Connect with us

Apparel Reviews

Review: Biion Golf Shoes

Published

on

Pros: Comfortable, lightweight and distinctive. Biion shoes are a unique option for those looking for a splash of color in their wardrobe. Considering all of their five shoe styles, there are a total of 50 different colorways available — a dream come true for golf fashion lovers.

Cons: Despite their unique design and wide variety of colorways, some feel that the looks of the Biion shoes are a bit too aggressive for their tastes. For a smaller group, the barefoot sensation was unfavorable.

Who They’re For: Biion’s blend of traditional aesthetics with modern polymer technology is unlike any other in the golf shoe market. If you are the “trendsetter” in your weekly foursome, it’s worth considering the many options offered by Biion.

What you need to know about Biion

IMG_7068

When the founders of Biion Footwear started their company, they sought to mix comfort and versatility into a shoe that truly stood out. They settled on a spikeless, slip-on design made entirely of Ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA), a lightweight and rubber-like material similar to that of Crocs sandals.

IMG_7055

Functionally, EVA is a great choice of material, as it’s not only soft but also resilient, meaning that it will form to your foot during a round without permanently deforming afterwards. In addition, EVA is highly water resistant, meaning that even after a long, hot day on the course, the shoes won’t absorb your sweat (e.g. unlike a pair of boat shoes). The shoe did pick up dirt and grass stains fairly easily due to its low profile and all white upper, which would be a problem if not for the EVA construction, which can simply be hosed down or thrown in the wash in between rounds.

IMG_7065

Intended to be worn without socks, Biion shoes also feature patterns of small holes all throughout their upper surfaces. This feature, along with the tiny bumps lining the inner sole called “nodes,” works to enhance airflow and breathability while also providing “a therapeutic massage with every step.”

IMG_7074

Appearance

Offered in five different styles (Classics, Saddles, Brights, Wingtips, Patterns), each with nearly 10 different color combinations, it is definitely hard to pick one favorite. My two favorite pairs are the black-and-pink “Brights,” and the white-and-blue Brights, but I ultimately settled on the white version for this review.

brights

One key point I found was that, in order to be worn properly without socks, one should go down a size from their typical golf shoe size. So if you wear a 10, try Biions in a 9.

fit

Performance

Unless I’ve been doing something wrong this entire time, I would guess that I am like most golfers in that I don’t often play in rubber-like shoes, without socks. After getting used to this new sensation by playing a few rounds in the shoes, I found myself mostly impressed with how they performed. The EVA construction makes for a firm, yet cushioned insole, with the massage nodes being noticeably helpful in keeping ones feet from getting too hot.

IMG_7073

Due to the low profile of the shoe, I could easily feel the slope in the greens, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that my feet were sufficiently supported in pretty much all lies. The one exception to this is that, depending on your course conditions or how off-line you’re hitting the ball, you may find yourself having to dump sand or wet rough clippings out of your shoes often because of the “holey” design of the shoe.

IMG_7057

And while I’m not so sure about those of you with 115-mph club head speeds, I can say that I certainly never felt like I was on the verge of “swinging out of my shoes” (literally). As I said earlier, playing golf with this kind of shoe on is a fairly significant change for most golfers. Within the extent of the rounds I played (one with, one without a cart) with the Biion shoes, I really enjoyed the fit and performance. That being said, a small group did say that the overall feel is just a tad too far out of left field for them. For such an extreme design, this shouldn’t come as a surprise. Overall, the reviews were favorable among those I asked.

Takeaway

With an MSRP of $99, Biion golf shoes aren’t a bad option for those who look to add something new and different into their golf wardrobe. While their looks may not be for everyone, especially purists, the shoes offer a different approach to golf footwear that ought to be given a try.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”100″]

Your Reaction?
  • 94
  • LEGIT17
  • WOW14
  • LOL6
  • IDHT6
  • FLOP19
  • OB9
  • SHANK158

Brody has proudly been with GolfWRX since July 2012. He is a full time student, but enjoys getting around to writing whenever he has the chance. His interests include Tour coverage, equipment reviews, as well as interviewing figures from within the golf world. Most recently, he spoke with the founder of AimPoint Technologies and coach of Adam Scott and Stacy Lewis, Mark Sweeney.

20 Comments

20 Comments

  1. tora

    Oct 26, 2017 at 6:31 pm

    I wear golf shoes without socks quite often, so I think I might like these, I love the black/white shoe

    • Julia Teglas

      May 4, 2018 at 7:20 am

      Don’t get these I had a run in with customer service and they called me a f*cking sh*t

      • Brian

        May 4, 2018 at 7:25 am

        I had the same awful experience. The shoes I received were ripped and looked terrible.

    • Brian

      May 4, 2018 at 7:26 am

      They are very uncomfortable and don’t recommend

  2. Ccshop

    Jul 4, 2016 at 10:23 am

    Worst shoe on the market. Wearing them without socks is a weird feeling. Not that comfortable. Toe nails getting caught on the rubber make you cringe. Not enough traction. Even tho they have holes the rubber still smells and gets hot in warm weather. And a price tag of $100 is a joke. I could get a good leather shoe with spikes.

  3. Coppy

    Jul 1, 2016 at 1:56 pm

    Don’t know about you folks but I can’t wear any golf shoes without socks, let alone shoes with holes in them. One trip into the bunker and I’ve got sand in the shoes and multiple blisters.

  4. John Krug

    Jul 1, 2016 at 11:18 am

    They appear to be unwearable: holes that allow in water and sand, too hot in hot weather, too cold in cold weather and no room for orthotics or socks.

  5. BL

    Jul 1, 2016 at 10:54 am

    Played with a dude who wore these for the first time sockless… by 17, his heels were utterly torn up and bleeding. Wasn’t pretty.

  6. TheCityGame

    Jul 1, 2016 at 10:52 am

    The issue of sand/grass with shoes like these can not be overstated. That’s not just a footnote at the bottom of the review.

    You get into a Sandtrap and you’re going to be itchy, scratchy, Sandy for the rest of the round.

    • BF

      Jul 8, 2016 at 11:26 am

      True, it is a big difference over traditional shoes. But I found that it took no more than 5 seconds to pull the shoe off and pour out any sand. Due to the soft and flexible nature of the material, coupled with the lack of laces, the shoe is very easy to slip off and on.

  7. Jacob

    Jul 1, 2016 at 8:17 am

    Please don’t ever not wear socks with golf shoes if you are a guy. Seriously the sockless look is too feminine.

  8. Mike Honcho

    Jun 30, 2016 at 9:52 pm

    So, I have a pair of these (only wear to the range and at home garage simulator) and they are fine, except for when the weather gets warm and your feet start sweating. Which is unavoidable with rubber shoes on, vents or no vents. Once those feet start sweating, they are horrible. I find the feeling uncomfortable, unstable and noisy due to the sweat/rubber combo. Actually, they were so bad yesterday, I just took the shoes off and hit barefoot for a while. I love the look of the shoes and like the idea, but if you live in the south, like I do, and plan on wearing them in the summer, youre going to be extremely disappointed/frustrated. Can’t imagine trying to actually play 18 in them.

    • daniel

      Jul 1, 2016 at 12:39 pm

      Thanks, that is exactly what I was wondering!! I live in TX and tend to sweat a lot in this humidity.

  9. Mark

    Jun 30, 2016 at 9:10 pm

    Nasty cheap looking shoes.

  10. ooffa

    Jun 30, 2016 at 5:29 pm

    These are beautiful. I can’t wait to get some. Said no one, ever!

  11. C

    Jun 30, 2016 at 4:24 pm

    can you guys do a review on the canoos boat/golf shoes plz

  12. Nizzle's Daddy

    Jun 30, 2016 at 2:08 pm

    They also make excellent water shoes!

  13. Christosterone

    Jun 30, 2016 at 10:48 am

    I use them at the chipping range and putting green….not much in the way of support on full swings..
    Very similar to wearing in a tight fitting pair of crocs on full swings…zilch lateral support…
    I wouldn’t recommend this shoe if you are an above average swing speeder…

    I LOVE the look and craftsmanship…especially considering they are dyed through so u can theoretically “mop” polish them forever to look new…as a shoe hoe I kinda know my stuff…I lost count but probably have nearly 50 pairs of shoes, all in perfect shape..

    A pic of half my collection is halfway down the page…
    http://www.golfwrx.com/forums/topic/1309854-rory-looks-huge/page__st__30

    • golfraven

      Jul 2, 2016 at 6:11 pm

      50 pairs is excessive. I see the magic words for keeping shoes in shape are shoe trees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Apparel Reviews

Adidas introduces new Go-To Adapt Jacket

Published

on

“Fall temps could be all over the place.” –Weather Channel

Adidas’ new Go-To Adapt Jacket is designed to be worn when the weather can not make up its mind. The Go-To Adapt Jacket has a polyester top portion of the chest, shoulders and back which allows for better range of motion and body heat release. The bottom portion is made of fleece to help keep your core warm during the cooler morning tee times. Available for both men and women, this jacket has telescoping sleeves, allowing for the sleeves to be rolled up without stretching them out. The sleeves also feature an articulated elbow region, allowing for full range of motion.

Christine Cowan, global director of apparel, Adidas Golf says, “Golfers are used to having apparel that works for the two temperature extremes. But there are days when you need to be able to transition, for example, from a cooler morning to a warmer afternoon. That’s why we created the Go-To Adapt Jacket, to be the ideal mid-weight option that provides optimal stretch where you need it as well as enhanced breathability. It’s that reliable and perfect piece that can take you through your day, on course and off.”

Designed with the golf swing in mind, some of the key features include

  • Quarter Zip (men’s)
  • Full Zip (women’s)
  • Internal headphone pockets
  • Front-zip pockets
  • Telescope cuff (women’s features thumbholes)
  • Articulated elbows for freedom of movement
  • Water-resistant fabric combined with fleece-lined shell for all weather protection
  • Droptail hem for extra coverage
  • Women’s jacket features a more feminine cut and design
Your Reaction?
  • 29
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

Callaway Golf releases 2018 Fall Weather Series

Published

on

While the cooler weather is fast approaching us, there is no need to put away your clubs and leave the golf course so soon this year! With a stylish, performance-driven collection for both men and women, Callaway Golf is here to help extend your season and keep you comfortable out there regardless of the weather this fall and winter. The 2018 Fall Weather Series is diverse, with multiple products that were designed for you the golfer to be at peak performance at a time of the year when all of your buddies will not.

Greg Hemphill, Senior Director Global soft Goods at Callaway Golf said, “We are excited to bring the 2018 Fall Series to market…from mid-layers to puffer vests, to waterproof jackets and trousers, the Weather Series marries the latest in fiber technology and construction with a sophisticated, aesthetically pleasing design to provide golfers with the new standard in performance outerwear.”

Take a look below at a few selected products that are in the 2018 Fall Weather Series.

Dual Action 1/4 Zip Pull Over & Vest

Callaway chooses an insulated thermal fabric for its heathered fleece sweaters and vests. A Water-repellent exterior and UV Block UPF 50 combine to keep you dry and protected.

Full-Zip Puffer Jacket & Vest

These lightweight garments feature insulated thermal fabric and SWING-TECH shoulder panels for an enhanced range of motion.

Waterproof Seam-Sealed Jacket

With this breathable 3-layer membrane full-zip waterproof jacket, Callaway again includes SWING-TECH mechanical stretch fabric. seam-sealed construction with splash proof zippers are designed to keep you dry.

Waterproof Performance Pant

Callaway’s new rain pant is designed for both breathability and protection from the wet stuff. adjustable snaps, drawstrings and toggle hems on the pant cuff meet a 3-layer waterproof membrane in this performance pant. 

Women’s Quilted Thermore Jacket

Thermore© thermal fabric lines this jacket for maximum on-course warmth. Callaway includes SWING-TECH construction  here as well in a more feminine silhouette. 

More about the new 2018 Fall Series on Callaway Apparel’s website.

Your Reaction?
  • 18
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW4
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK12

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

Bubba Watson’s Winning Outfit: 2018 Travelers Championship

Published

on

Bubba Watson took down his third career Travelers Championship on Sunday after firing a final-round 63. Like his golf swing, and his golf clubs, Bubba has his own style. He wears a visor, colored gloves, a watch while he plays, and always has his polo buttoned to the top button.

See exactly what Bubba was wearing on Sunday at the 2018 Travelers Championship below!

Bubba’s Winning Outfit

Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending