Connect with us
Advertisement

Apparel Reviews

Review: Biion Golf Shoes

Published

on

Pros: Comfortable, lightweight and distinctive. Biion shoes are a unique option for those looking for a splash of color in their wardrobe. Considering all of their five shoe styles, there are a total of 50 different colorways available — a dream come true for golf fashion lovers.

Cons: Despite their unique design and wide variety of colorways, some feel that the looks of the Biion shoes are a bit too aggressive for their tastes. For a smaller group, the barefoot sensation was unfavorable.

Who They’re For: Biion’s blend of traditional aesthetics with modern polymer technology is unlike any other in the golf shoe market. If you are the “trendsetter” in your weekly foursome, it’s worth considering the many options offered by Biion.

What you need to know about Biion

IMG_7068

When the founders of Biion Footwear started their company, they sought to mix comfort and versatility into a shoe that truly stood out. They settled on a spikeless, slip-on design made entirely of Ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA), a lightweight and rubber-like material similar to that of Crocs sandals.

IMG_7055

Functionally, EVA is a great choice of material, as it’s not only soft but also resilient, meaning that it will form to your foot during a round without permanently deforming afterwards. In addition, EVA is highly water resistant, meaning that even after a long, hot day on the course, the shoes won’t absorb your sweat (e.g. unlike a pair of boat shoes). The shoe did pick up dirt and grass stains fairly easily due to its low profile and all white upper, which would be a problem if not for the EVA construction, which can simply be hosed down or thrown in the wash in between rounds.

IMG_7065

Intended to be worn without socks, Biion shoes also feature patterns of small holes all throughout their upper surfaces. This feature, along with the tiny bumps lining the inner sole called “nodes,” works to enhance airflow and breathability while also providing “a therapeutic massage with every step.”

IMG_7074

Appearance

Offered in five different styles (Classics, Saddles, Brights, Wingtips, Patterns), each with nearly 10 different color combinations, it is definitely hard to pick one favorite. My two favorite pairs are the black-and-pink “Brights,” and the white-and-blue Brights, but I ultimately settled on the white version for this review.

brights

One key point I found was that, in order to be worn properly without socks, one should go down a size from their typical golf shoe size. So if you wear a 10, try Biions in a 9.

fit

Performance

Unless I’ve been doing something wrong this entire time, I would guess that I am like most golfers in that I don’t often play in rubber-like shoes, without socks. After getting used to this new sensation by playing a few rounds in the shoes, I found myself mostly impressed with how they performed. The EVA construction makes for a firm, yet cushioned insole, with the massage nodes being noticeably helpful in keeping ones feet from getting too hot.

IMG_7073

Due to the low profile of the shoe, I could easily feel the slope in the greens, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that my feet were sufficiently supported in pretty much all lies. The one exception to this is that, depending on your course conditions or how off-line you’re hitting the ball, you may find yourself having to dump sand or wet rough clippings out of your shoes often because of the “holey” design of the shoe.

IMG_7057

And while I’m not so sure about those of you with 115-mph club head speeds, I can say that I certainly never felt like I was on the verge of “swinging out of my shoes” (literally). As I said earlier, playing golf with this kind of shoe on is a fairly significant change for most golfers. Within the extent of the rounds I played (one with, one without a cart) with the Biion shoes, I really enjoyed the fit and performance. That being said, a small group did say that the overall feel is just a tad too far out of left field for them. For such an extreme design, this shouldn’t come as a surprise. Overall, the reviews were favorable among those I asked.

Takeaway

With an MSRP of $99, Biion golf shoes aren’t a bad option for those who look to add something new and different into their golf wardrobe. While their looks may not be for everyone, especially purists, the shoes offer a different approach to golf footwear that ought to be given a try.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”100″]

Your Reaction?
  • 88
  • LEGIT16
  • WOW14
  • LOL6
  • IDHT5
  • FLOP19
  • OB9
  • SHANK156

Brody has proudly been with GolfWRX since July 2012. He is a full time student, but enjoys getting around to writing whenever he has the chance. His interests include Tour coverage, equipment reviews, as well as interviewing figures from within the golf world. Most recently, he spoke with the founder of AimPoint Technologies and coach of Adam Scott and Stacy Lewis, Mark Sweeney.

20 Comments

20 Comments

  1. tora

    Oct 26, 2017 at 6:31 pm

    I wear golf shoes without socks quite often, so I think I might like these, I love the black/white shoe

    • Julia Teglas

      May 4, 2018 at 7:20 am

      Don’t get these I had a run in with customer service and they called me a f*cking sh*t

      • Brian

        May 4, 2018 at 7:25 am

        I had the same awful experience. The shoes I received were ripped and looked terrible.

    • Brian

      May 4, 2018 at 7:26 am

      They are very uncomfortable and don’t recommend

  2. Ccshop

    Jul 4, 2016 at 10:23 am

    Worst shoe on the market. Wearing them without socks is a weird feeling. Not that comfortable. Toe nails getting caught on the rubber make you cringe. Not enough traction. Even tho they have holes the rubber still smells and gets hot in warm weather. And a price tag of $100 is a joke. I could get a good leather shoe with spikes.

  3. Coppy

    Jul 1, 2016 at 1:56 pm

    Don’t know about you folks but I can’t wear any golf shoes without socks, let alone shoes with holes in them. One trip into the bunker and I’ve got sand in the shoes and multiple blisters.

  4. John Krug

    Jul 1, 2016 at 11:18 am

    They appear to be unwearable: holes that allow in water and sand, too hot in hot weather, too cold in cold weather and no room for orthotics or socks.

  5. BL

    Jul 1, 2016 at 10:54 am

    Played with a dude who wore these for the first time sockless… by 17, his heels were utterly torn up and bleeding. Wasn’t pretty.

  6. TheCityGame

    Jul 1, 2016 at 10:52 am

    The issue of sand/grass with shoes like these can not be overstated. That’s not just a footnote at the bottom of the review.

    You get into a Sandtrap and you’re going to be itchy, scratchy, Sandy for the rest of the round.

    • BF

      Jul 8, 2016 at 11:26 am

      True, it is a big difference over traditional shoes. But I found that it took no more than 5 seconds to pull the shoe off and pour out any sand. Due to the soft and flexible nature of the material, coupled with the lack of laces, the shoe is very easy to slip off and on.

  7. Jacob

    Jul 1, 2016 at 8:17 am

    Please don’t ever not wear socks with golf shoes if you are a guy. Seriously the sockless look is too feminine.

  8. Mike Honcho

    Jun 30, 2016 at 9:52 pm

    So, I have a pair of these (only wear to the range and at home garage simulator) and they are fine, except for when the weather gets warm and your feet start sweating. Which is unavoidable with rubber shoes on, vents or no vents. Once those feet start sweating, they are horrible. I find the feeling uncomfortable, unstable and noisy due to the sweat/rubber combo. Actually, they were so bad yesterday, I just took the shoes off and hit barefoot for a while. I love the look of the shoes and like the idea, but if you live in the south, like I do, and plan on wearing them in the summer, youre going to be extremely disappointed/frustrated. Can’t imagine trying to actually play 18 in them.

    • daniel

      Jul 1, 2016 at 12:39 pm

      Thanks, that is exactly what I was wondering!! I live in TX and tend to sweat a lot in this humidity.

  9. Mark

    Jun 30, 2016 at 9:10 pm

    Nasty cheap looking shoes.

  10. ooffa

    Jun 30, 2016 at 5:29 pm

    These are beautiful. I can’t wait to get some. Said no one, ever!

  11. C

    Jun 30, 2016 at 4:24 pm

    can you guys do a review on the canoos boat/golf shoes plz

  12. Nizzle's Daddy

    Jun 30, 2016 at 2:08 pm

    They also make excellent water shoes!

  13. Christosterone

    Jun 30, 2016 at 10:48 am

    I use them at the chipping range and putting green….not much in the way of support on full swings..
    Very similar to wearing in a tight fitting pair of crocs on full swings…zilch lateral support…
    I wouldn’t recommend this shoe if you are an above average swing speeder…

    I LOVE the look and craftsmanship…especially considering they are dyed through so u can theoretically “mop” polish them forever to look new…as a shoe hoe I kinda know my stuff…I lost count but probably have nearly 50 pairs of shoes, all in perfect shape..

    A pic of half my collection is halfway down the page…
    http://www.golfwrx.com/forums/topic/1309854-rory-looks-huge/page__st__30

    • golfraven

      Jul 2, 2016 at 6:11 pm

      50 pairs is excessive. I see the magic words for keeping shoes in shape are shoe trees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Apparel Reviews

2018 GolfWRX Men’s Spring Fashion Shoot

Published

on

As promised by our Resident Fashion Consultant Jordan Madley in the 2018 Women’s Spring fashion shoot, below is some much-needed fashion love for the guys.

GolfWRX was on location in Las Vegas at the UNLV college campus where our Director of Content Johnny Wunder went full Zoolander to model the following golf apparel companies:

Also, many thanks to the folks at the UNLV PGA Golf Management program for hosting us!

We look forward to any and all feedback, and your thoughts about the apparel we chose to feature.

Related: Don’t miss our 2018 Women’s Spring Fashion Shoot

Your Reaction?
  • 31
  • LEGIT23
  • WOW19
  • LOL4
  • IDHT6
  • FLOP6
  • OB3
  • SHANK15

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

Golf polos with bold patterns: A quick chat with Bad Birdie golf

Published

on

Founded in 2017, Los Angeles-based Bad Birdie golf produces some of the most eye-popping polos ever seen on a fairway.

The company’s brazen ambition to “make the most savage golf polos in the world” and its boisterous presence on social media belies an attention to detail and careful pattern curation. It’s easy to make loud, obnoxious clothing. It’s more challenging to produce something that’s at once bold, stylish, appropriately fitted and of high quality. But that is what Jason Richardson’s company has tried to do since entering the market.

I spoke with Richardson about his eye-catching wares.

Before we get into your Bad Birdie offerings, tell me your take on the state of golf wear when you decided to enter the market?

JR: I went shopping for a polo for an upcoming tournament and was hoping to find something a little flashier/fun. I got bummed out when I realized most of the golf polos were generally the same colors/patterns. Solid pastels or stripes weren’t necessarily what I was going for, so I did some research online.

After looking at anything I could find, I realized that most golf polos are almost identical to each other. The only thing that’s really different is the branding or tech fabric. There’s a couple brands making a few edgier patterns but they still have a middle-aged, Tommy Bahama feel that’s not necessarily relevant to the younger golfer.

So building on that, what was the opportunity you saw?

JR: I saw an opportunity to make polos for the younger/trendier/bolder golfer whose style doesn’t fit into the traditional golf trends of pastels and stripes. We have a saying we use on some of our ads: “Your dad called and wants his polo back.” Most young/millennial guys who love golf are having to get their apparel from the same place their dad does. Bad Birdie sees an opportunity to fix that.

Cool. What’s your background in golf?

JR: I’ve worked in golf for a lot of my life. I started caddying when I was 12 at Forest Highlands in Flagstaff, AZ, during the summers, so learned the game while working. During high school, I worked for an eBay store that sold golf shafts that were left over from all the club fitters in Scottsdale. After college and before starting Bad Birdie I worked in advertising.

What’s Bad Birdie’s competitive advantage?

JR: There’s no other brands making performance golf polos with styles like we do. Our team is in their 20s and early 30s so we’re right in our target demographic and have a great network of friends/golfers we can bounce ideas off of. Being based in Los Angeles doesn’t hurt either, as we see a lot of the new fashion trends first.

Who’s your target consumer, and what has the response been like?

JR: 18-35-year-old males (and their significant others who buy Bad Birdie as gifts). The number one customer email we get is guys telling us how surprised they were by the number of compliments they got while wearing their Bad Birdie. Love getting those.

Any upcoming releases, plans we should know about?

JR: We have some new polos dropping in July you’ll want to keep an eye out for.

Who’s the best-dressed golfer on the PGA Tour?

JR: Until someone is wearing a Bad Birdie it’s tough to say.

Touche.

Check out Bad Birdie’s wares here, or check them out @badbirdiegolf on Twitter.

Your Reaction?
  • 21
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP1
  • OB3
  • SHANK14

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

On the course? Off the course? Adidas’ new adicross line has you covered

Published

on

Furthering golfwear’s trend toward the more casual and versatile in a big way, Adidas today unveiled a new line extension: Adicross.

Urban inspired. Decidedly non-traditional. The Adicross line (styled “adicross”) leverages Adidas’ clothing and footwear styles from other arenas and reimagines them for wear on the fairway. Available December 1, the line brings Anorak jackets, henleys, hoodies, joggers, and even an Oxford to the golf course.

And before you clutch your saddle shoes in terror, remember, this is a line extension targeting a particular segment of the golfing population, not a total change of course for the entire Adidas Golf brand. If you’re wondering who represents the segment in question, think Erik Anders Lang: filmmaker, irrepressible golf enthusiast, and host of Skratch TV’s Adventures in Golf.

Lang hosted a launch event in Manhattan’s Meatpacking District warehouse space where he sat down with Adidas execs and world No. 1 Dustin Johnson for a chat about the new line. He praised the performance aspects of the five-pocket pant and the footwear styles, in particular.

As for golf’s top-ranked player, regarding the Adicross line, DJ told us the line is much more in keeping with stuff he’d actually wear than the baggy shirts and khakis that were the uniform of golf when he started out on tour.

“This is a line that I’ll wear all the time,” Johnson said. “I can wear it to the course and then go meet some buddies for lunch, and I’m not a walking poster for golf.”

From the Stretch-Woven Oxford, to the jogger pant, to the Adicross Bounce footwear, every item Dustin Johnson wears in picture below is intended for both on- and off-course wear.

“Adicross is the lifestyle brand that golfers everywhere have been waiting for,” said the world No. 1. “This is something that I’ll wear when I’m traveling to a tournament, practicing at home, or even headed to the gym.”

The aforementioned versatility of the Adicross line is very much a function of the materials: No-show sweat wicking technology, nylon-spandex blends (featured in the five-pocket pant and short), Primeknit (featured in Icon Polo and Jacket). These are clothes that are ready to wear to the office, but stretch, are light enough, and offer enough comfort to play 18 holes in.

“We wanted to challenge ourselves to design a line that would aid in helping athletes in their game, their life and in their world,” said Chad Alasantro, senior designer, men’s apparel at adidas Golf. “adicross is a perfect blend of hidden technology, fused with a creative aesthetic.”

 

The Adicross line also boldly brings street-inspired footwear to the golf course, retooling Adidas’ ultrapopular Bounce design to support the foot and grip the turf during the golf swing (and resist water during dew-sweeping early morning rounds)

“Adicross was designed as a result of the feedback we were hearing from our core consumer,” said Dylan Moore, Creative Director, Adidas Golf. “Like everyone else, golfers live in a complex, busy world with many diverse interests. They expect more from less and demand performance out of what they wear.”

The centerpiece Bounce features an ergonomic fit, offset wrapped saddle with multiple eyelet rows for customizable lacing, and a non-marking adiwear rubber spikeless outsole that features 181 strategically-placed lugs for a green-friendly grip.

The Bounce will be released in January, and additional styles will follow in February.

Regarding said “additional styles,” you can spot a few in this promo video. 

Your Reaction?
  • 46
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW5
  • LOL5
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP3
  • OB1
  • SHANK15

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending