Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Review: TomTom Golfer 2 GPS Watch

Published

on

Pros: The TomTom Golfer 2 watch does three important things: provides yardages, keeps score, and tells time/date. The first two are particular to golfers and it displays these simply and well. As for the third, it’s a sleek-looking watch that would be fashionable for various occasions.

Cons: Its watch-sized face may be a bit cumbersome during a backswing. If it is, simply attach it to your bag or put it in the golf cart. The automatic shot detection, based on movements of your wrist, can pick up practice swings and add those to your score (although there is a fix for this!).

Who’s It For: The TomTom Golfer 2 is for the golfer who prefers to not point and shoot a laser rangefinder. It’s also for those who want to keep score/stats digitally and transfer them via app to tablet, phone or computer.

Overview

First things first; let’s wear this! The TomTom Golfer 2 has a major face plate and minor toggle button, anchored in a plastic case. On the bottom of the case is the charge plate, where you dock the USB charger. The entire plastic case is set into a rubber wristband, highlighted by a metal, tri-fold sizer with 9 wrist-thickness settings. The watch is easily adjusted to fit a variety of wrist sizes, though. Two buttons, squeezed simultaneously, release the tri-fold sizer for simplified on-off of the watch. Wearing this watch couldn’t be easier or more comfortable.

GOLFER2_BLACK_BackAngle_S (Small)

Next, let’s use this! The TomTom Golfer 2 has a toggle button that serves as the bridge for all your tasks. You have access to a number of screens, some of which provide data and others that allow you to log each shot you take. Since I preferred to hold the Golfer 2, rather than wear it, I used my thumb to move from screen to screen. If you’re wearing the watch, it’s easier to use your index finger to cycle through the options. Either way, it’s easy to do.

GOLFER2_BLACK_Front_DISTANCE_S (Small)

Finally, let’s sync this! The TomTom MySports app allows you to sync the watch with your phone, tablet or computer, then transfer each round’s data (score, greens in regulation, putts) between devices. After setting up an account at the TomTom site, the bluetooth connection is seamless and nearly instantaneous. For number crunchers and data junkies, you’ll have all the information you need to review your round and plan your practice.

The Review

When you arrive at your golf course, the TomTom Golfer 2 locks onto the layout and welcomes you to the first hole. From there, it’s in your hands and up to you. Toggle to the right and you’ll see the first set of readings: yardages to the front, middle, and rear of the green. Unless you’re on a par-3, you need more than this. A second bump to the right brings up a screen with yardages to hazards on the course. These include bunkers, creeks and other water elements. If you’re interested in yardages to every potential feature on a golf course, here’s where a rangefinder offers just a bit more than the watch… assuming you lock in on the proper target.

At this secondary point, toggle up or down to bring up six additional screens. One is a close-up of the green, another tells you yardage to the green, a third tells you how many calories you’ve burned — Nos. 4 and 5 give you time of day and time of round, and the last tells you how many shots you’ve taken on the hole (and can log putts separately!). As mentioned in the Cons section, the TomTom Golfer 2 is susceptible to picking up practice swings and recording them as strokes. If you want to use the device for accurate scoring, I’d suggest attaching it to your bag (when walking) or leaving it in the cart (if riding). I played a tournament recently and used a push cart for all 36 holes over two days. I secured the TomTom Golfer 2 to my bag strap and used it for yardages on every hole.

GOLFER2_BLACK_Right_HAZARDS (Small)

After the round, as you parse your data, the MySports app allows you to zero in on an overhead shot of the course and review your round. If you find that the score needs proper editing, you may do so within the app, adjusting numbers of putts and strokes accordingly. Rounds may be deleted with a leftward swipe of the finger.

TomTom’s first venture into the golf watch market was the original TomTom Golfer. Available in two versions, the original offered many of the features found in model 2.0. The upgrades include automatic shot detection, shot history analysis, and the automatic scorecard. The premium edition of the original watch costs the same as the TomTom Golfer 2, with the hand-crafted italian leather band, ball marker and cart bag mount unique to the premium edition.

The life of a USB charge of the TomTom Golfer 2 will depend on how often you consult and manipulate the device during a round of golf. If you wear it as a watch most days, your battery life will be measured in weeks. If you undertake a great deal of input and output of data, you will find yourself charging every 48 to 72 hours.

The Takeaway

GOLFER2_BLACK_ FrontAngle_GREENVIEW_L (Small)

The TomTom Golfer 2 lists for $249 on the company website. If you like the look of the watch, you’re halfway to the purchase. The watch face is attractive, and reads time and date easily. As for the real reason behind the purchase, the distance measurements are very accurate (I tested them against my rangefinder and various course markings and they were spot on) and give you readings above and beyond front, center, and back of green. If you’re over the point-and-shoot of a laser rangefinder and want something easier to use, this device delivers what it promises. If the price is right, the TomTom Golfer 2 is yours.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”https://www.tomtom.com/en_gb/sports/golf/products/golfer-gps-watch/golfer-2-black-large/” oemtext=”Buy Here” amazonlink=”https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01EZV36MS/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=golfwrxcom-20&camp=1789&creative=9325&linkCode=as2&creativeASIN=B01EZV36MS&linkId=d4c9a0865a3dab240dca2d8f33c1fee3″]

Your Reaction?
  • 38
  • LEGIT8
  • WOW3
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB2
  • SHANK19

Ronald Montesano writes for GolfWRX.com from western New York. He dabbles in coaching golf and teaching Spanish, in addition to scribbling columns on all aspects of golf, from apparel to architecture, from equipment to travel. Follow Ronald on Twitter at @buffalogolfer.

23 Comments

23 Comments

  1. Golfstead

    Apr 10, 2018 at 1:37 pm

    I agree with the below comment – the Garmin X40 is a great if you’re worried about the watch impeding your golf swing. However, the TomTom Golfer 2 is a really good watch; it provides all the info you’ll need and it has great ratings.

  2. Kyle @ TGG

    Dec 17, 2016 at 5:27 pm

    The TomTom is a pretty good product, but there are a lot of options out there these days. I think the Garmin X40 would be a good option if you are concerned about the watch impeding your golf swing.

  3. Egor

    Aug 11, 2016 at 1:06 pm

    I’ve never used a golf watch. I don’t quite understand the purpose of them anymore, but I also can’t stand anything other than a glove on my hands/wrist – I even store my wedding band in the bag during the round.

    This is only my 3rd season playing so I’m a bit of the newer generation of golfer, but for me, a range finder and knowing the pin position for the day is enough to make a decision on club selection. Golf specific GPS watches have always seemed a bit gimmicky to me, but i know there are a lot of seasoned players who jumped on board and love them.

    For me, I like Arccos. I now know my distances and can see where I need to practice in order to shave strokes off my round. I already (like most people) have a smart phone I carry with me so for about the same cost of a GPS watch, I got a system that arguably has more benefit for my game. The only time(s) I need a distance that a laser finder can’t help with is distance to the trouble or a bunker in which case I usually pull my phone out of my pocket and use the Arccos app to find that info.

    Do you see golf specific GPS watches for $250 sticking around long term or do you think they will be replaced by smart phone + watch?

  4. Jimmy Walker

    Aug 5, 2016 at 7:33 pm

    You said I wouldn’t win?

    • Ronald Montesano

      Aug 6, 2016 at 5:10 pm

      Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha HA HA HA

      You’re not the real Jimmy Walker. He has my digits and would text me to romper huevos.

  5. 8thehardway

    Aug 5, 2016 at 12:45 pm

    This review is a gem – a perfect combination of overview, how-to and user impressions augmented by straightforward, relevant photos and writing that reflects a rare ability to personalize notable aspects of ownership.

    I’m good with my laser but gave this a second read just to enjoy your structure, editing and presentation – thanks for an exemplary experience.

  6. Jackster

    Aug 5, 2016 at 11:30 am

    Agree with Birdy, i have a Busnell Neo and Leopold 3. Would love to know exact distance of each shot taken. Would certainly help in your course management and club selection. Nice lookin’ watch!

    • Ronald Montesano

      Aug 5, 2016 at 2:52 pm

      Jackster,

      I don’t understand how a shot I hit in the past will help me with my club selection in the future. I want to know what’s in front of me. Can you elaborate on why I’m unenlightened? It seems to be an interesting premise.

      RM

  7. birdy

    Aug 4, 2016 at 1:11 pm

    review says this watch may be bit cumbersome……why? is this because you don’t like wearing a watch while playing golf……or is this watch larger than other similar watches recently released. it it cumbersome while a certain other watch isn’t, or do you just prefer not wearing a watch. if you’re going to write a review, this info would help.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Aug 4, 2016 at 8:25 pm

      Yes to all of the above. It’s personal, right? To me, it could be cumbersome. I prefer it on the bag. I can’t speak for your or anyone else’s personal preferences, so I won’t include it in the review.

      • birdy

        Aug 5, 2016 at 10:34 am

        i get that you don’t like wearing a watch….then why write a review on the watch if you already have bias against them. the watches comfort should be based on comparing it to wearing other watches. more comfortable, less comfortable. simply calling it cumbersome knowing you hate wearing gps watches to begin with tells me absolutely nothing about this watches comfort level.

        if i’m a food reviewer and absolutely can’t stand sushi, do you think those who like sushi really want to read a review that i give on sushi? then in the review saying it consists of rice and raw fish. no kidding.

        just saying when doing an equipment review….especially a watch, its all relative. only way to really get a proper review is to review based on what it does and doesn’t do compared to other watches. have you used the other watches? if so, is this tom tom better or worse than a garmin x40, s20, bushnell ion, etc?

