Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

The Big Review – Hirzl Golf Gloves

Published

on

If you think of golf gloves, especially premium golf gloves, you will naturally think of the usual suspect: Nike, Callaway, Mizuno, TaylorMade and of course, FootJoy. Hirzl golf are looking to add their names to this role call.

While they are unknown to many in the golf world, they are better known for their cycling gloves.
They have shown their commitment to golf by becoming the official glove of the Ladies European Tour and sponsoring LPGA major winner Anna Nordqvist. Hirzl currently offer 3 different gloves: the TRUST Control for max grip in all weathers, the TRUST Feel for the combination of grip and feel and the SOFFFT Flex which is their all cabretta “player’s” offering.

What is so unusual in the two TRUST gloves is that the palm is made from Kangaroo leather rather than the normal Cabretta (sheep) leather. While this might sound odd, any motorcyclist (especially any one of us who has taken a lowside at speed) knows that Kangaroo leather offers a combination of flexibility and durability unrivalled by any other sort of leather. Now, riding leathers do a very different job from golf gloves but the idea of using Kangaroo leather is not as far out as it might seem.

The TRUST gloves incorporate GRIPPP technology which Hirzl claims result in better grip in both the dry and the wet. The GRIPPP tech is the result of an extensive tanning process and Hirzl made some fairly spectacular claims about the results. They claim that the GRIPPP Control offers 3x more grip in the dry and 5x more grip in the wet than any other glove and the GRIPPP Feel glove offers 2x more grip in the dry and 4x more grip in the wet.

Added to the extra grip, Hirzl go on to say that these gloves also have far higher abrasion and tear resistance as well as water repellency and sweat absorption. All in all, some pretty bold claims from a new boy to the market. And of course we should not forget their SOFFFT Flex Glove which is aimed squarely at the likes of the FootJoy Pure Touch.

So how did we find them…

As you would expect, the kangaroo leather palms of the Control and Feel gloves feels different. Before they were put on testers felt that they were slightly less flexible than normal but as they warmed up on the hand they appeared to soften so that they could not feel any difference to a normal glove. As promised, the grip was found to be nothing short of spectacular. Even if the gloves were dipped in water, they were still exceptionally grippy. The mesh construction on the back also meant that in hot and humid conditions they did not overheat. Durability was also excellent with the gloves showing almost no abrasion marks even after a number of rounds.

The SOFFFT glove is pure premium (or “platinum” as Hirzl call it) Cabretta leather and is much closer to a standard player’s glove than the other two. The leather is gorgeous and offers all the feedback you could want in a players gloves despite the leather feeling fractionally thicker. Again the durability is noticeably better than standard gloves.

The first time they were worn, the seams could sometimes catch under the nails but to be fair that is something that all gloves can suffer from so we cannot be too harsh here. The main complaint is probably going to be the price. These gloves are right at the top end of the price range which might put some people off but given that they are so durable in the long run I would expect the cost to even out since a single glove would last you much longer than any other glove.

Basically the combination of better grip, far greater durability and top level feel of the cabretta SOFFFT is unmatched by any other glove manufacturer and if you do want the best glove for wet or humid weather you cannot beat the TRUST gloves. You just need to find the one that is right for you.

Your Reaction?
  • 28
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW6
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK8

10 Comments

10 Comments

  1. Joe D

    Sep 8, 2015 at 5:55 pm

    Hands down the softest and most perfectly fitting glove I have ever worn. I purchased four and each one fit exactly the same! A first for me. I’ve tried all the big name gloves and the Hirzl Soffft Flex is the best. The company says they’re washable (and wind up like new afterwards) based on all of their other claims, I believe them.

  2. bellsy13

    Oct 9, 2013 at 3:46 pm

    If your glove starts falling apart or ripping, it’s not the right fit. I have had a $12 Footjoy glove for 2 years (about 50 rounds) without any tears and minimal wear. I used to wear a mens medium that was comfortable but after a few rounds it started wearing severely. I switched to a small glove, same brand, and two years later…

  3. TJ

    Sep 1, 2013 at 6:35 pm

    I cannot say enough about the Hirzl Trust Control model.. I am a very fast swinger (125mph driver speed) and have never been satisfied with a glove, in over 20 years of playing.

    Until I found Hirzl.

    With other gloves, no matter what I tried, I would always get hot spots and blisters, even through the glove. I would apply tape to my glove hand in order to stop this, which obviously is not great for feel.

    With the Hirzl glove, I apply a single piece of tape to one finger on my bare hand and that’s it. Awesome grip. Awesome feel. Awesome comfort.

    The glove lasted for about 20 outings (range / course mixed). For me, that is very good.. I will shred cheap gloves in 3-4 outings.

    Promptly went out and bought a 3-pack.. I can’t see myself ever playing anything else from here on out.

    Premium price, totally worth it.

    Cheers

  4. Arnie

    Oct 11, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    I purchased several of these gloves @ PGA Show in Orlando 2.5 years ago. I live in centeral Florida so say no more about humidity. These gloves outlast anything else on the market 3-1, hands down. It is true when they get wet the get grippier (not sure that is a word). Well worth the price. Fit is almost perfect.

  5. jc madore

    Aug 23, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    great leather in the palm, good grip, BUT after 12 games the soft leather on top of the thumb was torn and the glove had to be discarded, it should not happen with a premium priced glove

  6. HisAirness

    Jul 1, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    Almost two years ago I started playing with a Hirzl Trust. Last week I put on the third one. I absolutely love the gloves. They fit even after rounds and rounds, the feel comfortable but not loose and the make me grip with less pressure.
    Only one point is bad. They are cheaper in the U.S. than in Europe.

    • Wendelly

      Jun 22, 2015 at 8:10 am

      As with many things – transportation costs must be negative! How can this be?
      Luckily I get to the USA every few months so do all my shopping stateside.

      I just love the SOFFFT glove. I’m a terrible player, but when I put this glove on, in my mind, anything becomes possible…..

  7. RRB

    Jun 20, 2012 at 8:02 am

    My story with the Hirzl glove:
    I’m a lefty, so when playing my first round this year, the only glove they had in the shop, was the Hirzl. I had never heard of it before, but a glove is a glove, I thought. 6 rounds later, I thought a new glove was in place, as I usually use a glove for 5-7 rounds before buying a new one. So I did, a SoftJoy glove. When this was worn out, I tried my “old” Hirzl again, and to my surprise, it felt better than the SoftJoy. And today, 20 rounds later, I still play with my Hirzl glove.. That’s what I call durabillity.. Amazing glove, absolutely love it..

    • Andy

      Apr 8, 2013 at 7:12 am

      A glove is not always a glove…this post reminded me of a glove I wore my first one for about 2 months until it got dirty. The AuraForm golf glove claims to be the longest lasting golf glove ever…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Crossrope weighted jump rope & app

Published

on

An 18-hole round of golf averages out to just under five miles of walking, which on its own is a good workout. Once you throw in some potential uphill trekking you get some serious cardio too, but if you all looking for a quick workout between rounds of golf look no further than Crossrope.

Crossrope – The details

Crossrope is a system of the weighted jump rope that allows you to quickly switch the weight of the ropes you are using to boost your workout—they range from 1/4 lbs all the way up to 2 lbs depending on the kit you start out with. There is an accompanying app that helps you go through multiple workout routines and is available free, or you can upgrade to the entire library of workout routines along with more workout tracking options.

This is NOT your middle school jump rope

The handles are heavy duty and feature precision bearings to allow the rope to move smoothly around as you go through a routine. They are also ergonomic and fit into your hand naturally, which making gripping easy, something that is really nice when you’re swinging a 2 lbs coated steel cable around. The handles also come with a fast clip system to make changing cables depending on your selected workout easier too.

The ropes themselves are made from braided steel and are almost impossible to tangle, allowing them to be easily transported and stored when not in use. All in you are getting a premium piece of workout equipment that is effective and easy to store—hard to same the same thing about a treadmill.

When it comes to a workout, skipping rope is one of the most effective cardio workouts you can do, and with Crossrope, you can get both cardio and low impact weight training when using the heaviest ropes, and follow along with the guided workouts.

As someone that hadn’t used a jump rope in over a decade, starting out lighter was a nice way to ease in before moving up, and I was pleasantly surprised how easy and fun some of the workouts in the app were. If you are looking for a fun way to add something to your workouts, or you just want to try something new to get you into golf course walking shape, this could be right up your alley. To learn more check out crossrope.com

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Athalonz EnVe—The best golf shoes you’ve never heard of

Published

on

One of the coolest parts of being in this part of the golfing world is being able to shed light on smaller companies that typically get overshadowed by their bigger corporate brothers.

So, this post is about one of those products that is definitely competitive against top golf shoe companies, and it’s made by a company called Athalonz, which is based out west in Arizona. Typically known for its innovative baseball cleats and insole packages, Athlonz newest addition takes the patented design to the world of golf with the EnVe golf shoe.

These have started appearing on the world long drive circuit due to the amount of traction they get, allowing players to swing harder. So for the last few months, I have gotten to wear them and see if they are as good as the company claims.

Athalonz EnVe: Living up to claims

The main selling points of these shoes are focused on two things

  1. Design that delivers more power and stability
  2. Custom comfort that lasts all day

These are somewhat difficult to combine into one shoe, and though they are on the heavier side, Athlonz are completely worth it for the benefits. It is obvious that they made strides to hit each box on the list for a great shoe. The patented design has been adapted from their baseball cleat and introduces a spikeless golf shoe with a circular design that allows the player to gain traction through the golf swing. This gives a player the chance to swing harder and faster without losing their footing. They also offer insole packages that help with correct bodyweight placement to help add an extra layer of consistency.

Secondly, it’s very noticeable that there was plenty of thought given to comfort with a roomy toe and custom insoles to fit your style. Additionally, ankle padding helps to provide more stability and comfort.

On another note, they have a good sense of style with a more classic, casual take. In addition to the pictured white/brown color, there’s a black/grey colorway as well.

After multiple months of wear in all types of conditions, these shoes have performed great for me with all the traction I need and while feeling great throughout the round.

Verdict

I am a person who tends to support smaller companies when I can if they make good products. Any support for them goes a long way—especially in the golf business. Since these shoes will set you back about $150, I wanted to be sure they are worth it for the money and they absolutely are. Seriously, for anyone looking to boost their shoe game and help alleviate aching feet and ankles, give these a shot.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 48
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW2
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII

Published

on

Every golfer should have an accurate, reliable, easy-to-use rangefinder. With the new Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII, you get all of that and more in one of the smallest, lightest packages on the market.

Not only do you get a ton of features, but when you consider these devices start at only $199.99 for the 20 G II and then $229.99 for the 20i GII ( slope adjusted version ), you get one of the best values in a rangefinder from one of the most well-known consumer optics companies in the world.

Review: Nikon CoolShot 20 GII and 20i GII

First Target Priority and 8-Second Continuous Measurement: “First Target Priority” is Nikon’s way of making sure you are picking up the flag and not a tree behind your intended target. There is nothing worse than thinking you have your distance dialed in to then have a shot fly over the green. With how quickly it lets you know the ranger finder is locked, getting that distance and double-checking can happen remarkably fast.

In the eight-second continuous measurement setting, the rangefinder will continuously measure the field of view as you scan the target area for approximately eight seconds. This setting is great when playing unfamiliar courses or trying to figure out the exact spot to a dogleg, tree, or hazard on your intended line.

Bright, 6x Monocular: Nikon is known for its glass and multi-coating technology, from telephoto camera lenses to rifle scopes, if it’s Nikon glass, it’s going to be clear, fog-resistant, and high-contrast for easy viewing. From a viewing experience perspective, the Coolshot 20 GII’s 6x monocular has an adjustable diopter for sharp focusing, along with long eye relief—meaning you can keep your glasses (or sunglasses) on when acquiring your target.

Slope-Adjusting ID Technology: With the 20i GII you have the option to get the slope-adjusted distance for any shot thanks to Nikon’s ID Technology. The mode can be turned on and off by the user to comply with USGA rules to make it legal for tournament rounds. Having tested it out on hilly terrain it’s easy to see why so many golfers mis-club going into greens when elevation changes become a lot more dramatic.

Review

The Nikon Coolshot 20 GII’s size and weight make it ideal for anyone who regularly carries and wants the benefit of knowing distances but without having to worry about weight—it weighs about the same as a sleeve of balls.

The size allows you to hold the units stable. However, I could see for those new to the rangefinder space, it could take some time getting used to when first getting acquainted with it. The best bet for this is to take it to a range or just step outside with it on your next walk and get used to hitting targets before you take it to the course—plus it makes for a fun game to see how good you really are at estimating distances.

Overall, for the price and size, it is one of the best rangefinders on the market. Plus, with a five-year warranty, you can be assured of years of use with the Nikon CoolShot 20 GII rangefinders.

Your Reaction?
  • 28
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending