Connect with us

Apparel Reviews

Review: Nike Flyknit Elite golf shoes

Published

on

OK. Let’s discuss the elephant in the Flyknit Elite golf shoe room straight away: A percentage of golfers will never wear a high-top golf shoe, regardless of how well it performs. Likewise, a percentage of golfers will not wear sneaker-style golf shoes.

If you don’t find yourself in one of the groups above, however, beyond aesthetics, the Flyknit Elite presents a viable option if you’re already a Flyknit wearer in other shoes, or are looking for lightweight spikeless shoe with ankle support (and more ankle support than the Flyknit Chukka offers).

IMG_0202

Appearing on the global sports scene during the Sochi Olympics, Flyknit footwear featuring Flyknit technology has been a fixture in other sports for the past few years. The Swoosh brought the TPU yarn technology and high-strength support fibers to golf footwear with the Flyknit Chukka and Flyknit Elite to market in June.

The tech is aimed at offering lightweight support, and the precision weave allows targeted areas to stretch and others to support. The company indicated the concept was born out of “runners a shoe with the snug (and virtually unnoticed) fit of a sock.” Breathability is the hallmark of the knit upper, and the sock-like, mid-height collar prevents debris from entering the shoe.

IMG_0203

While the shoes aren’t waterproof, they do have what Nike calls “dew protection” along the upper’s edge to keep feet dry in wet grass. Obviously, another element of the Flyknit imperative is to use fewer materials is less overall waste, for which our landfills thank us.

The sole, of which a picture is worth more than a thousand words, features what Nike calls an Integrated Traction pattern, which offers a grip at least commensurate with any spikeless offering.

IMG_0215

For this review, I was sent the Flyknit Elites in the Black/Clear Jade/Glacier Blue/White colorway. Two other colorways, pictured below, are also available. The shoes come in sizes 7-12, with half sizes in-between, as well as sizes 13 and 14, and sell for $270.

Here’s the essential question for potential purchasers of the Flyknit Elite: There are bulkier shoes on the marketplace with more stability. There are spike-laden shoes on the marketplace that offer more traction. However, to get a lighter shoe with the Flyknit’s performance and aesthetic characteristics, is that trade off worth it?

IMG_0210

Below is a quote from Nike Staffer Jamie Lovemark about the shoes. And yes, he’s paid by Nike, but he could also be wearing the more traditional Lunar Control line of shoes as he plays for his daily bread.

“I always have guys come up to me and ask about (the shoes),” Lovemark said. “They always want to know if they have spikes on them and if the traction is good, which has never been an issue for me with these shoes. Plus, I like the fact that they have a different look. There’s nothing wrong with standing out when you’re on the course.”

No doubt you’ll stand out. And in giving these shoes a spin, there is likewise no doubt that they are lighter and more fitted to the foot than any offering I’ve come across personally. There’s also more of a feeling of rootedness or connectedness with the ground than many spikeless models offer.

Ultimately, the Flyknit Elite is an athletic shoe you can comfortably and capably play golf in, while, you know, having a commendable shoe game, if that’s your thing.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”102″]

Your Reaction?
  • 75
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW6
  • LOL5
  • IDHT5
  • FLOP8
  • OB9
  • SHANK150

27 Comments

27 Comments

  1. CCshop

    Aug 16, 2016 at 6:40 pm

    $270 and no waterproofing. Pass

    • Dominic

      Jan 5, 2017 at 4:33 pm

      If you are spending $270 for golf shoes, you likely already have a waterproof pair. I have a pair of the flyknits, and they are the best shoe I’ve ever played in for ordinary dry/warm conditions. When it rains or is wet, I wear waterproof shoes, but when it’s hot, I’ll grab these 10/10 times for their comfort and breathability.

  2. Steve

    Aug 16, 2016 at 8:26 am

    I would wear them… to a job interview at the circus.

  3. Mark

    Aug 16, 2016 at 2:46 am

    Ideal shoe for loitering on a corner while wearing a tracksuit and lots of gold chains. No wonder Nike has cocked up its Golf business.

    • IowaHacker

      Aug 16, 2016 at 2:00 pm

      I bet your a “Blue Lives Matter” supporter too. You win the Internet Ignorance award for August 16, 2016!

      • Jim

        Aug 17, 2016 at 2:54 am

        Problem with Police? You some kinda golf-gansta or just a douchebag wannabe hood?

        You’re OB dipstick.

        • IowaHacker

          Aug 17, 2016 at 9:55 am

          Golf-gansta? Wannabe hood? I’m not sure I know what those two things are. Care to enlighten me James Awad from Connecticut? Maybe when I show up at your door you can talk that sh*t to my face and we can deal with it then. For a golf teacher you sure have a loud mouth, I bet you yell at children while raping their mothers in your terrible excuse for a teaching venue.

    • KK

      Aug 16, 2016 at 11:25 pm

      Did you type this while wearing your pointy white hat?

  4. Korean Slum Lord

    Aug 16, 2016 at 1:15 am

    They just mailing it in for golf goods.

  5. jap

    Aug 15, 2016 at 11:24 am

    I’d like the shoe but the colors are gross. Give at least one option without some bright annoying color on it.

  6. desmond

    Aug 15, 2016 at 10:44 am

    Don’t mind them, but at $270 they are approaching the price of a PXG iron that will last 5+ years, while these shoes may last 1-2 years. $270? Seriously?

  7. Flip

    Aug 15, 2016 at 10:40 am

    Jesus h….. hideous is an understatement. I would figure some of the colored guys that come hack up our club will be wearing that puke.

    • IowaHacker

      Aug 15, 2016 at 10:49 am

      Racist much? Bet you support Trump and the KKK too. Good luck with your bigotry.

    • KK

      Aug 15, 2016 at 9:46 pm

      Holy S. This dude just said “colored guys.” Blast from the 50s.

    • Ron

      Aug 16, 2016 at 11:58 am

      He’s not racist since white is basically a mixture of every color. Hard to get more “colored” than that.

    • KK

      Aug 16, 2016 at 11:45 pm

      The world has so many amazing things to experience. Why stay in your little racist corner? Imagine living in a world without sushi, pineapple fried rice or chorizo tacos. Nah, man.

      • Jack

        Aug 17, 2016 at 3:14 am

        Those are colored foods. He only eats white meat of course.

  8. Anna

    Aug 15, 2016 at 8:22 am

    Where’s the review? This is more like a overview.

  9. DG

    Aug 14, 2016 at 7:51 pm

    LMAO. For $270 bones? And no ‘Jumpman’ logoing? Nike is spoofing us. Right?

  10. DG

    Aug 14, 2016 at 7:49 pm

    LMAO!! For 270 bones? And no ‘Jumpman’? Nike is spoofing us. Right?

  11. jmejones

    Aug 14, 2016 at 2:58 pm

    JM…don’t knock’em till you tried them…I have 2/3 color ways…I love these shoes. 9/10 rounds I play in these now. Most comfortable, best fitting, cool looking golf shoes I’ve ever owned, and I am a golf shoe whore…tried them all over the past 5 years most of the FJ’s, latest Puma’s, countless Nikes, Adidas including boost, Ecco, UA, etc…

  12. JS

    Aug 14, 2016 at 1:06 pm

    They keep making stuff like this they will be done making golf shoes pretty soon as well.

    • Cornfused...

      Aug 15, 2016 at 10:39 am

      You mean offering both traditional shoes and more modern shoes and in general offering the golfing public with more options is going to hurt them? Wow, business acumen has passed you by hasn’t it. Shows perhaps why you don’t own a business. When it comes to shoes, Nike isn’t going anywhere. This is simply another option in the golf shoes market. It has shown decent sales and according to a commenter above, they are well loved.

      • farmer

        Aug 15, 2016 at 1:46 pm

        If you look at the demographics of the golf industry, these ugly things are designed to appeal to the smallest segment. Maybe your uncalled for comment about business acumen shows how much you know about mass marketing.

        • Jack

          Aug 17, 2016 at 3:19 am

          Golf shoes are getting more casual. You are getting Fowler wearing high tops and Puma pushing them out to sell. Younger golfers will love it. Older folk will not since it’s not the golf shoe they are used to looking at. For me even the more casual golf shoes that I have still can be worn with long golf pants. These shoes not so much. I think that’s the main problem with then. You’d have to wear joggers with them? I think the TW shoes were a good mix of sports/dressy.

  13. KK

    Aug 14, 2016 at 12:35 pm

    Needs more Nike swooshes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Apparel Reviews

Brooks Koepka’s Winning Outfit: 2018 U.S. Open

Published

on

Brooks Koepka played like he dressed on Sunday at Shinnecock Hills for the final round of the U.S. Open; his outfit was athletic, well put together, boring with a bit of flash (those shoes!!), and most importantly, it got the job done.

See the golf clubs and shafts Brooks used to win.

A great representative of the new age of golf, Koepka has the frame of a baseball player, and he’s not afraid to accentuate it with tight-fitting polos and an athletic look. For Sunday, he chose a white-on-gray-on-gray look that was understated, but clean — just like his scorecard. He really made the Nike Golf Tour Premiere PE shoes, with hits of electric orange, the star. Check out the details on his full outfit below.

Brooks Koepka’s Winning Outfit

  • Hat: Nike AeroBill Classic99
  • Shirt: Nike Zonal Cooling polo
  • Belt: Nike Stretch Woven
  • Pants: Nike Flex
  • Shoes: Nike Golf Tour Premiere PE
Your Reaction?
  • 19
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW4
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK5

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

Dustin Johnson’s Winning Outfit: 2018 FedEx St. Jude Classic

Published

on

Dustin Johnson won the 2018 FedEx St. Jude Classic by 6 shots — and he holed out on the 72nd hole for eagle as the cherry on top.

You can check out the clubs he used to win here, but this article is all about his outfit.

Per usual, DJ went with the white-on-navy-on-navy-navy look that he wears often, especially on winning Sundays. Also, according to Adidas, it’s the first time that a Primeknit shoe has won on the PGA Tour, so there’s that.

Let’s dive into his full outfit…

Dustin’s Winning Outfit

  • Hat: TaylorMade New Era Tour 9Fifty (White)
  • Polo: Ultimate365 Heather Polo (Collegiate Navy)
  • Belt: 3-Stripes Perforated Reversible
  • Pants: Ultimate365 Flat Front (Navy)
  • Shoes: Tour 360Knit (Grey/Real Purple)
Your Reaction?
  • 9
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

Modern classics: Catching up with Holderness & Bourne

Published

on

If you haven’t heard of Holderness & Bourne, well, for one thing, you’ve missed a couple of our gift guides. We’ve lauded the Rye, New York-based apparel manufacturer on more than one occasion for making some of the best polos in the business.

H&B, not surprisingly the product of two men named (Alex) Holderness and (John) Bourne, is quickly establishing a reputation for classic styles in tailored fits using modern materials. In addition to both performance and cotton polos, Holderness & Bourne makes sweaters, vests, bags, and other accessories.

I spoke with Alex Holderness about the company’s growth and what’s next.

BA: We first spoke a couple of years ago, but things have really taken off since then. Tell me about the growth.

AH: It’s been a great few years for us. We’ve basically tripled the past few years. We’re now stocking more than 150 clubs around the country and some great clubs abroad as well. We’re seeing traction for the brand; we’re seeing momentum. A lot of people like the concept of the brand, which is classic style with a more modern approach to fabrics and fit…and it’s working, so we’re trying to grow carefully based on that.

BA: What did establishing traction look like for you?

AH: It’s been steady all along. There wasn’t a point where the tide turned and things started to get good when they weren’t good before. But it is tough to get traction in green grass, and we feel very fortunate that we were based in New York…early in the history of the brand, we landed Winged Foot…Greenwich Country Club and a few others in the area really early on…So we were very lucky…because traction in green grass for brands like us is driven by perception, so if you can align yourself as a brand with the better clubs and public facilities around the country it can be very favorable. A lot of times, it results in people…calling us, because they’ve heard it [our apparel] did very well at Winged Foot or some other club. So that’s our general approach to green grass.

We’re not snobs about it by any means. It’s not like we have some grand strategy to only stock the top 100 clubs. But we care a lot about making premium products and being a premium brand. As a results of that, we are a natural fit for higher-end facilities, whether they’re public or private. We’re not going to ever be the cheapest brand in the shop, and we’re not going to be on clearance for 70 percent off…we’re very careful about what we’re building, and as a result of that, having these relationships with facilities around the country has been really helpful for us…and it’s helped us generate momentum in terms of getting inbound inquiries.

But it has taken a while. We’re four years into this thing, and it’s a day-by-day, year-by-year process..It’s not like we went out and raised $5 million in investor capital. We didn’t go out and try to be an overnight success…and get into every club. We only raised a small amount of capital, and we’re trying to kind of bootstrap: make great product, sell it, then use those proceeds to broaden our assortment. We want to add additional categories and get into more clubs every year, but it takes time.

BA: Can you talk a bit about your core consumer and how you’re appealing to him in ways that maybe other brands weren’t?

AH: My business partner John and I are both guys in our late 30s, married with kids and all that, but young enough to want a cleaner, more modern fit without sacrificing the classic look. We just knew that the combination of fit and style that we had in mind would resonate with plenty of guys, because we started out looking at this whole thing from the customer’s perspective. We also wanted to put some real soul into the brand, creating something very authentic within golf, because we didn’t always feel we were getting that as customers buying golf apparel in the past.

BA: Can you talk a little bit about the balance between e-commerce sales and green grass?

AH: Green grass has been the focus for us so far, but it’s a nice overall split. I think these days any relatively new brand needs to have a website where their customers can reach them directly, but for us the relationships we have with the clubs and public facilities that stock our brand are certainly just as important. Those places are the real stewards of the game and golf culture, and our brand has proven to be a strong fit for them.

BA: You’ve been pretty selective in your marketing and messaging…can you talk about that?

AH: We’re just kind of old school about it. We don’t care to shout about the brand or pay a bunch of money for marketing and PR. Our thinking has always been that if we focus on designing and manufacturing excellent products and get them into the right people’s hands, the brand will grow nicely as people tell their friends about the brand. We also put a huge emphasis on customer service for that same reason. We want people to have an excellent experience with us, even if that involves solving a problem for them, and that approach has been a good one so far.

BA: Talk about Roberto Castro wearing your wares, as it were…

AH: We are really proud to have Roberto onboard as a brand ambassador, and he’s become a great friend of ours as well. He found out about us a couple years ago by reading a piece about new golf brands on the blog Red Clay Soul, and reached out. We weren’t looking to sponsor tour players, but we got to know him and realized that he is the perfect guy to have out there representing the brand. He’s a big family guy, humble and low-key, and he just let’s his game do the talking, all of which we admire. And the guy has got tons of game. He made it into the field at the U.S. Open again this year, so we’re headed out to Shinnecock next week to cheer him on.

BA: Speaking of the Tour, apparel is in an interesting and dynamic place, isn’t it?

AH: Definitely. We think it’s great that there are a number of new brands out there pushing things forward, and it’s not a winner-take-all market. Things are certainly competitive, but brands both within and beyond golf are becoming more niche, which helps customers find the ones that specifically work for them. We don’t really pay a lot of attention to the apparel game on tour specifically, to be honest. We care just as much what’s going on out on the mid-am scene, where a lot of guys who obviously aren’t getting paid choose to wear our stuff simply because they like it better.

BA: Beyond deliberate growth, what’s on the horizon for H&B?

AH: We’re now stocking more than 150 pro shops around the country (and abroad – Sunningdale in England and Toronto Golf Club up in Canada have picked up the line), so we are excited about that momentum. For 2019, we’ve got big plans to expand our apparel collection, with a broader range of shirt fabrics and styles, some very cool layering pieces, and more premium accessories such as belts, hats, and bags. As designers, we really feel like we’re just getting started.

BA: Thanks, Alex.

You can find Holderness & Bourne on the web here.

Your Reaction?
  • 13
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW1
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending