Connect with us

Reviews

Fujikura Motore Speeder VC 7.2 Tour Spec Review

Published

on

Review by member: MTF

I find myself reading a lot of reviews from GolfWRX but I rarely post a review.  I felt the need to post my opinion of this shaft as I recently put it into my Titleist 910 D3 9.5* driver.

Prior to receiving the shaft from Titleist I was looking for information and opinions on this shaft and had a hard time finding a lot of good info.  I found one pretty detailed review but I don’t think it did this shaft justice so I want to give my opinion of this shaft.

Click here to read the discussion in the forums

I’ll start by giving some info about myself.  I am 43 years old, 5’7″, 160 lbs.  I am fairly athletic but by no means strong.  I started playing golf around 14 years old but never took it seriously or got very good at it until 2005 when I started dedicating myself to practicing 7 days a week.  I got down to a 6 handicap and then rarely played until the beginning of this year when I took up the game again.  I have a swing speed radar device that was around $100 and it tells me my swing speed is around 104 – 108 mph.

With a correctly fit shaft, my drives are usually around 280 yards total distance with a few drives going 300 – 310 total distance.  I’ve always migrated to X flex because I can’t control anything softer.  In 2003 I was fit for a driver with a radical fitting device that was a little black box that connects to the shaft.  I was astonished to recently find out that this little device is Mizuno’s primary fitting tool now.  It calculates how you load and release the shaft to determine proper bend profile and flex.  This device told me that based on my swing characteristics I should be in the stiffest shaft possible regardless of swing speed.

A few month ago at the beginning of my quest for a new driver, I met with a Titleist fitting rep in Arizona where I live.  Titleist sent several shafts for me to try.  However, only one matched the specs that I requested, which are the same specs that I have played for many years.  Those specs are mid 70 gram weight in X flex.  Of course, the one shaft they sent that met those specs happened to be the one I hit the best.  it was a Graphite Design Tour AD DI 7 X flex.  So, I ordered my new Titleist driver with that shaft.  I never had any consistency with that shaft.  Even when I would hit one perfect, I’d find out that the most I ever got out of it was 275 yards and I’d find the ball sitting one foot behind it’s pitch mark in the fairway on most drives.  I was getting zero roll in Arizona.  I was again on the hunt for a new driver shaft.  I spent countless hours researching shafts to determine which shaft might be right for me and decided to try an Aldila RIP alpha 70.  That didn’t work either.  The torque was way too low.  I decided to call Fujikura Golf directly since they were the makers of the shaft that was probably the best shaft I have ever hit, the Motore F1 75.  I was very interested in the speeder line thinking I would likely fall into the 7.1 based on specs and trajectory claims.  It would be something I could get the ball up in the air with but with a mid ball flight.   The rep started asking me a lot of very detailed questions about my swing.  I told him about shafts that I had success with in the past and shafts that I didn’t like and why I didn’t like them.  By the time we were done with our 15-20 minute conversation he said he would recommend the vc 7.2 Tour Spec.  I was shocked but decided to go out on a limb and buy the shaft because I trusted him based on the types of questions he was asking and his analysis of my answers.
Click here to read the discussion in the forums

Finally, here are my thoughts on this shaft.  The shaft is a Fujikura Motore Speeder vc 7.2 Tour Spec.  It came from Titleist as an off menu offering and was tipped 1/2″ as is standard for Titleist.  Since I have been doing my own club work for well over 10 years and I am the only one I trust to work on my clubs, I had Titleist send the shaft uncut for length.  I cut the shaft to 44 3/8 on my Mitchell measuring device and put the grip on and got a finished length of about 44 5/8 which I just call 44 1/2.  I play all of my clubs at D3 swingweight except my wedges which are at D5.  Based on other reviews of this shaft I was scared to death of what it was going to be like.  I was expecting it to be so stiff that I wouldn’t even be able to get it to kick.  I was expecting every drive to be a bullet 5 feet off the ground.  This is based on other reviews I read saying it was a super low launching shaft.  After I got the shaft in the head, cut it to length and put the grip on, I took exactly 1 swing on the swing speed radar with no warm up just to see what I would get.  Keep in mind that my first few swings are usually around 96-98 mph because I’m not warmed up yet.

My one swing with the 7.2 Tour Spec was 106 mph.  A few hours later I was at the range.  I warmed up with my irons and then after several shots I pulled out the big stick.  I have to say, for me, this is one of the best shafts I have ever hit.  The feel was phenomenal.  It feels soft yet crisp at the same time.  Compared to the Diamana Blue Board, which had a good feel but always felt mushy to me.  I have always had success with shafts that have a very quick load and release as compared to a shaft that when you swing to the top you have to wait 5 minutes for the shaft to load before you can start the down swing.  This shaft was exactly that.  It plays like it is an exotic sports car.  It is always ready to launch the second you put the pedel to the metal.  I didn’t feel that it was demanding at all.  It had a smooth yet snappy feel.

According to Fujikura… With efficient energy transfer and enhanced structural stability from 7-Axis Technology, the Motore Speeder allows you to swing with confidence. That’s because the uniform reinforcement provided by our Quadra Axis Composite and Triax woven material helps you return the head more consistently to impact. This translates into longer and straighter drives.

Through impact, it unleashed its stored energy with ferocious power.  It is the only shaft I’ve ever hit that caused the club head to get to the ball at the same times as my hands.  This shaft is also incredibly straight.  I was watching the golf tournament today on TV and they were saying that Steve Stricker was complaining that his tee shots with this shaft were going too straight.  When I tried to hit the ball straight or draw it, I got what I would call a medium ball flight and the ball went very straight or had an ever so slight draw.  There were no low bullets 5 feet off the ground.  What I really liked about this shaft is that I could hit a high sweeping cut that seemed to fly forever but I had complete control of the ball.  I hit 3 straight drives on the course that afternoon that went 300-305 and one of those was a slight drop kick.  I also hit a few high cut shots that went to places on the course I’ve never been to off the tee before.  Regardless of how high or low I hit the ball with this shaft, I got a very penetrating trajectory, probably due to low spin.
Click here to read the discussion in the forums

The bottom line, don’t be intimidated by this shaft.  It’s a great shaft with great feel and great kick.  I didn’t feel it was demanding at all even in a 74 gram X flex. But, like anything, it has to be the right shaft for your swing.  Personally, I can’t figure out what shaft is right for me in a one hour session.  I have taken months to put my latest set of clubs together.  I did a lot of testing of different shafts for irons and woods.  I wanted to find what was most consistant over time, not based on how I was swinging on one particular day.  Think outside the golf industry box when getting fit.  Most people will benefit more from a shorter driver than a longer one.  I personally get more distance from shorter heavier clubs than longer and lighter clubs.  I was golfing with my dad one time who was 60 years old at the time and not a golfer or an athlete for that matter.  I’m guessing his swing speed was around 75 mph.  He has a POS sporting good store driver and he was in the trees all day.  On the 10th tee he wanted to try my driver which had a 44.5″ Diamana Blue 73 X at the time.  He hit that driver about 230 yards straight down the middle of the fairway.  He was hitting his driver about 180 into the trees.  I’ve heard of a lot of guys that swing 115 mph that are playing S flex.  I couldn’t control an S flex if my life depended on it and I don’t swing 115, at least I don’t think I do.  Keep an open mind and experiment with flex, weight and length.  Being in the fairway is much better than being 10 yards longer in the trees or out of bounds.  The average driver length on the PGA Tour is 44.5″ which means for every guy that is playing a 45.5″ driver, there is someone playing a 43.5″ driver.  I absolutely love this shaft and felt it needed a review that did it justice.  I hope this review was helpful.

motore-speeder
Click here to read the discussion in the forums
Company Line: Fujikura Motore Speeder 6.2 Tour Spec-  The design concept was to keep the same unique feel of the VC.2 Motore Speeder but increase tip strength for lower spin plus eliminate the left with high ball speeds.  The S flex design will have almost the same tip stiffness as the X flex but the butt will be 7-10 CPM’s weaker to accommodate the high swing speed player who needs the tip strength but needs the handle a bit softer for smoother transitions.   We expect this shaft to accommodate the better golfer that wants to keep the spin low and not loose control of their shots.  Each Motore Speeder is equipped with our Proprietary Quadra Axis Composite and Triax Woven material creating a revolutionary 7-Axis Technology. This uniformity throughout the shaft assists with eliminating deformation (ovaling) yet provides the maximum amount of feel through the entire swing increasing overall performance and stability.
Click here to read the discussion in the forums

Your Reaction?
  • 37
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL3
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.

12 Comments

12 Comments

  1. chad

    Aug 27, 2014 at 1:01 am

    A 105 mph swing speed going over 300?

  2. Cole

    Jul 11, 2013 at 2:19 pm

    try the new project x prototype. i hit the tour spec before i bought the prototype and the project x is unbelievable. can’t go wrong with either though

  3. akshots

    Nov 10, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    great review thanks, i think im gonna get one, im in club buying mode right now

  4. Gabriel

    Nov 5, 2012 at 4:32 am

    he swings rahter upright, and stands closer to the ball at address compared to what the thought of a traditional one planer is but this is very well loved at the moment. if you want to see the difference between is shaft slant at address and how it relates to the angles right through his swing, take a look at wanyne defrancesco’s swing analysis here on youtube, you’ll see the his angles match up better than some of the more traditional one planers, its similar to say and anthony kim

  5. Big Bopper

    Sep 28, 2012 at 11:27 pm

    Nice review, I play this shaft tipped an extra inch (1.5 total) in my 910 D3 and I do like it but the ball just stops, no roll at all. It carries a mile and has low spin but i am looking to try something with a lower launch, any suggestions?? Just got fitted and stumped the fitter ball speed of 182 and 327 carry( I know you think I’m BSing the #s but I am not, dabbled in Long Drive, avg clubhead speed of 127-135). He says stay where I am but I would like to squeeze out a little roll if possible. Help….??

  6. hty3210

    Sep 26, 2012 at 1:09 am

    you have no idea what you are talking about!!!

    • Alain

      Nov 3, 2012 at 3:57 am

      hi. take the shoe . right shoe . the shoemaker puts a small piece of pltasic . 3 inches long . 3/4 inch hi9gh. at the back of the shoe to the sarch. this causes legs to stay stable, forces right knee to stay stable , and foot connected to rthe ground . it does work. please stay away from shoemakers in a mall just go to a small shop. a very high number of medical staff have the same thing done to thier shoes. when you tell the shoemaker what it is for. he will understand. it is a very simple illegal adjustment . the shoemaker will have you wait . cost under ten bucks. go for a walk before playing with the brace. after two months you could have it removed . there were shoes built this way early 90s . they worked so usga banned them . ken venturi, ben hogan, sam snead and byron nelson to name a few used this method . good luck . sorry spelling eyes screrwed up from cancer hack saw surgery .

  7. Kalob

    Sep 18, 2012 at 1:03 am

    Great review, I have been really interested in this shaft, do you know how it plays compared to the white board?

  8. Neil Harvey

    Aug 26, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    Excellent review been looking at the Rombax and the Oban prototype for my D3 but think this has swayed me to the Motore Speeder 7.2 tour

    • MdHoney

      May 25, 2013 at 1:42 pm

      Did you try hitting it against the oban or the rombax?

  9. Matt C

    Aug 17, 2012 at 9:26 am

    Great write up! I purchased this shaft from Will Peoples after a fitting suggested a low launch, low flight shaft would suit my swing best. I could not get over what a difference this shaft made in my 910D. To quote Chazz Michaels “No exaggeration, I could not love a human baby more then I love this shaft.”

  10. Alex K

    Aug 16, 2012 at 9:04 am

    Great in depth review thanks, will definitively help me in my on going search for the perfect shaft.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Crossrope weighted jump rope & app

Published

on

An 18-hole round of golf averages out to just under five miles of walking, which on its own is a good workout. Once you throw in some potential uphill trekking you get some serious cardio too, but if you all looking for a quick workout between rounds of golf look no further than Crossrope.

Crossrope – The details

Crossrope is a system of the weighted jump rope that allows you to quickly switch the weight of the ropes you are using to boost your workout—they range from 1/4 lbs all the way up to 2 lbs depending on the kit you start out with. There is an accompanying app that helps you go through multiple workout routines and is available free, or you can upgrade to the entire library of workout routines along with more workout tracking options.

This is NOT your middle school jump rope

The handles are heavy duty and feature precision bearings to allow the rope to move smoothly around as you go through a routine. They are also ergonomic and fit into your hand naturally, which making gripping easy, something that is really nice when you’re swinging a 2 lbs coated steel cable around. The handles also come with a fast clip system to make changing cables depending on your selected workout easier too.

The ropes themselves are made from braided steel and are almost impossible to tangle, allowing them to be easily transported and stored when not in use. All in you are getting a premium piece of workout equipment that is effective and easy to store—hard to same the same thing about a treadmill.

When it comes to a workout, skipping rope is one of the most effective cardio workouts you can do, and with Crossrope, you can get both cardio and low impact weight training when using the heaviest ropes, and follow along with the guided workouts.

As someone that hadn’t used a jump rope in over a decade, starting out lighter was a nice way to ease in before moving up, and I was pleasantly surprised how easy and fun some of the workouts in the app were. If you are looking for a fun way to add something to your workouts, or you just want to try something new to get you into golf course walking shape, this could be right up your alley. To learn more check out crossrope.com

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Equipment

TaylorMade SIM and SIM Max driver review

Published

on

New for 2020, TaylorMade has launched the new SIM driver family. First the lower spinning SIM then a more forgiving higher spinning SIM Max and a SIM Max D head to help draw the ball for those that need it.

We have seen the tour players using all three of the SIM drivers.

Technical Details

The SIM, SIM Max, and SIM Max D drivers from TaylorMade feature an asymmetric sole shape as well as a redesigned Inertia Generator. The asymmetric sole shape of the drivers is designed to reduce drag while providing faster clubhead speed, with the redesigned Inertia Generator redistributing weight at the very low-and-back portion of the club in a bid to provide improved forgiveness.

The SIM Max D clubhead contains a heel-bias internal weight with a topline masking to make the clubhead look more open at address to help golfers who struggle with a right-miss.

Other features of the SIM, SIM Max, and SIM Max D drivers includes a speed injected twist face, inverted cone technology, a thru-slot speed pocket, multi-material construction and an adjustable loft sleeve.

Exclusive to the SIM driver is sliding weight technology which allows face angle and flight bias preferences of up to +/-2° loft change and up to +/-20 yards of draw-fade bias.

(Top Left to Right) 2020 TM SIM Max & 2019 TM M6, (Bottom Left to Right) 2020 TM SIM & 2019 TM M5

Reviews

Here are the individual reviews from GolfWRXers’ trip to The Kingdom.

Tester: Rob “osubuckeyes691

I’ll start by saying this. SIM is very good. It’s not a magical 30 yards like everyone is talking about here. That comes from being properly fit. But it is good, and with a proper fitting I’d be shocked if you couldn’t find at least slightly better numbers with SIM over any gamer you have.

My current set up is a Callaway Epic Flash SZ Double Diamond with a Fuji Ventus Black 6x. LOW LOW LOW combo…and I still hit it high haha. I live in the low to mid 170s ball speed with spin sometimes getting up to 2700 2800. Drives I hit well, spin around 2100. My miss is a big push slice.

But it is good, and with a proper fitting I’d be shocked if you couldn’t find at least slightly better numbers with SIM over any gamer you have. -Rob

I ended up being fit in to a SIM 9* with the new KBS Tour Driven 70 Category 5. This shaft is super interesting. It’s really hard for me to describe but it has feel, and a lot of it. Spin dropped to about 2400 on my miss right and really, that’s what I was hoping would happen. I wanted something that when I missed, wouldn’t lose me 30 yards. We put the weight in the heel and it really did help straighten out the miss. Huge advantage for me. I knew as someone who swings 120ish I wasn’t going to pick up 20 yards. I wanted to reduce my miss and that’s exactly what SIM was able to do for me.  Here is a link to his post in the forums.

Tester: Will “fillwelix

For my driver fitting, I was with Perry, who was a blast to get to work with. I started by hitting my gamer on Trackman, talking with Perry about what my misses usually are, and what I wanted to get out of the fitting.

I usually don’t have a problem with distance so I told him the biggest thing I was looking for was a tighter dispersion. I don’t have the trackman numbers yet but with my gamer, I was averaging about 110 club head speed, 160-something ball speed, 270-275 carry, 285-290 total. Launching a bit too high but spin was okay.

The thing was seriously nuclear. My club head speed bumped up only about 1 or 2 MPH, but the launch and spin were incredible, as well as ball speed. I topped out at 170 ball speed, which I had never gotten before. -Will

We tried the 10.5 SIM in a Ventus Black 6x, and he gave me a couple tips in my setup, because my AOA was something like 4 or 5 degrees up. The thing was seriously nuclear. My club head speed bumped up only about 1 or 2 MPH, but the launch and spin were incredible, as well as ball speed. I topped out at 170 ball speed, which I had never gotten before. Carrying 295-300, total of 315-320. One shot carried the fence of the driving range at The Kingdom.

Spent some time going through different shafts to see if there was an improvement, played with weights, etc. but the best numbers were with the 10.5 SIM with Ventus Black 6x and the weight all the way in the toe, because my miss is usually left. Here is a link to his post in the forums.

Tester: Nick “n_rones

I started off with my fittings working with Joe. After some warmup we started with the drivers. Coming in I was playing a Srixon Z785 with a Hzrdus black 6.5 70 gram shaft at 45 inches.

I’m a really tough fit because I have an unusual swing and hit down on the ball heavily with every club. My AOA with the driver was between 5 and 7 down which is pretty nuts I always knew I hit down on it but not that much. I’m still waiting on the trackman date to be emailed to me but with my own driver I was somewhere in the neighborhood of 109 swing speed with a launch angle of 4 degrees and 4000 spin (Ridiculous I know right).

I was able to take it on the course with me that afternoon and hit 12-14 fairways a new record for me and ever ball was easily 15-20 yards longer than I was used to. -Nick

His main goal for me was to get launch up and spin down. The first club he handed me was the Sim 10.5 turned up to 11.25 with a Graphite design IZ 7x. Instantly my launch angle increased and spin dropped. We then went through a few other shafts like graphite design ad di 7x. We came back to the IZ and with a quick change in tee height we ended up where we wanted. We knew with my angle of attack we were never going to get me to super low spin and high launch we just wanted to get it to a manageable number.

By the end of the fit I was hitting the sim with the iz under 3k spin with a couple down at 2500 and 9 degree launch increasing my carry from the 244 range up to the 260-265 range on good swings and we neutralized my cut massively. I was fortunate enough to finish my fit while other guys were still busy so we went right into the build shop and he built me my driver on the spot and gave me a super cool kingdom exclusive headcover. I was able to take it on the course with me that afternoon and hit 12-14 fairways a new record for me and ever ball was easily 15-20 yards longer than I was used to. Most of that is me never being through a proper fitting before but a big factor was I was able to get into the sim head with high loft but it was a great spin killing head for me. Here is a link to his post in the forums.

Tester: “jimbonecrusher”

I am one that gained a good bit of ball speed from getting fit for the SIM driver. My gamer is a Titleist 915D3 9.5* with a Rogue Silver 70X. I wasn’t fit for the driver as I just bought the parts off of the BST. I always felt that I lost yardage due to high spin. The Trackman didn’t lie as I was getting 166mph ball speed and 3000 rpm of spin on well-struck shots. Where this posed a problem was when I was off-center, the ball would be a high right spinner that would lose a lot of distance. 

Where I saw great gains was in dispersion. TwistFace just flat out works. Toe shots came back to closer to center, and heal shots faded right back towards center. I also didn’t lose as much yardage. I did pick up about five mph in ball speed. There are a plethora of reasons for this gain and the resulting 20 yard gain in ball flight.

Some could attribute the gain to almost 30 feet of height in ball flight. It could also be because there was 300 less RPM, or over a degree increase in launch angle. Either way, it has proven to me that getting fit by a knowledgeable fitter is crucial. This is the first time that I have been fit for a driver. All the expectations of mine going into this fitting have been met.

The SIM is forgiving. The SIM is aerodynamically superior to what I have been playing. The SIM just flat out performs for me because it doesn’t balloon, it is forgiving on mishits with good direction and ball speed, and it reduced my spin rate. – 

The sounds of the SIM line is amazing. The solid “thwack” sound it makes at contact is extremely welcoming. Gone are the days of high pitched aluminum baseball bat sounds. Now, some sounds just sound perfect to me. Johnny Wunder posted a video on Instagram of me hitting a driver, and you can hear the sound. Here is a link to his post in the forums.

Your Reaction?
  • 37
  • LEGIT8
  • WOW6
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB1
  • SHANK15

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Athalonz EnVe—The best golf shoes you’ve never heard of

Published

on

One of the coolest parts of being in this part of the golfing world is being able to shed light on smaller companies that typically get overshadowed by their bigger corporate brothers.

So, this post is about one of those products that is definitely competitive against top golf shoe companies, and it’s made by a company called Athalonz, which is based out west in Arizona. Typically known for its innovative baseball cleats and insole packages, Athlonz newest addition takes the patented design to the world of golf with the EnVe golf shoe.

These have started appearing on the world long drive circuit due to the amount of traction they get, allowing players to swing harder. So for the last few months, I have gotten to wear them and see if they are as good as the company claims.

Athalonz EnVe: Living up to claims

The main selling points of these shoes are focused on two things

  1. Design that delivers more power and stability
  2. Custom comfort that lasts all day

These are somewhat difficult to combine into one shoe, and though they are on the heavier side, Athlonz are completely worth it for the benefits. It is obvious that they made strides to hit each box on the list for a great shoe. The patented design has been adapted from their baseball cleat and introduces a spikeless golf shoe with a circular design that allows the player to gain traction through the golf swing. This gives a player the chance to swing harder and faster without losing their footing. They also offer insole packages that help with correct bodyweight placement to help add an extra layer of consistency.

Secondly, it’s very noticeable that there was plenty of thought given to comfort with a roomy toe and custom insoles to fit your style. Additionally, ankle padding helps to provide more stability and comfort.

On another note, they have a good sense of style with a more classic, casual take. In addition to the pictured white/brown color, there’s a black/grey colorway as well.

After multiple months of wear in all types of conditions, these shoes have performed great for me with all the traction I need and while feeling great throughout the round.

Verdict

I am a person who tends to support smaller companies when I can if they make good products. Any support for them goes a long way—especially in the golf business. Since these shoes will set you back about $150, I wanted to be sure they are worth it for the money and they absolutely are. Seriously, for anyone looking to boost their shoe game and help alleviate aching feet and ankles, give these a shot.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 48
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW2
  • LOL3
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending