Connect with us

Iron Reviews

Review: Miura Neo Genesis PP-9005 irons

Published

on

Pros: Premium irons that are built with forgiveness unlike Miura irons of the past, but do not sacrifice feel like other game-improvement irons on the market.

Cons: Miura purists may scoff at the club being a two-piece forging rather than one piece. The longest iron is a 5-iron, but better players may want longer irons to use as driving irons or in mixed sets. There are no left-handed options.

Bottom Line: For those who have always wanted to play a Miura iron but felt they weren’t forgiving enough, the Miura Passing Point Neo Genesis 9005 irons are for you.

Overview

Miura Founder Katsuhiro Miura says he never produces clubs unless he feels they are better than previous iterations, and Miura has never been known to put out multiple sets a year. So every time a Miura club is released, golfers should know they’re getting something better, or at least different. As a consumer, this philosophy gives me great confidence that I’m getting something new and improved; I feel like I’m getting my money’s worth.

Since I’ve played (and reviewed) so many Miura clubs, golfers often ask for my recommendation on what set would best match their game. And let’s face it, not every golfer that asks the question is Tiger Woods. Miura is known for its better player’s iron, and better players do tend to see the best performance from the company’s irons. As such, mid-to-high handicaps struggle to find an iron for them in the Miura stable, and I struggle to recommend an iron that suits their game.

The Passing Point 9003 irons were, in my opinion, a decently forgiving head, but I’ve always felt Miura lacked a set of irons that was aimed specifically at the higher-handicap player. Some of my friends with higher handicaps and slower swing speeds needed much more than the 9003 could offer — something with a thin, hot face that could produce higher trajectories and more distance.

PP-9003 (left) and the PP-9005 irons

PP-9003 (left) and Genesis PP-9005 irons

Enter the Genesis PP-9005’s into the Miura lineup, which are the successors to the PP-9003’s. They were first featured as Japan-only products under the Miura-Giken label, but are now available to the rest of the world — and they’re unmatched by anything Miura has ever produced. The Genesis 9005’s satisfy the needs of higher-handicaps, but could also appease low-handicaps looking for a bit of extra distance and forgiveness. And that makes me happy since I now have a Miura iron to recommend to my buddies who are less-than-stellar ball strikers.

The Genesis 9005 irons are available at select Miura authorized club fitting centers for approximately $350 a head (price may be higher depending on shaft selection).

Clubs Tested

GenesisSoleReview

Irons: Miura Passing Point Neo 9005 Genesis (5-PW)
Shafts: KBS CT95 (Japan Exclusive Model), Black Finish
Grips: Elite Y360SV from Japan
Build: The entire set was custom fit and built at Miura Authorized Fitting Center, Aloha Golf Center in Las Vegas.

The Engineering

The Genesis PP-9005 irons feature a deep undercut channel that runs from heel to toe in the heads. The head is comprised of two pieces; the back is forged out of S20C and the faces are 455 carpenter steel. Although the soles are wider, the taller face of the club disguises it because you can’t see the sole peeking out from the rear.

The face shape also features a slightly higher toe that’s rounded and blends in well at address, and the top lines have been constructed thinner.

MB-001 (left) and the PP-9005 irons

MB-001 (left) and the Genesis PP-9005 irons

These clubs certainly have all the signs of a game-improvement clubs — an undercut, two-pieces and thicker topline. Now let’s see how they perform.

Performance

I’ve been playing the Genesis PP-9005 set for over a month now, and as a long-time Miura iron player the performance has frankly stunned me. Initially, I felt there was no way I could play a set with the longest iron being a 5-iron, but with the distance of the Genesis PP-9005 irons those doubts have been put to rest.  

GenesisMiuraSoleFront

There have been countless shots I’ve hit with these irons that I simply would not have been capable of with Miura irons of the past. The thin, hot face launches the ball higher and farther than I’ve ever seen from Miura; I’m a full club to a club-and-a-half longer with the PP-9005 over my Miura CB-57 set. The distance adjustment was one of the only knocks I had against the irons, actually.

Although the lofts are stronger than other irons Miura has put into the market, these heads are specifically designed for a higher trajectory. Some may call this “loft-jacking,” but really it’s just helping golfers produce more distance while maintaining the familiar trajectory of that iron. That means you’ll likely be a club longer, but you’ll have an easier time holding the green than ever before from the same distances.

The clubs are also built with wider soles to help golfers get the ball into the air and make clean contact, helping the club glide through the turf rather than dig. The grind is similar to recent Miura sets, and has a slight bevel at the leading and trailing edge. The combination of width, bounce and bevel is what keeps you from digging, and allows for increased forgiveness from a variety of lies you’ll encounter throughout a round of golf.

CB57 (left) and the PP-9005 irons

CB-57 (left) and the Genesis PP-9005 irons

Due to the forgiving nature of the clubs — and they’re very forgiving — better players won’t find them terribly “workable.” The irons seem to reduce the effect of toe and heel strikes, and what would likely be hooks and slices end up going relatively straight, at least from my experience. That means, however, that those who want trajectory control and like to shape shots will have to work harder with these irons.

As I previously mentioned, I was concerned that a 5-iron was the longest iron available in the set. As it turned out, I was carrying the Genesis PP-9005 5-iron just shy of my 3-iron. I was producing a much higher trajectory, too, which greatly helped my approach shots hold the green. If you’re looking to purchase this set, know going in that you’ll need to supplement the set with either a driving iron, hybrid or fairway wood since the 5 iron flies much too high to be considered a viable option from the tee, especially in high winds.

Another performance gap to consider is one I found with my wedges. The pitching wedge flies significantly farther than any pitching wedge I’ve ever hit, which isn’t surprising because it’s lofted at 44 degrees (just 2 degrees weaker than the 9-iron in my previous set). That’s great for hitting and holding more greens, but did leave a large gap between the PW and my gap wedge. You’ll likely need to strengthen your gap/sand wedge to better fill your distance gaps at this end of the set. 

Looks and Feel

Miura_genesis-1021x580

Unlike most irons in the Miura line, these irons are flashy. While the finish is a familiar soft-brushed satin, they have a much shinier, glossier look than I’m used to, and they have vibrant orange dots on the back of the sole. Also, good luck finding the “Miura” name anywhere on the club head, which is a bit odd. 

The distance gains are also flashy, but feel hasn’t been sacrificed in my opinion.

Although I’ve never purchased and owned a set of forgiveness-first clubs, I have tested them at the golf shops. I’m usually immediately put off by the hollow dead feel and higher pitched sound at impact, mostly due to undercuts that are also in these Genesis PP-9005 irons. I will admit, I was not expecting much difference from these heads despite my clubmaker telling me they were “different.” Since he didn’t have a demo ready for me to try, I had to take his word on it since he hit them during his visit to the factory in Japan.

So I took a leap of faith.

Recent Miura iron releases, compared to the PP-9005 irons (far right)

Recent Miura iron releases, compared to the Genesis PP-9005 irons (far right)

In my first round with them, the Genesis PP-9005’s left me scratching my head with how they felt… in a good way. Despite being two-piece irons with an undercut that I’ve been sensitive to in the past, they felt solid and soft, yet still flew off the face. I expected a harsher, hollow feel, but was pleasantly surprised with a club that was much more lively; it felt active with a trampoline-like effect. The sound at impact was not the usual Miura forged “thwack” sound, but it wasn’t the off-putting, higher-pitched tone like other brands that I’ve tested. 

With other brands on the market offering game-improvement irons, even the newest one with only three letters in its name, I can’t tell if I hit the ball solid or missed it. The Genesis PP-9005 face offers much more feedback, but nothing is sacrificed on the performance end, still offering the same distance gains and forgiveness across the face. 

Also, despite the thicker toplines, you don’t get the feeling you’re swinging a shovel like you do with other game-improvement irons. Even the purest of the Miura purists may not be too put off by the slightly larger look.

The Takeaway

By definition, the word genesis means the origin or beginning of; but this release seems more like the Alpha than the Omega in the game-improvement space. If this club is the “Genesis” of forgiveness-first irons from Miura, as the name implies, it makes me very curious what’s next from the company.

For those looking to get “more” out of their irons by way of more distance, a higher trajectory, more forgiveness and can afford a set of ultra-premium irons, the Genesis PP-9005’s are probably going to be perfect for you. I have no reservations in recommending this club to prospective users.

But, please, before spending the money on these irons — and yes, they are expensive — get FIT at a local Miura fitter. You throw away any potential performance benefits of the club design without having them properly fit to your swing. 

Correction: Initially, this review incorrectly stated that the Genesis irons are not forged at the Miura factory in Himeji, Japan. Miura describes the manufacturing process of the Genesis irons below. 

“All Miura irons start from a single billet of soft carbon Japanese steel at the Miura Giken factory in Himeji. (this is what will always distinguish Miura irons) The next step of the process is working with our partner in Taiwan to complete the manufacturing process (the 455 Carpenter Steel face) The clubs are then shipped back to the Miura factory for final inspection before making their way to market …  the Miura family is involved in the process, start to finish.”

Your Reaction?
  • 122
  • LEGIT22
  • WOW20
  • LOL5
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP13
  • OB5
  • SHANK40

Reid's been an avid golfer for more than 40 years. During that time, he's amassed quite a putter collection and has become one of GolfWRX's leading equipment nuts. Reid tries all the latest equipment in hopes of finding the latest and greatest of them all to add to his bag. He was born and raised in Honolulu, Hawaii where the courses are green and the golf is great!

Continue Reading
10 Comments

10 Comments

  1. Guia

    Feb 24, 2017 at 7:13 pm

    You could apply this review to any game improvement club from a major manufacturer. I really tire of the same old jargon.

    They probably work well, but no different than the others.

    • xzx

      Jun 2, 2017 at 7:02 pm

      I’ve had the opportunity to hit these yesterday. I’m a high handicapper (18ish) and they felt really nice. In the same lofts they indeed go club to club and half longer then my top manufacturer 2015 game improvement irons. Strike feedback is simply great. Whether one can justify or afford $2.5K on six irons is another thing …

  2. rex235

    Jan 16, 2017 at 2:19 pm

    ..”There are no left handed options.”

  3. Chris C.

    Jan 13, 2017 at 8:12 am

    I suspect that the Miura family is embarrassed to have the family associated with this club. Alas, Miura has fallen victim to Parsons’ billions.

  4. Ed R

    Jan 12, 2017 at 11:42 am

    Expanding the line makes business sense. The absence of either the Miura name or logo on the head is odd. Suggests to me that this club is a compromise between the new business partners and the family.

  5. S Hitty

    Jan 12, 2017 at 1:47 am

    Absolutely horrible name. Genesis is now the premium car brand for Hyundai, and people are going to be confused. Miura should change that name

  6. Dave R

    Jan 11, 2017 at 9:36 pm

    Yup they are.

  7. Dat

    Jan 11, 2017 at 6:16 pm

    This has to be a joke, right?

  8. LukeItaly

    Jan 11, 2017 at 4:14 pm

    Irons aren’t forged in Japan but in China…that’s what told me the European Miura dealer!

  9. Steve S

    Jan 11, 2017 at 3:42 pm

    If you look at the iron in the middle of the first picture that iron looks like my old Mizuno Tzoids. The “New” iron looks a lot like the Mizuno MX series, the 25, 200 or 300. Guess the Japanese are still copying…..other Japanese…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Iron Reviews

Review: Honma TW737-Vs Forged Irons

Published

on

Your Reaction?
  • 130
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW7
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB0
  • SHANK20

Continue Reading

Equipment

GolfWRX Member Reviews: TaylorMade 2017 M1 and M2 Irons

Published

on

One of the many benefits of being a GolfWRX Forum Member is exclusive access to Giveaways and Testing Threads. For Giveaways — we give away everything from golf clubs to golf balls to GPS units — all it takes is a forum name. Enter any Giveaway, and we select winners randomly. You’re then free to enjoy your prize as you wish.

For Testing Threads, the process a bit more involved. GolfWRX Forum Members sign up to test the latest and greatest products in golf, and then they provide in-depth reviews on the equipment. Being the intelligent golf-equipment users they are, GoflWRX Members are able to provide the most-informed and unbiased reviews on the Internet.

df5745825623a9697f92315cd9d8f1d7

In this Testing Thread, we selected 75 members to test a TaylorMade M1 2017 7-iron and TaylorMade M2 7-iron. Each of the clubs were built with the stock lofts and shafts — M2 2017 (28.5 degrees) with a TaylorMade Reax shaft, and M1 2017 (30.5 degrees) with a True Temper Dynamic Gold S300 shaft — and the testers were instructed to post their review of the clubs here.

Below, we’ve selected what we’ve deemed the most in-depth and educated reviews out of the 75 testers. We have edited each of the posts for brevity, clarity and grammar.

Thanks to all of those involved in the testing!

Brock9007

To be honest, looking down on the TaylorMade M1 and M2 irons at address, there is really not much difference. I would have to pick one up to see which is which.

The first 10 balls I hit were with M1 and 6/10 felt great, while the other 4 were toe hits, which I felt and the distance reflected that. Kinda what I expected with a club design for lower-handicap players. Distance was about 1/2 longer than my Srixon iron and dispersion was close, as well. I will say they did not feel as good as the Srixon on center hits.

Next 10 (ok, 15) balls were with the M2. Wow, can you say “up, up and away? The ball really popped of the club face, but wasn’t a ballon flight. Waited for the ball to come down and WTH, with the roll out it was 5-8 yards longer than balls hit with M1, and that is with a few toe shots. I did some smooth swings and then very aggressive swings and was a little amazed at this iron. Just like the M1, it does not have the forged feeling and does have a clicky sound (which I hate).

Bottom line: M2 is the longest iron I have ever hit. I love my 545s, but I could see myself playing M2 very easily. Matter of fact, I will be taking this M2 7 iron in my bag and play it more head-to-head against my Srixon 545 on the course.

deathbymuffin

These are both beautiful clubs. What surprised me the most is how much alike the two clubs look at address. I was expecting a chunky topline and significant offset in the M2, but it’s footprint looked almost exactly the same as the M1, outside of the chrome finish on the M2 versus the frosted finish of the M1. The M2 could almost pass as a player’s iron to my eye at address. These clubs both get A’s from me in the looks department.

The M1 felt a tad thicker than most player’s irons I’m used to, but it seemed to come with a bit of added forgiveness too. Well-struck shots felt good, with a nice mid-trajectory and with the workability that I’ve come to expect from a player’s iron. But true to TaylorMade’s claims, the M1 seemed more forgiving than a traditional player’s iron. Had a nice soft feel at impact, mishits didn’t sting and left you with a more playable result. A really nice combination of the better attributes of both player’s and game improvement irons. I’ve been playing with an old set of Tommy Armour blades, but I’ve been recently wanting more forgiveness for when I’m stuck with my B or C swing. Based on the early returns, I could definitely see myself bagging these.

I’m not sure if it’s the shaft, the design of the clubhead, or a combination of both, but the M2 is definitely a different animal than the M1 at impact. This club launches the ball high, arguably ridiculously so. I was hitting Jason Day moonbombs with this bad boy. Didn’t seem to matter what kind of swing I put on it, the ball launched high, flat and dead straight. The club was super forgiving and if not for the insanely high ball flight, I would love to have a set of these for when my swing is out of sorts. I didn’t really try to flight it at all, so I’m not sure what it’s capable of at this point. One other note was that the M2 had a clicky feel at impact. It didn’t bother me since it still felt so sweet… so strange as it sounds, clicky, but smooth and sweet at the same time. I think these clubs will be big winners with the mid-to-high handicap set.

The M1 is a fine iron, but doesn’t really stand out in any way from other irons of its class.

The M2, on the other hand, is an iron on steroids. I’m really starting to love this thing. It’s super forgiving and just goes and goes. According to my laser, flush shots were going 195 yards (my usual blade 5 iron distance) and very high. I can’t help but think golf would be a whole lot easier, particularly longer courses with long par 3s, with a full set of these in my bag.

poppyhillsguy

M1 feels softer than the M2 and I felt the ball flight was more consistent and what I want in an iron. The M1 did have a harsher feeling in my hands than I typically like, but I’m going to credit a lot of that to the range balls.

M2 flies very high. It was a windy afternoon and about 100 degrees. I love the high ball flight on the range, but I have a concern what that ball flight would be like on the course. I like to hit the ball different heights for different shots and I don’t think I could do that confidently with the M2, but I could with the M1. I don’t like the sound of the M2. It sounded “clicky” to me.

Fourpar18

Initially on the range I was scared because the M1 had a regular flex in it, so I took it easy for my initial 10-15 swings with it. Ball SHOT off the face, loud crack (didn’t care for it, but not too bad) and ball just kept rising and rising but didn’t balloon. I thought, “whoa,” that’s not what I expected…did it again…another CRACK and the ball just flew. I set another down and I paid attention to how it looked behind the ball, not much offset for a game improvement and I thought…”I could actually play this club!”  The 5-7 were EASY swings, aimed at a target of 170 yards away (my normal 7 iron distance) and with a EASY swing I was flying it by 20 yards or so. The next 5-10 I really went after it, same CRACK and ball just flew but to my surprise it was a nice draw, harder draw than the first but it was a nice 10-yard draw. This time the balls were landing just short of the 200 yard marker. Damn, 200 yards with a 7 iron! I know they are jacked lofts but it feels good to say “my 7 irons just few 190-200 yards!”

P.S. LOVE the Lamkin UTX grip!

Now, this was interesting, the M2 was quieter then the M1… weird!  Now, there is more carbon fiber added to this one and there is a “Geocoustic” label on the back. I am sure that it has something to do with all that carbon fiber but it does have a better sound. Other than the sound, it played exactly like the M1: long and straight. The REAX shaft felt a little weaker than the True Temper shaft and it flew a little higher but nothing else I could pick up.

noahdavis_7

Finally got out to the range after getting these bad boys in on Friday. My first impression of them is that they look really sharp. The graphics and design really stand out and really give these clubs a cool, modern look.

They were both a little to big IMO, as I am currently bagging Mizuno MP-68s. The M2 isa definite “game improvement iron”, while the M1 was similar in size and shape to my previous irons, Titleist AP1s.

They both really launch it, high and far. Ridiculous for 7 irons. I don’t have access to a launch monitor, but it was about a 20-yard difference between my gamer 7 iron and these (stronger lofts, as well).

The M1 definitely was more suited for my eye, and produced more consistent ball flights. It felt much more smooth and solid as the M2 had a clicky, cheap feel.

The M2 just isn’t for me. I felt like it was launching too high and ballooning, which could be due to the shaft (the M1 had the S300, while the M2 just had a stock “Reax” shaft). The feel off the face of the M2 just turned me off, to be honest.

While I don’t think I’ll be putting either model in play, I can definitely see the appeal for mid-to-high handicaps. Both irons were super forgiving, and they should be a dream to the average weekend golfer who has trouble with ball striking consistently.

golfnut5438

Looks: As expected, I preferred the M1 with less offset, slightly smaller sole and a smoother finish. Less glare looking down on the iron. I must say the M2 did not look as bulky, or have as much offset as I thought it might have.

Feel: This was a close race, probably due to the shafts as much as the heads. The M1 was just a slight bit smoother feeling on solid shots. But the M2 was not bad at all, just not quite as smooth.

Distance and performance: Our range has a slight incline up the length of the range, so specific yardage gains or losses were difficult to measure. Both irons had a higher trajectory than my gamer 7 iron. Neither sole dug onto the turf either. The lofts for both irons are a degree or two stronger than mine, so I would think they probably flew a little further than my gamers. Neither iron flew “too” high, however. Might be a little harder to hit knock down shots, though.

Final thoughts: I had hit both the M1 and M2 irons last year during a fitting day, but did not like either. This year’s model were both better in my eyes. I asked a fellow member at our club to hit both and he felt the M1 was his preferred model, and he is a 20-index player. So coming from both a single digit, and a high double-digit, the M1 won this battle of wills. I will try and see if I can locate both a 5 iron and 9 iron to see if a full set might be a winner for me.

DblEgl

I was surprised that the M2 was the winner in this brief session. It felt better, flew higher, easier to hit and about 1/2 club longer that my gamer Apex CF16. The feel/sound was better than I thought it might be, but really not up to the CF16. I could, however, easily game the M2’s.

Bstein74

Feel: I hit the M2 first, and found it to be very solid when hit on the screws. There was almost no feel off the club face at all. When I mishit it, you knew it was, but it wasn’t harsh at all. Hit the M1 next, and same type of feel when hit solid. Much more harsh when mishit though, but I knew that was coming.

Distance and performance: This is was where I was curious to see how they would play. The M2 went out high in the air, and just kept going forever. Now granted my eyesight isn’t that great anymore, but it looked like I got about 10-15 yards more from the M2 compared to my Wilson D300. The only thing I didn’t like about the M2 was how much I was able to turn it over. Got a lot more hook compared to my D300. Don’t know if that was from the REAX shaft, but would love to find a less spinning shaft to correct that.

The M1 wasn’t a great performer for me. Same height as the M2, but much straighter off the club face. Didn’t get any great distance advantage as compared to my D300. Can’t game a player’s iron anymore, and testing this one just reaffirmed that.

Final thoughts: Was very happy with the distance I gained with the M2 compared to my current gamer. Very good-performing iron for me, and something I would definitely consider changing them out if I could reduce the spin off the face. If you’re looking for more distance, you need to try these out. The M1 just wasn’t for me, but as a player’s iron, I can see it as a great option.

Bobcat271

Like the other testers, I found the M2 to launch the ball much higher and is 10-to-15 yards longer than my Adams XTD forged 7 iron. Of the two 7 irons I prefer the M1. I like the design of the M1 and its visual appearance at address. I feel more confident in trying to work the ball with the M1. The M1 gave me more feedback as to where the club head was in relation to my swing plane. If I had my druthers I would put the M1 in the bag as it stands now. Will continue to test, what a treat to compare the two irons.

myurick2

Once I started making solid contact with a decent shoulder turn, the M2 really came alive in my hands. Towering flat height, for me, and very long. No more clacky hollow feel, just a very mild pleasant sensation… then zoom. Once I started making better swings, back to the M1, which was a very nice iron. Shorter than the M2 (though not short) and a little lower ball flight. Felt nice and substantial without being heavy. Very forgiving on slight mishits.

But the M2 was the star for me. High trajectory and very long. Club felt lively and fun. Frankly, unless a player wanted a lower trajectory, or likes to hit a lot of knock downs or feel shots, I don’t know why anyone wouldn’t choose the M2. They are very attractive and a very fun iron. I think folks who say that the M2 feels and/or sounds clicky, clacky or hollow may be mishitting the iron toward the toe. I am not judging — I mishit a lot of shots at first. I agree on toe mishits the iron did not feel great. It almost felt like plastic. The ball still flew pretty well, but it wasn’t a very enjoyable experience. Not painful, just felt very dead. But when hit nearer the center, the iron felt fantastic. Light, springy and very lively. 

hammergolf

They are both good-looking clubs. Not too long heel to toe and toplines were not that distracting. M1 is more what I like to see shape wise, but M2 was not bad at all. Personally, not a fan of seeing the face slots. But I could see how some people may like how they frame the ball. 

Ace2000

M1 

– Has a very odd sound on contact, almost sounds a tad like a fairway wood “ting. Not a fan
– Looks very good at address with the brushed finish
– Most shots I hit with it seemed to fall out of the sky (very likely a lack of spin). Ball flight was much lower than I would have expected (not super low, just not much different than my 7 iron)
– Inconsistent misses. Next to no distance gains vs RocketBladez Tour 7 iron

M2

– Doesn’t look as good at address as the M1. Chrome finish at address is not an issue in even direct sunlight for me
– Feels and sounds quite nice to my ears at impact. Not a classic sound but very good considering what type of club it is
– Ball flight is very strong (comes off hot). Ball stays high in the air for awhile. Very high and lands soft
– 10-12 yards longer on average vs my 7 iron, it even had the horsepower to hang with my 6 iron
– VERY forgiving on thin strikes. Couldn’t believe how a near-top still traveled to nearly the front edge in the air and still went as far as the M1 did on a good strike
– Shaft is too light

Even though I’m a 2-handicap and don’t fit the M2 “mold,” I could see myself playing this club from 4-6 iron (although gapping would be a major issue mixing these with almost anything else) if it had a heavier shaft in it (I can only imagine how far this 4 iron must go… yikes)

M1 = 2.5/5 stars
M2 = 4.5/5 stars

tpeterson

Visual first impressions: The M1 7-iron is visually appealing to me as far as the finish and overall look. Even though it is classified as a player’s iron, it doesn’t seem so tiny that it would be tough to hit. I am not a huge fan of the bright-yellow badging, but I probably could get over it. The iron inspires confidence with its topline and a little bit of offset. The “rubber” piece on the hosel is a little bit funky to me.

I thought the M2 7-iron would look clunkier than it really is. Besides the finish being a little bit different, the difference between the M1 and M2 is actually pretty small. The M2’s topline and sole are a touch wider, but not by much. Not a huge fan of the fluted hosel since it can be seen at address. The M1’s fluting is only on the rear of the club.

I did notice that the sole’s finish did scratch pretty easily. Overall, I thought the M1 and M2 are pretty good looking, but I would definitely give the edge to the M1. I also preferred the stock Lamkin grip on the M1 vs. the ribbed M2 grip.

On course action: They both feel solid. I tried hitting both irons in all different types of on-course situations over a two week period. Both clubs launch the ball high but I would not say they balloon. For me, the M2 was about 10 yards longer and higher than the M1. Compared to my Cleveland irons, they are 1 to 1.5 clubs longer.

M1 loft = 30.5
M2 loft = 28.5
Cleveland TA7 loft = 33.5

I know this accounts for the distance gain but the ball definitely comes off hot compared to my set. I was hoping I would hit the M1 better since I like the appearance better, but that was not the case. The M2 definitely felt better for me and I felt more confident with it in my hands.

Discussion: Read all 75 reviews and the responses in our Testing Thread

Your Reaction?
  • 22
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK15

Continue Reading

Equipment

Members Choice: The Best Irons of 2017

Published

on

To help golfers find the best irons for them in 2017, we enlisted the services of GolfWRX Members, the most knowledgeable golfers on the internet. They not only understand the technology used in the latest golf equipment, but they also test new clubs extensively. Following their detailed experiences and words of wisdom about the latest products is the perfect starting point for anyone interested in purchasing new golf clubs.

To gather their votes and feedback, we as a company first needed to properly sort the irons into categories. We aimed to keep the categories as simple as possible with 2017’s crop of irons, and we broke them down into three general categories:

  • Players Irons: Basically, small-sized irons. These irons have sleek top lines and soles. They place workability and control over distance, and for that reason they’re irons you can expect to see in the bag of a professional golfer.
  • Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, medium-sized irons. This category includes a wide-range of clubs that blend distance, forgiveness, good looks and workability.
  • Super Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, large-sized irons. These irons are juiced with hot faces, wide soles, thick top lines, big offset and a low center of gravity, among other engineering feats, that are often unique to each company.

Note: Because of the abundance of Players Irons currently available, we divided that category into two categories: Players Irons and Exotics Players Irons. The Exotic Players Irons list included players irons from companies such as Epon, Fourteen, Miura, PXG, and Honma, which are not as widely available for testing in the U.S.

Below you can access the full results of our Members Choice 2017: Best Irons lists, as well as feedback about each iron from the GolfWRX Community. We’d like to sincerely thank all the GolfWRX Members who participated in the voting and provided feedback on the irons. We also want to thank those of you who provided feedback on the voting process itself. We assure you that we read and consider everything, and we’re going to continue to improve our process in order to provide the best and most useful information about the latest golf equipment.

Members Choice: The Best Players Irons

Mizuno_JPX_900_Tour_Feat-1021x580

Vote Leader: Mizuno JPX-900 Tour

“WOW! Great mix of buttery feel and forgiveness.”

Overall, the Mizuno JPX-900 Tour irons earned nearly 15 percent of votes on the Players iron category, giving them top billing for players irons. One GolfWRX member said he was “weak in the knees from first look at the satin finish and compact size,” and that the “feel is excellent, and there’s just enough forgiveness.” Another said the JPX-900 Tour irons are the “best irons out there right now in terms of blending feel, forgiveness, and the ability to shape shots.”

Full List: The Best Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: The Best Exotic Players Irons

PXG0311t-600x377

Vote Leader: PXG 0311T

“I can’t say I have ever hit anything that feels as good as the PXG.”

With more 21 percent of votes for the Best Exotics Players Irons of 2017, PXG’s 0311T irons were described by GolfWRX members as “a great looking club,” and that they “felt unbelievable.” When comparing the irons to Titleist’s 716 MB irons, one member said, “The fact that you can barely tell if it has or doesn’t have more offset than the MB 7 iron just shows how little it has.”

Full List: The Best Exotic Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: Best Game-Improvement Irons

CallawayApexMembersChoice

Vote Leader: Callaway Apex CF ’16 

“Apex CF is simply the most explosive, best feeling iron I’ve ever hit in this category.”

Acquiring nearly 20 percent of votes of all models in the Best Game-Improvement Iron category, GolfWRX Members described the Callaway Apex CF ’16 irons as “simply the most explosive,” and that they “perform very well on center hits and almost as good on mishits.”

Full List: The Best Game-Improvement Irons of 2017

The Best Super Game-Improvement Irons 

PingGironsWRX

Vote Leader: Ping G

“The Ping G takes what Ping has done for years and added in increased ball speed, improved feel and much better looks.”

An iron that “will appeal even to Ping haters.” GolfWRX Members described the Ping G as “stupid easy to hit,” providing a “high and straight ball flight,” and “an eye opener.” The irons also accumulated more than 22 percent of the total votes in the category.

Full List: The Best Super Game-Improvement irons of 2017

Your Reaction?
  • 230
  • LEGIT31
  • WOW11
  • LOL12
  • IDHT5
  • FLOP10
  • OB3
  • SHANK86

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending