Connect with us

Apparel Reviews

Review: Biion Golf Shoes

Published

on

Pros: Comfortable, lightweight and distinctive. Biion shoes are a unique option for those looking for a splash of color in their wardrobe. Considering all of their five shoe styles, there are a total of 50 different colorways available — a dream come true for golf fashion lovers.

Cons: Despite their unique design and wide variety of colorways, some feel that the looks of the Biion shoes are a bit too aggressive for their tastes. For a smaller group, the barefoot sensation was unfavorable.

Who They’re For: Biion’s blend of traditional aesthetics with modern polymer technology is unlike any other in the golf shoe market. If you are the “trendsetter” in your weekly foursome, it’s worth considering the many options offered by Biion.

What you need to know about Biion

IMG_7068

When the founders of Biion Footwear started their company, they sought to mix comfort and versatility into a shoe that truly stood out. They settled on a spikeless, slip-on design made entirely of Ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA), a lightweight and rubber-like material similar to that of Crocs sandals.

IMG_7055

Functionally, EVA is a great choice of material, as it’s not only soft but also resilient, meaning that it will form to your foot during a round without permanently deforming afterwards. In addition, EVA is highly water resistant, meaning that even after a long, hot day on the course, the shoes won’t absorb your sweat (e.g. unlike a pair of boat shoes). The shoe did pick up dirt and grass stains fairly easily due to its low profile and all white upper, which would be a problem if not for the EVA construction, which can simply be hosed down or thrown in the wash in between rounds.

IMG_7065

Intended to be worn without socks, Biion shoes also feature patterns of small holes all throughout their upper surfaces. This feature, along with the tiny bumps lining the inner sole called “nodes,” works to enhance airflow and breathability while also providing “a therapeutic massage with every step.”

IMG_7074

Appearance

Offered in five different styles (Classics, Saddles, Brights, Wingtips, Patterns), each with nearly 10 different color combinations, it is definitely hard to pick one favorite. My two favorite pairs are the black-and-pink “Brights,” and the white-and-blue Brights, but I ultimately settled on the white version for this review.

brights

One key point I found was that, in order to be worn properly without socks, one should go down a size from their typical golf shoe size. So if you wear a 10, try Biions in a 9.

fit

Performance

Unless I’ve been doing something wrong this entire time, I would guess that I am like most golfers in that I don’t often play in rubber-like shoes, without socks. After getting used to this new sensation by playing a few rounds in the shoes, I found myself mostly impressed with how they performed. The EVA construction makes for a firm, yet cushioned insole, with the massage nodes being noticeably helpful in keeping ones feet from getting too hot.

IMG_7073

Due to the low profile of the shoe, I could easily feel the slope in the greens, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that my feet were sufficiently supported in pretty much all lies. The one exception to this is that, depending on your course conditions or how off-line you’re hitting the ball, you may find yourself having to dump sand or wet rough clippings out of your shoes often because of the “holey” design of the shoe.

IMG_7057

And while I’m not so sure about those of you with 115-mph club head speeds, I can say that I certainly never felt like I was on the verge of “swinging out of my shoes” (literally). As I said earlier, playing golf with this kind of shoe on is a fairly significant change for most golfers. Within the extent of the rounds I played (one with, one without a cart) with the Biion shoes, I really enjoyed the fit and performance. That being said, a small group did say that the overall feel is just a tad too far out of left field for them. For such an extreme design, this shouldn’t come as a surprise. Overall, the reviews were favorable among those I asked.

Takeaway

With an MSRP of $99, Biion golf shoes aren’t a bad option for those who look to add something new and different into their golf wardrobe. While their looks may not be for everyone, especially purists, the shoes offer a different approach to golf footwear that ought to be given a try.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”100″]

Your Reaction?
  • 84
  • LEGIT15
  • WOW13
  • LOL6
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP19
  • OB9
  • SHANK153

Brody has proudly been with GolfWRX since July 2012. He is a full time student, but enjoys getting around to writing whenever he has the chance. His interests include Tour coverage, equipment reviews, as well as interviewing figures from within the golf world. Most recently, he spoke with the founder of AimPoint Technologies and coach of Adam Scott and Stacy Lewis, Mark Sweeney.

17 Comments

17 Comments

  1. tora

    Oct 26, 2017 at 6:31 pm

    I wear golf shoes without socks quite often, so I think I might like these, I love the black/white shoe

  2. Ccshop

    Jul 4, 2016 at 10:23 am

    Worst shoe on the market. Wearing them without socks is a weird feeling. Not that comfortable. Toe nails getting caught on the rubber make you cringe. Not enough traction. Even tho they have holes the rubber still smells and gets hot in warm weather. And a price tag of $100 is a joke. I could get a good leather shoe with spikes.

  3. Coppy

    Jul 1, 2016 at 1:56 pm

    Don’t know about you folks but I can’t wear any golf shoes without socks, let alone shoes with holes in them. One trip into the bunker and I’ve got sand in the shoes and multiple blisters.

  4. John Krug

    Jul 1, 2016 at 11:18 am

    They appear to be unwearable: holes that allow in water and sand, too hot in hot weather, too cold in cold weather and no room for orthotics or socks.

  5. BL

    Jul 1, 2016 at 10:54 am

    Played with a dude who wore these for the first time sockless… by 17, his heels were utterly torn up and bleeding. Wasn’t pretty.

  6. TheCityGame

    Jul 1, 2016 at 10:52 am

    The issue of sand/grass with shoes like these can not be overstated. That’s not just a footnote at the bottom of the review.

    You get into a Sandtrap and you’re going to be itchy, scratchy, Sandy for the rest of the round.

    • BF

      Jul 8, 2016 at 11:26 am

      True, it is a big difference over traditional shoes. But I found that it took no more than 5 seconds to pull the shoe off and pour out any sand. Due to the soft and flexible nature of the material, coupled with the lack of laces, the shoe is very easy to slip off and on.

  7. Jacob

    Jul 1, 2016 at 8:17 am

    Please don’t ever not wear socks with golf shoes if you are a guy. Seriously the sockless look is too feminine.

  8. Mike Honcho

    Jun 30, 2016 at 9:52 pm

    So, I have a pair of these (only wear to the range and at home garage simulator) and they are fine, except for when the weather gets warm and your feet start sweating. Which is unavoidable with rubber shoes on, vents or no vents. Once those feet start sweating, they are horrible. I find the feeling uncomfortable, unstable and noisy due to the sweat/rubber combo. Actually, they were so bad yesterday, I just took the shoes off and hit barefoot for a while. I love the look of the shoes and like the idea, but if you live in the south, like I do, and plan on wearing them in the summer, youre going to be extremely disappointed/frustrated. Can’t imagine trying to actually play 18 in them.

    • daniel

      Jul 1, 2016 at 12:39 pm

      Thanks, that is exactly what I was wondering!! I live in TX and tend to sweat a lot in this humidity.

  9. Mark

    Jun 30, 2016 at 9:10 pm

    Nasty cheap looking shoes.

  10. ooffa

    Jun 30, 2016 at 5:29 pm

    These are beautiful. I can’t wait to get some. Said no one, ever!

  11. C

    Jun 30, 2016 at 4:24 pm

    can you guys do a review on the canoos boat/golf shoes plz

  12. Nizzle's Daddy

    Jun 30, 2016 at 2:08 pm

    They also make excellent water shoes!

  13. Christosterone

    Jun 30, 2016 at 10:48 am

    I use them at the chipping range and putting green….not much in the way of support on full swings..
    Very similar to wearing in a tight fitting pair of crocs on full swings…zilch lateral support…
    I wouldn’t recommend this shoe if you are an above average swing speeder…

    I LOVE the look and craftsmanship…especially considering they are dyed through so u can theoretically “mop” polish them forever to look new…as a shoe hoe I kinda know my stuff…I lost count but probably have nearly 50 pairs of shoes, all in perfect shape..

    A pic of half my collection is halfway down the page…
    http://www.golfwrx.com/forums/topic/1309854-rory-looks-huge/page__st__30

    • golfraven

      Jul 2, 2016 at 6:11 pm

      50 pairs is excessive. I see the magic words for keeping shoes in shape are shoe trees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Apparel Reviews

On the course? Off the course? Adidas’ new adicross line has you covered

Published

on

Furthering golfwear’s trend toward the more casual and versatile in a big way, Adidas today unveiled a new line extension: Adicross.

Urban inspired. Decidedly non-traditional. The Adicross line (styled “adicross”) leverages Adidas’ clothing and footwear styles from other arenas and reimagines them for wear on the fairway. Available December 1, the line brings Anorak jackets, henleys, hoodies, joggers, and even an Oxford to the golf course.

And before you clutch your saddle shoes in terror, remember, this is a line extension targeting a particular segment of the golfing population, not a total change of course for the entire Adidas Golf brand. If you’re wondering who represents the segment in question, think Erik Anders Lang: filmmaker, irrepressible golf enthusiast, and host of Skratch TV’s Adventures in Golf.

Lang hosted a launch event in Manhattan’s Meatpacking District warehouse space where he sat down with Adidas execs and world No. 1 Dustin Johnson for a chat about the new line. He praised the performance aspects of the five-pocket pant and the footwear styles, in particular.

As for golf’s top-ranked player, regarding the Adicross line, DJ told us the line is much more in keeping with stuff he’d actually wear than the baggy shirts and khakis that were the uniform of golf when he started out on tour.

“This is a line that I’ll wear all the time,” Johnson said. “I can wear it to the course and then go meet some buddies for lunch, and I’m not a walking poster for golf.”

From the Stretch-Woven Oxford, to the jogger pant, to the Adicross Bounce footwear, every item Dustin Johnson wears in picture below is intended for both on- and off-course wear.

“Adicross is the lifestyle brand that golfers everywhere have been waiting for,” said the world No. 1. “This is something that I’ll wear when I’m traveling to a tournament, practicing at home, or even headed to the gym.”

The aforementioned versatility of the Adicross line is very much a function of the materials: No-show sweat wicking technology, nylon-spandex blends (featured in the five-pocket pant and short), Primeknit (featured in Icon Polo and Jacket). These are clothes that are ready to wear to the office, but stretch, are light enough, and offer enough comfort to play 18 holes in.

“We wanted to challenge ourselves to design a line that would aid in helping athletes in their game, their life and in their world,” said Chad Alasantro, senior designer, men’s apparel at adidas Golf. “adicross is a perfect blend of hidden technology, fused with a creative aesthetic.”

 

The Adicross line also boldly brings street-inspired footwear to the golf course, retooling Adidas’ ultrapopular Bounce design to support the foot and grip the turf during the golf swing (and resist water during dew-sweeping early morning rounds)

“Adicross was designed as a result of the feedback we were hearing from our core consumer,” said Dylan Moore, Creative Director, Adidas Golf. “Like everyone else, golfers live in a complex, busy world with many diverse interests. They expect more from less and demand performance out of what they wear.”

The centerpiece Bounce features an ergonomic fit, offset wrapped saddle with multiple eyelet rows for customizable lacing, and a non-marking adiwear rubber spikeless outsole that features 181 strategically-placed lugs for a green-friendly grip.

The Bounce will be released in January, and additional styles will follow in February.

Regarding said “additional styles,” you can spot a few in this promo video. 

Your Reaction?
  • 41
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW3
  • LOL4
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP2
  • OB1
  • SHANK14

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

Review: Nike Flyknit Elite golf shoes

Published

on

OK. Let’s discuss the elephant in the Flyknit Elite golf shoe room straight away: A percentage of golfers will never wear a high-top golf shoe, regardless of how well it performs. Likewise, a percentage of golfers will not wear sneaker-style golf shoes.

If you don’t find yourself in one of the groups above, however, beyond aesthetics, the Flyknit Elite presents a viable option if you’re already a Flyknit wearer in other shoes, or are looking for lightweight spikeless shoe with ankle support (and more ankle support than the Flyknit Chukka offers).

IMG_0202

Appearing on the global sports scene during the Sochi Olympics, Flyknit footwear featuring Flyknit technology has been a fixture in other sports for the past few years. The Swoosh brought the TPU yarn technology and high-strength support fibers to golf footwear with the Flyknit Chukka and Flyknit Elite to market in June.

The tech is aimed at offering lightweight support, and the precision weave allows targeted areas to stretch and others to support. The company indicated the concept was born out of “runners a shoe with the snug (and virtually unnoticed) fit of a sock.” Breathability is the hallmark of the knit upper, and the sock-like, mid-height collar prevents debris from entering the shoe.

IMG_0203

While the shoes aren’t waterproof, they do have what Nike calls “dew protection” along the upper’s edge to keep feet dry in wet grass. Obviously, another element of the Flyknit imperative is to use fewer materials is less overall waste, for which our landfills thank us.

The sole, of which a picture is worth more than a thousand words, features what Nike calls an Integrated Traction pattern, which offers a grip at least commensurate with any spikeless offering.

IMG_0215

For this review, I was sent the Flyknit Elites in the Black/Clear Jade/Glacier Blue/White colorway. Two other colorways, pictured below, are also available. The shoes come in sizes 7-12, with half sizes in-between, as well as sizes 13 and 14, and sell for $270.

Here’s the essential question for potential purchasers of the Flyknit Elite: There are bulkier shoes on the marketplace with more stability. There are spike-laden shoes on the marketplace that offer more traction. However, to get a lighter shoe with the Flyknit’s performance and aesthetic characteristics, is that trade off worth it?

IMG_0210

Below is a quote from Nike Staffer Jamie Lovemark about the shoes. And yes, he’s paid by Nike, but he could also be wearing the more traditional Lunar Control line of shoes as he plays for his daily bread.

“I always have guys come up to me and ask about (the shoes),” Lovemark said. “They always want to know if they have spikes on them and if the traction is good, which has never been an issue for me with these shoes. Plus, I like the fact that they have a different look. There’s nothing wrong with standing out when you’re on the course.”

No doubt you’ll stand out. And in giving these shoes a spin, there is likewise no doubt that they are lighter and more fitted to the foot than any offering I’ve come across personally. There’s also more of a feeling of rootedness or connectedness with the ground than many spikeless models offer.

Ultimately, the Flyknit Elite is an athletic shoe you can comfortably and capably play golf in, while, you know, having a commendable shoe game, if that’s your thing.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”102″]

Your Reaction?
  • 70
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW6
  • LOL5
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP7
  • OB8
  • SHANK146

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

Review: Under Armour Drive One and Tempo Hybrid shoes

Published

on

Pros: The comfort, style and stability of the UA Drive One are 5-star quality, and the shoes are waterproof. The Tempo Hybrid blends a “lifestyle” golf shoe with surprising stability.

Cons: At $199.99, the UA Drive One are on the high end of the mainstream golf shoe market. The Tempo Hybrid ($159.99) miss the boat on comfort.

Who they’re for: The UA Drive One are for any golfer who likes a modern-looking golf shoe, but is serious about performance. The Tempo Hybrid are for those looking to achieve a cool, laid-back look on the course.

The Review

Due to Jordan Spieth’s popularity and success in 2015, the release of the UA Drive One, which he wore throughout the year, was almost unbearably anticipated for consumers who care about that kind of thing. And the shoes do not disappoint. Even if you’re just not a fan of Jordan Spieth, or not a fan of the look, these shoes pass every test when it comes to performance for a serious golfer.

UnderArmourGolfShoes

They provide tremendous stability in the heel throughout the swing with what Under Armour calls carbon counterlocks, which really give you that “locked in” feeling. And they’re quite comfortable, too, with the leather insole and ample cushioning in the heel and midsole.

Some golfers have complained that the shoes run narrow, or have high arches that cause discomfort, but I found no problem with either.

Also, it’s difficult to ask for more from a spike configuration. They have CHAMP Zarma Tour spikes with the popular Slim-Lok system that you’ll find in the top golf shoes on the market. They have great traction in any weather (and it’s the rainy season in Michigan, so I know playing wet weather well). And the UA Drive One are waterproof as advertised, which is a huge plus for any golfer.

UnderAmrourGolfShoesSpikes

One of my biggest tests for golf shoes is to play a round in them, and judge how excited you are to change out of them when you get back to the car. Even after playing in muddy/wet conditions, and wearing them for the first time, I was not in a rush to get them off. They’re just very comfortable golf shoes.

UnderArmourGolfShoesFoam

It’s amazing for a company’s first run of golf shoes to deliver in such a big way. I would have no problem putting these up against the best performance shoes in the industry, and even surpassing them by way of comfort and overall look. They find a sweetspot, offering a modern flare without being too “in your face.”

UnderArmourGolfSHoesTop

The retail colorways include White-and-Blue, White-and-Black, White-and-Grey, and Black.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”88″]

UA Tempo Hybrid

UnderArmourHybridShoes

Golfers love to say, “I can wear my spikeless shoes on AND off the course.” I’m always thinking, “Why would I want to wear my smelly, muddy shoes to hangout or get dinner?”

That being said, the UA Tempo Hybrids look exactly like those kind of shoes. Style wise, you can wear these with shorts, jeans, khakis, casual pants or whatever else you have in your closet. They’re versatile, and look very similar to the Tempo Tour shoes, but without the golf spikes… thus “Hybrids.”

UnderAmourFoamShoesGolf

The Tempo Hybrid are made for golfers who want performance from their shoe, but also a more laid-back look. Under Armour knocked the look out of the park and provided consumers with four different colorways that each strike a different look and feel. I personally went with the Gravel colorway, as they seemed to be unique compared to other shoes on the market.

This specific colorway captures an “outdoorsy” vibe, and has boot-like laces to complete the look. If I was going for a hike through the woods, these may be my choice.

underArmourSpikes

As golf shoes, they provide great lateral stability due to their spike configuration, but not a great amount of traction due to the spike design. Slick grass or wet weather may cause concern.

My biggest issue with these shoes, however, was the odd tongue design; it wraps around the foot and is quite irritating on the top sides of my feet. It’s something I was not able to get past, and why I never got the chance to play a round of golf while wearing them.

That led me to get a few other opinions. For the purposes of this review, I had a fellow GolfWRX Staffer put the shoes on and walk around. He found the shoes to be “very comfortable” and had no issues with the tongue, but said that the back spikes on the heel kept scraping the ground as he walked. He said “I would never play golf in these because of (the spikes on the heel).” Another GolfWRX Staffer tried on the shoes as well, and said the tongue was bothering the inner part of his feet, and that he would not play golf in them for that reason.

UnderArmourTempoHybrid

So I was 0-for-3 in getting these shoes tested on the course, which is unfortunate because they look slick in every colorway, especially the Gravel. I hope the next iteration of spikeless shoes from Under Armour corrects the comfort issues, as I’m a fan of the design from a golf-fashion standpoint.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”90″]

The Takeaway

The UA Drive One hit the mark, and lived up to the hype. They’re the ultimate modern golf shoe, providing stability, comfort, performance and waterproofing.

The UA Tempo Hybrid, however, did not provide the comfort that I expected from a spikeless shoe, but they did achieve the ultra cool, laid-back look that works on and off the course.

For Under Armour’s much-anticipated launch, and its introduction to the world of golf shoes, it offered high points and low points. The “Spieths” were a home run, while the Tempo Hybrid were a bloop single. With issues of comfort to be corrected in the Tempo Hybrid, Under Armour will have some serious staying power for both serious and casual golfers.

Your Reaction?
  • 54
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT6
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK24

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending