mizuno mp64

 

Flow Thickness Diamond Muscle Pad delivers optimized performance and perfect flow through the entire set.

 

Another thing I enjoyed was all compliments from fellow players — I’ve never had another set that was so well received by other players. As you can see in the pics below, the MP-64s are consistent from heel to toe with a players iron. They do have a slightly thicker topline than some others however.

mizuno mp-64

It seems more noticeable in the 9 iron and pitching wedge, but again were talking slightly thicker, not thick. I really like the fact that I don’t see any cavity in the long irons, something that I’ve seen in other players irons that drives me nuts. The soles are perfect for all types of terrain, but they seem to favor firmer conditions.

mizuno irons 2013

As for offset, there’s not a lot. You can see from the pics and from specs that it ranges from 0.106 (PW) to 0.122 (3 iron). It’s very consistent throughout the set which is a plus. I know many players who want zero offset, but I personally enjoy a little relief.

mizuno mp-64mp64

 

Performance: 

Luke Donald, who never switches irons, moved to these within a week. That should be a good indication of how well these perform. Before I get to how these get that little white ball near that tiny cup, I want to first say that I’m a believer in the importance of custom fitting — irons will perform best if you have the right shaft.

Pitching wedge

2Y9G9646

 Scientifically designed to optimize sound and feel at impact utilizing Modal Analysis software and Mizuno’s Harmonic Impact Technology (HIT).

7 Iron

2Y9G9637

 

Forging process ensure that MP-64’s players cavity design delivers the ultimate in soft, solid, and consistent feel.

3 iron

2Y9G9628

 

Patented Grain Flow Forged 1025E “Pure Select” mil carbon steel provides the ultimate in soft, solid and consistent feel.

 

For me, that shaft is the KBS C-Taper, which is a low-launch, low-spin shaft that is good for fast tempos. I had mine soft stepped, which means I had a slightly softer shaft installed in each of my clubs. This is done by putting a 9-iron shaft in a PW, an 8-iron shaft in a 9 iron, etc. I’ve been playing the KBS C-Taper for more than a year now and they’re amazing. By pairing these up with the MP-64s, I had a set built for kings.

You can click one of these links to see close ups of PGA Tour players bags. Here is Charles Howell III WITB Photos .

mp-64 2013mizuno 2013

These irons have some of the tightest dispersion I’ve ever seen. For me, the ball comes off the face with a nice baby draw that hops and stops with some zip on it. These irons almost seem like they have square grooves even though I know they don’t. With my 8 iron, 9 iron and PW I was able to be extremely aggressive and hit past some pins knowing that the ball would zip back. I know my grooves are fresh, but the MP-64s spin more then the other sets I’ve tried this year. This has been extremely helpful in shots out of the rough and will definitely take some getting used to.

Flight and Distance: 

These are some of the easiest player cavity back irons to flight down if needed. I can control trajectory just as easy as a blade without question, as it appears to me that the center of gravity is not buried deep in the sole of the club like most cavity backs on the market. The first ball that I hit was with the 9 iron and my reaction was, “Wow these are flying low.” I loved it.

mizuno mp64

 

Modified U-Grooves produce the ideal spin rate for maximum playability in all conditions.

 

Now, for distance, there’s not a lot to say here. They are on par with other sets I’ve played that have the same loft. Mishits just off center fly just as far as a center strike, which is great for us humble amateurs. The lofts are essentially standard for today’s players irons so if you’re looking for irons that you can blast off into space and impress your playing partners because your PW is their 8 iron, this isn’t the set for you.

Club   Loft   Lie        Offset     Bounce
3         21     59.50    .1222       38.75
4         24     60.00    .1222       38.25
5         27     60.50    .1222       37.75
6         30     61.00    .1143       37.25
7         34     61.50    .1143       36.75
8         38     62.00    .1064       36.25
9         42     62.50    .1065       35.75
PW     46     63.00    .1066       35.50

Feel: 

Mizuno is known for its “Grain Flow Forging” process. Words that could be used to describe the feel of the MP-64s are: astounding, fantastic, stupendous, buttery, soft, excellent, best ever, like hitting an 80 compression balata — take your pick.

These are the best feeling irons I’ve ever had the pleasure of using. As I stated earlier, Mizuno went back to the playbook and got that super-soft forged feeling of days past and married that with today’s technology. Mizuno is a smart bunch who listen to its consumers. It certainly delivered here. There’s not much more to say other than you should hit them and see for yourself. I’ve already had two people hit these irons at my club and order them. That’s how good they are.

Overall: 

Mizuno created a beautiful set or irons that actually feel better than the previous few generations. If you are looking for a players cavity back that can be worked like a blade but has some added forgiveness, then head to your local golf shop and grab the MP-64 six-iron demo. Better yet, if you belong to a club, have them get you a demo so you can test it on the course.

luke donald irons

The lower-lofted irons are consistent with the rest of the set. By that I mean if you can hit the 6 iron, you can hit the 3 iron and get that dreaded hook machine of a hybrid out of the bag. If you prefer a combo set, these would also blend nicely with the MP-69s, which I am a real fan of, or the MP-H4s. My final piece of advice is to find a fitting station, grab the shaft optimizer and slap it on the 6 iron. The next step is waiting eagerly for the pretty Mizuno box to show up at your door step. Enjoy the pics feel free to ask any questions.
Click here for more discussion about the review in the forums

If you are looking to dig deeper, you have found the promised land. Here is a collection of “best of the best” content from Mizuno about the MP-64 irons.

Here is Mizuno’s club designer Chris Voshall explaining why Mizuno went back to feel as the guiding design principle behind the MP-64 irons played by Tour professional Luke Donald.

Mizuno PGA Tour testing with Charles Howell III.


Click here for more discussion about the review in the forums

Specs:

mizuno mp64 specs

 

About

GolfWRX is a leading source for news, information and resources for the connected golfer. It's staff, featured writers and members report on the latest golf news and how it inspires golfers around the world. GolfWRX’s 3.1 million monthly visits is the world's largest and best online golf community. It surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process with original photographic and video content, peer-to-peer advice, camaraderie, technical how-tos and more.


69 Comments

  1. Pingback: Mizuno Irons Reviews Mp 53 – Nike Run JP

  2. Jacob

    August 18, 2014 at 9:40 pm

    I am stuck between a rock and a hard place at the momment, I’m just looking for some advice and comparisons between the mp-64′s and the Callaway apex pros. Anything helps thanks.

  3. Steve

    July 7, 2014 at 6:27 pm

    Fitted for the MP-64′s. Hit them at pro shop. Hit em sweet. I ordered with same shaft I hit in pro shop. I don’t think those were put in or my swing has changed drastically in 1 month. What shaft is the best shaft to compliment these irons? I’m hitting a lot of low shots, to low. I played mp-32′s for around 15 years. Love em, but it was time to retire them. Love these mp-64′s. Thanks all.

  4. Paul

    April 13, 2014 at 2:47 pm

    I orderd em yesterday:

    3-pw
    kbs tour stiff

    can´t wait *__*

    • Christian

      May 6, 2014 at 11:39 pm

      Lemme guess.. you love them. I love mine so much that sometimes I wonder why there are other irons made…

  5. Pablo

    March 28, 2014 at 6:17 pm

    Great clubs,Stay away from Adams & TM,they have no quality control.KBS S were actually Men’s SR flex.Adams refuses to retest?????.All my purchase price goes to Ernie and Dustin.

  6. larryoffthedeck

    March 13, 2014 at 12:55 am

    I got fitted to the MP-64s last September and have really enjoyed them. Great Mizuno feel. I’m still smitten by my old MP-33s. Flight not as boring as my Titleist 712 CBs, but a little more airtime. So there you have it. For 2014, I’m a double iron man. MP-64s for bluebird days and Titleist 712 CBs for when the wind is moving.

  7. Jason

    March 11, 2014 at 6:30 am

    I hit these tonight at a demo Mizuno put on at Victoria Park here in Brisbane…they were incredible. Had the Project X shafts in them and the feel off the club and ball flight were sensational. It just confirmed what I already kind of knew – I’ll be getting MP 64s soon (preferably before the price goes up next month. Just really lovely irons to hit.

  8. Jeff

    September 27, 2013 at 10:04 am

    I have been a long time Mizuno fan, loved them since my first set of MP-60/32 combos. Since then have had (3) sets of 57′s, (2) sets of 59′s, and a set of 68′s. Seem to always try to get away from Mizuno and keep coming back. Probably could be still playing any of the sets above if wanted to as all Mizuno products are top notch. Recently bought a set of MP-64′s as get back into the Mizuno kick and are great, hope to keep these in the bag for a long time!

  9. hklam

    September 19, 2013 at 10:08 pm

    Recently I just bought a set of MP64 and my handicap index is 15.4. Practiced hitting the MP64 couple of times at the range, and on my first day out on course with the MP64, I shot my first sub 80 round. Started with a birdie on the first hole from a nice flush hit with the 7 iron to about 6 feet, and at the end of the round, I had 4 birdies and 8 pars for a 78 score (Par 72 course). That was my best ever round so far.

    I have my set of MP64 on the standard Dynamic Gold R300 shafts which suit my swing speed.

  10. Pingback: MP 54 and MP4 Tech Talk – Grips Golf

  11. Craig

    August 26, 2013 at 1:08 pm

    I value the opinions/reviews here so was very helpful in my purchasing a combo set of MP-64s (7-pw) and JPX-825 Pro (4-6). I play between a 9-13 hdcp (don’t practice) and absolutely love these!! I have KBS C Taper Stiff Shafts which is an unbeatable pairing with these clubs. This shots are “punished” somewhat, however it has forced me to make better swings translating into more solid ballstriking. Terrific around the greens! Give these a try. Magnificent! Bravo! Mizuno :-)

  12. Scott Shields

    June 21, 2013 at 8:39 am

    Ordered mine yesterday.
    4-PW
    +0.25″
    1* upright
    Blue New Decade multicompound grips, 1 extra tape
    KBC C-Taper Stiff hard stepped once.

    I can’t wait!!!!!!

    • Scott Shields

      June 21, 2013 at 8:41 am

      Quick aside – I’m replacing my Adams CMB’s with these…which make no mistake, the CMB’s are amazing. But the MP 64′s are just 2nd to none. A touch more feel, and a cleaner look sold me.

      • Eric

        August 21, 2013 at 11:11 pm

        A little late to the party, but i’m wondering how you are liking the 64′s. I traded my CMB’s in on a new set as well and am having a little buyers remorse while i wait for my new sticks to arrive. How would you rate the forgiveness between the two? Thanks!

  13. Tom

    May 30, 2013 at 10:23 pm

    I thought nothing could feel better than my mp 68′s but the 64′s do. Absolutely amazing.

  14. KCCO

    April 29, 2013 at 12:35 pm

    Simply butter…..x100′s in mine, would never turn back, and prob buy another set just to have as a back up for when these get overplayed as you can’t miss the sweet spot. Hands down will be one of mizunos best ever, and puts most other oems a step below.

    • jake

      May 1, 2013 at 8:44 am

      can you get the MP64′s in left hand, i’ved looked every where or can anyone tell me where else to look

  15. Evensteven

    April 21, 2013 at 3:56 pm

    59. Dogs? Probably the most favorably rated clubs in recent history. The fact your friend or some one you met or you don’t hit a particular club well has no bearing on it.

    I don’t putt well with belly putters. Does not mean they suck.

  16. Evensteven

    April 21, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    59. Dogs? Probably the most favorably rated clubs in recent history. The fact your friend or some one you met or you don’t hit a particular club well has no bearing on it.

    I don’t putt well with bely putters. Does not mean they suck.

  17. Dave L.

    March 28, 2013 at 8:28 am

    IMO, That’s based on personal experience and perceptions. There are MP 59 owners that won’t part their clubs.

  18. C. Hansen

    March 27, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    Why are thw 59′s considered ‘dogs’.

  19. Wes kersey

    February 25, 2013 at 7:55 am

    I bought the heads after I tested all sorts of irons(I work at a golf shop so it’s easy). They are the best and the softest clubs I’ve ever hit. The shafts were an easy choice as well after putting the c-taper in. I’ve always found mizunos to be a good choice for most of my customers. Now they’re in my bag and will stay!

  20. Mark R

    February 8, 2013 at 9:38 pm

    Well said Tom D. The MP64 strike is like a hot knife through butter. For the ideal set: Go for 3 to 6 and then 7 to 9 MP69. Complete with three T4 wedges. Cast clubs only exist because they are so cheap to produce. When I started playing you could only buy blades – you had to learn to hit pure strikes and shape the ball flight. Cast clubs are for players who cannot strike the ball consistently well and are prepared to trade pure shot making effort for forgiveness laziness.

    Purely on looks the 64s would be perfection if the top line were a fraction thinner. Nobody comes even close to Mizuno’s grain flow process. They have used the same foreging house for over 30 years. Word is that over 95 percent of all other OEM forged clubs come from the same factory in China.

    • Dave L.

      March 26, 2013 at 7:59 am

      I’ve been on a quest the past few months to find a new set of golf clubs; forged irons to be more specific. After twenty-four years of playing the same set of cast irons the time has come to upgrade to an investment set of forged irons. I have achieved single handicapper status through hard work and dedication and realized that my inferior equipment was holding me back. Therefore, I went on a fact finding mission by trying and testing several different top brands on the market.

      I had established a list of criteria items that I used to research and critique each brand.

      (1) They had to pass the eye ball test. – The fact is It doesn’t matter what manufacturer or brand you try, if you don’t like looking at them you won’t play well with them.

      (2) Cast or Forged: – If you’ve been playing golf for any length of time you know that cast irons are designed to provide game improvement qualities. The goal was to provide the mid to high handicapper with shot correcting characteristics such as larger club heads and various cavity backed designs. The inherent draw back with these cavity backed irons is the lack of feed back at impact and the inability to shape shots as one would like to.

      Forged irons are the preferred design by pros and low handicappers because they provide much higher feed back at impact and they allow for a greater ability to shape shots. They don’t have the same amount of off set and their heads are almost always smaller than cast irons. They also do not have the same level of game improvement and shot correcting qualities that the cast irons do, BUT, once one gets accustomed to hitting them it becomes readily apparent that feed back, the ease of shaping shots and consistent accuracy is a premium with these type of irons. Keep in mind that when deciding to purchase forged irons that not all forged irons are created equal.

      (Price:) – Price is an issue with any purchase, but in my case, it isn’t what they cost. It’s what they’re worth.

      (The Winner is…) After testing several different brands of clubs, both cast and forged, I concluded that I greatly preferred forged over cast irons. That narrowed my focus and search for the Holy Grail of clubs… for me, of course. Name the brand and I tested it, exhaustively. After all of the testing I knew my journey was over when I tested different versions of the Mizuno forged irons. I became instantaneously smitten with their aesthetically beautiful, uncluttered, classic and clean appearance. To narrow my research and testing of the various Mizuno clubs I told the pro that I didn’t want a pure blade design that tour players use, but rather I wanted a tour level iron with modest game improvement qualities. That’s when I tested a six iron in the MP 64 line. My first reaction after hitting the first shot was, Wow! It had the softest feel I had experienced of any manufacturer’s design I tested. When struck properly the feedback from the shot is that of a successful marriage between the club head and the ball. It didn’t feel hard at impact. That was a common trait I was experiencing with the other manufacturer’s forged designs. It was evident that Mizuno’s unique grain flow forging process is second to none. I also found out that Mizuno is the only club manufacturer that forges their own irons. Their irons heads and hosels are made from one piece of high grade steel. Their hosels are not made separately and then welded to the face like nearly every other brand is. Their foundry is in Hiroshima. All other brands clubs are made in China.

      (Conclusion) – Given what I experienced with the Mizuno product, compared to their competition, I highly recommend that if any of you, are low to mid handicap players looking to purchase new clubs, give the Mizuno’s a test drive.

      I was fitted for a set of the Mizuno, MP 64′s. Let me tell you, opening that Mizuno box and seeing them only confirmed that I now own the best made forged irons in the industry.

      • Jim C.

        March 26, 2013 at 11:11 am

        Please tell me you’re not employed by Mizuno :) What other forged irons did you test drive? Thanks!

        • Dave L.

          March 28, 2013 at 8:23 am

          LOL! No, I am not employed by Mizuno. As for the other clubs I sampled in my comparison test, I tried the following: Taylor Made, Callaway, Ping, Wilson, and Titleist. Of those brands I liked the Titleist API’s the most. Again, I didn’t start my search with the intwnt of buying a particular brand. The fact is the Mizuno MP 64′s were that much better. Once I hit a couple balls with the demo six iron of the MP 64 I new my search was over.

      • Jack

        August 30, 2013 at 8:27 pm

        Well written review sober and informative. By rep and appearance they were on the list…tried a playing partners 6 iron MP 60 on 2nd to last hole…great swing (t/g) and flushed it pin high 165 yds.
        Knew I had the right thought; came home and ordered the mp 64 +2 with the dynamic gold reg shafts. Can’t wait. Forget the cynics…can you imagine having to play with them. Enjoy.

      • reeves

        November 28, 2013 at 1:54 pm

        Does anyone know how the MP 64s compare to the MP 63s, Miura CB501 or Miura 9003 Passing Point— other than price.

        • Adam

          June 21, 2014 at 9:40 am

          Reeves- I’ve gamed both the 63 (in 2011/12) and the 64 2014. I’ve never touched a Miura, so I wouldn’t know. The 63 has slightly better turf interaction in firm conditions, and I prefer the top line of the 63′s. From a feel standpoint, the 64 is superior, but not by much; it’s mainly the sound, solid low register thump at impact. If I had a chance to buy both new at the same price, I’d probably go with the 63′s but just because I live in in Texas with very firm conditions, and the turf interaction is better with them.

    • alex simcoe

      March 22, 2014 at 3:13 am

      One of the most well written reviews i have seen. Thanks!

  21. Tom D

    February 3, 2013 at 10:32 am

    Please don’t pick your Irons based on handicap. A low handicap has as much to do with short-game skills as it does with ball striking ability. I carry a 30 index mostly because I still don’t putt well. I tend to hit my irons good, sometimes real good! I play forged, minmimal-cavity-back iron, usually reserved for “low handicappers”. If I followed the recomendations for “high handicappers” I’d have RocketBallerZ or some other high launch, high forgiveness, cast club. And, I’d be missing all the feel-benefits of my forged clubs. Play the irons you like the best and hit the best and don’t worry about your handicap.

  22. James

    January 24, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    The MP 64 is great, I still like blades as I grew up playing them, would love a combo 64/69 set 3-6 mp64 and 7-pw MP 69. Yes I play a 3 iron, think if more people start off with blades or semi blades, their ball striking will develop and will play better golf. Can’t think how people can hit a ball with Racket Balls…

  23. MizzyLuv

    January 21, 2013 at 8:56 pm

    Hands down iron of year 2012-2013…..

  24. Tom

    January 3, 2013 at 8:53 pm

    Real talk, that dude in the video was awful. Irons look great though!

  25. juan burch

    December 28, 2012 at 8:34 am

    My MP60′s are toast and I need a new set. It’s down to the 59′s or the 64′s. Thoughts?

    • juan burch

      December 28, 2012 at 8:41 am

      aaannnnd the video answered my question.

      • Enis

        February 27, 2013 at 5:50 pm

        So Juan, how are your 64′s comparing with your old 60′s. Would love to hear. Not yet necessary but I am very tempted. They look beautiful and the reviews are almost to good to be true. Can you compare feel, workability, forgiveness and distance? Thx!

  26. Chris

    December 28, 2012 at 4:40 am

    Came into 64′s from 59′s. Upgraded from Project X 6.0 shafts to the Project X PXi 6.0, at the same time. Very happy with the upgrade from the 59′s that I had 8 months of play with. This review is pretty even to my assessment.

  27. Pgarobby

    December 14, 2012 at 12:02 am

    Just got fitted and had all forged option open…Titleit, Nike, Mizuno and Bridgestone. Ordered Mizuno MP64 with Dynamic Gold SL S300.

  28. James

    December 4, 2012 at 8:45 am

    I have played mine for about 3 weeks, 6 rounds, they are very close in looks to the MP62, the person stating they are JPX like, should look again. the PW and 9 irons are bigger than the MP63. the topline is just great, feel is perfect, I have played Miura CB202and still have them, I play of 3 handicap and is 52yrs old, have seen all the technoloy changes and have played origional Wilson and Mizuno Blades. the MP 64 to me is the best I have ever played. Would change 2 things, matt finish and smaller face of the 9 and PW same as the MP69.

  29. Scotty

    November 30, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    I left my AP2s behind for Mizuno MP59s 3 months ago have X6. shafts,everyone said it was to early for me with a handicap 19,I now play off 8.6 I admit I live a life of leisure and play golf everyday and constant playing these irons you can only improove I have seen the MP 64s but for me it would only be a cosmetic change for me they look fantastic, I stand over my clubs ready to play a shot and I know that these irons can make it happen,I have kept my Titleist big guns 910 D3 driver Fujikura Motore Speeder stiff in these, not the cheapest update but certainly the most effective a bit of luke coupled with a bit of Rory works for me.

    • Dolph Lundgrenade

      March 13, 2013 at 2:13 am

      What?

  30. Anthony

    November 29, 2012 at 5:30 am

    I just went from Yonex eZone mb’s (c-taper s+) to MP64′s with Matrix Ozik Program 130 graphite shafts and these are buttery soft and produce such a tight dispersion. I’ve been playing these for 3 weeks now and must say the reviewer is spot on with everything said!

    It’s true that it’s very important to have someone fitting you properly so my thanks go out to “TheGolfMechanic” (Matt) for his expertise in building these for me!

    Anthony

  31. Gangnam

    November 27, 2012 at 5:33 pm

    Still wish the top line was thinner

  32. James

    November 4, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    Luke went from MP 62 to the mp 59 and then MP64. He never played the MP 63′s. the mp64 are very close to mp62.

  33. sean_miller

    November 3, 2012 at 11:02 pm

    Does Donald have the 58′s back in the bag this week or is he playing a mixed set?

  34. Mick

    October 25, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    I will stick to my Hogan 53s : )

  35. tlm66

    October 23, 2012 at 10:18 pm

    I recently received my set of MP-64′s with Project X shafts. I knew I would like the feel of these based on my fitting, but I really didn’t fully appreciate the buttery feel these clubs have until I used the full set. The workability of the ball flight is tremendous. My distance did not improve but my accuracy is more consistent. Try these clubs if you are looking for a forged players iron, it didn’t take me long to determine these were the clubs for me.

  36. Polorl204

    October 16, 2012 at 10:58 pm

    These clubs look great but like all clubs today they are too expensive.

  37. crb1888

    October 16, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    Just got fit for a set of these today (at Pitbull’s favorite haunt) and I can’t describe how great these feel. While we did the shaft optimization I was swinging the JPX-825 Pro’s, they felt great. But when we switched to the MP-64′s, I knew I wasn’t going back. Not only do they feel ridiculously smooth at impact, but paired with the KBS Tour shaft it is both smooth AND solid. Soft and firm all at once. I think these are going to find a home in my bag for a very long time.

  38. G

    October 13, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    Yeah yeah yeah…… but Zak – you’re forgetting to mention the tremendous amount of forgiveness, feel and accuracy you’re also getting from the C-Tapers (which, you even soft-stepped!!!!!).
    I don’t think it’s just the heads’ design that’s giving you that buttery, nice feeling. I KNOW for a fact that those C-Tapers are doing their bit to make you feel like you can get back on Tour again. LOL

  39. strings4131

    October 10, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    i do not agree with the +2-12 handicap comment i played mp57s @22hcp im now down to 17 ive just bought mp64s they are awesome ive never been so happy with a club, you can hit every green in regulation but if you cant putt your never goin to score

  40. gticlay

    October 10, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    Do they still have the weird looking PW where the face connects to the hosel? Never liked that look.

  41. Brian Cass

    October 9, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    A reply to the above mention from Tom Flores. The 64′s seemed a bit larger in regards to hitter surface but this is a tiny difference. The sole grind on the 63′s seemed to have more attention paid to it as well. I’d say the 64′s could also be a hair more forgiving with more weight in the cavity vs the 63′s. The 63′s to me are the best feeling iron I’ver EVER hit, including my 690.CB’s which I won’t get rid of yet.

    • james

      December 14, 2012 at 5:45 am

      I have the MP 63 and the MP 64, the biggest differance is in the 8-pw, the mp64 is slightly bigger head. I will keep my MP 63 8-pw as I like a smaller faceand the rest play the MP64, the 64 is slightly softer. I have played many MP sets but from the MP60 to 63 to 64 not much has changes, the 64 and 62 are in many respects identical except for the cavity design, the 62 also had bigger 8-pw and as Luke D played with 62 with great success the same disign was followed. My personal best Mizuno MP cavity remains the MP60. Blades MP 69 is a class act.

  42. Bogeytrain

    October 8, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    Looks like I will be sticking to my MP60′s.

    • GSark

      December 10, 2012 at 3:35 am

      I’m sticking with my MP-60′s

  43. Brian Cass

    October 8, 2012 at 11:07 am

    Luke Donald does in fact change irons more than you think so the fact that he switched to these is no surprise. He was hitting the 62′s and the 63′s prior to going to these so each time Mizuno has made a new forged cavity, he’s gone to it. He was world #1 with the 62′s. You could argue he never should have ditched those. I hit these 64′s and the article is bang on, they are sweet. Typically mizzy soft feel.

  44. Aung Lin

    October 4, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    I mean Mp 58 and Mp 64?

  45. Aung Lin

    October 4, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    I used Mp 32 for 3 years and I moved to Mp 58 . Can you tell me how these two are different?

    • Beattriz

      November 3, 2012 at 3:51 am

      Too many variables here and not engouh info from you on your swing and what you want out of your new iron other than just forgiving. I’d highly recommend you go to a PGA professional to be fitted and to get an opportunity to hit all 3 irons or maybe another iron you haven’t considered that would yield better results than any of these 3.With that being said, I’d prefer the Titleists .the R9 s just feel a little too light to me, and I am just not a fan of Callaway golf products, so I certainly wouldn’t consider anything from them..BUT that’s just me. Go and see your PGA professional and you guys work together to find your next set of sticks. Good luck!

  46. Curry66

    October 4, 2012 at 5:20 pm

    PS. Are these the clubs that took Luke from number 1 in the world to number 3. :)

  47. Curry66

    October 4, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    I had the JPX Pro before i bought the MP-69′s and these look like JPX’s to me with a MP badge on them.

    • larryoffthedeck

      March 13, 2014 at 12:56 am

      JPX Pro line = hook machine with all of that perimeter weighting

  48. Tom Flores

    October 4, 2012 at 3:31 pm

    Hello,

    I play the MP-63 with KBS shafts and love them. Do you know what the difference between the 63′s and 64′s might be? Looks like same same head design to me.

    Thanks

    • jim

      March 10, 2013 at 9:56 pm

      The difference is the leading edge isn’t as sharp from the 63′s to the 64′s

  49. chris

    October 4, 2012 at 12:09 pm

    The MP-%9 was a dog. Luke got rid of it as soon as he could. Looks like the 64 may be the way to go…

    • Sam

      March 8, 2013 at 10:20 am

      Agreed the MP-59 was a failure from a tour perspective. The 64 is getting great reviews and even Chucky Three Sticks(Charles Howell III) is hitting them well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>