        • Ronald Montesano

          Aug 5, 2016 at 2:56 pm

          You are embellishing and extrapolating from my use of the “a bit cumbersome.” You cannot remove “a bit” and use “cumbersome” as a stand-alone quote. To say that a reviewer “hates wearing GPS watches” is not gleanable from a reviewer that prefers the watch on the bag.

          I know many people who remove all jewelry when golfing. If you can eliminate the motion of shooting (and sometimes, with a scope, you shoot the wrong target and get an erroneous reading) and simply look at an accurate, GPS watch face, it shouldn’t matter whether it is on your wrist or on the bag.

          • birdy

            Aug 5, 2016 at 4:07 pm

            i get all this. a ‘bit cumbersome’ happy? this tells us nothing. what does this mean. would you describe every gps watch this way, or only this watch? there is a big difference between these two questions. i could care less whether you wear on wrist or bag. but when giving a review it should be done relative to other similar products.

            • Ronald Montesano

              Aug 6, 2016 at 5:16 pm

              I haven’t reviewed every GPS watch. I’ve reviewed this one. We don’t have access to every comparable product line from every company at every moment.

  8. birdy

    Aug 4, 2016 at 1:08 pm

    not a bad review…..but seems liek most all watches out recently of coming out do very similar things. it would be much more beneficial to point out what other watches do better than this one and what this watch does better than others.

    just from looking at the picture it looks like it gives you the distance of the previous shot automatically. this is a plus, yet never mentioned in the review. other watches require you to”track” the shot clicking at time of shot and again at your ball.

    you could probably cut and paste 85% of this review to any watch released in last year two.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Aug 4, 2016 at 8:27 pm

      I’m curious. Why is the distance of the previous shot important? It’s not to me, but if it is to others, I would love to know the rationale. Thanks for your comments.

      • birdy

        Aug 5, 2016 at 10:22 am

        really? why does most every watch track shot distances. because golfers like to know actual yards they hit a shot.

        if i tee off with 4 iron on par 4 i’d like to know exact distance i hit it for future reference. and lets be honest….how many golfers over estimate their distance from the tee. wouldn’t it be nice to look down and see the exact yards you hit your drive. not 300…but really 281. goflers want to know how far they hit their tee shots whether its a drive they just bombed or a long iron on a hole they want to lay up on.

        • Ronald Montesano

          Aug 5, 2016 at 2:57 pm

          That is an excellent explanation for your posit. I appreciate your elaboration. It is information like that, from knowledgeable viewers/readers, that enhances this website.

          RM

          • birdy

            Aug 5, 2016 at 4:11 pm

            look, i’m not trying to be mean….but your profile says you coach golf. you really couldn’t come up with why someone might need to know how far their previous shot went?

            • Ronald Montesano

              Aug 6, 2016 at 5:14 pm

              Correct. I coach golf. High school girls and boys in separate seasons.

              I’ve never known a tournament golfer to say “wow, I hit that XXX yards” over “OK, Fluff, what do we have left to the flag.” If a person is a stats muncher, sure, she/he would need to know distance of previous shot. I’m not and I’ve never been. If kids get to D1 and want to worry about it, fantastic. I don’t think that 95% of golfers care to know how far their last shot went.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Athalonz EnVe—The best golf shoes you’ve never heard of

Published

on

One of the coolest parts of being in this part of the golfing world is being able to shed light on smaller companies that typically get overshadowed by their bigger corporate brothers.

So, this post is about one of those products that is definitely competitive against top golf shoe companies, and it’s made by a company called Athalonz, which is based out west in Arizona. Typically known for its innovative baseball cleats and insole packages, Athlonz newest addition takes the patented design to the world of golf with the EnVe golf shoe.

These have started appearing on the world long drive circuit due to the amount of traction they get, allowing players to swing harder. So for the last few months, I have gotten to wear them and see if they are as good as the company claims.

Athalonz EnVe: Living up to claims

The main selling points of these shoes are focused on two things

  1. Design that delivers more power and stability
  2. Custom comfort that lasts all day

These are somewhat difficult to combine into one shoe, and though they are on the heavier side, Athlonz are completely worth it for the benefits. It is obvious that they made strides to hit each box on the list for a great shoe. The patented design has been adapted from their baseball cleat and introduces a spikeless golf shoe with a circular design that allows the player to gain traction through the golf swing. This gives a player the chance to swing harder and faster without losing their footing. They also offer insole packages that help with correct bodyweight placement to help add an extra layer of consistency.

Secondly, it’s very noticeable that there was plenty of thought given to comfort with a roomy toe and custom insoles to fit your style. Additionally, ankle padding helps to provide more stability and comfort.

On another note, they have a good sense of style with a more classic, casual take. In addition to the pictured white/brown color, there’s a black/grey colorway as well.

After multiple months of wear in all types of conditions, these shoes have performed great for me with all the traction I need and while feeling great throughout the round.

Verdict

I am a person who tends to support smaller companies when I can if they make good products. Any support for them goes a long way—especially in the golf business. Since these shoes will set you back about $150, I wanted to be sure they are worth it for the money and they absolutely are. Seriously, for anyone looking to boost their shoe game and help alleviate aching feet and ankles, give these a shot.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 47
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW2
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII

Published

on

Every golfer should have an accurate, reliable, easy-to-use rangefinder. With the new Nikon Coolshot 20 GII and 20i GII, you get all of that and more in one of the smallest, lightest packages on the market.

Not only do you get a ton of features, but when you consider these devices start at only $199.99 for the 20 G II and then $229.99 for the 20i GII ( slope adjusted version ), you get one of the best values in a rangefinder from one of the most well-known consumer optics companies in the world.

Review: Nikon CoolShot 20 GII and 20i GII

First Target Priority and 8-Second Continuous Measurement: “First Target Priority” is Nikon’s way of making sure you are picking up the flag and not a tree behind your intended target. There is nothing worse than thinking you have your distance dialed in to then have a shot fly over the green. With how quickly it lets you know the ranger finder is locked, getting that distance and double-checking can happen remarkably fast.

In the eight-second continuous measurement setting, the rangefinder will continuously measure the field of view as you scan the target area for approximately eight seconds. This setting is great when playing unfamiliar courses or trying to figure out the exact spot to a dogleg, tree, or hazard on your intended line.

Bright, 6x Monocular: Nikon is known for its glass and multi-coating technology, from telephoto camera lenses to rifle scopes, if it’s Nikon glass, it’s going to be clear, fog-resistant, and high-contrast for easy viewing. From a viewing experience perspective, the Coolshot 20 GII’s 6x monocular has an adjustable diopter for sharp focusing, along with long eye relief—meaning you can keep your glasses (or sunglasses) on when acquiring your target.

Slope-Adjusting ID Technology: With the 20i GII you have the option to get the slope-adjusted distance for any shot thanks to Nikon’s ID Technology. The mode can be turned on and off by the user to comply with USGA rules to make it legal for tournament rounds. Having tested it out on hilly terrain it’s easy to see why so many golfers mis-club going into greens when elevation changes become a lot more dramatic.

Review

The Nikon Coolshot 20 GII’s size and weight make it ideal for anyone who regularly carries and wants the benefit of knowing distances but without having to worry about weight—it weighs about the same as a sleeve of balls.

The size allows you to hold the units stable. However, I could see for those new to the rangefinder space, it could take some time getting used to when first getting acquainted with it. The best bet for this is to take it to a range or just step outside with it on your next walk and get used to hitting targets before you take it to the course—plus it makes for a fun game to see how good you really are at estimating distances.

Overall, for the price and size, it is one of the best rangefinders on the market. Plus, with a five-year warranty, you can be assured of years of use with the Nikon CoolShot 20 GII rangefinders.

Your Reaction?
  • 24
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK5

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Putting Perfecter

Published

on

Putting can be one of the most frustrating parts of the game, it mystifies scratch golfers as much as high handicaps and can make anybody tremble over a three-footers. It’s one of the biggest factors in scoring, especially for the club-level player, but it’s often one of the last things people actually work on. Let’s be honest, it’s a lot of fun to pound drivers on the range, am I right?

But if you are seriously looking for a simple tool to help get you into the proper address position, the Putting Perfecter is a great one to start with.

The beauty of the device is in its simplicity. Fitting under your arms and across your midsection, it “locks” the player into the proper position to create a pendulum putting stroke. After giving it a shot and hitting putts for just a few minutes, then going back to putting without it made me feel like I was much more connected.

Don’t think it’s just for putting though.

Funny story, when I first took it out to work on my putting, I used it for about 30 minutes and then moved onto my chipping. After a few trips around the putting green I tried chipping with the Putting Perfecter in the same position and “WOW” same connected feeling was produced—it was perfect for working on low-flying “runners.” I was excited to tell my friend about it, until I went home and realized they actually advertise it to help with that too. Guess I’m not as clever as I thought…

No matter how you use it, the Putting Perfecter is a simple and effective training tool that can be carried in a bag to be used before or after a round, takes NO time to set up (a big plus), and is light—so you don’t feel like its dragging you down if you actually keep it in your bag. Since it’s a putting tool, you can even use it indoors very easily. If you are someone that struggles with consistent address position on putts or disconnecting when chipping, I believe the Putting Perfecter is a great tool to try.

For more information check out the Putting Perfecter website.

 

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 52
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW4
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP2
  • OB1
  • SHANK18

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending